Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2014 Summer Rumours/Predictions/Discussion Thread

• 02-01-2014 3:28pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just thought id set up a thread where everyone can talk about any possible gigs coming up during the summer .

Can be big summer gigs or festivals . If you hear a rumour or have a prediction about anything then through it in here

Then if a gig/festival is announced make an official topic .

If it doesn't work ill cry :P:P:P ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

I predict bands with upcoming European tours and or new albums due out this year will potentially play Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

I have one wish for 2014 ....

An autumn album & tour from Steve Wilson ... obviously there's no chance of him playing Ireland so it'll be the UK or further afield if necessary.

Having said that ...I'll be popping along to :

The Aristocrats - Grand Social, Feb 24th
    Clutch - The Academy, May 9th

(so far)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭StaticAge11

Blink in the O2. Headlining reading and Leeds, new album be silly not to book them.
    Foo Fighters hopefully an indoor show. May be closer to November/December time though!

Would kill to see Metallica. But not going to happen. But maybe a day of metal/hard rock in Marley park or something. Bands such as Alice in chains and Trivium supporting a bigger act like maiden(haven't been here in years and will want to cash in on the final leg of maiden England). Promoters have really neglected this scene in recent years especially with the bigger acts!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Unless they nab Blink for T-Vital but they would need a serious support bill though.

Yea fingers crossed for a Foos indoor date for once but id still be happy with any show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

would love to see Garth Brooks, the foo fighters and Pearl Jam play here in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Unless they nab Blink for T-Vital but they would need a serious support bill though.

Yea fingers crossed for a Foos indoor date for once but id still be happy with any show

Maybe belsonic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

Was it not Longitude they cancelled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

Yeah, I bought a Sunday day ticket (^ it was Longitude as it happens) and sold it when they cancelled.. no money lost but can't wait for the new album and the promised gig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

And I didn't need to sell my ticket as MCD were doing refunds for Sunday tickets.

True dat, but as I'd bought mine on the secondary market, I had to sell it on too..

Prince touring coming soon?
    According to The Mirror, Prince is soon to announce a new UK tour.

It would be the first time the 55-year-old performer has played in the UK since his appearance at the Hop Farm Festival in 2011, and the first time he has played multiple dates since since 2007, when he appeared for 21 nights at London’s O2 Arena.

According to the newspaper, when they asked Prince’s representatives whether they could confirm a 2014 tour, the reply was: “EVERYTHING U THINK IS TRUE.”
    http://www.nme.com/news/prince/74708?recache=1&t=1231318&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=princetour#vQX47zkFh4YL7bKS.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭LUPE

Kanye in the O2 at some stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭JamieHP

Arctic Monkeys for the Phoenix Park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

LUPE wrote: »
    Kanye in the O2 at some stage

+1 on this. Can't see him not bringing the Yeezus tour to Europe. Rumor has it he might be headlining Glasto which is around June

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    +1 on this. Can't see him not bringing the Yeezus tour to Europe. Rumor has it he might be headlining Glasto which is around June

Yea if he is headlining Glasto i can see an outdoor show???? either Marley or Pheonix Park . Unless he does a Jay Z and come back for indoor show after the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Yea if he is headlining Glasto i can see an outdoor show???? either Marley or Pheonix Park . Unless he does a Jay Z and come back for indoor show after the summer

I'd be leaning more to an indoor show myself. Would he have the pull on his own to justify a PP or Marley Park gig? Jay Z and himself couldn't sell out two nights at the 02 in 2012 so I wouldnt be banking on 30,000 wanting to see Ye on his own.

Plus he'd get to bring that astonishing looking stage show with him round Europe. I'm guessing that would appeal to his high-art sensibilities :p

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    I'd be leaning more to an indoor show myself. Would he have the pull on his own to justify a PP or Marley Park gig? Jay Z and himself couldn't sell out two nights at the 02 in 2012 so I wouldnt be banking on 30,000 wanting to see Ye on his own.

Plus he'd get to bring that astonishing looking stage show with him round Europe. I'm guessing that would appeal to his high-art sensibilities :p

True but if you through in a decent support bill id say it will sell well but id say O2 show is more likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

Depending on the size of the Royal Kilmainham I could see Kanye playing there, would make sense because Arcade Fire, Pixies, Elbow are all confirmed/highly rumoured for Glasto and playing Dublin that week.

Does anyone think Vampire Weekend or Phoenix will be back to play a headline gig this summer? I think they are both touring Europe and can't remember the last time either of them made a non-festival appearance in Ireland.

