Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nearly killed myself

• 28-12-2013 1:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

Hi all..

Just need a bit of advice.. Rant warning

I recently got 3 tyres fitted to my car by a well known company which I won't name. So their I was driving along a few days later and the car started rattling doing about 60kph on a straight road.. I start panicking & slowed down a bit & all of a sudden the car jerked down on the front left & I see my front wheel bouncing in middle of the road and I end up skidding along the road.

Now I hadn't a clue how this happened at the time but recovery guy said it looked like wheel wasn't fit back on properly. I only had a newborn baby in the car half hour before hand so I counted my lucky stars.

So the next morning I went straight to the garage trying not to blow the lid & do it in a good manner as at the end of the day I didn't want to harm the company as I know their isn't a lot of jobs out there!

Although I was pretty angry I confronted the guy who I had dealt with in first place & asked him outside for a chat. He couldn't remember me so I explained everything. He said he will fully investigate when they receive the car which was with the recovery crowd at this time.

So later that day I got phone call from him accepting full responsibility. Now when I went down I said I don't want anyone losing their job etc over this & just to fix my car. I kept my cool but still so annoyed over the fact my newborn could have been in car or even worse if we had of been driving on the motorway etc!

So the side panel was damaged, brake disc, wish bone etc costing I imagine a fair few bob. So he was delighted & kind of licking my arse about all this saying fair play etc for not running amuck in front of customers etc.

Thing is I don't roll like that & I wanted car fix ASAP as I needed it for work & newborn baby. So it was a WEEK later by time I got car back!! Never bothered calling me with an update I had to keep ringing. He said he would sort everything out & as a bonus would fix my suspension as it had needed to be done which I knew before accident. But now since I have car the same kind of noise is there like it wasn't fixed!

The day I collected the car the guy conveniently want there! I told another guy to get him to call me which never happened!

So I guess what I'm saying is am I mad not to pursue this further? I dealt with it in a way which I thought was easiest for all parties involved but I'm not happy the way they dealt with it! I also thought they would give me a goodwill gesture of sone kind for the trouble they caused me..For a number of reasons I still not happy

A) Luckily it was just me in the car
    B) The wheel could have hit someone
    C) no updates on my car
    D) No real apology
    E) no goodwill gesture
    F) I lost a nights work because of it
    G) I had no car & they never offered me a courtesy car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

That's a serious mistake. Your much more forgiving than me, I'd have looked for a head on a block. If it's a well known company with several branches around the country they should be doing their best to sort this out 100%. This kind of thing could do their business huge damage. It's a mistake that cannot be made.
    I do fire equipment, this is the equivalent of me leaving a premises with the alarm turned off and a fire breaking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Is the car fixed or not?

If not I would be pursuing further. You gave them ample chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭steirishrover

corkgsxr wrote: »
    Is the car fixed or not?

If not I would be pursuing further. You gave them ample chance

Yep they fixed the car which in the first place was happy to accept but he tried side tracking me a few times saying as a "bonus" I'll fix your suspension free of charge but still sounds to me as if it wasn't fixed at all. I'm just so angry at how they dealt with it. It was a week before Xmas day so I have him the benefit of the doubt to call me & even just offer me a free service when needed or something similar but nothing of any sort! Just imagine my baby & wife was in car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Pursue this immediately. Glad to hear that this didn't turn out to be fatal accident, but think of the next person that may be a victim of this shoddy work! You are entitled to full redress on the matter, but from a safety point of view this could've been a much worse situation.

Recession & jobs or not, it doesn't matter. Lives are at stake when the wheel of your car pops off! Did you get a full report from the recovery company? If not then see if you can, other than that get an independent mechanic to check your car for faults, this will cover your back. Ask to speak with head office of this company! I'm sorry but this is a franchised business which means this crap should not be happening, just like any other mechanic!

