Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beginner looking to take up cycling - havent a clue where to start!

• 02-01-2014 5:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭

So as the title says, I'm looking to take up cycling, now the only experience I have is on a mountain bike cycling around the countryside on a sunday afternoon. I wanna get into it proper, I wanna do the Ring of kerry, I guess I just wanna be able to get out and cycle all of kerry!

I'm not a very fit person, the most Iv cycled was prob 8 miles and took a while :pac:

I'm looking into local clubs but I dunno am I fit enough to join one? I'm not into racing, I just wanna get out there and be fit.

So where the feck do I start? Do I need a certain type of bike? Do I need to have a certain fitness level to join a club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

You are about to get so much advise your brain will melt. The best place to start is by getting on a bike and cycling. You don't need to spend a fortune either €300 will buy you a good second hand bike and even a decent entry level bike. The distance for club spins might be a bit of an issue but before you know it you won't he counting anything less than 20km as a work out.
    Most club spins will he 50km at the shortest so build up to them.
    Padded shorts/tights will be your best investment ever

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

So where the feck do I start? Do I need a certain type of bike? Do I need to have a certain fitness level to join a club?
    You've come to the right place

Don't worry about a club at this stage. What you really need to do is get out and about a bit to get used to riding longer distances and get a bit fitter. What's your budget for the bike? Have you considered cycling to work? You can get a tax break under the Bike to Work scheme if your employer operates it - there's a thread linked from the Charter/FAQ thread.

Familiarise yourself with the forum - you'll find there are plenty of threads asking similar questions

Once you've got a flavour for cycling (and most who give it a go do), then it may be worth joining a club - they will have organised group spind catering for different abilities
    the most Iv cycled was prob 8 miles and took a while pacman.gif
    Around here I think you'll find that's "prob 12.875km" :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

stecleary wrote: »
    You are about to get so much advise your brain will melt. The best place to start is by getting on a bike and cycling. You don't need to spend a fortune either €300 will buy you a good second hand bike and even a decent entry level bike. The distance for club spins might be a bit of an issue but before you know it you won't he counting anything less than 20km as a work out.
    Most club spins will he 50km at the shortest so build up to them.
    Padded shorts/tights will be your best investment ever

See I don't have alot of money to spend, I have a mountain bike or am l as well off to get one of those skinner looking bikes? (sorry l havent a clue of the name if there is one)

hmm 50km seems alot to me, I guess il have to build it up before joining a club so :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Do you have a friend who would take it up with you?

Don't buy a new bike. Trundle around on the MTB until you're happy.

You'll be given a shopping list by everyone you ask, but you don't need much to cycle. Get padded shorts next time Aldi/Lidl have them, get spare tubes, tyre levers and a pump. Learn to fix a tyre.
    Decent lights if you're cycling at night, maybe a decent lock if you want to be able to stop and go have a coffee and bun mid-ride. We can give recommendations for each.
    Get a helmet if it make you feel more comfortable/safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭jdburkedjburke

Padded Shorts will be well worth investing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

The skinny bikes are generally called 'road bikes'. Not super descriptive but there you go.

I agree with AltAccount, it's too early to be buying a new bike. People do the ROK on all sorts. Chances are you have knobbly tyres at the moment, the biggest improvement you can make short of a new bike is changing these for smoother tyres.
    For example: http://www.wiggle.co.uk/schwalbe-marathon-original-greenguard-rigid-mtb-city-tyre/

You will need to gradually build up your base distance but you have six months to do that. Get out as often as you can and just cycle. Try to increase the distance you do each week but don't over do it. Once you can do 100km with some hills you will probably be able for the ROK. The atmosphere on the day and all the other people will give you the boost you need for the extra distance.

