Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January wildcard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

I don't know what to do with my wildcard. What are peoples opinions on this draft. I'm not sure yet if it's the right way to go so I'm interested in seeing what others think.

Krul
    Lewis

Coleman
    Koscielny
    Chester
    Ward
    Whitaker

Walcott
    Hazard
    Toure
    Eriksen
    Colback

Rooney
    Suarez
    Lukaku

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,348 ✭✭✭✭CSF

eriksen should get you a .2 he is at nearly 70% to a rise and 6k transfers in today. I moved cabaye out for him today had made .3 profit on him for his 3 gws.
    I don't want Eriksen to go up today. If Sterling was to go up today (which he will) and I could find a way to work Eriksen in for him aswell as getting Coleman in tonight I'd be doing grand for the first few days. Will have to have a look at that this evening. Having Suarez, Negredo, Hazard, Toure, Walcott with value held in them all makes tinkering that bit more difficult. It is a nice difficulty to have considering they are 5 of the most desirable players in the game, but still a difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭G1032

How does this look?

7a9d93f832270e35c41a417e246ec099.png

The big players transferred out were Szcz, Cabaye and Lukaku. The rest of the transfers were just bench fodder

Is the team stronger with Szcz, Cabaye and Lukaku or Krul, Eriksen and Adebayor?

Room for Aguero by downgrading Mert to Kos and selling Rooney

Ade and Mutch wouldn;t be bought until the end of WC as I could put in JRod and Huddlestone to make 0.1 from each.

Edit: Too much invested in Spurs attack I think.

Edit 2: I think by doing the above it's only a sideways move. No real improvement and it's using the WC just for the sake of using it

Szcz - Krul is probably a backward step
    Cabaye - Eriksen - Who knows? Much of a muchness
    Lukaku - Adebayor - Same as above but that transfer can be done at any time since Lukaku is the more expensive

It might be wiser to just sell Jedinak for Huddlestone today and move Huddlestone on in last week of WC for Mutch. Huddlestone will hopefully have made 0.1 by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,183 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Who do people think is the better long term prospect...Cabaye or Eriksen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,429 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Eriksen....but I'm biased!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

If Ozil doesn't play or score significant returns for a few weeks now in Jan he could be very nicely priced and affordable. Fingers crossed.

I would say Eriksen but it's much of a muchness. If you don't have Adebayor then go for Eriksen but I'd probably take Adebayor ahead of Eriksen for Spurs attacking cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

CSF wrote: »
    I don't want Eriksen to go up today. If Sterling was to go up today (which he will) and I could find a way to work Eriksen in for him aswell as getting Coleman in tonight I'd be doing grand for the first few days. Will have to have a look at that this evening. Having Suarez, Negredo, Hazard, Toure, Walcott with value held in them all makes tinkering that bit more difficult. It is a nice difficulty to have considering they are 5 of the most desirable players in the game, but still a difficulty.
    Ye I meant sterling to eriksen tomorrow. Im waiting on sterling to rise tonight to give me another .1 and another spot in midfield to chase price rises.

Aguero down to 11.9 and will probably stay there now. Needs another 60,000+ transfers out to go down to 11.8 and I can't see that happening

If Ozil doesn't play or score significant returns for a few weeks now in Jan he could be very nicely priced and affordable. Fingers crossed.

he is supposed to be back for the next league game against Villa. He will be in my final draft should be 9.8 and a bit of a differential now aswell.

Whats your final front 7 going to be?

G1032 wrote: »
    Whats your final front 7 going to be?

silva hazard ozil walcott
    suarez ade (lukaku, jay rod or negredo).

silva hazard ozil walcott
    suarez ade (lukaku, jay rod or negredo).

How do you get Aguero back into that team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

frimpong wrote: »
    I don't know what to do with my wildcard. What are peoples opinions on this draft. I'm not sure yet if it's the right way to go so I'm interested in seeing what others think.

