Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January wildcard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

Is anyone considering getting a Southampton defender back in? Their tough run is pretty much over now. In the next 10 weeks they only have two games against teams in the top half. At this stage they would be a decent differential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Ok what do people think?

7oha.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Lemlin wrote: »
    You've outlined my defensive strategy there.

My planned goalkeepers are Mannone and McGregor. I just have to get McGregor in for Harper. No rush to do it until the wildcard as Mannone has three good fixtures up soon.

My present defence are:

Mertesacker, Terry, Coleman (as my three expensive defenders), Ben Turner and Ward.

The plan is that the three expensive defenders will play pretty much every week barring injury and suspension. All three have the potential to keep a clean sheet against anyone and the potential to score against anyone.

Turner and Ward are then there to fill in. I could go for Chester but I'd prefer to have McGregor.

Hull for me are one of the best teams in the league defensively. They lost 2-0 to Liverpool yesterday and have only conceded more than two once in a game (away to United). Even when they do lose, they don't get a drubbing and Bruce has them setup well. I often say I go for managers rather than teams and Pulis and Bruce are two managers with pedigree for clean sheets.

Yeah ditto.

My planned goalies are Mannone-Marshall. They offer a great home/away rotation and also a pretty good fixtures toughness rotation until the end of the season. Alike for the defenders, I had a look until GW 38 and there are only 2 problematic GWs (GW 34 and 37 which leaves time to adjust). Hopefully Mannone keeps his starting position. Otherwise that would screw the plan dramatically!

I have Chester (I got him in at £3.8m and these £0.2m or £0.3m saved compared to B. Turner are gonna be crucial to build my "ideal" team - unfortunately I don't have the same flexibility than you cash wise) and am not sure about doubling up on Hull defense despite all the positive arguments in their favour. In addition they're gonna face some strong oppsitions at home (e.g. Chelsea, Spurs, Southampton, Newcastle, Man City in their next 5 games).

BTW, I like your idea of going with the managers. The only thing is as a foreigner from the continent biggrin.png I don't know too much about them... But IIRC Tony Pulis was the Stoke manager these previous years so yeah it's not a "miracle" that CP are well organised at the back.

What about Fulham? They used to be good for a CS here and there but this year they're probably one of the worse team regarding it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭G1032

I can have this team. Looks good enough to me. Need Kos and Terry to hold their price though. If all came to all I could just do Lukaku -> Adebayor

e165911f9f42d618010942da0dd8cf4b.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

G1032 wrote: »
    He's averaged 7 points per 90 minutes played. Thats not bad. If a striker guaranteed you 7 points every game you'd have him in

Its more recently that concerns me -- his niggling injury, his drop to midfield. Added to Rvp's return, I think Aguero will be a better option. Still, he ain't leaving my team yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Ya. Looks good so. With my current team I can do Mert -> Kos and get Aguero in for Rooney if required. It'll probably be a neccessary switch at some stage because when he's back fit everyone will want Aguero in again
    I'm hoping that people play their WC without any plan in place to get Aguero back in

To be fair in most cases it will probably only require 2 transfers e.g Lukaku/adeybayor/whoever + lallana/cabaye/whoever out for aguero and cheapie midfielder. Might not even require a points hit. Plus it might be worth giving a game or two for aguero to settle in before getting him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

qwabercd wrote: »
    To be fair in most cases it will probably only require 2 transfers e.g Lukaku/adeybayor/whoever + lallana/cabaye/whoever out for aguero and cheapie midfielder. Might not even require a points hit. Plus it might be worth giving a game or two for aguero to settle in before getting him back.

You can be sure Agueros price will rise fast as his return is announced. I'll be getting him as soon as he is announced fit anyway.

qwabercd wrote: »

True but it would be nice to be able to retain 3 top defenders and 4 top mids.
    For me it'll hopefully be just doing Mert --> Kos which isn't exactly a massive downgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Just_Magic

Who do people think is the better long term prospect...Cabaye or Eriksen?

I'm going with cabaye with adebayor as my spurs backup

I can have this team. Looks good enough to me. Need Kos and Terry to hold their price though. If all came to all I could just do Lukaku -> Adebayor

e165911f9f42d618010942da0dd8cf4b.png

Very strong team. Balanced enough too. Looks like one ideal squad.

Which brings me to
    Something like
    mannone marshall
    azpil nastasic koscielny( ward chester)
    silva walcott ozil hazard( livermore)
    suarez ade( if fit) lukaku or negredo.
    Aguero will be in as soon as he is fit.
    [...]
    The big players transferred out were Szcz, Cabaye and Lukaku. The rest of the transfers were just bench fodder

Is the team stronger with Szcz, Cabaye and Lukaku or Krul, Eriksen and Adebayor?

