Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knowledgeable EG civic heads need apply

• 30-12-2013 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

As title says, if your not that well in the know about honda civic's please dont post, I want a clear simple answer as to whether i was right or wrong on a certain subject.

Was replying to a thread elsewhere posted by a supposedly "civic enthusiast" one time about if i had the choice of a civic which would I go for and I politely replied that if i was in the market for a civic i would look for a clean top of the range civic eg sir-II,
    now this reply was met with a rant of abuse by himself and other equally snot nosed "supposed civic heads" giving out about how "im in dreamland" and i quote from one person writing "i never knew there was such a thing as a civic sir2 whatever happened to the first one? haha" (yes, he actually typed sir2)

Now my problem is this im pretty sure a civic eg sir-ii specifically refers to 3 door civic with the B16a2 167bhp 1.6 dohc vtec engine, and is the jap equivalent of a UK vti and has such features as having the most powerful B16 engine that could be found in a bog standard out of the factory '91-'95 honda civic 3dr hatchback.
    and an sir-I or sir refers to an older or slightly less powerful version of the B16 engine.

Im not that clued up about civics but im pretty sure there is such a thing as an sir-II.

Can some genuinely knowledgeable honda civic heads correct me if im wrong or whether i was just insulted by some eejit civic fanboys who think they know their ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭magicman88

DeFinch89 wrote: »
    As title says, if your not that well in the know about honda civic's please dont post, I want a clear simple answer as to whether i was right or wrong on a certain subject.

Was replying to a thread elsewhere posted by a supposedly "civic enthusiast" one time about if i had the choice of a civic which would I go for and I politely replied that if i was in the market for a civic i would look for a clean top of the range civic eg sir-II,
    now this reply was met with a rant of abuse by himself and other equally snot nosed "supposed civic heads" giving out about how "im in dreamland" and i quote from one person writing "i never knew there was such a thing as a civic sir2 whatever happened to the first one? haha" (yes, he actually typed sir2)

Now my problem is this im pretty sure a civic eg sir-ii specifically refers to 3 door civic with the B16a2 167bhp 1.6 dohc vtec engine, and is the jap equivalent of a UK vti and has such features as having the most powerful B16 engine that could be found in a bog standard out of the factory '91-'95 honda civic 3dr hatchback.
    and an sir-I or sir refers to an older or slightly less powerful version of the B16 engine.

Im not that clued up about civics but im pretty sure there is such a thing as an sir-II.

Can some genuinely knowledgeable honda civic heads correct me if im wrong or whether i was just insulted by some eejit civic fanboys who think they know their ****?

There is such a thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I can Honda.... Wait, no I cant :pac:

Mr Johnboy is your best bet, for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

You can have a look here and here great selection of information on different cars on that site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You are correct. There was an SiR II. The II referred to spec and not cosmetic changes. As you correctly stated it was a Japan only car. I had one, a black 94 model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

CJC999 wrote: »
    You are correct. There was an SiR II. The II referred to spec and not cosmetic changes. As you correctly stated it was a Japan only car. I had one, a black 94 model.

Yes there is a SiR II 1994 model in one of the links I posted. Produced for Japan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Just to point out, a B16b had more power than any of the B16a's from factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭kdevitt

DeFinch89 wrote: »

You're right and you're wrong. You could buy an EG SiR, and an SiR-II as well - both had the same engine, and are equivalent as such to the UK VTi. The SiR is just as quick.

I think you're getting confused with an EF SiR (the previous boxy shaped Civic) - which had the first incarnation of the B16A engine and 150BHP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭niallam

I think the only difference was the II had an LSD box but it did exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DeFinch89

thanks a lot for the input lads, this is pretty much the opposite conversation i had with so called "civic heads".

ye have been a great help lads and very useful info posted up, really appreciate it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DeFinch89

kdevitt wrote: »
    You're right and you're wrong. You could buy an EG SiR, and an SiR-II as well - both had the same engine, and are equivalent as such to the UK VTi. The SiR is just as quick.

I think you're getting confused with an EF SiR (the previous boxy shaped Civic) - which had the first incarnation of the B16A engine and 150BHP.

I know now its properly spelt SiR lol
    where i figured the SiR was somehow inferior to the SiR-II was with typical jap naming one example would be the celica ST202 where ya had the SS-I, SS-II and SS-III, all 3 had the same 3S-GE engine but power was lowest in the SS-I, slightly higher in the SS-II and the SS-III had the highest power output due to the vvtl-i that was added.
    so on that basis I assumed the civic SiR and SiR-II had the same B16 engine but the SiR-II having a higher output, anyway thanks for clearing that up for me kdevitt :)

niallam wrote: »
    I think the only difference was the II had an LSD box but it did exist.

An LSD was an option on the SiR II as were other things like Traction control and ABS. The SiRII that I owned had ABS and an LSD.