Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lone Survivor

• 31-12-2013 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

Just watched lone survivor with Mark Wahlberg.
    Definitely in my top 3 movies of the year,an awesome flick

Well worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

Really really good,one of the better war movies released in the last few years.
    Some of the punishment the lads bodies took were well painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Chareth Cutestory

Thought it was very good also and it generally wouldn't be the type of film I'd go for at all. It made for difficult watching in parts (especially as its a true story). Their bodies get repeatedly battered to bits! I didn't find it an enjoyable watch but definitely worth a look I think.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Just watched it, unbelievable story! The beating those guys took was crazy. Tough bastards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

Don't be fooled. Bull**** chest thumping American propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

There's varying accounts over the number of Taliban they faced off against. Still there's bound to be a degree of artistic license. Will probably catch it on DVD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Fairly sure the title is a giveaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭bradolf pittler

An enjoyable "Merica fcuk yeah" action flick.All sponsored by UnderArmour.Some truly shameful product placement on show in this film.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

the book is pretty awesome, ill be watching this later on !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Watching it right now, it is extremely enjoyable I must say, some of the action scenes/injuries are excellent!

The story itself you wouldnt place much faith in being that it is most likely a propaganda tool as much as anything else, but as a film it gets a huge thumbs up from me. One of the most entertaining movies I have seen over the last 12 months and the film just flies by, never gets bogged down.

Some of the heroic deaths are a bit much, and what I would be referring to as propaganda but you do have to allow for a bit of artistic license with these things to flesh them out a bit, or make them a bit more dramatic to the viewer.

With 20 minutes left it has been a 9/10 for me so far anyway,for what it is, perfect film for checking your brain at the door and just going with it

I do have one gripe actually, in the
    part where the Afghan guys are stopping Mark Wahlbergs character getting his head chopped off by the Taliban lads. They let the Taliban guys go knowing they will come back with more men. They were even told by the lead Taliban fighter that they will all be slaughtered. Why not just kill those few there and then before they go and get reinforcements? Maybe that is how it happened, just doesnt make any sense to me.

You know you are going to end up in a fire fight with the Taliban anyway, just take out the ones you can while you have the chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭scottmcb04

Read a story about it in men's journal and they constantly had like ten seals on the set! One of which was the fella that survived, so I would say it could be a pretty close account as to what happened!

Might take an ould look at it this weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Highly recommend anyway

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

kryogen wrote: »
    I do have one gripe actually, in the
    part where the Afghan guys are stopping Mark Wahlbergs character getting his head chopped off by the Taliban lads. They let the Taliban guys go knowing they will come back with more men. They were even told by the lead Taliban fighter that they will all be slaughtered. Why not just kill those few there and then before they go and get reinforcements? Maybe that is how it happened, just doesnt make any sense to me.

You know you are going to end up in a fire fight with the Taliban anyway, just take out the ones you can while you have the chance?
    They let them go because they may come back with more men and take him. The reason for this is that if the Taliban come back and forcibly take him/kill him it will mean the village has broken Lokhey and that will mean the Taliban have made an enemy of the very people giving them sanctuary. So the afghan guy bets that their threat is empty.

However if they kill them then the Taliban attacking is guaranteed.

Honestly i'd recommend people get the book, its fantastic (i've read it several times)

So just finished watching it, yeah there's some definite Murica parts that differ from the book
    1) the LT doesnt climb a cliff to call for help, he just walks into the open
    2) the rescue scene is ridiculous, it doesnt happen like that, the taliban dont actually attack the village or fire a shot.

On the whole the fall down the mountain was very well done and from the book it portrays the punishment that they took both in bullet terms and in fall terms.