There's a training guide on the ROK site that gives a 12 week countdown for what you should be doing. This is not the only way of course, I wouldn't do as many cycles in a week as they suggest. The first year I did regular 90-100k cycles at the weekend with the occasional 50k mid-week. The guide is here:
    http://www.ringofkerrycycle.ie/training.php

If you are interested in cycling around Kerry have a look at The Kingdom Alliance Sportive as well. This is at the start of June and is a three day event with 80k and 160k routes on each day. You can sign up for any combination from one 80k route to the full 480k. Their site is here:
    http://tkas.ie/

AltAccount wrote: »
    Do you have a friend who would take it up with you?

Don't buy a new bike. Trundle around on the MTB until you're happy.

You'll be given a shopping list by everyone you ask, but you don't need much to cycle. Get padded shorts next time Aldi/Lidl have them, get spare tubes, tyre levers and a pump. Learn to fix a tyre.
    Decent lights if you're cycling at night, maybe a decent lock if you want to be able to stop and go have a coffee and bun mid-ride. We can give recommendations for each.
    Get a helmet if it make you feel more comfortable/safer.

no l don't know anyone that is interested or even likes cycling, thats another reason to join a club for the company on the long spins but at the same time it would be nerve racking for me to join one, l wanna challenge myself you could say....what are spare tubes?

HivemindXX wrote: »
    The skinny bikes are generally called 'road bikes'. Not super descriptive but there you go.

I agree with AltAccount, it's too early to be buying a new bike. People do the ROK on all sorts. Chances are you have knobbly tyres at the moment, the biggest improvement you can make short of a new bike is changing these for smoother tyres.
    For example: http://www.wiggle.co.uk/schwalbe-marathon-original-greenguard-rigid-mtb-city-tyre/

You will need to gradually build up your base distance but you have six months to do that. Get out as often as you can and just cycle. Try to increase the distance you do each week but don't over do it. Once you can do 100km with some hills you will probably be able for the ROK. The atmosphere on the day and all the other people will give you the boost you need for the extra distance.

There's a training guide on the ROK site that gives a 12 week countdown for what you should be doing. This is not the only way of course, I wouldn't do as many cycles in a week as they suggest. The first year I did regular 90-100k cycles at the weekend with the occasional 50k mid-week. The guide is here:
    http://www.ringofkerrycycle.ie/training.php

If you are interested in cycling around Kerry have a look at The Kingdom Alliance Sportive as well. This is at the start of June and is a three day event with 80k and 160k routes on each day. You can sign up for any combination from one 80k route to the full 480k. Their site is here:
    http://tkas.ie/

Thanks a mil for all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

what are spare tubes?

Tubes for inside the tyres. Easier to change a tube when/if you get a puncture out on the road rather than trying to patch it. Can patch it when you get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

So as the title says, I'm looking to take up cycling, now the only experience I have is on a mountain bike cycling around the countryside on a sunday afternoon. I wanna get into it proper, I wanna do the Ring of kerry, I guess I just wanna be able to get out and cycle all of kerry!

I started off on a mountain bike. I think the most important thing that I picked up after awhile was how to actually cycle. That probably does sound quite strange. :o

I found http://sheldonbrown.com/beginners.html very informative. From mounting/dismounting, saddle height etc. Stuff that you can take for granted.

Turns out there was more to cycling than my Da pushing me down a lane on a bike when I was about 6, and shoving me off while shouting "Peddle! Peddle!"

Would have help if he went through the whole braking part first too. Might not have hit that wall :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

OP, I was in your position about 8 years ago. I had a €150 mountain bike that I did the occasional 5km spin on. Then 3 years ago I made the decision to get fit so I bought a road bike on the Bike to Work Scheme. I am now 45 and I have done the Ring of Kerry 3 times. I regularly cycle a 90km round trip to work on a Carrera TDF that I bought 2nd hand for €200. But like most people here I got the bug and am now the proud owner of 6 bikes including 3 road bikes, 1 hybrid bike, 1 mountain bike and 1 folding bike.
    I would advise you to buy a road bike by the way. Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I'm also interested in getting started cycling. I work about 10km from my house so am an ideal distance to cycle. I don't qualify for the bike to work scheme so would be looking at getting a second hand bike, somewhere between 200 and 300 euro would be ok. Problem is I have no idea whats good and whats not. For example, this ad on done deal;

