Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford and Strathroy

• 03-01-2014 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

Any news on above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

milkprofit wrote: »
    Any news on above

Won't be any news till tonight. The meeting is tonighg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Check Agriland.ie

Friend who supplies WMP told me today it will be end of the month before any more news will be out. He said they will pay 1c extra than glanbia and are going to be paid on A+B-C scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Lofty0990

jersey101 wrote: »
    Friend who supplies WMP told me today it will be end of the month before any more news will be out. He said they will pay 1c extra than glanbia and are going to be paid on A+B-C scheme

Pleased for your friend but just a few facts . Strathroy are solely liquid milk , deliver down here in the south east own brand milk to the two German supermarkets. Supply profile of suppliers against already passed Glanbia "buy out" is anything but that of a liquid milk processor .

There do be sub plots going on and some people may need to wake up and smell the roses to coin a phrase or there will serious tears for individuals backed into corners.

dtuigeann tú?

Lofty0990 wrote: »
    Pleased for your friend but just a few facts . Strathroy are solely liquid milk , deliver down here in the south east own brand milk to the two German supermarkets. Supply profile of suppliers against already passed Glanbia "buy out" is anything but that of a liquid milk processor .

There do be sub plots going on and some people may need to wake up and smell the roses to coin a phrase or there will serious tears for individuals backed into corners.

dtuigeann tú?

Just passing on what I was told. Know nothing more than that myself myself.
    I know that strathroy are solely liqued, but what's stopping them produce other products like glanbua are?

Getting back to facts again , about 40 suppliers have transferred from Wexford to Strathroy (14% before you ask!). How in the name of the man above will Strathroy pay Glanbia + 1 cent to send a lorry from Omagh to collect milk down here from 40 farms that are spring milk only and whats more have a deal finalised before April 1.

Further more you should talk to some suppliers from up around the border and a few others who had the plug pulled on a so called deal and presumably had to go cap in hand or tail between legs back to their current processor saying I don't want to leave after all.

There is immense pressure being put on some people due to all sorts of sub plots and the real suffers are the families.

April 1st will tell a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭linebacker52

Can they even afford Wexford it needs massive investment where are they going to get the money from to pay for this investment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Can they even afford Wexford it needs massive investment where are they going to get the money from to pay for this investment.

It's good to see a processor that will buy milk without looking for money from the suppliers to upgrade.
    there's a good few new entrants too in Wexford...hope it works out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Just doesn't seem to make sense to even consider drawing milk from wexford to tyrone to be processed and drawn back down again to the discount supermarkets. Carbon footprint!! Farmers will not benefit by dividing imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Just doesn't seem to make sense to even consider drawing milk from wexford to tyrone to be processed and drawn back down again to the discount supermarkets. Carbon footprint!! Farmers will not benefit by dividing imo.

I"d take a guess it could be going across the pond into the english liquid milk market, given how close rosslare is would make a lot of sense that way.

Facts again. no mention of suppliers he left high and dry on dry Jan 1 with milk flowing down the yard and they were the full length of the country nearer to him . They even came down to the south east to confront him ,will be very interesting if that goes to print midweek ;)

Sub plots - this is what this is about. There is an agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Anyone cheerleading this so called deal with strathroy as some sort of saviour for the poor set upon Wexford suppliers would want to get a grip.
    Anger and bitterness are not sound footings to set your business on and I could see this house of cards tumbling down shortly.
    Hopefully not too many people will be burned by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

Getting back to facts again , about 40 suppliers have transferred from Wexford to Strathroy (14% before you ask!). How in the name of the man above will Strathroy pay Glanbia + 1 cent to send a lorry from Omagh to collect milk down here from 40 farms that are spring milk only and whats more have a deal finalised before April 1.

Further more you should talk to some suppliers from up around the border and a few others who had the plug pulled on a so called deal and presumably had to go cap in hand or tail between legs back to their current processor saying I don't want to leave after all.

There is immense pressure being put on some people due to all sorts of sub plots and the real suffers are the families.