Room for Aguero by downgrading Mert to Kos and selling Rooney

Ade and Mutch wouldn;t be bought until the end of WC as I could put in JRod and Huddlestone to make 0.1 from each.

Edit: Too much invested in Spurs attack I think.

Edit 2: I think by doing the above it's only a sideways move. No real improvement and it's using the WC just for the sake of using it

Szcz - Krul is probably a backward step
    Cabaye - Eriksen - Who knows? Much of a muchness
    Lukaku - Adebayor - Same as above but that transfer can be done at any time since Lukaku is the more expensive

It might be wiser to just sell Jedinak for Huddlestone today and move Huddlestone on in last week of WC for Mutch. Huddlestone will hopefully have made 0.1 by then
    silva hazard ozil walcott
    suarez ade (lukaku, jay rod or negredo).

Let's make a quick little summary on the strikeforce options. I'd say that:

in terms of midfield:

• 3 of Walcott/Ozil - Hazard/Oscar(?) - Silva/Yaya need to be there.
    • Than 1 of Cabaye, Eriksen, Ramsey (?) when back could take the 4th spot in a 3-4-3 formation.
    • The 5th midfielder should be a cheapie who plays week in week out.
    - In the £4.8m bracket : Mutch, Livermore/Huddlestone, N'Zonzi, Diamé, Redmond... Morrisson (WH) or Brady when back?
    - In the £4.3m bracket : Jedinak, Colback (? - is he really a regular?), José Cañas, Delph.
    and forward:

• Suarez - Rooney - Lukaku was a popular Christmas combination.
    • Aguero would replace Rooney in theory.
    • I'm not sure about Negredo. He is pretty expensive for not being a guaranteed starter week in week out. I had a look at him for the Christmas period (for Lukaku), but his 16 points in 4 games for Lukaku's 15 make me wonder if he deserves the £1m-£1.5m extra (considering I got Lukaku at £7.8m).
    • And Ade for Lukaku ? Ade has always been very inconsistent though... Is he guaranteed a start too? On the other hand, Lukaku despite being disappointing lately has been pretty consistent (51 points in his last 10 games, 4 goals and 3 assists ; it's not great but for a third forward not that bad a return). He's a guaranteed starter too.
    • Rodriguez and Rémy could be cheaper 3rd striker options with similar returns though.

### ### ###

Who do people think is the better long term prospect...Cabaye or Eriksen?
    I would say Eriksen but it's much of a muchness. If you don't have Adebayor then go for Eriksen but I'd probably take Adebayor ahead of Eriksen for Spurs attacking cover.

Yeah I guess getting Ade upfront would solve this dilemma for you. Otherwise it's atough call. Maybe Spurs have slightly better fixtures and seem to be on a roll with their new manager. There are also rumours around Cabaye who seems to interest PSG and Monaco (they'd want good French players in their teams preparing for the financial fair play and to improve their image in France), although these 2 teams have depth and quality in their midfield so can't really see Cabaye joining them 6 months to the WC especially since he is our most essential player for the French team. He's kind of our playmaker from depth, the one that does the very important first pass, he allows Pogba to be in his preferred position (number 8) in front of him and he's complimentary with Matuidi for getting the ball back.

### ### ###

Sorry for the elephantine post :o...

TL;DR: Just look at G1032 proposed team at the start of my post for a quick answer to my post title ;).

iroced wrote: »
    - In the £4.3m bracket : Jedinak, Colback (? - is he really a regular?), José Cañas, Delph.

Since I'll probably hold off until later in month for WC I may just keep Jedinak in my midfield. I've already lost 0.2 on him and I'm now wondering what value, if any, there is in 'upgrading' him to the likes of Mutch? Neither would ever be in my starting 11 unless it was in exceptional circumstances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

With Oscar being back and at 8.7m, is Hazard worth the extra 1.5m? I can probably afford him so might just go for it anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

In the £4.3m bracket : Jedinak, Colback (? - is he really a regular?), José Canas, Deplh

I very very nearly signed Scott Parker last night for this category. Is there any reason why he would be a bad idea? Nailed on, can score goals, inconsistent steam but improving.

Also I'd possibly add Meyler of Hull at 4.3m in this range.