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/carrera-tdf/6171376

Are there any particularly good or bad aspects of that bike as an example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

I'm also interested in getting started cycling. I work about 10km from my house so am an ideal distance to cycle. I don't qualify for the bike to work scheme so would be looking at getting a second hand bike, somewhere between 200 and 300 euro would be ok. Problem is I have no idea whats good and whats not. For example, this ad on done deal;

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/carrera-tdf/6171376

Are there any particularly good or bad aspects of that bike as an example?

That's an ideal bike to start. Buy it and cycle it for 6 months and if your bitten by the bug then sell it for the same money and upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Here's a thread about that bike. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85734382

One thing - it's regularly on sale at c. 312 euro. So 250e 2nd hand is pushing it IMO. The add does say ONO, so I'd start somewhat lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

quozl wrote: »
    Here's a thread about that bike. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85734382

One thing - it's regularly on sale at c. 312 euro. So 250e 2nd hand is pushing it IMO. The add does say ONO, so I'd start somewhat lower.

I agree. If you got it for €200 then your laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

Rather than thinking in terms of distances, you should think in terms of time or duration of your cycle. Start off with the aim of being comfortable with 30 minute spins and then gradually build up your spin duration to one hour, two hours and then three hours in length.

A simple start up plan to follow for beginners over a ten week period could be as set out below.

The idea with this plan is to get out three times a week for two short spins and one spin getting progressively longer with the goal of getting to a two hour spin duration over a 10week period. It doesn't really matter what type of bike you use initially and you could even do some of the shorter spins in the gym if you like.

Week 1 - 3 X Spins of 30 minutes each
    Week 2 - 2 X Spins of 30 minutes and 1 Spin of 45 minutes
    Week 3 - 2 X Spins of 45minutes and 1 X 60 minutes
    Week 4 - 2 X Spins of 55 minutes and 1 X 1 hour and 15 minutes
    Weeks 5/6 - 2 X Spins of 60 minutes and 1 X 1 hour and 30 minutes
    Weeks 7/8 - 2 X Spins of 60 minutes and 1 X 1 hour and 45 minutes
    Weeks 9/10 2 X Spins of 60 minutes and 1 X 2 hours.

2 hours on a road bike will be 45/50Km approx
    2 hours on a hybrid (or MTB with thinner tyres) will be 35/40Km approx.

If you followed this plan by mid- March you would be ready to consider joining a club where you could extend the duration of the longer weekly spin up to 3 hours. You would also be comfortably able to take part in the shorter distance 50Km sportives.

So what's stopping you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

A quick question. If I cycled 20 km as a total beginner how long roughly would that take? It's relatively flat but there is one bollox of a hill about 250 meters maybe. And would I be able to walk after it?

I'd guess about an hour, 75 minutes would be pretty conservative - depends on how high that hill really is. You could well find yourself walking it as a beginner.

You'll be able to walk afterwards but your arse will probably be fairly sore. Until your legs strengthen they won't hold much of your weight which means it's all resting on your saddle. Which gets sore quickly enough :)

The sensible thing would be to do some 20 or 30 minute cycles first for a couple of weeks. Not that that's what I'd do but I'm a dumbass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

What I did when I first started (a couple of months ago) is plan a figure of 8 route that would stretch me. I would ride the first loop and then if I felt I could go on then I would ride the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

Try to plan a route which will have the wind with you as you return and are tiring. When starting off cycling there is nothing worse than having the wind with you on the first part of a cycle and as you are tiring turning into a strong headwind.
    Nowadays I don't feel like I have done a good workout unless a good proportion of it is against the wind. Amazing how the cycling bug grabs you !!!