April 1st will tell a lot

is it true Wexford creamery suppliers have had to sign a 15 year contract with GII with a specified volume and a penalty if not filled, or is this an rumor circulated by opponents to the deal?

Thus true. Heard it from the horses mouth myself. If 60% of the suppliers go to GII that 60% have to pay 6c/l on the milk that the 40% would have been sending in. Adds up to 20 million. This has to be paid up front I'm told. Then they have to staymte how much milk they will send in for the coming year and if they undersupply they have to pay 5c/l on every litre they were under.
    And these lads have been paying 2c/l for the last 3 yes for the pension fund for the workers in WMP

Thus true. Heard it from the horses mouth myself. If 60% of the suppliers go to GII that 60% have to pay 6c/l on the milk that the 40% would have been sending in. Adds up to 20 million. This has to be paid up front I'm told. Then they have to staymte how much milk they will send in for the coming year and if they undersupply they have to pay 5c/l on every litre they were under.
    And these lads have been paying 2c/l for the last 3 yes for the pension fund for the workers in WMP

Only fact in that is a 15 year contract. Suppliers can leave at yr 10. no penalty for suppliers who stay wit giil deal. Only levy paid was to buy out dairy crest. people need to stick to the facts and make a business based decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Given the plant is under utilised at present, how do you make out it needs major investment.

Non dairy so may be missing something.

There is no 40% ,14% have signed transfer forms for the man from Omagh to come down and collect their milk :rolleyes: and what's really sad is some people hassling ordinary good farmers to sign certain forms haven't done so themselves if you get my drift. Go up to the border ask the right people and they will (as they did last Friday night) tell you that the 14% with their full tanks of milk on April 1 will be very humble when they ring in to ask for their milk to be collected locally rather than from across the border.

There are sub plots going on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

What will happen to the shareholdings in Wexford of suppliers who go to strathroy? Are they acting as a producer group contracting to sell a pool of milk for a period. Is there a corporate body set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Only fact in that is a 15 year contract. Suppliers can leave at yr 10. no penalty for suppliers who stay wit giil deal. Only levy paid was to buy out dairy crest. people need to stick to the facts and make a business based decision

Read this as its the only fact I've read about this deal since Strathroy were linked.

I would suggest letting the Strathroy cheerleaders go ahead and sign and watch how they get on. A lorry will not be down from Omagh daily, and in fact their milk could be collected by Glanbia landing them right back where they were.

If Strathroy take over the entire business where do they go with the whey? Glanbia of course so nothing will change.

WX were among the leading milk price payers in the country at one stage. They had tied their horse to cheese and Dairycrest now things have changed and they need to adapt and can't.

I think it would be a very backward step to walk away from this deal, seek your own advice and steer will clear of the few cheerleaders. Make the decision With a longtem view to your own business. There's a lot more going on here than meets the eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    There's a lot more going on here than meets the eye

Right de, enough BS from lofty and yourself. What is going on? Two of you have alluded to "something going on behind the scenes" or "there's moves afoot". We're all grown-ups, we don't need to be protected from the realities of life. Either one of ye spit out what ye are on about or consider yerselves called as bull$hiters. Fellas leting on they know more but can't talk about it is the worst type of condescension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

i also said this on another forum , better the devil you know than who you dont know, we all give out about our co-op /creamery but our cheque is gauranteed every month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Right de, enough BS from lofty and yourself. What is going on? Two of you have alluded to "something going on behind the scenes" or "there's moves afoot". We're all grown-ups, we don't need to be protected from the realities of life. Either one of ye spit out what ye are on about or consider yerselves called as bull$hiters. Fellas leting on they know more but can't talk about it is the worst type of condescension.

Yep time to front up
    once wexford have signed 15 year contract we will be next
    not a good way to run a business:p 15 year contract without Price.Guarantee pure madness
    .We all know what happened when glanbia took over dairy gold liquid milk buisness

Free
    I am not going to use names publicly. If people deal with the facts that are presented and not the spin that a few individuals are peddling.