Vampire Weekend did do an Arena Tour in the winter of last year but because they did longitude they skipped over us .

Well they did say Kilmainham was an intimate concert so guessing 10,000 ish? So that would rule out Kanye imo

Also Ed Sheeran making an announcement tomorrow so guessing either new album or tour

Ed Sheeran ‏
    UK and Ireland announcement coming 9am tomorrow. rest of the world will be soon but not tomorrow. sozza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

Looks like Mr Sheeran is playing the o2 in October, thank god he's not doing a show in Kilmainham!

Portishead and Interpol will headline ATP Iceland 2014.

Now in its second year, the festival will take place between July 10 and 12 at the former NATO base in Keflavík, which is now called Ásbrú. Portishead will headline on July 11 and Interpol will lead the bill on July 12 alongside Icelandic acts Sóley, For a Minor Reflection, Samaris, Low Roar, and Mammút
    Read more at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭eldest200

QOTSA have announced a Austria date in August, could we expect them to play here over the summer? PP (possibly supporting AM's if they play PP)? EP? Belsonic?

eldest200 wrote: »
    QOTSA have announced a Austria date in August, could we expect them to play here over the summer? PP (possibly supporting AM's if they play PP)? EP? Belsonic?

They would be too big for Belsonic imo after 2 sold out arena shows last year in Ireland . Im really hoping they are booked for EP . With also strongly rumoured to headline Reading/Leeds 22nd/24th August so hopefully they stick around Europe till the following weekend for EP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭eldest200

With also strongly rumoured to headline Reading/Leeds 22nd/24th August so hopefully they stick around Europe till the following weekend for EP

If they headline R + L I'm pretty sure they'll be at EP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭LUPE

Portishead and Interpol will headline ATP Iceland 2014.

Now in its second year, the festival will take place between July 10 and 12 at the former NATO base in Keflavík, which is now called Ásbrú. Portishead will headline on July 11 and Interpol will lead the bill on July 12 alongside Icelandic acts Sóley, For a Minor Reflection, Samaris, Low Roar, and Mammút
    Read more at

Longitude maybe for one/either?

They would be too big for Belsonic imo after 2 sold out arena shows last year in Ireland . Im really hoping they are booked for EP . With also strongly rumoured to headline Reading/Leeds 22nd/24th August so hopefully they stick around Europe till the following weekend for EP

My mate sent me pic of the TM board in Stephens Green, it had all upcoming gigs for this year with QOTSA in it for the o2. Id assume a glitch, but hopefully a show will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Mushy wrote: »
    My mate sent me pic of the TM board in Stephens Green, it had all upcoming gigs for this year with QOTSA in it for the o2. Id assume a glitch, but hopefully a show will happen.

Whenever they play, I just hope it's not in July as I'll be out of the country.
    I'm already missing The National and that's annoying as it is.

Think id rather them do EP :P just to be selfish ha . Any other gigs up on the board not announced?

Whenever they play, I just hope it's not in July as I'll be out of the country.
    I'm already missing The National and that's annoying as it is.

It won't be July. Their last Euro show is mid-June, then they return mid-August.
    Think id rather them do EP :P just to be selfish ha . Any other gigs up on the board not announced?

Really hope they wouldn't do EP...a sweet little Olympia show in prep for Reading thank you very much.

Are Maroon 5 or the Lumineers playing anytime soon?

Really hope they wouldn't do EP...a sweet little Olympia show in prep for Reading thank you very much.

Are Maroon 5 or the Lumineers playing anytime soon?

Or Olympia date before EP :P ha . Maroon 5 are in dublin this month and Lumineers were here in Nov last year? But are back in Europe during the summer

1557662_10152121239301648_109738831_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭poteen

It won't be July. Their last Euro show is mid-June, then they return mid-August.

Ive heard that The National Will play the marquee this June again.

poteen wrote: »
    Ive heard that The National Will play the marquee this June again.

Thats been announced, tis in July!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Niamh_101

I'm hoping for Robbie Williams to do a Dublin date this summer but starting to have doubts now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Niamh_101 wrote: »
    I'm hoping for Robbie Williams to do a Dublin date this summer but starting to have doubts now :(
    Belfast is a whole hour and a half from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Niamh_101

Belfast is a whole hour and a half from Dublin.