Again, I'm glad to see no injury was caused on your part, and that of your child. But seriously, this should not be happening and someone could be killed because of someone's ignorance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

ok, so your wheels comes off, you're understandably pissed off and shaken. unfortunate thing to happen, but it happened to you. count yourself lucky it was at a controllable speed :)

so the garage admitted they were at fault, took your car back and repaired the damage. imo a working week to repair both mechanical and bodywork repairs sounds about fair. out of interest did you check your wheel bolts/ studs 50km after the work like their invoice most likely recommends?

A) Luckily it was just me in the car -
    how would the situation have altered with another occupant?

B) The wheel could have hit someone -
    it didn't. be thankful :) and you can't really open a dispute on a settled matter over things that "could have happened".

C) no updates on my car -
    did you attempt to contact them? did he give you an estimated time frame on the job?

D) No real apology -
    what would you classify as a "real" apology? the mechanic on his hands and knees to you?

E) no goodwill gesture -
    goodwill imo isn't really necessary, maybe a wash and hoover or something. they admitted liability and repaired any damages. i'd be grateful to get that promptly and efficiently.

F) I lost a nights work because of it -
    not really the garages fault if you're taking your life lying down. you should have asked for a courtesy car. you could have car pooled with a friend to work, borrowed your partners car, bought a bicycle etc. i mean if there was €1,000,000 reward for turning in to work that night, you would have made it there somehow, right?

G) I had no car & they never offered me a courtesy car -
    you should have discussed this at the time. again, you can't really open a dispute on a settled matter because you now feel you should have gotten more. you should have used your voice at the time.

don't get me wrong, you were caught up in a dangerous and unpleasant situation which is absolutely awful. but it's over now, you are ok and the car is repaired to a good standard. i'd just chalk it up and move on.

*obligatory newborn statement.*

edit : i think "nearly killed" is a bit dramatic too. you'd most likely not die if you hit a brick wall head on at 60km/h, never mind if your wheel slips off on a stretch of open road. "frightening experience" might be more apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Now I'm no mechanic or car expert but I have to ask.....

Was there any clue (rattle, noise, bad steering) before you had this experience?

I'm just asking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

If i were you i would reconsider how you roll with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

You could have been killed.........as in dead, deceased, never to return to this Earth

Need I say more!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Hi all..

I recently got 3 tyres fitted to my car by a well known company which I won't name. So their I was driving along a few days later and the car started rattling doing about 60kph on a straight road.. I start panicking & slowed down a bit & all of a sudden the car jerked down on the front left & I see my front wheel bouncing in middle of the road and I end up skidding along the road.

Now I hadn't a clue how this happened at the time but recovery guy said it looked like wheel wasn't fit back on properly. I only had a newborn baby in the car half hour before hand so I counted my lucky stars.

So the next morning I went straight to the garage trying not to blow the lid & do it in a good manner as at the end of the day I didn't want to harm the company as I know their isn't a lot of jobs out there!

Although I was pretty angry I confronted the guy who I had dealt with in first place & asked him outside for a chat. He couldn't remember me so I explained everything. He said he will fully investigate when they receive the car which was with the recovery crowd at this time.

So later that day I got phone call from him accepting full responsibility. Now when I went down I said I don't want anyone losing their job etc over this & just to fix my car. I kept my cool but still so annoyed over the fact my newborn could have been in car or even worse if we had of been driving on the motorway etc!

So the side panel was damaged, brake disc, wish bone etc costing I imagine a fair few bob. So he was delighted & kind of licking my arse about all this saying fair play etc for not running amuck in front of customers etc.

Thing is I don't roll like that & I wanted car fix ASAP as I needed it for work & newborn baby. So it was a WEEK later by time I got car back!! Never bothered calling me with an update I had to keep ringing. He said he would sort everything out & as a bonus would fix my suspension as it had needed to be done which I knew before accident. But now since I have car the same kind of noise is there like it wasn't fixed!

The day I collected the car the guy conveniently want there! I told another guy to get him to call me which never happened!