It doesn't make a posey's odd to me what farmers in WX decide to do. They're a FEW suppliers driving this and for the wrong reasons.

All I am saying is do good due diligence on these two offers before you sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

biddy2013 wrote: »
    i also said this on another forum , better the devil you know than who you dont know, we all give out about our co-op /creamery but our cheque is gauranteed every month

knew you were whelan1 back in town :P

appologies if it was found out already...

anyway back to topic :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Does anybody know if these guys will have to supplie their own Ibcs, To carry this milk up foreign?

will their quota be available next year for flexi- milk?

As others have said, I would prefer to stick with glanbia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

And where would this leave suppliers in their 60's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭linebacker52

And where would this leave suppliers in their 60's?
    No penalty if you retire, transfer to son/daughter. Only penalties apply if you leave to supply milk to another processor.

Is this run by Hitler or Stalin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

anyone who signes that agreement wit gill , would want they head look at . two solictors i got to look at it said never sign it . and to fellas who have signed did they get legal advice or blindly sign it .

Good idea getting it checked.

Is it any different to the one we as Giil suppliers will be presented with?

What's your plan now, or do you want to say?

not sure yet . but goin by my legal advice i will never sign it . alot of lads have just signed witout thinkin not to smart if you ask me . have ya been told wats in it , have a uncle who supplies glanbia and he does nothin much about it . gill kinda ran rings around our board

board got a good deal which delivered a better milk price, capacity and secure future for farmers and was voted through by the majority. a few hot heads have made up their own version, rubbished the board and are on their own mission. definitely a lot to be said for the devil u know.

so did you get legal advice den before you sign huh

Apologies for hurting your sensitive side but just a little potted history. We took over whatever we took over, committee given the job of securing the best milk price and our ability to expand. Due a myriad of different reasons it was established we needed to merge (be bought out /taken over, call it what the bleep you want) with someone . They came from everywhere to have a gawk even the land of the long white cloud. But our milk pool was just too small to make outside investment viable and we couldn't increase until post quota.

Even rang way down south and it went like this -why would we want to come that far to get involved in something that would only bring down the price we can afford to pay our own suppliers AND drive thro the heartland of the boys from the Noreside and p-ss them off . No thanks . Bye

So at the outset to say no other company was approached is total cr-p.

Next step was that Glanbia was established as best option of survival and full filling objectives stated above . All of the committee worked towards that until ego's took over. In a military like operation several of the committee resigned with the sole purpose of trying to bring the show down .

This didn't happen and after bruising information meetings an EGM took place with new committee members elected . Negotiation's continued with Glanbia and the next AGM took place.

(Still with me Freedom 'cause this piece is important)

Several of the ones who resigned including their star performer put themselves up for re election and NONE were successful.

Moving on we now find ourselves having had a EGM to vote on the deal with Glanbia, it passed by the majority. It must be said that the actions of the few undermined and put at risk the livelihood's of all our families in many different ways.

Those of us in the middle of the road presumed that the thing our forefathers had fought and died for , democracy had taken place and that was end of it.

Not a bit of it. Our rejected friends started sulking in the corner and started pulling rabbits out of hats, consultants promising all sorts etc etc and then the man from across the border walked into town.

Where was he when Glanbia were at the table by themselves. He wasn't asked ? Aaah! He doesn't sound too shy now.

Still there Freedom.

With regard to the man from across the border people in the know say it goes like this but we have to be careful how we put it .Little Bear from top end of woods talks to Big Bear from beside river (N-re) saying wouldn't mind becoming part of his gang. Big Bear says I'm always on the lookout for new stuff lets sit down and talk .Little Bear acts the ar-e looking for too much etc so Big Bear says naff off and walks away. Little Bear sulks and thinks to himself ,need to find a broken stick to poke Big Bear with and maybe he will come back to the table.

Broken Stick = W
    d

To conclude with facts.