Krul
    Lewis

Coleman
    Koscielny
    Chester
    Ward
    Whitaker

Walcott
    Hazard
    Toure
    Eriksen
    Colback

Rooney
    Suarez
    Lukaku

I can see maybe four weak points, and if it was me, I'd change:

A 2nd goalie who plays
    Whittaker out (don't think his place is guaranteed)
    Rooney out - his returns have been disappointing; he's playing more in midfield; RVP will be back and take penos, frees and some corners
    Lukaku out - his returns have been becoming progressively more disappointing

But that's just me. I'm planning to WC at the end of the month when Aguero is back and the Adebayor situation is clearer

How do you get Aguero back into that team?

ozil to eriksen and 3rd striker to aguero would be one way. It is something I have to plan for as I definetly want aguero in my team when fit. Suarez, ade, aguero would be my front 3 of choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

All that is clear is that 3 of my midfielders will be Silva, Walcott and Oscar. I already own the first 2. Couts/Ozil/Erikson/Gerrard are fighting for spot number 4 and 5 will be somebody 5.0 or under.

Suarez stays but Rooney does concern me. Moyes saying he needs rest and the general nigglyness of his injury but he could easily be rested for the FA and League cup and be fit and rearing to go. Welbeck could be a short term option. 3rd spot is then between Ade/Lukaku/J-Rod until somebody new and shiny arrives into the league :D

Defence writes itself. With Kos, Coleman and Mickey T staying (as long as the hammy is ok) and probably Ward and Chester in for BTurner and Danny G.

Even if I do use the WC this GW I won;t activate it for a while so I can have the option of not using it. Chasing prices rises is not a priority anymore as the period between GW3 and GW4 didn't yield as much bounty as I'd hoped. Plus most of the players I'm after don't seem to be the real bandwagoners. I can sustain a rise from the likes of Erikson or Oscar and Ade's injury keeps him sweet for a while too.

Also I have 8000 words to write before the 15th of Jan and I don't need the distraction the WC brings once I get cracking :pac: :eek:

A 2nd goalie who plays
    Rooney out - his returns have been disappointing; he's playing more in midfield; RVP will be back and take penos, frees and some corners

But that's just me. I'm planning to WC at the end of the month when Aguero is back and the Adebayor situation is clearer

He's averaged 7 points per 90 minutes played. Thats not bad. If a striker guaranteed you 7 points every game you'd have him in

ozil to eriksen and 3rd striker to aguero would be one way. It is something I have to plan for as I definetly want aguero in my team when fit. Suarez, ade, aguero would be my front 3 of choice.

Ya. Looks good so. With my current team I can do Mert -> Kos and get Aguero in for Rooney if required. It'll probably be a neccessary switch at some stage because when he's back fit everyone will want Aguero in again
    I'm hoping that people play their WC without any plan in place to get Aguero back in

All that is clear is that 3 of my midfielders will be Silva, Walcott and Oscar. I already own the first 2. Couts/Ozil/Erikson/Gerrard are fighting for spot number 4 and 5 will be somebody 5.0 or under.

Suarez stays but Rooney does concern me. Moyes saying he needs rest and the general nigglyness of his injury but he could easily be rested for the FA and League cup and be fit and rearing to go. Welbeck could be a short term option. 3rd spot is then between Ade/Lukaku/J-Rod until somebody new and shiny arrives into the league :D

Defence writes itself. With Kos, Coleman and Mickey T staying (as long as the hammy is ok) and probably Ward and Chester in for BTurner and Danny G.

Even if I do use the WC this GW I won;t activate it for a while so I can have the option of not using it. Chasing prices rises is not a priority anymore as the period between GW3 and GW4 didn't yield as much bounty as I'd hoped. Plus most of the players I'm after don't seem to be the real bandwagoners. I can sustain a rise from the likes of Erikson or Oscar and Ade's injury keeps him sweet for a while too.

Also I have 8000 words to write before the 15th of Jan and I don't need the distraction the WC brings once I get cracking :pac: :eek:

This is what has stopped me playing the WC already. Chasing price rises and wanting RVP with first WC destroyed my season. I'm not chasing rises this time so might just hold off until last week and re-jig my bench wuth the WC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,600 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Will play the wild card at the end of the month.