Best advice of all is to Enjoy It !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭wush06

Hi all hope you don't mind me joining in as I am also new to cycling. I was able to get the bike to work scheme and told my bike would be ready next week.

I hear one or two mention padded shorts would this be a must starting off. I will read through the forum over the next weeks to pick up more hints and tips. Missus is a little pissed that I will be leaving the bike in the house.

wush06 wrote: »
    Hi all hope you don't mind me joining in as I am also new to cycling. I was able to get the bike to work scheme and told my bike would be ready next week.

I hear one or two mention padded shorts would this be a must starting off. I will read through the forum over the next weeks to pick up more hints and tips. Missus is a little pissed that I will be leaving the bike in the house.

Welcome :)

Where did you obtain scheme and what do l need/have to be to qualify for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭wush06

Not sure how it all came about. Came in to the job one day and some bike shop had about 20 bikes setup.
    We were told that the job was part of it and we could pick a bike and they would sort it out. The money comes out of my wages each week for ten months some of the bikes below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

Welcome :)

Where did you obtain scheme and what do l need/have to be to qualify for it?

There is a dedicated Bike to Work thread to deal with all BTW queries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

In one go or are you referring to your commute? 10 each way? Mine is 10 each way. Or do you mean in "one" go? Are you in a city?

There are a few factors to take into account. I started off with a 7km spin, rest(smoke) and then another 7. Found it fine. Didn't kill me. After a few weeks of that I tried it to my work place one Sunday to see if I could do it. 10km. Then back again. Bring loads of fluids.

I start at 9 but leave at 7:15 or 7:30 in the morning. It took me about 30-35 minutes depending on traffic/traffic lights, also allowing time incase I got a puncture. Im a good employee like that :) (plus the traffic isn't as heavy)
    I was very early most days but I then had to have a shower etc.

Try cycling to your workplace on a Sunday?

You bum will most likely suffer first. You will only feel pain in your legs going upstairs I found, in the beginning. Lidl and Aldi do decent cheap padded cycling gear now and then, which are fine for commuting IMO.

As for the hill part. Learn to cycle uphills!
    After researching I went for the sit up straight/on the bars method, while concentrating on breathing and maintaining a constant cadence, reserving the whole standing up thing for when really needed. Google is your friend, as is youtube, also helps for repairing punctures etc Most of my initial help came from cycling mad work colleagues and then my own research.

Sorry for saying so much but I'd like to think I am helping someone learn faster and better than I did.

This was me in the beginning. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87772887#post87772887

I would also suggest getting Strava or a similar ap. It is such a good motivator. Not for KOMs like the Pros here but just to record what you are doing and seeing it. It really is great. I can't express how important it is as a motivational tool.

If you do get the "bug" as people have mentioned, you won't look back. Not only are you going "places" but you lose weight and get fit! I have managed to make my commute from 20km a day to 32km.

Before I go I'd also suggest using the "fear" of cycling to make you take it easy at the start. If you feel like getting off the bike and walking across a certain junction, do so. Be highly visible too. Don't be afraid to look like a Christmas tree :D

Happy cycling!

sorry this is a stupid question but why do ye use km instead of miles? l always use miles :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

Well speed limits and distances are all in km now, also if you are interested in pro racing most of the data (average speed, route distance, climb information) will be in km as well.

As for padded shorts, you don't need them, but they do help. I wouldn't bother wearing them for a short trip (30 minutes or less) but the longer the time in the saddle the more likely I would be to wear them. I've done 100k cycles in regular trousers but that was before I saw the light, I'd have to have a very good reason not to wear cycling shorts for that now.