Of the 40 suppliers who have signed transfer forms NONE of the main protagonists have done so . Sadly they have duped good people into doing so.

Of the people who are driving around into farmers yards hassling people to go in and tear up contracts NONE of them have done so either.

Of the "100" at meeting many were sightseers who had already signed the Glanbia forms and came out glad to have done so .

And finally something I haven't seen on here that much, there is 30% of Wexford shareholders who are also Glanbia shareholders (of which yours truly is one) . And as Mr Glanbia said himself he's legally obliged to take our milk should we ask him to!

Rant over . No bull$hit .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

All independent legal advice to DG suppliers this time last year was not to sign their contract. Almost all have signed to date, the last few holding out forced by attaching a bonus to signing.

so did you get legal advice den before you sign huh

if it is understood there is no problem signing it. anyone get legal advice on strathroy contract????

as it stands i have siged no contract will not . no one will force me into anything . wats your problem via strathroy

can't figure out why they would drop farmers near them that they had signed up and come all the way to wexford hunting for 40 farmers. Those same farmers were dumping milk as no one would collect it from 1st jan as they had given notice to their co op. wouldn't 'inspire confidence to say the least!!

the reason we were told by they waas they were poaching lakeland and townof mon suppliers . strathroy made it clear to them that was no go area cause they bought alot milk direct from them . they wanted that group to target glanbia suppliers who they dont have any relationship wit . well thats wat one of their directors said to me anyways .

What happens if these 40 suppliers go to strathroy and the rest go to glanbia and then it turns out two yrs down the line ' oh sorry we can't collect your milk any more' these lads will have to go back to glanbia with there tails between there legs

well there is alot bitterness on bout sides . badly handled by the board and management its a complete mess the societhy is broken and will be quare hard to heal that anger . i dont know wat will happen but their is more than 40 involed . add other 60 0r so to that no who are totally against the deal . the no is growin dayly you got to mind the spin by the board memebers on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

well there is alot bitterness on bout sides . badly handled by the board and management its a complete mess the societhy is broken and will be quare hard to heal that anger . i dont know wat will happen but their is more than 40 involed . add other 60 0r so to that no who are totally against the deal . the no is growin dayly you got to mind the spin by the board memebers on this

Sounds more like negative spin to me.
    I'm a Glanbia supplier, but talking Wexford lads round here they were never at meetings where people treated each other so badly. Very sad and makes it hard or unlikely if those people could work together again.

Glanbia aren't saints , but they are fAr from devils either. The South Wexford gang would want to cool themselves down. Taking financial decisions while hot headed rarely works out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Apologies for hurting your sensitive side but just a little potted history. We took over whatever we took over, committee given the job of securing the best milk price and our ability to expand. Due a myriad of different reasons it was established we needed to merge (be bought out /taken over, call it what the bleep you want) with someone . They came from everywhere to have a gawk even the land of the long white cloud. But our milk pool was just too small to make outside investment viable and we couldn't increase until post quota.

Even rang way down south and it went like this -why would we want to come that far to get involved in something that would only bring down the price we can afford to pay our own suppliers AND drive thro the heartland of the boys from the Noreside and p-ss them off . No thanks . Bye

So at the outset to say no other company was approached is total cr-p.

Next step was that Glanbia was established as best option of survival and full filling objectives stated above . All of the committee worked towards that until ego's took over. In a military like operation several of the committee resigned with the sole purpose of trying to bring the show down .

This didn't happen and after bruising information meetings an EGM took place with new committee members elected . Negotiation's continued with Glanbia and the next AGM took place.

(Still with me Freedom 'cause this piece is important)

Several of the ones who resigned including their star performer put themselves up for re election and NONE were successful.

Moving on we now find ourselves having had a EGM to vote on the deal with Glanbia, it passed by the majority. It must be said that the actions of the few undermined and put at risk the livelihood's of all our families in many different ways.

Those of us in the middle of the road presumed that the thing our forefathers had fought and died for , democracy had taken place and that was end of it.

