Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prank Calls

• 01-01-2014 12:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

Did you ever make them in your youth? I'm honed in the art, my brother and I used to take the Local GAA annual and prank call all the sponser ads. Non stop until the Nokia ran out of credit.

In more recent years I've discovered the soundboard community, The Frank Garrett board in particular is a gem. I'm going to play you a clip of a soundboard of Frank Garrett ringing a lunatic in Missouri, beware that there is course language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

One I did was looking up a random entry in the phone book, phoning him and in a panicky voice saying "Hi Frank it's me next door here in number (whatever the next digit to his house was), I've run out of toilet paper, is there any way you can drop in with some quick?", he sounded confused but cooperative and I quickly just said, ah thanks a lot, see you in a second and hung up. Would have been even better to have done it to someone in the same estate and been able to see the face of him and his neighbour when he called with some toilet paper in his hand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The trick is to discover a good victim and then relentlessly prank call them over a 2 to 3 hour period. The reactions are unreal if you're patient enough, and savy on the soundboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Wouldn't be interested in that at all, you don't know who you might be ringing and what's going on in their lives. We only did it as a bit of harmless fun growing up and that's all it every was thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Michael8000

Best ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Prank? Doesn't just rhyme with ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

In my youth I rang a lads house and his mother answered. I asked was her refrigerator running. She went off to check. She came back and said yeah an I said "well you better run after it!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Stern's Sal and Richard are the kings of organised prank calling. Can you imagine getting paid to make prank calls all day. Dream Job.,...

Their Tradio stuff is unreal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

I did this one a few years ago to Apache Pizza: http://www.dudemasters.com/prankcalls/apache.wav

More here: http://www.dudemasters.com/prankcalls.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I like the Johnny Explosa stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

cormie wrote: »
    One I did was looking up a random entry in the phone book, phoning him and in a panicky voice saying "Hi Frank it's me next door here in number (whatever the next digit to his house was), I've run out of toilet paper, is there any way you can drop in with some quick?", he sounded confused but cooperative and I quickly just said, ah thanks a lot, see you in a second and hung up. Would have been even better to have done it to someone in the same estate and been able to see the face of him and his neighbour when he called with some toilet paper in his hand :)

SO THAT WAS YOU!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Not a prank call per say,,but a few year ago was working in a pool hall, Every lunch time we be invaded by lads from the nearby school Anyway one day there was a young lad sitting at the counter talking to his mother on the phone ,It was easy to over hear that he was lying to her saying he was somewhere else ,Cue me to walk up beside him and in a nice loud clear voice, shout out "TWO PINTS OF CARLSBERG AND A GUINNESS WAS IT LADS"......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Did you ever make them in your youth? I'm honed in the art, my brother and I used to take the Local GAA annual and prank call all the sponser ads. Non stop until the Nokia ran out of credit.

In more recent years I've discovered the soundboard community, The Frank Garrett board in particular is a gem. I'm going to play you a clip of a soundboard of Frank Garrett ringing a lunatic in Missouri, beware that there is course language

I quite enjoyed the gun threat responses :)
    Language isn't for the easily offended though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

The Prank Call answering ones are fun as well.

A friend of mine had the same phone number for 20 years.

A Cab company started up which had a similar phone number.

Started getting between 5 and 10 calls as day looking for Taxis.

Contacted the taxi company and they said it wasn't their problem.

Eventually she just started answering the phone and said "Where from and to" "Ok we'll be there in 15 minutes"

Taxi company changed their phone number after a week.

^^ I'd have started taking the fares :D

This one I find quite funny

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7ud47jjWiY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Favourite prank call as a teenager:

Me: "Hello, could I speak to Mr Wall please?"

Random person: "I think you've the wrong number. There is no Mr Wall here"

M: "Could I speak to Mrs Wall then?"

R: "You've the wrong number"

M: "Are there any Wall's there?"

R: "NO"

M: "Well what the fcuk is holding up the roof then?"

*hangs up*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Derry man with tourettes ordering Chinese take away.