First thing, they don't have to be short, you can get full length tights as well, much better for the cold weather. Both short and long come in a variety called bib-shorts/tights as well. These basically have braces built in. These may look bizarre but they are awesome for a person with a fat belly. No waistband cutting in to you.
    eg: http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-vaeon-padded-bib-tight/

Proper cycling gear has quite a few advantages:
    + The padding helps
    + No trouser cuff to get oily or torn by the chain
    + They dry more quickly if you get caught in a rainshower
    + Tight fit and lack of seams reduces chaffing a lot

Keeping your bike inside is best in my opinion. If you have proper outside storage, meaning dry and secure, then leave it out if you have to. Just because it's inside doesn't mean it has to be underfoot. There's a ton of storage solutions for all sorts of needs:
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/stands-1/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

See I don't have alot of money to spend, I have a mountain bike or am l as well off to get one of those skinner looking bikes? (sorry l havent a clue of the name if there is one)

hmm 50km seems alot to me, I guess il have to build it up before joining a club so :/

There used to be a guy who lived by the mantra "It's not about the bike." Not sure what happened to him in the end but don't sweat it. Just go out and ride what you've got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

sorry this is a stupid question but why do ye use km instead of miles? l always use miles :o

It's the metric system. Same reason why a quarter pounder with cheese is a royale with cheese!

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    There used to be a guy who lived by the mantra "It's not about the bike." Not sure what happened to him in the end but don't sweat it. Just go out and ride what you've got.

for now il just have to say "a bike is a bike"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

sorry for hijacking, but I'm also interested in getting more into cycling, I have a mountain bike at the mo and try to get out at least once a week, usually cycle Crumlin to Blackrock and back in 90 mins approx, (according to google maps 17-18km) I also do quite a bit of spinning in the gym. I just really love my bike! (much more accessible then running imo)but reading about 50km cycles has me feeling a bit daunted, also would be interested to know about the number of ladies in clubs, if clubs tend to have a womens group and what the standard would be in terms of times distance etc. An info appreciated!

Orwell in Dundrum has a large female contingent. Maybe 1/4 of the club and it's a very big club.

The standard varies from beginner to excellent and there's a women's only league as well as occasional women's only skill sessions or other events. Mostly everybody just cycles together though so if you're a real beginner you'd be in with the white group which leaves nobody behind, has 2 dedicated minders per group and is meant to intro people to group cycling.

anyone know any women groups in kerry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 helloworld15

Also newbie to cycling. Sorry sac for hi-jacking.
    Just a quick query are the speedometers in Argos any good or anyone rec somewhere to buy one? Just looking at a basic one for now, to track distance, time etc. Cheers:)

Actually downloaded map my ride after.Seems quite good so that will do for now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

For anyone looking to cycle more, I'd recommend utility cycling, i.e. just using the bike to get around, to the shops, to work, to get a litre of milk, whatever, wherever. It's a great way of building up time and fitness on the bike without it seeming like a chore.

I have a road bike and I also have a hybrid commuter with a pannier rack and flat pedals and a trailer hitch. I bring my daughter to creche, cycle in to work and maybe do some shopping. My commuter bike averages between 300 -400km per month without me really being conscious of that much distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Listrydude

This is great stuff. I was in your position last year SAC, and had gotten the bike through the bike to work scheme, but like many more who did, left the bike in the shed. Last April two friends signed up and talked me into signing uop for, the Ring of Kerry cycle. They lived in Dublin and never had driven it whereas I live outside Killarney and knew it well. Anyway, I had a hybrid bike kind of a half mountain and half racer bike. My advice would be to get a bike like the one in that done deal ad on page 1 - a road racer, as the hybrid is harder work!!

My first cycle consisted of a 22 km cycle through the National Park and that was my limit. Slowly i built it up and regularly went for 70km cycles. Eventually I found myself hitting the roads and as mentioned before, not considering anything under 50km a decent ride!! The ROK cycle itself was utterly brilliant and I get butterflies even thinking about it! Even the day before, I had doubts but the craic and that feeling of crossing the line is unbelievable!! Aim for it and go do it!!

Basically you will build up your strength and stamina by just getting out and about. I love cycling and am in the process of upgrading to a decent road racer. Best advice: Invest in a pair of cycle shorts asap and get out!!

Best of luck and keep us informed of your progress! See you on the highways and byways of Kerry at some stage no doubt!!!