So I guess what I'm saying is am I mad not to pursue this further? I dealt with it in a way which I thought was easiest for all parties involved but I'm not happy the way they dealt with it! I also thought they would give me a goodwill gesture of sone kind for the trouble they caused me..For a number of reasons I still not happy

C) no updates on my car
    D) No real apology
    E) no goodwill gesture

Did you report this to your insurance company? Why not make a claim against your own insurance and let them follow up. Personally wouldn't be letting them near my car again.

catallus wrote: »
    Now I'm no mechanic or car expert but I have to ask.....

Was there any clue (rattle, noise, bad steering) before you had this experience?

I'm just asking...

Nope just about quarter mile before the wheel came off it start making a rattle so that's why I slowed down as I couldn't stop as I was on a dual carriageway with just 2 operating lanes

TonyStark wrote: »
    Did you report this to your insurance company? Why not make a claim against your own insurance and let them follow up. Personally wouldn't be letting them near my car again.

I didn't think I could report to insurance company? Wouldn't know where to start really..

ok, so your wheels comes off, you're understandably pissed off and shaken. unfortunate thing to happen, but it happened to you. count yourself lucky it was at a controllable speed :)

so the garage admitted they were at fault, took your car back and repaired the damage. imo a working week to repair both mechanical and bodywork repairs sounds about fair. out of interest did you check your wheel bolts/ studs 50km after the work like their invoice most likely recommends?

it didn't. be thankful :) and you can't really open a dispute on a settled matter over things that "could have happened".

did you attempt to contact them? did he give you an estimated time frame on the job?

D) No real apology -
    what would you classify as a "real" apology? the mechanic on his hands and knees to you?

E) no goodwill gesture -
    goodwill imo isn't really necessary, maybe a wash and hoover or something. they admitted liability and repaired any damages. i'd be grateful to get that promptly and efficiently.

not really the garages fault if you're taking your life lying down. you should have asked for a courtesy car. you could have car pooled with a friend to work, borrowed your partners car, bought a bicycle etc. i mean if there was €1,000,000 reward for turning in to work that night, you would have made it there somehow, right?

you should have discussed this at the time. again, you can't really open a dispute on a settled matter because you now feel you should have gotten more. you should have used your voice at the time.

don't get me wrong, you were caught up in a dangerous and unpleasant situation which is absolutely awful. but it's over now, you are ok and the car is repaired to a good standard. i'd just chalk it up and move on.

edit : i think "nearly killed" is a bit dramatic too. you'd most likely not die if you hit a brick wall head on at 60km/h, never mind if your wheel slips off on a stretch of open road. "frightening experience" might be more apt.

A) well imagine my wife's fright who only couple days out of a bad labour who was told to rest & a newborn in the car also & were stuck on a very busy dual carriageway

B) very lucky wheel didn't hit another car or bus with passengers! At that time I thought it was my fault & worrying I could have killed someone with my wheel

C) why should I call them? Their at fault they should be ringing me I know I would if in opposite situation! This happened on a thursday I told him I wasn't back in work til the Tuesday which he promised he would have back in time.. I rang him Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & thurs & finally got car back on the Friday!

D) of course I didn't want hands on knees but seriously the head honcho should have at least apologised or even a follow up call see if all was satisfactory with car!

E) a wash or a Hoover? Seriously if I'd have of been 20 yards further on the road I would have been stuck on a big roundabout & surely would have been smacked into!

F) Doesn't matter I still lost out on a few nights work.. I'm only on 3 days part time with a newborn..

G) if their such a big company they should offer me the car not me begging for one! I'm not gonna ring asking I wanted to see for myself if they would even offer one!

I am obviously delighted nothing worse happened & that's prob why i didn't lose my cool.. I had time to reflect and thought it could have been so much worse that's why I went to them with a decent attitude but since the way I was left hanging & all the other goings on that's why I'm not happy.. Put yourself in my shoes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I'm genuinely not being dense here; is it the way they didn't put the nuts on your wheel correctly? is that it?

catallus wrote: »
    I'm genuinely not being dense here; is it the way they didn't put the nuts on your wheel correctly? is that it?