Interesting article on FFS on jan Wildcard strategy... http://www.fantasyfootballscout.co.uk/2014/01/01/january-wildcard-strategies/

Nothing overly revolutionary, but I was interested in the point about gw23, the midweek series. We will have the lineups for all the games before the transfer deadline. It seems to be suggesting that if you were leving the WC to the very last week, (28th Jan to 1st Feb) you could possibly make gains by using,for example, 2 FTs and a hit to bring in a team geared for these fixtures knowing who is starting. For example, Man U are home to Cardiff, you could bring in RVP and another 2 united players for the one game. Then wildcard after the deadline and get the team reorganised.

Could be something worth considering if you are leaving the WC till late. You only have a 5 day WC window, but price rises may even be quicker with the shorter period so you could still get a few 0.2 bandwagons. Also you get to know all the new signings even the last minute ones which could be very interesting such as Lukaku to Everton earlier this season.

What do yis more experienced players think, ever done anything like that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

FHFC wrote: »
    I very very nearly signed Scott Parker last night for this category. Is there any reason why he would be a bad idea? Nailed on, can score goals, inconsistent steam but improving.

I don't rate Parker, he hadn't scored for years before this season. He's a neat and tidy midfielder who likes a safe pass, not really Suited to FF. I think Mutch is a better option if you can afford the extra €0.2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Interesting article on FFS on jan Wildcard strategy... http://www.fantasyfootballscout.co.uk/2014/01/01/january-wildcard-strategies/

Nothing overly revolutionary, but I was interested in the point about gw23, the midweek series. We will have the lineups for all the games before the transfer deadline. It seems to be suggesting that if you were leving the WC to the very last week, (28th Jan to 1st Feb) you could possibly make gains by using,for example, 2 FTs and a hit to bring in a team geared for these fixtures knowing who is starting. For example, Man U are home to Cardiff, you could bring in RVP and another 2 united players for the one game. Then wildcard after the deadline and get the team reorganised.

Could be something worth considering if you are leaving the WC till late. You only have a 5 day WC window, but price rises may even be quicker with the shorter period so you could still get a few 0.2 bandwagons. Also you get to know all the new signings even the last minute ones which could be very interesting such as Lukaku to Everton earlier this season.

I can't comment re the strategy with the transfers above but I always leave my January wildcard until the last possible GW. That strategy has always served me well. Alot can change in 3-4 GWs and there's alot of football to be played.

City, for example, will have played two games before they even line out in FF again. Plenty of chance there for injuries/suspensions.

We'll also know by then who is going to miss the Catling Cup gameweek at the end if February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

ye if your teams in good shape till then, it would be good for one off punts with knowing the teams. I train tuesday nights so no benefit to me.

Dearg81 wrote: »
    I don't rate Parker, he hadn't scored for years before this season. He's a neat and tidy midfielder who likes a safe pass, not really Suited to FF. I think Mutch is a better option if you can afford the extra €0.2.

Cheers. Haven't been a avid EPL follower for years now, nor have I played FPL before so I was wondering if he had bad from as a FPL option. I went for huddlestone in te he end anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

No players droping, 3 on the rise, holding of on a transfer and that wildcard for now.

WC possibly when the next GW starts, or the following one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

Cheers. Haven't been a avid EPL follower for years now, nor have I played FPL before so I was wondering if he had bad from as a FPL option. I went for huddlestone in te he end anyway.

Yea I saw your rank just now in the other thread, you're doing well for your first season, keep it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭IsMiseMyself

No plans to use my WC for a while yet. Team's in good shape. Just need to loosen up funds for Aguero, which should be handy enough. Ideally would like a better fourth mid than Jan/Sterling, but I can't afford it without other parts of the team suffering a bit.

Since I'll probably hold off until later in month for WC I may just keep Jedinak in my midfield. I've already lost 0.2 on him and I'm now wondering what value, if any, there is in 'upgrading' him to the likes of Mutch? Neither would ever be in my starting 11 unless it was in exceptional circumstances

Well, as much as it can be annoying to lose value on a player, if he's only filling the 15th spot on your team, there's no need to invest further and use a transfer, especially since you can't save cash out of him unless you get in a £4.2m midfielder (IIRC Colback or José Cañas for the ones who regularly play though the former is not a 100% guaranteed regular starter (*)). Jedinak is also (slowly) rising at the moment. Who knows with the January WC window activated he may rise once...
    Dearg81 wrote: »

Yeah Parker has never been a FF player despite how essential he can be on the pitch. But if you don't have more than £4.4m to spend on your 5th midfielder he should give you 2 pts if you need him for a week.

Meyler was under my radar too. I just didn't include him because he seemed to gain game time recently and I don't know why at all so didn't want to throw out a name without any info on it. Is he gonna be a regular now? Is he in for Brady?