They really missed an opportunity to expand on the events of the village and how the guy who found Marcus basically gave him to the town police Chief and while they were protecting him, they were still worried.

all in all enjoyable but not a patch on the book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Awesome movie. I watched it last night. I read that the stunt men didn't use wires, dummies or any other gadgets. Peter berg wanted them to just free fall off the "cliffs" and just roll with the fall. There were numerous concussions and busted ribs, even punctured lungs as well. Thus making the scenes as real as possible.
    It's definitely one of the best war movies on the last 20 years. It makes me wanna read the book now
    9/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Another relatively enjoyable movie. I did feel that last third progressed into typical Hollywood though, not saying that is a bad thing but not as enjoyable as the first two thirds for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

So just finished watching it, yeah there's some definite Murica parts that differ from the book
    1) the LT doesnt climb a cliff to call for help, he just walks into the open
    2) the rescue scene is ridiculous, it doesnt happen like that, the taliban dont actually attack the village or fire a shot.

On the whole the fall down the mountain was very well done and from the book it portrays the punishment that they took both in bullet terms and in fall terms.

They really missed an opportunity to expand on the events of the village and how the guy who found Marcus basically gave him to the town police Chief and while they were protecting him, they were still worried.

all in all enjoyable but not a patch on the book

On the 1st point , i was watching a interview and he says
    the taliban did come to him in the village and they told him about the chopper being shot down and all ?

Also just bought the book there. 6/7 Euro on amazon not including delivery (I have parcel motel so only €3.50 for me )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Another relatively enjoyable movie. I did feel that last third progressed into typical Hollywood though, not saying that is a bad thing but not as enjoyable as the first two thirds for me.

I somewhat agree that the first two thirds really were haunting and as bleak as you can get and some bone crushing stunts too, although the third half wasn't bad by any means but just lacked that intensity of the first two thirds. No superman action heroes here just four guys fighting for their lives. What makes it more tragic was it's a true story. The bits that got me was
    Taylor Kitsch's and Ben Foster's death scenes, especially Foster's beaten and half dead just sitting agaisn't a tree a easy target to be picked off plus the home footage of Foster's real life character at his wedding dancing with his wife as a cover of David Bowie's Heroes plays on the soundtrack, I was nearly weeping like a little girl

I agree it's one of the best war film's made in Hollywood in a long time. Great performances especially from Ben Foster and Taylor Kitsch who wipes the memory of all those awful blockbuster's he's been in. Nice to see Eric Bana get his career back on track after some ropey movies even though he's not given much too do. Peter Berg gives the movie a intense feel and some of the stunt work is amazing in this. Don't go to this movie if you are expecting a gung ho blockbuster as the trailer would make you believe this is a tragic film.

Interesting fact, the Lone Survivor and the guy Mark Wahlberg plays Marcus Luttrell, has a cameo in the film . When they all first sit around the table after Kitsch's and Hirsch's characters go for the run at the start of the film. The guy who spills the coffee over is Luttrell.

I give it a 9/10

Soby wrote: »
    On the 1st point , i was watching a interview and he says
    the taliban did come to him in the village and they told him about the chopper being shot down and all ?

Also just bought the book there. 6/7 Euro on amazon not including delivery (I have parcel motel so only €3.50 for me )

Nope, in reality the chopper was shot down quite some distance away, remember they had moved from their original OP so werent were they brass thought they were. I cant recall exactly if they did tell him but i doubt he would have believed them as they were always doing the propganda

He didnt know about the chopper until he was rescued in real life.

I'm not sure if you guys are also aware, but a few years after the events of Lone Survivor, Lutrrell left his house and when he came back he seen a car speeding away, Lutrrell goes into his house to find a break in and his dog (a rottie i think) stabbed to death :(

So he jumps into his truck and goes speeding after them, he calls 911 and tells them what happened and how the cops better get to these guys before him or he'll kill them (this part is on a released tape by the cops)

Anyway the cops do catch these 2 guys before luttrell, so luttrell pulls up to the arrest seen and the 2 guys are saying **** about his dog and that when they get out of jail they're going to come back and kill him etc.

So luttrell says to the cop, "Do you know who i am?" cop says "Yes" and then proceeds to tell the 2 guys...