Yea he confirmed to me that they never torqued the nuts on.. I'm also dense about cars. They knew the mechanic who did it & tried to guilt trip me into him going to be sacked for it but I said dont sack the guy a week before Xmas so they disciplined him I think

A) well imagine my wife's fright who only couple days out of a bad labour who was told to rest & a newborn in the car also & were stuck on a very busy dual carriageway

- all we can do is imagine. maybe the powers that be let it happen when you were in the car and not your wife and child to spare them. it's a non event, it didn't happen so it can't be dragged into the equation,

B) very lucky wheel didn't hit another car or bus with passengers! At that time I thought it was my fault & worrying I could have killed someone with my wheel

- your right it is lucky, very lucky, but it didn't happen. again, non event. dual carriageway you say? it'd be fairly unlikely for the wheel to hit another car then unless it had a jetpack attached as it'd start slowing down as soon as it left the hub and is travelling in the same direction as traffic flow with a concrete median.

C) why should I call them? Their at fault they should be ringing me I know I would if in opposite situation! This happened on a thursday I told him I wasn't back in work til the Tuesday which he promised he would have back in time.. I rang him Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & thurs & finally got car back on the Friday!

- you should call them because you are a full grown man in charge of your own life. you did call them and that's good. what did they say when you phoned? parts availability/ paint and prepwork etc, there can be variables in terms of time scales in car repairs, communication and flexibility at both ends is key.

D) of course I didn't want hands on knees but seriously the head honcho should have at least apologised or even a follow up call see if all was satisfactory with car!

- who is the head honcho? the staff member you were dealing with apologised. head honchos pay staff to represent them when they can't be everywhere at once.

E) a wash or a Hoover? Seriously if I'd have of been 20 yards further on the road I would have been stuck on a big roundabout & surely would have been smacked into!

- again, for the 3rd time, that didn't happen. it's a non event and you cant ask for compensation for things that didn't happen. it would have been even less eventful on a roundabout because you would have been going even slower.

F) Doesn't matter I still lost out on a few nights work.. I'm only on 3 days part time with a newborn..

- it entirely matters. you have an onus on yourself to do your best in life and do what you have to do to support your "neworn baby". are you seriously telling me there was literally no way on earth you could have made it to work that night? or did you take it lying down and not really try hard enough?

G) if their such a big company they should offer me the car not me begging for one! I'm not gonna ring asking I wanted to see for myself if they would even offer one!

- it's not begging. its called being a man and asking for what you want. "if you don't ask, you wont receive" and all that. you decided yourself to see would they offer one to conduct a customer service experiment so you could get pissed off later if they didn't. now all you have done is satisfy yourself and be pissed off. you get nothing now. if you asked for a car you probably would have got one.

did you check your wheel bolts/ studs 50kms after the work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

did you check your wheel bolts/ studs 50kms after the work?[/quote]

Thats a cop out checking wheel nuts

I rotate my tyres regularly and use a torque wrench. Never once has a nut loosen.

The amount of time ive seen a tyre company use one is Zero

Most times its just a air gun or they might go over the nuts with a wrench but thats rare enough.

I nerver trust a tyre company after having wheel nuts put on so thight that I broke a wheel brace trying to change wheel after a puncture. Only way to get nuts off was using a large braker bar.

Sloppy work is sloppy work and we are talking 4 or 5 nuts on a typical wheel.

visual wrote: »
    did you check your wheel bolts/ studs 50kms after the work?

Thats a cop out checking wheel nuts

I rotate my tyres regularly and use a torque wrench. Never once has a nut loosen.

The amount of time ive seen a tyre company use one is Zero

Most times its just a air gun or they might go over the nuts with a wrench but thats rare enough.

I nerver trust a tyre company after having wheel nuts put on so thight that I broke a wheel brace trying to change wheel after a puncture. Only way to get nuts off was using a large braker bar.

