Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does it say about you

• 04-01-2014 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭

when you show up in Court in a tracksuit ffs?

I saw the latest fine citizens charged in connection with the New Yeras morning killing in Tallaght. Looks like they all were just out for a jog and happened to pop into court on their way home.

Do judges look more favourably on our tracksuit cladded brethern?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Pkiernan wrote: »
    when you show up in Court in a tracksuit ffs?

I saw the latest fine citizens charged in connection with the New Yeras morning killing in Tallaght. Looks like they all were just out for a jog and happened to pop into court on their way home.

Do judges look more favourably on our tracksuit cladded brethern?

Maybe they cannot afford even the cheapest of suits?
    Though more than likely they just don't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

They like to be comfortable when committing criminal acts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lilymc

Ah I know a fella who wore a suit while his mates wore tracksuits and the papers twisted it to make it look like the fella in the suit was some king of big drug kingpin and the fellas in tracksuits were his workers. When in actual fact the tracksuit fellas were the scumbags as you would expect and the fella in suit was actually a decent fella that just drove the scumbags around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Bertie and haughey always wore suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

[QUOTE=aaronjumper;88305381]Maybe they cannot afford even the cheapest of suits?
    Though more than likely they just don't care.[/QUOTE]

Yeah that's it...would probably put a dinge in the smokes and cans budget...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

But they can afford pair of Nike air which are €130!
    Just scrotes is all they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe they were going for a run afterwards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Though more than likely they just don't care.
    Don't be silly. Pop into the likes of Pennys or Dunnes and you can get a cheap suit, usually for less than they'll have spent on their trackies. I notice it's usually name brand gear they wear. Mightn't be a great suit, but it'll certainly look better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

biko wrote: »
    Maybe they were going for a run afterwards?

Clearly not very good at it if they got caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They were only being charged so you wouldn't expect formal wear. They'll be suited up for their trials more than likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

lilymc wrote: »
    fella in suit was actually a decent fella that just drove the scumbags around.
    Doesn't sound like all that decent a fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If you're a serial offender and your brief is trying to say you're a victim of environment and trying to get rehab or leniency, you're probably better off looking the part dress wise although it's usually down to just not giving a shit.

I was in court once and a lad before me was actually taking sneaky sups out of a bottle of alcopop (hidden in his tracksuit) as he was facing the judge until they took it off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

It keeps its mouth shut if it knows what's good for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

It all depends on the brand of Tracksuit -Le coq sportiv...you coq!.....Nike - just do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Life is less stressful on the inside for some people apparently so maybe it's of little concern to them what they wear..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Overheard a conversation once in Pearse St station, one tracksuited young man spilled a can of beer over his friend who shouted 'Ah jaysus that's me good tracksuit!' Maybe these fellas wear only their good tracksuits to court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Makes it easier when you run away from the cameras when you leave the court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

4 people in the last 2 days charged with the murder and were just let back out on the street? Cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

4 people in the last 2 days charged with the murder and were just let back out on the street? Cool.

4 freed only 1 can survive, tune in next week to find out who wins their freedom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Who cares what they wear? If someone is a murdering scumbag putting on a suit and tie isn't going to make them a better person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Who cares what they wear? If someone is a murdering scumbag putting on a suit and tie isn't going to make them a better person.

This.

Tracksuits are a great way of not getting selected for jury duty. Coupled with a large can of Red Bull, or Monster, and a peaked cap and you're home free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I worked in Cork and Dublin District Courts. People wearing tracksuits to court was a very common occurrence. Most people in the district court would be very casually dressed for court. A lot of the people you'd see in front of the district court are repeat offenders and couldn't give a damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

In fairness if you're that relaxed about kicking someone to death, I'd say the suit vs tracksuit debate is the last thing on your mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

In fairness if you're that relaxed about kicking someone to death, I'd say the suit vs tracksuit debate is the last thing on your mind.

True enough. A family lost a son.

I wouldn't post an opinion on this lest our tracksuited bretheran's legal-aid team would use this thread as some sort of defense for their alleged wrongdoings.

Better safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I did some journalism on various court cases. I was present in court for a few months last year from day to day. I have also done jury duty.

THAT IS NOTHING.

I have seen people come to court who cannot even be bothered to wash their hair or are drunk and/or high.

To be honest I wonder it their barrister advises it to make them look suitably down and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Tracksuits are a great way of not getting selected for jury duty. Coupled with a large can of Red Bull, or Monster, and a peaked cap and you're home free.

Unless the defense thinks by looking that way you'll sympathise with the defendant. Then you're screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

For some reason this Maser piece came to mind reading through the thread;

UkjXA.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭sligoface

People buy suits for job interviews and formal occasions they get invites to. The scummers are not likely to attend such events, and if they have already been caught out, why bother spending money on a suit for court. Besides the justice system here is beyond laughable, they hardly ever get put in jail, and they'd stick out like a sore thumb back on the street two hours later with their scummy buddies if they were all dressed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

But they can afford pair of Nike air which are €130!
    Just scrotes is all they are.

They get all that Nike gear on the market for a tenner. Its not the real thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I remember I was in court once, a load of guys being let off wearing Tracksuits. I myself just wore a shirt and slacks and the judge gave me the probation act for a several offenses. one guy who was urinating in public, only a young college kid, showed up with a barrister and a nice flashy suit, the guy got a conviction and 150e fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Which is worse though, the lads in the tracksuits or the fella's in period halloween outfits speaking a strange brand of archaic, impenetrable waffle. Milod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

White tracksuit top, bottoms and runners are the 'good' ones reserved for going on the pull, court, local pub & Sunday wear. This is the 'Suit' of the knacks.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Nobody has been charged with murder in relation to this case.
    All of the accused are so far only charged with assault and/or affray.
    If they had been charged with murder they would have to be remanded in custody until a High Court bail hearing, as the District Court cannot grant bail on a murder charge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Hitler wore a suit. They don't won't to be compared to Hitler, clever political move.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It wasnt a traxedo by any chance?

traxedo-student_0.jpg