From what luttrell said in interviews the 2 guys started crying and begging for their lives :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Not sure if this is a spoiler so I'll tag it anyway

What I don't get is why
    did they let the Shepard's/Taliban go in the first place, granted they didn't want to kill them but they could have taken them with while they moved up the mountain and contacted bases and released them once their evac arrived.

Granted it would have meant there was no movie but they would have all survived. The way it went down was as if they wanted to play a bit of Russian Roulette and see if they could get away before the Taliban arrived.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

What I don't get is why
    did they let the Shepard's/Taliban go in the first place, granted they didn't want to kill them but they could have taken them with while they moved up the mountain and contacted bases and released them once their evac arrived.

Granted it would have meant there was no movie but they would have all survived. The way it went down was as if they wanted to play a bit of Russian Roulette and see if they could get away before the Taliban arrived.

again iirc correctly it wasnt feasible, the terrain portrayed in the book is very very steep, the film portrays it a lot easier to move around. They say in the book its not feasible to bring them along.

Personally i would have just tied them up and left, they would have gotten themselves free and by that time the seal team would have been long hone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Nope, in reality the chopper was shot down quite some distance away, remember they had moved from their original OP so werent were they brass thought they were. I cant recall exactly if they did tell him but i doubt he would have believed them as they were always doing the propganda

He didnt know about the chopper until he was rescued in real life.

Worth watching the whole thing but in relation to my point see 19:45 from the video. For everyone this is a great interview and worth a watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

What I don't get is why

When
    they are debating what to do with the Goat Herds and none of them just say "Let's waste them". That was a good scene, showed they weren;t just dumb grunts.

The way Axel who is for tying them up or something more severe say he doesn't give a sh$t about them, he just cares about getting his team mates home safe. That was a good way of putting it.

The end credits were excellent, showing them as normal people who would now be missed

I read the book ages ago, an excellent read. Another excellent Seal book is Warrior Soul - The Memoir of a Navy Seal. Some great stories in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Awesome movie. I watched it last night. I read that the stunt men didn't use wires, dummies or any other gadgets. Peter berg wanted them to just free fall off the "cliffs" and just roll with the fall. There were numerous concussions and busted ribs, even punctured lungs as well. Thus making the scenes as real as possible.
    It's definitely one of the best war movies on the last 20 years. It makes me wanna read the book now
    9/10

Doesn't even come near Black Hawk Down . Enjoyable no brainer 6/10 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭leposean

It was a solid 8/10 for me. I don;t know why Im not going higher, I just felt its all I could give it. Great story, portrayed well.

Little things that annoyed me were
    The way they show Wahlbery seeing the copter crash. It just seemed a little cheesy

And
    the death of Mike
    just a tad over the top.

Was it as good as Black Hawk Down. No. Was it still absolute class. Yes 100% Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Great film, best war related film in a couple of years!

Got to see this last noght and I have to say that it is a great piece of cinema. A brutal, unrelenting tale that's as close to the reality of war as most of us want to get. There's an authenticity to it that's reminscient of the mood of many of the documentaries on the conflicts in Iraq and Afganistan.

It's not the Friday night action film that many are touting it as but a far more melancholic and somber tale of the courage of four men and the truly horrible ordeal they endures. What makes it so much more affecting is the heroism shown not just by the soldiers but those who offer aid. The injuries the soldiers obtained were horrific and that they continued to fight is hard to believe. Watching the actors and stunt men rumble down cliff faces was painful but nothing compared to what the real soldiers went through. Those guys were real men and as brave as they come.

Really cannot recommend the film enough. While it does have a number of issues, they don't take away from just how powerful a film it is. It's a visceral platoon film that deserves to be seen no matter where you land on the politics of the war.