Well more like 2 and half but I just want to see him in my own town too. I'm being selfish lol Katy Perry didn't announce a Dublin date either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Niamh_101 wrote: »
    Well more like 2 and half but I just want to see him in my own town too. I'm being selfish lol Katy Perry didn't announce a Dublin date either!
    If ya get the bus maybe!! its 2 hours on train and approx an hour an a half driving sorry I'm a Tipp man and over 90% of the time there is only 2 areas of the country artists go to Dublin or Belfast so it's nearly 3 hours min to get to Dublin the extra stretch to Belfast not gonna kill me so yeah in a sense it's quite annoying to hear Dubliners complain that a particular gig isn't on their doorstep yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭sheroman01

What's the chances of Kings of Leon or Arctic Monkeys playing here this year? Both haven't played an arena gig for a good while now :(...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭aka accounts 2010

sheroman01 wrote: »
    What's the chances of Kings of Leon or Arctic Monkeys playing here this year? Both haven't played an arena gig for a good while now :(...

Arctic Monkeys are almost guaranteed to be playing Phoenix Park between the 11th-13th July 2014.

Not too sure about the Kings of Leon but if you see them being announced for T in the Park in Scotland, you can take it they will also play Phoenix Park.

Phoenix Park gigs are generally announced in late February/early March.

They might return in early 2015 for an O2 gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

With Hardwell playing Belfasts Odyssey and not scheduled for the 02,and Oxegen possibly not returning couild we expect a dance gig in Marlay Park this summer?
    Hardwell and Aviici?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

raven136 wrote: »
    With Hardwell playing Belfasts Odyssey and not scheduled for the 02,and Oxegen possibly not returning couild we expect a dance gig in Marlay Park this summer?
    Hardwell and Aviici?

Doubt it, the only gig on in Marlay Park this summer is Longtitude. Outdoor venues usually only get licenses for 3 days maximum per year so that's Marlay Park booked for the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭aka accounts 2010

JJ wrote: »
    Doubt it, the only gig on in Marlay Park this summer is Longtitude. Outdoor venues usually only get licenses for 3 days maximum per year so that's Marlay Park booked for the summer.

Not always the case!!

Arcade Fire are playing a major outdoor gig at Marlay Park on 29th June 2014. So that's 4 confirmed days already for the venue, including Longitude.

I'm also pretty sure Phoenix Park was granted 4 day licences in 2012 & 2013 but in both cases, did not avail of the Friday night option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭A.Gorilla

sheroman01 wrote: »
    Apparantly Kings Of Leon will play the Aviva this summer......so I heard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭StaticAge11

Yes Arcade Fire has not sold out "YET" since its only been onsale for less than 2 months but will easily sell out before the gig happens . As said Guetta was only a capacity of 22,000 while AF will def be more than that

I never thought Arcade Fire would have enough of an Irish following to sell out Marley Park, thought an O2 show seemed more likely. But that is my personal opinion, I can't stand them.

Maybe I am just bitter that Metallica are in the UK the following week and MCD didn't bother booking them :P

I never thought Arcade Fire would have enough of an Irish following to sell out Marley Park, thought an O2 show seemed more likely. But that is my personal opinion, I can't stand them.

Maybe I am just bitter that Metallica are in the UK the following week and MCD didn't bother booking them :P

True but they sold out the o2 last time (although they did have Vampire Weekend) . I think it will sell fairly well and will prob sell out closer to the date when they announce another band on the bill.

In other news

Outkast ‏
    Outkast will return to the stage with a full festival run of over 40 dates to celebrate 20 years. #Outkast20 - Team Outkast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

True but they sold out the o2 last time (although they did have Vampire Weekend) . I think it will sell fairly well and will prob sell out closer to the date when they announce another band on the bill.

In other news

Outkast ‏

Great news,would love to see them here

Bombs over Baghdad,one of the greatest if not greatest hip hop tracks ever

1558469_10151951816938843_1474547069_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭bennyl10

A.Gorilla wrote: »
    Apparantly Kings Of Leon will play the Aviva this summer......so I heard!

Just when i thought the summer couldnt get much worse than 1D in Croker..

In better news..
    AM expectted to play Reading so dont rule them out for something in August either..

Hooefully the american dates would mean a Foos date.. or even Muse, who apparently are playing Berlin in june.. could easily be PP.

Expecting one iof them to be Slane if goes ahead this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Just when i thought the summer couldnt get much worse than 1D in Croker..

In better news..
    AM expectted to play Reading so dont rule them out for something in August either..

Hooefully the american dates would mean a Foos date.. or even Muse, who apparently are playing Berlin in june.. could easily be PP.

Expecting one iof them to be Slane if goes ahead this year.

id imagine arctic monkeys could PP seeing as theyre headlining t in the park
    plus i think ac/dc could be a big shout for slane as theyre doing their 40year anniversary tour this year