Sloppy work is sloppy work and we are talking 4 or 5 nuts on a typical wheel.

any time i've had work done at a large scale outfit, the receipt always stipulates that you do this. i can literally assume it is for the good of my health.

if the OP hasn't carried out this check, how can he be sure that he isn't the one at fault after all?

i have once had a wheel come loose while driving. fortunately at town speeds <50km/h and it was quite audible which gave me time to get to it before it became an issue.

the problem could be nuts not tightened, or tightened too much. i'd be surprised again if most big players weren't torquing wheels correctly but it could be the case. i've seen several places i've visited use a torque wrench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Most of "big garages" will have small warning for you in receipt: ~Check wheel nuts after 30 miles.

Any chance it all happened in Dublin/Charlestown beside Lidl? because a week ago I saw a car lying on it's front brake disc and wheel some distance away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

I would have lost the mind! Fair-play for not making a huge fuse!
    If you've gotten the car back, and the damage was repaired, I'd leave it as it is, and just avoid the place again. Do make sure all the damage was fully fixed, and done correctly though. Don't just take his word on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

D) No real apology -

E) no goodwill gesture -

Have to admire your fairly cavalier defence of the mechanic here and trivialisation of the incident!!

It is, of course, wrong in my opinion.

First of all, if we look at similar situations globally (particularly those under which our legal system take guidance), there's the case of Abigail MacNaughton in Ontario. She died as a result of a head on collision. Her vehicle was perfectly fine, however the vehicle that hit her was certified safe (basically an MOT) by a mechanic, when in fact he basically did a half-arsed MOT and it was far from safe.

That mechanic is currently awaiting trial for criminal negligence causing death and could be facing a long stretch behind bars.

The point isn't to trivialise what happened to the OP. This isn't a case where coulda/woulda/shoulda is a good rebuttal.

At the end of the day, he COULD have been killed. And if his wife and child were in the car, they could have been too.

Simply because he got lucky and didn't die doesn't change the fact it was gross negligence. The only difference right now is the OP is not dead - if he was then that mechanic could well be up on criminal charges.

They should be bending over backwards to do everything for this lad.

As a point of interest, simply because this was a minor accident and nobody was hurt is completely irrelevant in certain legal senses. This is surely a frightening episode (for any person). But for certain people this type of accident could very well trigger anxiety, panic attacks or other problems which could affect their ability to drive in the future.

For example, Page v Smith [1995] UKHL 7 a House of Lords decision where the Plaintiff was involved in a minor car accident and was not hurt , successfully sued for damages for Nervous Shock on the basis the accident caused him certain psychological difficulties. That resulted in him being paid out £162,000 (in 1995).

Well and good saying nobody was hurt, move on. But if i was these mechanics i would literally do everything short of giving a blowsie to make sure this lad is kept happy to the point where he won't pursue it any further. That means courtesy cars, free this , free that, hell it's even Xmas i'd have gone the whole hog to keep him happy.

OP if this incident affects you in any way in the future get straight to a solicitor! If not, don't go back to these clowns ever again. Trust is important in any service relationship, whether it's a mechanic, doctor, dentist whatever. I'm hoping you wouldn't go back to a dentist who extracted the wrong tooth or a doctor who diagnosed you with a cold when you had pneumonia. Same deal with your car.

This incident shows mechanics can (and do) directly have the lives of their customers in their hands at times. At the very least they have a duty to make sure the car comes back to the customer in a safe condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

OP you went back to the people who put the wheel on your car on arseways. That is a serious mistake. These lads are obviously useless. I have never heard of this happening to a reputable mechanic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Hi all..

C) no updates on my car
    D) No real apology
    E) no goodwill gesture
    I'd have pointed you to the notice that says check your wheel-nuts after 25km, so I reckon they were really dead on fixing your car and deserve credit for that. Also, "the suspension" didn't worry you when the newborn was in the car. And 3?? Anyway, glad you're ok. Alls well that ends well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

I have to ask, how is the newborn relevant? I can't see how a baby strapped into a baby seat would make any difference whatsoever to this story. Are you a worse driver when you have a baby on board? It strikes me about as relevant as a sticker stating same.