Second I got gone I ordered the book on amazon and while I'd planned to be in bed early tonight I decide instead to make a cup of tea and spend the next hour or do with my kindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Absolutely brilliant film, one of the best movies I'v seen for quite some time. My OH was like 'great a war movie' when I told her what we were going to be watching, but she really enjoyed it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Absolutely brilliant film, one of the best movies I'v seen for quite some time. My OH was like 'great a war movie' when I told her what we were going to be watching, but she really enjoyed it as well.

I saw it last week. I would rate Black Hawk down better. Still a good film though.
    I doubt they really took such a beating such as carrying on after being shot a number of times.:rolleyes:

billyhead wrote: »
    I saw it last week. I would rate Black Hawk down better. Still a good film though.
    I doubt they really took such a beating such as carrying on after being shot a number of times.:rolleyes:

Black Hawk Down is a good movie in its own right but I found Lone Survivor just had that little bit more to it. Regarding the beating they took, A lot of the story stems from one man and how he lost a lot of his buddies so I'd say he might of wanted to make sure they were seen as heroes.

billyhead wrote: »

Read the book! When your options are roll over and die with your head getting hacked off of keep fighting you'd be surprised what the body can do

Wasn't expecting a whole lot & really enjoyed this. Very graphic though with the injuries & deaths. Well worth a watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Knew I was in good hands when I saw it was a Peter Berg joint with an Explosions In The Sky soundtrack. As with the football scenes in Friday Night Lights, the fire fight scenes are intense and visceral. And the film is a tad smarter than 'America **** Yeah' though America haters will no doubt pretend otherwise.

Pounding cinema, I'd strongly recommend catching it on the big screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

saw it with the other half the other night, and was thinking of it since. Good film in many ways but could not help but wonder why
    (a) no camo cream on their faces. They were to be engaged for a few days and nights in an very hostile environment and yet stood out like a sore thumb.
    (b) why they did not conceal themselves better - leaving your leg sticking out on a path for a herdsman to trip over was careless
    (c) were all 4 dozing just before that happened / nobody keeping proper lookout?
    (d) had none of this special forces team the ability to communicate basic phrases or words with the natives? Even after all these years of conflict since 9/11. Other special forces like the SAs are taught foreign languages, why not the seals?
    (e) communications breakdown very amateurish - why no just relay brief consise message first ("caseevac co-ordinates xyc mikeyjoe" or whatever) when in contact with HQ instead of asking to speak to someone, in case of communications breakdown?
    (f) one soldier -when debating about what to do with the sheppards - says what would happen if CNN found out about the 3 dead sheppards etc. Look, if 3 sheppards were found with their throats cut, or were buried in shallow graves / undergrowth / covered with stones up in the mountain ...and the seal time went home ( after hiking for 3 or 4 hours if necessary before coptor lift out ) - how would anyone connect them to the villagers. Would CNN care a **** about 3 missing sheppards from a Taliban village, who may have fought among themselves or disappeared?
    (g)In the final part of the film, did any remote villagers ( with no previous link to Americans ) really sacrifice themselves and fight a superior armed force to protect an infidel? A bit unbelieveable.
    (h) even after falling down mountains their rifles never got stuck or lost half way, and always ended up beside them.
    (I) they got surrounded by the Taliban very easily...how did that happen. If they had to release the 3 sheppards without tying them up first ( even just tying their hands behinds their backs and possibly to each other would have slowed the sheppards descent to the village )...why not tab ( as the sas would say ) and put a few hours between them and the Taliban before helicopter evacuation. The seals do not come out of it as a very credible fighting force, despite the "Merica hell yeah" bravado , shooting skill, physical endurance and heroics of the individual soldiers portrayed in the film. The SAS would not have lost 4 men, or had a film made about it. Hollywood reminds me of the film about the capture of the Enigma code breaking machoine off the Nazis in WW2. Hollywood made a great film about how they ( the Americans) captured it, but it was the British who captured it in the war. Yip, the yanks are better at movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Knew I was in good hands when I saw it was a Peter Berg joint with an Explosions In The Sky soundtrack. As with the football scenes in Friday Night Lights, the fire fight scenes are intense and visceral. And the film is a tad smarter than 'America **** Yeah' though America haters will no doubt pretend otherwise.