Want to keep:

Zabaleta
    Coleman
    Yaya
    Walcott
    Suarez
    Sagna

Should they stay or should they go now:

Chester
    Lallana
    Henderson
    Barkley
    Rooney
    Adebayour

Out the door:

Mignolet
    Gazzinaga
    Shaw

Would like to get:

Hazard
    Aguero

Thinking of settling on:

286962.jpg

Don't want to double up on Hull/Crystal Palace defenders though -- any other teams with cheap defenders that rotate well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

8-10 wrote: »
    Why not Azpil? Ivanovic injured now

Would he be a regular though? Is his starting position in contention with Ivan ? Ivan should be back in 3 GWs time and I'd like to make long term investment. If I play my WC ideally my team should not need any surgery for a while (bar injuries or huge loss of form of course, fingers crossed that does not happen !) and should allow me to welcome back Aguero when he returns.
    Shedite27 wrote: »
    No injury, just dropped.

Ah... That's not great news. Means Mourinho can drop him again I presume. Do you know how does he like/rate A. Cole? Not like Mata hopefully :rolleyes:...

### ### ###

I had a look at the long term prospect of a defence made of 3 regular big point hitters from 3 "big" teams and 2 cheapies who rotate well together and offer decent alternatives when one or two of your "big" names face a strong opposition.

Arsenal def - Chelsea def (Kos-Terry seems popular enough) - Coleman - Gabbidon - Chester

I know it's a bit ridiculous to look 'till GW38 already but for the craic I gave it a try and only noticed 3 GWs where you'd be in trouble, 2 of which being GWs 36 and 37 !
    So if we assume there should be enough time and players/teams form evolution/variation until that period to have a better looking defense then, we are looking at only 1 problematic GW (GW24) with that defence (choose 1 between Chelsea away to City, CP away to Arsenal and Hull home to Spurs - in fairness the latter could do it).
    For example GW25 Coleman away to Spurs and Arsenal away to Liverpool could be replaced by Gabbidon home to WBA and Chester away to Sunderland.

What do you guys think? Do you have other teams under your radar for defensive purposes ?
    • Southampton and Spurs have a good overall record but reflects mor etheir season start, they were leaky lately.
    • West Ham and Newcastle are not bad but they have something like a 50-50 home/away CS history which is not good for selection headaches. Aston Villa are even worse with 2/3 of away CS !
    • Man City, Man Utd and Liverpool are expensive for what they bring. Could be a temporary punt depending on fixtures...
    • Stoke maybe ? They are not as tough at the back as they used to be, especially at home... (Hull seems to be the new Stoke, the home CS team: 6 out of 10 !!!).
    • Sunderland, Norwich, Cardiff, Swansea, WBA could also fit in the 2 cheapies positions (their CS records is just 1 or 2 behind these previous teams) but they also spread them ~ 50-50 H/A...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,348 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Aguero down to 11.9 and will probably stay there now. Needs another 60,000+ transfers out to go down to 11.8 and I can't see that happening

But I need him to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

iroced wrote: »
    Would he be a regular though? Is his starting position in contention with Ivan ? Ivan should be back in 3 GWs time and I'd like to make long term investment. If I play my WC ideally my team should not need any surgery for a while (bar injuries or huge loss of form of course, fingers crossed that does not happen !) and should allow me to welcome back Aguero when he returns.

Ah... That's not great news. Means Mourinho can drop him again I presume. Do you know how does he like/rate A. Cole? Not like Mata hopefully :rolleyes:...

### ### ###

I had a look at the long term prospect of a defence made of 3 regular big point hitters from 3 "big" teams and 2 cheapies who rotate well together and offer decent alternatives when one or two of your "big" names face a strong opposition.

Arsenal def - Chelsea def (Kos-Terry seems popular enough) - Coleman - Gabbidon - Chester

I know it's a bit ridiculous to look 'till GW38 already but for the craic I gave it a try and only noticed 3 GWs where you'd be in trouble, 2 of which being GWs 36 and 37 !
    So if we assume there should be enough time and players/teams form evolution/variation until that period to have a better looking defense then, we are looking at only 1 problematic GW (GW24) with that defence (choose 1 between Chelsea away to City, CP away to Arsenal and Hull home to Spurs - in fairness the latter could do it).
    For example GW25 Coleman away to Spurs and Arsenal away to Liverpool could be replaced by Gabbidon home to WBA and Chester away to Sunderland.