More specifically, why are you asking a web forum about this? If you feel hard done by, ask a solicitor. If you feel upset, talk to a psychologist. What you hope to achieve here is beyond me, unless you're simply looking for attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Exact same thing happened to me, except only three bolts came off so the wheel was just off 75% of the way. I may have posted about it at the time, I actually remembered when e was putting the wheel that came off back in he was trying to sell me brake pads. After it happened I went up to them and they offered me a new set of alloys, I took them but regret it now as it was 3-4 weeks of me ringing everyday before I got them. Also they somewhat cover themselves by putting on the receipt to tighten bolts after 60km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

arleitiss wrote: »
    Most of "big garages" will have small warning for you in receipt: ~Check wheel nuts after 30 miles.

does that cover them legally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Thankfully your alright op.you don't have to give the company name or anything but I'm wondering was this company in cork?
    I had a terrible experience with my last garage, thankfully it was nothing as serious as your, just had to get something repaired that broke itself, received no updates, no professionalism whatsoever, absolutely took the biscuit, they initially offered me a free minor service for the trouble, but i later realised this was just a ploy to get me back for more work to be done as they didn't even fix the problem I went in for initially.
    I don't know how you kept your cool with them to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

fryup wrote: »
    does that cover them legally?

It's an interesting one.
    If there really is a need to check bolts after a properly completed job, I think the fitter should be bringing the car back after 30 miles otherwise there is an assumption that the driver is capable of doing that which is not necessarily true.
    In short, I don't think a disclaimer asking that a non qualified person carries out a follow up check on qualified persons work will stand for anything.
    If it really was a issue that wheels come loose and all fitting centres offered a free 30 mile check and you clearly agreed to have this check carried out as part of the tyre purchase, Then I feel they would be covered but as it stands, its just a poor attempt to cover their arses.

I'd have pointed you to the notice that says check your wheel-nuts after 25km, so I reckon they were really dead on fixing your car and deserve credit for that. Also, "the suspension" didn't worry you when the newborn was in the car. And 3?? Anyway, glad you're ok. Alls well that ends well.

I was getting suspension done as arranged as he told me it needed to be done but not ASAP as it wasn't too bad but wouldn't pass nct which is due in feb so yea I was worried about car suspension with my newborn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

yeah, all your fault steirishrover

ridiculous feedback to the op

rovoagho wrote: »
    I have to ask, how is the newborn relevant? I can't see how a baby strapped into a baby seat would make any difference whatsoever to this story. Are you a worse driver when you have a baby on board? It strikes me about as relevant as a sticker stating same.

More specifically, why are you asking a web forum about this? If you feel hard done by, ask a solicitor. If you feel upset, talk to a psychologist. What you hope to achieve here is beyond me, unless you're simply looking for attention.

Well I'm asking advice on it whether I should pursue it further! Is that not what forums are for to get advice or chat amongst other drivers/people! If you have nothing to decent to say then don't say it at all!

Newborn has a lot to do with it! Are you off your head? I was sliding along the road & went nearly on the grass verge at 40kmph or even worse stuck in the middle of a major roundabout had it been 20 yards more!

Didn't care about my safety just happy child wasn't in car

Some comical replies, I take full blame now I must check my nuts after paying expensive money for a professional service? Some amount of negativity on this site ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

Well I'm asking advice on it whether I should pursue it further! Is that not what forums are for to get advice or chat amongst other drivers/people! If you have nothing to decent to say then don't say it at all!

Newborn has a lot to do with it! Are you off your head? I was sliding along the road & went nearly on the grass verge at 40kmph or even worse stuck in the middle of a major roundabout had it been 20 yards more!