Pounding cinema, I'd strongly recommend catching it on the it screen.

I had little interest in this movie until I read that part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Regarding the shepherds....we have 3 options...

1.) Let them go
    2.) tie them up and let them die of exposure, etc
    3.) kill them

So
    they let them go and the young fella bates it down the hill like he's wonder woman.

Why didn't they use the cable ties they had to tie the two young fellas together (by the hands). The aul lad wasn't going to be skipping down the hill, and the young fellas would still be able to head down, albeit....slowly. Assuming the marines took all knives off the shepherds, it would take a while for the aul lad to get through the ties IF he happened to come across some piece of flint, etc.....

My point is...the marines could have seriously delayed possibility of the Tally getting wind of their position and at least been some distance away before the Tally started making tracks...yet still avoiding their morale dilemma with the shepherds.

Besides the last 20 minutes or so, which seemed at odds with the rest of the film, it was pretty intense viewing. Well worth a watch.

Regarding the shepherds,
    I would of taken them as close to the extraction point as possible, well at least to a point where I knew if help was a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭qapmoc

A lot of the story stems from one man and how he lost a lot of his buddies so I'd say he might of wanted to make sure they were seen as heroes.

+1. Like in the old westerns, every shot his hero friends took landed on target and killed the enemy instantly, and they never ran out of ammo.
    Even with vastly superior numbers, the "injuns" were not great shots at all, even with the advantage of sometimes heavy machine guns on bipods.
    . Disappointing film.
    A bit predictable.
    Think the title gave away too much.
    Regarding the shepherds,
    I would of taken them as close to the extraction point as possible, well at least to a point where I knew if help was a possibility.

I agree, I would expect a normal platoon of men in warfare to have behaved with more cop on than this bunch of 4 clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Disagree with some of the specific comments:
    The movie doesn't think there was a good plan or that the soldiers made the best decision. After the breifing one of the Seals goes 'lot's of moving parts' in a negative manner and the inability of the base command to monitor and react to the situation is highlighted.

The Seals are displayed as brave, tough and good shots. But they are shown as being at an extreme disadvantage on the Afghany terrain. The Taliban are quicker and more mobile than they are, and just as brave by the way. Again, the film plays with this by having one of the Seals express shock that they aren't faster than their opponents.

As documentaries such as Restrepo have shown, US soldiers are brave and physically able on an individual level but their strategy and tactics in Iraq / Afghanistan have left much to be desired. This film is true to that reality and, as such, is subtly smarter than some people might think.

qapmoc wrote: »
    +1. Like in the old westerns, every shot his hero friends took landed on target and killed the enemy instantly, and they never ran out of ammo.
    Even with vastly superior numbers, the "injuns" were not great shots at all, even with the advantage of sometimes heavy machine guns on bipods.
    . Disappointing film.
    A bit predictable.

You ever consider that the reason they hit their targets was because they were highly trained and skilled marksmen whom would have spent thousands of hours practicing shooting and were trained to make every bullet count. They only take a shot when they have a target. These aren't some naive soldiers getting their fet wet for the first but rather some of the most skilled killing machines in the world. And as for the ammo, well they were running out and the film skilfully showed that without having to resort to then repeatedly saying so.

These aren't some naive soldiers getting their fet wet for the first but rather some of the most skilled killing machines in the world.

Those 4 clowns were some of the dumbest soldiers in the world. One or two reasons:
    for releasing the 3 shephards ( to run down the hill faster than they could have ran themselves ) ....rather than at least take them to an extraction point and leave them in that place / time window. They were sloppy to get discovered. Then they argued like amateurs when discovered instead of having a plan for that possibility...nobody seemed to be in charge / definitrely knew what to do.