Not a bit of it. Our rejected friends started sulking in the corner and started pulling rabbits out of hats, consultants promising all sorts etc etc and then the man from across the border walked into town.

Where was he when Glanbia were at the table by themselves. He wasn't asked ? Aaah! He doesn't sound too shy now.

Still there Freedom.

With regard to the man from across the border people in the know say it goes like this but we have to be careful how we put it .Little Bear from top end of woods talks to Big Bear from beside river (N-re) saying wouldn't mind becoming part of his gang. Big Bear says I'm always on the lookout for new stuff lets sit down and talk .Little Bear acts the ar-e looking for too much etc so Big Bear says naff off and walks away. Little Bear sulks and thinks to himself ,need to find a broken stick to poke Big Bear with and maybe he will come back to the table.

Broken Stick = W
    d

To conclude with facts.

Of the 40 suppliers who have signed transfer forms NONE of the main protagonists have done so . Sadly they have duped good people into doing so.

Of the people who are driving around into farmers yards hassling people to go in and tear up contracts NONE of them have done so either.

Of the "100" at meeting many were sightseers who had already signed the Glanbia forms and came out glad to have done so .

And finally something I haven't seen on here that much, there is 30% of Wexford shareholders who are also Glanbia shareholders (of which yours truly is one) . And as Mr Glanbia said himself he's legally obliged to take our milk should we ask him to!

Rant over . No bull$hit .

Now wasn't that easy. At least other posters have some idea what the background to your posts is. You're saying that Strathroy are behaving as the woman scorned and are quite happy to use Wexford milk suppliers as disposable pawns in their attempts to make life difficult for Glanbia in any way they can? And that all this is because Glanbia wouldn't agree to Strathroys terms during takeover negotiations some time in the not too distant past?

Why didn't you just say this outright from the start instead of the "you're not old enough" BS routine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭6600

From south Wexford myself but not a dairy farmer. However I know the chief protagonists on each side. Now this is my opinion and nothing more - the people in favour of this and the board members are top end dairy farmers who look after their cows, are doing well and acting in the best interests of their own farms long term. They are all hardworking successful people who would not be swayed by short term gain.

The people on the no side on the other hand are anything but what I described above. Think of the people at a meeting that stand at the back, grumble and complain about the top table but will never take a job when asked. A lot of them would be better served looking at what could be achieved by running their own farms properly. It is true that a lot of good men have been duped by their emotive arguments which have little basis in fact.

A lot of my neighbours are Glanbia suppliers who are doing very well and are wondering what all the fuss is about.

I can understand now what it was like after the Treaty was signed in 1921 because it seems to be like that here now. Some people will oppose for the sake of opposing but at what cost?

Remember the GIIL debate last year? From listening to some people the world was going to end if the co-op was broken from the plc.. Did it?

Now wasn't that easy. At least other posters have some idea what the background to your posts is. You're saying that Strathroy are behaving as the woman scorned and are quite happy to use Wexford milk suppliers as disposable pawns in their attempts to make life difficult for Glanbia in any way they can? And that all this is because Glanbia wouldn't agree to Strathroys terms during takeover negotiations some time in the not too distant past?

Why didn't you just say this outright from the start instead of the "you're not old enough" BS routine?

All the above are your words not mine . Didn't mean to insult your age - apologies . Timing was what it was all about . Given I have seemingly offended this board consider this the last post on the subject .

L.

Strathroy are Holding 'clincs' in hotel in Wexford tomorrow where farmers can come and quiz them. Myself and the father are going to see if they are interested in our milk. It might be a good thing for another professor to come into the southeast. One man can't have it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

I. Am by no means glanbias biggest fan, but the only real winners from inter co op competition are the super markets. This is the big advantage fonterra in newzeland have.

mf240 wrote: »
    I. Am by no means glanbias biggest fan, but the only real winners from inter co op competition are the super markets. This is the big advantage fonterra in newzeland have.

Yep the waterford avonmore merger did nothing to tame the supermarkets