Didn't care about my safety just happy child wasn't in car

But at the end of the day- the child WASN'T in the car. Don't think you can look for compensation for something that never actually occurred.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

A) well imagine my wife's fright who only couple days out of a bad labour who was told to rest & a newborn in the car also & were stuck on a very busy dual carriageway - all we can do is imagine. maybe the powers that be let it happen when you were in the car and not your wife and child to spare them.

Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Imagine if i was a dinosaur and i had lazer beams.

Always check your wheel nuts, you literally didn't notice the wheel coming off your car until it rolled off down the road infront of you.

Man up and take atleast accept some responsability for the situation instead of hiding behind a baby on board (there wasn't) sticker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭mikehn

Dunno, I would not let this drag on, I would send them a registered letter setting out the situation and what you were promised, confirm that the work was not carried out as agreed. If its a franchise I would CC it to the head office. I would give them a week to respond or the next communication will be from your solicitor. Keep it short and to the point. I would be very surprised if this did not get a positive reaction. If no response then I would get a solicitors advice and let him take care of it. Look s**t happens, people can mistakes but its how you deal with it that matters. In my opinion that these people should have given this a lot more care and attention and for that alone I would pursue it. I speak from some bit of experience as a rep from the company that I work for had a similar experience, a rear wheel came off fortunately when he was turning into his driveway, within the hour the garage had collected the car on a low loader and left him a courtesy car. It took almost a week to get the repairs done. They sent him a voucher for a weekend away and a free service for his own(wifes) car. He also got a phone call from the garage boss to apologise.

mikehn wrote: »
    Dunno, I would not let this drag on, I would send them a registered letter setting out the situation and what you were promised, confirm that the work was not carried out as agreed. If its a franchise I would CC it to the head office. I would give them a week to respond or the next communication will be from your solicitor. Keep it short and to the point. I would be very surprised if this did not get a positive reaction. If no response then I would get a solicitors advice and let him take care of it. Look s**t happens, people can mistakes but its how you deal with it that matters. In my opinion that these people should have given this a lot more care and attention and for that alone I would pursue it. I speak from some bit of experience as a rep from the company that I work for had a similar experience, a rear wheel came off fortunately when he was turning into his driveway, within the hour the garage had collected the car on a low loader and left him a courtesy car. It took almost a week to get the repairs done. They sent him a voucher for a weekend away and a free service for his own(wifes) car. He also got a phone call from the garage boss to apologise.

You hit the nail for me with your comments.. That was my approach to it that **** happens & try move on from it.. But the way they reacted etc made me more agitated.. They made no efforts in my opinion for something so serious! They were delighted with my approach as being calm & not making situation worse etc so I expected a good approach back from them which I did not get..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Some of the responses here are baffling!

OP brings his car to get tyres fitted, fitter does a half-assed job (admits it was their fault later on), wheel comes off and it's the OP's fault??

This fitter should count themselves damn lucky the OP dealt with as he did and that they're not facing legal action/charges as a result of THEIR (admitted!) negligence.

However OP, you did accept what they offered and the car is now fixed so I'd consider it case closed on this occasion (but I'm not a solicitor so maybe one would have a different opinion). Either way it's a lesson to learn from.

As for the suggestion that a disclaimer that may or may not be on the receipt, and which may or may not hold up in court, absolves the fitter - I can only assume that we have people in the trade posting such weak excuses.

Get legal advice if you're still not happy OP but as above I think you may be too late now but hopefully you'll never need to make that call in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

You hit the nail for me with your comments.. That was my approach to it that **** happens & try move on from it.. But the way they reacted etc made me more agitated.. They made no efforts in my opinion for something so serious! They were delighted with my approach as being calm & not making situation worse etc so I expected a good approach back from them which I did not get..

If you are thinking of taking this further, claiming stress and going legal to get compensation you should stop now and don't post any further.

Going by this post alone you seem more upset by your treatment post accident than the actual accident itself. Zero compensation likely in that case.