Quite a comical film in places....these 4 elite eejits, who were supposed to be cutting edge USA special forces, did not even bother learning any bit of the local language ( unlike special forces of other countries ).
    They thought when the locals did not undertand words of English ( look down ....LOOK DOWN ) they could make them do so by SHOUTING the words in English to them. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

. Disappointing film.
    A bit predictable.

I agree, I would expect a normal platoon of men in warfare to have behaved with more cop on than this bunch of 4 clowns.
    those 4 clowns were some of the dumbest soldiers in the world
    for releasing the 3 shephards ( to run down the hill faster than they could have ran themselves ) ....rather than at least take them to an extraction point and leave them in that place / time window.

Quite a comical film in places....these 4 elite eejits did not bother learning any bit of the local language ( unlike some special forces of other countries ).
    They thought when the locals did not undertand words of English ( look down ....LOOK DOWN ) they could make them do so by SHOUTING the words in English to them. lol

Basing this off years of special forces experience or from playing xbox

Gatling wrote: »
    Basing this off years of special forces experience or from playing xbox
    It would appear those 4 clowns had not years of proper special forces experience, whatever about playing xbox. Me, I claim to have neither. Would'nt you expect a normal platoon of men in warfare to have behaved with more cop on than this bunch?
    Why would'nt you at least take those shephards back to the extraction point?
    Three paid with their lives for their stupidity, and they cost the lives of those in the 'coptor too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

Enjoyable film with some very well executed action scenes. Good but not as fun an entry for me as another recent Team America effort, Act of Valor.

Couple of things though...
    Better idea #1: Tie two of them up and let the old man go back to the village.
    Or
    Better idea #2: Tie two of them up and shoot the third in the foot thus slowing his return to the village to sound the alarm.

They said if they tied all of them up they might die so they reasoned the only other options were to kill them all or let them all go free.
    The logic of the plot began to unravel from there for me but it remained entertaining nonetheless.

Not long after they let the three Afghans go they hike a bit and then decide to sit down and "get some rest" instead of getting as far away from the army of guys that were certain to be persuing them. These guys can stay up for days on end if needed. They would have had tertiary fallback points. They could have kept trying the radio on the go. And if you're thinking the reason they had a siesta was because one of them had a sprained ankle that doesnt make any sense considering the amount of times each of them were shot would put have the Black Knight from Monty Python to shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

maryishere wrote: »
    saw it with the other half the other night, and was thinking of it since. Good film in many ways but could not help but wonder why
    (a) no camo cream on their faces. They were to be engaged for a few days and nights in an very hostile environment and yet stood out like a sore thumb.
    (b) why they did not conceal themselves better - leaving your leg sticking out on a path for a herdsman to trip over was careless
    (c) were all 4 dozing just before that happened / nobody keeping proper lookout?
    (d) had none of this special forces team the ability to communicate basic phrases or words with the natives? Even after all these years of conflict since 9/11. Other special forces like the SAs are taught foreign languages, why not the seals?
    (e) communications breakdown very amateurish - why no just relay brief consise message first ("caseevac co-ordinates xyc mikeyjoe" or whatever) when in contact with HQ instead of asking to speak to someone, in case of communications breakdown?
    (f) one soldier -when debating about what to do with the sheppards - says what would happen if CNN found out about the 3 dead sheppards etc. Look, if 3 sheppards were found with their throats cut, or were buried in shallow graves / undergrowth / covered with stones up in the mountain ...and the seal time went home ( after hiking for 3 or 4 hours if necessary before coptor lift out ) - how would anyone connect them to the villagers. Would CNN care a **** about 3 missing sheppards from a Taliban village, who may have fought among themselves or disappeared?
    (g)In the final part of the film, did any remote villagers ( with no previous link to Americans ) really sacrifice themselves and fight a superior armed force to protect an infidel? A bit unbelieveable.
    (h) even after falling down mountains their rifles never got stuck or lost half way, and always ended up beside them.
    (I) they got surrounded by the Taliban very easily...how did that happen. If they had to release the 3 sheppards without tying them up first ( even just tying their hands behinds their backs and possibly to each other would have slowed the sheppards descent to the village )...why not tab ( as the sas would say ) and put a few hours between them and the Taliban before helicopter evacuation. The seals do not come out of it as a very credible fighting force, despite the "Merica hell yeah" bravado , shooting skill, physical endurance and heroics of the individual soldiers portrayed in the film. The SAS would not have lost 4 men, or had a film made about it.