- edit -

(*) BTW what are people opinions on Colback? He was dropped from the Sunderland line-up about 1 month ago (don't know if he got injured, dropped...) and seemed to slowly get his position back. Is he nailed on now or... ? At £4.2m he's quite tempting as my 15th man.

Meyler was under my radar too. I just didn't include him because he seemed to gain game time recently and I don't know why at all so didn't want to throw out a name without any info on it. Is he gonna be a regular now? Is he in for Brady?

I'm not sure if he directly replaces Brady but seems to have been starting games as Brady's demise began. He started 6 in a row from their defeat to Palace up to the Man U game where he got injured. Missed to 6-0 win over Fulham but cam straight back in to start the next week despite the big win. He was subbed last week but I ll be keeping an eye on his game time till WC as he does get forward and is a great price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

Gonna be interesting to see where mata and possibly cabaye move to.........I currently have cabaye and will hold onto him and wildcard till end of Jan if possible to see if he moves to united....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Just_Magic

Wildcard played.

Foster boruc
    Azpilicueta Coleman koscielny Chester ward
    Cabaye hazard januzaj Walcott lallana
    Lukaku adebayor Suarez

No city cover til aguero comes back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭dahat

First draft, looks pretty good to me. My two big decision's were lukaku to j rod and Cabaye to Erickson who i was keen to get in.

Any advice welcome....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Neoulous

dahat wrote: »
    First draft, looks pretty good to me. My two big decision's were lukaku to j rod and Cabaye to Erickson who i was keen to get in.

Any advice welcome....

Looks good. You now need to find another £0.3m if you want to get Aguero in for Rooney when he'll be back.

Personally after a dreadful Christmas I started the surgery on new year's day:
    Negredo out - J. Rodriguez in
    Cazorla out - Walcott in
    Distin out - Sagna in

Can't say I'm too bothered though this year. Only joined GW10 so don't really have many goals to reach apart from highest possible rank and GW10 rank...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

dahat wrote: »

Any advice welcome....

I'm rethinking McGregor having read this:
    David Marshall and Vito Mannone – Current Cost 9.1
    Next 10 Gameweeks: WHM, SOU, STO, NOR, HUL, AVL, HUL, WBA, FUL, CPL
    Cardiff and Sunderland offer a run of 10 straight home games, with only three fixtures (Hull twice and Southampton) against sides currently in the top half of the table. These two sides rotate home/away all the way up to Gameweek 36 and also produce home clashes with West Ham, Palace, Stoke, Cardiff and Swansea in five of the last eight Gameweeks.
    Mannone only has two clean sheets in five now at the Stadium of Light but with Wes Brown now free from suspension, the Black Cats’ defensive potential looks set for an upturn. Indeed, Brown’s return hands us a dilemma – he’s cheaper than Mannone at 4.3 to 4.4 and has earned five bonus points in the two games he has produced a clean sheet. Phil Bardsley, at 4.5, offers a more attacking alternative and has notched against both City and Chelsea since Gus Poyet’s installation.

I have the luxury of the next three weeks to see how Cardiff play under Ole. You don't have that though.

I also still think Silva is a better option than Yaya. I think I read recently, could be wrong, that when both have started this season Silva has out scored Yaya. The thing is Yaya is just a tank who doesn't seem to miss games.

I'm going with Silva myself having weighed up both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Neoulous wrote: »
    Looks good. You now need to find another £0.3m if you want to get Aguero in for Rooney when he'll be back.
    Lemlin wrote: »
    I'm rethinking McGregor having read this:

I have the luxury of the next three weeks to see how Cardiff play under Ole. You don't have that though.

I also still think Silva is a better option than Yaya. I think I read recently, could be wrong, that when both have started this season Silva has out scored Yaya. The thing is Yaya is just a tank who doesn't seem to miss games.

I'm going with Silva myself having weighed up both.

Yaya to Silva would free up the required funds to get Aguero in if/when fit, i do fear he will be eased in slowly given he is quite inury prone imo.

The problem with Marshall is having Turner as well plus OGS likes to play attacking football with may effect the chances of CS quite a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

- edit -

(*) BTW what are people opinions on Colback? He was dropped from the Sunderland line-up about 1 month ago (don't know if he got injured, dropped...) and seemed to slowly get his position back. Is he nailed on now or... ? At £4.2m he's quite tempting as my 15th man.
    Hull have switched to a 3 5 2 about 6-8 gws ago from the 4 3 3 formation they were using earlier on in the season. This formation doesnt suit brady as I cant see him starting wing back. Meylers gametime has improved massively under this formation.