I wouldn't use this garage again other than to get the suspension fixed. They fixed the damage done to your car that was caused by their negligence and unless you decide to claim for stress then there is nothing more to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Mo60

This thread has gone the way of many others - OP is criticized although they have done nothing wrong. I thought Boards was for obtaining sensible advice from other like-minded people, but I must be wrong.

As for OP, if I was in their position, I would contact the head office of the company concerned detailing everything that happened.

Mo60 wrote: »

As for OP, if I was in their position, I would contact the head office of the company concerned detailing everything that happened.

To what purpose? To ensure the staff member was disciplined? Isn't that going to be done anyway as the local manager is likely to have been furious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

OP brings his car to get tyres fitted, fitter does a half-assed job (admits it was their fault later on), wheel comes off and it's the OP's fault??

Absolutely not the Op's fault,

But

I think the thread title is a bit OTT.

" I nearly killed myself"

No a better title might be, "I brought my car to a garage and the wheel fell off" afterwards.

The lack of sympathy here in Motors, is because the consensus seems to be that,

any experienced driver should always notice that if a wheel is rattling around loose, the correct course of action would be to stop and check when safe to do so or slow to a crawl.
    it's happened to me a number of times,(through my own haste)but never to the point where there was any danger of the wheel coming off completely.

However I was always told that over tightening wheel nuts is more dangerous than loose nuts , because over tightened nuts or bolts could snap clean off, which is indeed very dangerous .

In defence of the op perhaps the nuts were over tightened and it did indeed shear the bolts with NO WARNING, before wheel loss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

You can't be surprised when it comes to this Board though. He could have bought a spanking brand new car, driven it out of the showroom only for it to self combust half a mile down the road and he'd be told that he should have had fire extinguishers and a team of firemen with him just in case.

You're taking your very sanity in hand when you decide to start a thread on this Forum. It is quite unbelievable the amount of self-righteous wackos that seem to be just waiting by their keyboards ready to shoot down anyone who wants to relate an honest story.

smcgiff wrote: »
    To what purpose? To ensure the staff member was disciplined? Isn't that going to be done anyway as the local manager is likely to have been furious.

Speaking from experience, I have found the higher you go the more likely you are to get a satisfactory outcome. After all, if this is a reputable company they will want to protect their reputation.

Mo60 wrote: »
    Speaking from experience, I have found the higher you go the more likely you are to get a satisfactory outcome. After all, if this is a reputable company they will want to protect their reputation.

What outcome are you expecting?

smcgiff wrote: »
    What outcome are you expecting?

The outcome has nothing to do with me. The OP is not satisfied with their treatment, so I am recommending they take it to head office as they were not happy with the service they received at local level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

I didn't think I could report to insurance company? Wouldn't know where to start really..

Most policies will let you have a car loan for a period after the accident. The garage did admit liability for the accident, due to sloppy workmanship.

Again I just wouldn't let them near my car to "fix it" if they can't even tighten a few bolts. Presumably they didn't forget to charge you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Some comical replies, I take full blame now I must check my nuts after paying expensive money for a professional service? Some amount of negativity on this site ;-)

As I said earlier I rotate my 5 tyres every 5 k each wheel has 5 nuts all totorqued with a torque wrench. 20 wheel nuts in total.
    I will recheck them but never once has a nut undone its self. Tyre companies stick that disclaimer on receipt hoping it will reduce their liability. But if the nuts are correctly fitted and torqued they won't all suddenly decide to losen and pop off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

If it occurred several days later, could someone have tried to steal a wheel in the meantime? How long after working on a car is a mechanic liable for faults that develop?

I thought wheelnut threads were rotated so they couldn't unwind going forward. :o

A salutary lesson. I notice always a warning to check the nuts after I get a tyre. From now on I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

To the op, I would have the car looked at by an independent mechanic, you obviously know little about cars, your car slid along the road on its brake disc, maybe the sump caught the ground, brake pipes ? Not meaning to frighten you but any amount of damage could have been done that you are not aware of so get your car checked, remember you have the tow truck as a witness