One of my favourites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

Best ever.

fake. yer man laughing ruins it 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

http://youtu.be/iPzQbO2prTM

Way way way too funny.
    Johnny Explosa calls a bakery lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭careful_now

When I was about 11, myself, my sister and my cousin used to ring the Daz helpline pretending we needed help with awkward stains!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

I cringe at the thought of them. Generally not my humour at all, so I've not clicked on any of the links.

BUT, I did find a couple of ones described above funny. The toilet paper one is funny. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

"Have I got a BO problem here?"

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

The trick is to discover a good victim and then relentlessly prank call them over a 2 to 3 hour period. The reactions are unreal if you're patient enough, and savy on the soundboard.

I remeber baby sitting my nephew in my home house (whic is located in a quiet country area). Some absolute w&nkers pranked my house phone for at least 4 hours. I was absolutely terrifed. Not remotely funny no matter what way you look at it.

A once off prank is fine as long as it's nothing threatening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dricko_lim

One of the many calls to my next door neighbour as a kid pretending to be from the ESB after he just went down to pay it telling him he was getting cut off for lack of payment. We could here him shouting through the walls down the phone saying he just paid it haha

Poor man thinking back we hounded him. The sisters prentending to be a neighbour who fancied him and he was up for it! and so on :) Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

When I was about 11, myself, my sister and my cousin used to ring the Daz helpline pretending we needed help with awkward stains!
    That's very funny.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kg1tpbbWf-c

Maybe not so much of a prank per se but wow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

This is the funniest I've ever heard.
    Guy was getting annoyed with telemaketers so he trolled one one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I remember a documentary about this little yellow kid, he would always ring the local bar.

"Hi. I'm looking for Amanda. Last name Hugandkiss" and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

Rang crimeline years ago while the show was happening. I was determined to see could you get a reaction from the Guards in the background. Put on a stupid accent and in as roundabout way as possible I told him I wanted to claim the nice big yellow consaw they had just displayed. Kept it going for a while with the most ridiculous answers to his questions. Eventually I said, look, why all the questions, I just want to claim my prize?
    With that he exploded down the phone about it being stolen property, not a competition, what sort of gob****e was I, wasting Guards valuable time etc...
    I didn't see steam coming from anyone's ears in the background either! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The Rubber Bandits did some funny ones. The one about bursting the balloon in the bank was classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

This is the funniest I've ever heard.
    Guy was getting annoyed with telemaketers so he trolled one one day.

That was the one I came in to post. It's excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The Rubberbandits ones were brilliant alright.

'I'm not actually a physical entity, I'm mostly composed of electricity!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

This Irish vs Indian one is my favourite. The guys reaction at the end when he realises is brilliant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 226 ✭✭Frank Garrett

bear1 wrote: »
    I quite enjoyed the gun threat responses :)
    Language isn't for the easily offended though ;)

The audio clips from the prank call were that used to create the Rick The Mullet Man soundboard, which was subsequently used to create this series of very controversial prank calls:

It even made the news on a local FOX News affiliate:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

We used to phone supermarkets and ask for the butchers and then tell them we just got home and found maggots in the meat. They'd be all apologetic and tell us to bring them back and we'd start saying things like 'They're on the table now. They're crawling out of the bag. What've ye sold us at all?' Had one where we'd ring Peter Mark's and say they ruined our wife's hair, she's crying in the bathroom and won't come out. We recorded lots of 'em but God knows where the tape ended up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

Back in the day when me and my mate first got mobile phones aged 12 or 13 we spent the majority of our credit making the same prank call:

Basically we each rang a random number and then stuck the 2 phones together (in a 69 position), it was all about the timing of the people answering the phones, when they both answered at the same time hilarity ensued, it would always end up with the 2 victims in a massive argument about who phoned who:

"Look ya fecking arsehole my phone rang and I lifted it now what do you want?"

"I rang you? Is this a wind up? You rang me!"

This went on for ages with us giggling like mad in the background!

Tried it on our 2 mothers one day who knew each other but they just came to the conclusion that it was crossed lines (whatever the feck that means?) and started nattering away about biscuits or some shíte until we got bored and hung up. Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Excellent! Poor woman!