Buy nothing other than a decent helmet (if you don't already have one).......

Get out, cycle, cycle some more and then cycle some more again...............

And when you have done that then cycle some more more again again...............

If you work up to a twenty or thirty mile spin in a few weeks or months and find you still like it then think about bikes and "stuff"..........

Best wish's with it.........................

Listrydude wrote: »
    This is great stuff. I was in your position last year SAC, and had gotten the bike through the bike to work scheme, but like many more who did, left the bike in the shed. Last April two friends signed up and talked me into signing uop for, the Ring of Kerry cycle. They lived in Dublin and never had driven it whereas I live outside Killarney and knew it well. Anyway, I had a hybrid bike kind of a half mountain and half racer bike. My advice would be to get a bike like the one in that done deal ad on page 1 - a road racer, as the hybrid is harder work!!

My first cycle consisted of a 22 km cycle through the National Park and that was my limit. Slowly i built it up and regularly went for 70km cycles. Eventually I found myself hitting the roads and as mentioned before, not considering anything under 50km a decent ride!! The ROK cycle itself was utterly brilliant and I get butterflies even thinking about it! Even the day before, I had doubts but the craic and that feeling of crossing the line is unbelievable!! Aim for it and go do it!!

Basically you will build up your strength and stamina by just getting out and about. I love cycling and am in the process of upgrading to a decent road racer. Best advice: Invest in a pair of cycle shorts asap and get out!!

Best of luck and keep us informed of your progress! See you on the highways and byways of Kerry at some stage no doubt!!!

you'll see me round listry anyway ;) Honestly l havent started yet cause l have to help on the farm at home for the next few months cause me dad had a n operation, so wont be able to do as much as l would like...itl be a slow start for a whil :/

just take your time! There's plenty of time to get cycling if you want to do the Ring! Sure sounds like you will be busy, but an hour here or there and especially with the long eveni9ngs, any cycling is better than none!

By the way there are some nasty potholes in Listry!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

Sorry to hijack but just wondering if there is anything like www.jantastic.me for cycling? Just getting back on a bike after a very very long time and could use that kind of motivation. Mods if there is a better place for this question please advise!

Would http://www.strava.com provide similar sort of logging and motivation for you, wuffly?

You can see how fast you did various stretches of road, how you compare to others and how you compare to your previous times. So you can see your improvements and you'll be making big improvements if you're just getting back into cycling.

Would http://www.strava.com provide similar sort of logging and motivation for you, wuffly?

And if there are no segments just create a few after your first ride for the route you will be using.

You can see how fast you did various stretches of road, how you compare to others and how you compare to your previous times. So you can see your improvements and you'll be making big improvements if you're just getting back into cycling.

Looks like what i am after. thank you!

wuffly wrote: »
    Sorry to hijack but just wondering if there is anything like www.jantastic.me for cycling? Just getting back on a bike after a very very long time and could use that kind of motivation. Mods if there is a better place for this question please advise!

Hey Wuffly, I use mapmyride which is a free app on the iphone and other phones. Its great to use on rides and has a great laptop/pc interface! Worth a try

Listrydude wrote: »
    Hey Wuffly, I use mapmyride which is a free app on the iphone and other phones. Its great to use on rides and has a great laptop/pc interface! Worth a try

Cheers will try that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

wuffly wrote: »
    Cheers will try that too!
    If you're doing other exercise too, mapmyride is part of a suite of apps which has mapmyrun and mapmywalk too, which all integrate together to give you a list of all your workouts.

Strava also supports runs.

I used to use the mapmy suit of apps and have to say that strave is more stable and accurate. Nothing worse than coming home and finding that it hasn't recorded half of your workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

I think the problem with mapmyride is that it does not seem to work if you stop for a while.

Other options are Sports tracker and endomondo.

But Strava would be the most popular.

Managed to get neither of these apps working, but did do 16k so pretty happy with that!