Point (A) camo cream wouldn't have helped much in the particular area/s hence why they used a mixed camo load out woodland mixed with desert clothing and vests adding face camo could have made them stand out more if they ended up in arid or shale area of the mountain

Point D most seal teams would have a member who were multilingual but in the rush to get into the country nobody or very few members of the us or coalition forces spoke the many dialects used in the country , again down to poor planning from day one and lack of knowledge of the country

Point (F) prior to most seal missions there advised by JAG lawyer 2/ 3 legal opinions on what would happen to the operators if a civilian/civilians were accidentally killed or otherwise as a result of there action would see them literally hung out to dry by the navy ,

Point (G) its a well documented tribal tradition dating back centuries in Afghanistan where once hospitality has been granted to a stranger or outsider in need of help they then are then under there protection of that tribe and its leader/elders and and every man and woman will fight to the death to protect there guest/s

Point (H) its in the book actually Marcus said several times when literally falling down the actual mountain they are on he couldn't believe he always had his rifle to hand when he/they stopped ,id say it was all down to instinct and the fact they probably all had single/multi point sling attached to there weapons

Point (I) at the end of the day it was a recon team 1xsniper and 3 team members carrying M4 + m203 greande launchers and in hostile terrority fairy easy to surround when you have a force based in mainly local villages and high points they are known to mobilise pretty easily,
    Remember this was only four men not geared up for a full on fight quite literally find the one bad guy recon the area and maybe call in heavy air support and get out without any fuss ,but religious ideology and and fear of career ending charges clouded Marcus luttrells thinking IMO,
    There's a lot of mixed opinions on what happened that day and the following 3 weeks

camo cream wouldn't have helped much in the particular area/s
    we'll agree to disagree there...I would have thought some sort of camo cream would be better / stand out less in the terrain (day and night) than white/pink faces.

but in the rush to get into the country nobody or very few members of the us or coalition forces spoke the many dialects used in the country ,
    those seals it seems had not a word of the local language. Other special forces teach languages to their members.

prior to most seal missions there advised by JAG lawyer 2/ 3 legal opinions on what would happen to the operators if a civilian/civilians were accidentally killed or otherwise as a result of there action would see them literally hung out to dry by the navy
    but what was to stop those 4 taking the 3 afghanis back to extraction point? And in real life I would say the USA have committed worse atrocities that "disappearing " / burying a few shepherds in shallow graves in the forest an hour from their local village.

its a well documented tribal tradition dating back centuries in Afghanistan where once hospitality has been granted to a stranger or outsider in need of help they then are then under there protection of that tribe and its leader/elders and and every man and woman will fight to the death to protest there guest/s
    would you fancy being an American arriving in army clothing to a village in a taliban area and chancing would the locals defend you with their lives from other, heavier armed afghanis?

at the end of the day it was a recon team 1xsniper and 3 team members carrying M4 + m203 greande launchers and in hostile terrority fairy easy to surround when you have a force based in mainly local villages and high points they are known to mobilise pretty easily
    the seals were higher up in an very remote area with great tree cover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I was surprised at how good this was and was quite moving towards the end. Team America movies get a bad rap - deservedly so in some instances, but I found this to be a heartfelt, good natured tribute to a tragedy with some excellent action sequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

I agree with the last post, I was genuinely moved at the end of the movie, something that hasn't happened me in a long time.

The action was excellent.

Worth a watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Watched this movie last night, awesome, up there with Black Hawk Down. Scenes at the end put everything into perspective.
    So good I downloaded the book straight away.