What do you guys think? Do you have other teams under your radar for defensive purposes ?
    • Southampton and Spurs have a good overall record but reflects mor etheir season start, they were leaky lately.
    • West Ham and Newcastle are not bad but they have something like a 50-50 home/away CS history which is not good for selection headaches. Aston Villa are even worse with 2/3 of away CS !
    • Man City, Man Utd and Liverpool are expensive for what they bring. Could be a temporary punt depending on fixtures...
    • Stoke maybe ? They are not as tough at the back as they used to be, especially at home... (Hull seems to be the new Stoke, the home CS team: 6 out of 10 !!!).
    • Sunderland, Norwich, Cardiff, Swansea, WBA could also fit in the 2 cheapies positions (their CS records is just 1 or 2 behind these previous teams) but they also spread them ~ 50-50 H/A...

You've outlined my defensive strategy there.

My planned goalkeepers are Mannone and McGregor. I just have to get McGregor in for Harper. No rush to do it until the wildcard as Mannone has three good fixtures up soon.

My present defence are:

Mertesacker, Terry, Coleman (as my three expensive defenders), Ben Turner and Ward.

The plan is that the three expensive defenders will play pretty much every week barring injury and suspension. All three have the potential to keep a clean sheet against anyone and the potential to score against anyone.

Turner and Ward are then there to fill in. I could go for Chester but I'd prefer to have McGregor.

Hull for me are one of the best teams in the league defensively. They lost 2-0 to Liverpool yesterday and have only conceded more than two once in a game (away to United). Even when they do lose, they don't get a drubbing and Bruce has them setup well. I often say I go for managers rather than teams and Pulis and Bruce are two managers with pedigree for clean sheets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

A 2nd goalie who plays

Yeah I'm going to try and fit a second keeper that plays in. Money is scarce though. Which is why I have Whittaker rather than B Turner. I'm not happy with the two of them though so Im going to try and get better options.

Rooney would only be coming in until Aguero comes back. I disagree with you about Lukaku, he has 9 goals so far and will finish with 18-20 imo.

That was only one of many, many drafts I have made so far though. I will probably end up with something completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Lemlin wrote: »
    You've outlined my defensive strategy there.

My planned goalkeepers are Mannone and McGregor. I just have to get McGregor in for Harper. No rush to do it until the wildcard as Mannone has three good fixtures up soon.

My present defence are:

Mertesacker, Terry, Coleman (as my three expensive defenders), Ben Turner and Ward.

The plan is that the three expensive defenders will play pretty much every week barring injury and suspension. All three have the potential to keep a clean sheet against anyone and the potential to score against anyone.

Turner and Ward are then there to fill in. I could go for Chester but I'd prefer to have McGregor.

Hull for me are one of the best teams in the league defensively. They lost 3-0 to Liverpool yesterday but that was only the second time (United last week being the first) where they conceded more than two in a game.

Even when they do lose, they don't get a drubbing and Bruce has them setup well. I often say I go for managers rather than teams and Pulis and Bruce are two managers with pedigree for clean sheets.

They only lost 2-0......thus fully re-enforcing your entire argument! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭TaytoCrisps

Rooney will surely get rested in the cup matches and be ok for the next gameweek but if he is playing I may consider getting rid, with one or 2 chances I could upgrade to rvp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Fizman wrote: »
    They only lost 2-0......thus fully re-enforcing your entire argument! :)

Now updated!

Ya. Looks good so. With my current team I can do Mert -> Kos and get Aguero in for Rooney if required. It'll probably be a neccessary switch at some stage because when he's back fit everyone will want Aguero in again
    I'm hoping that people play their WC without any plan in place to get Aguero back in

for me the difference between aguero and rooney is the captaincy issue. Id feel much more comfortable with the armband on aguero.

Rooney will surely get rested in the cup matches and be ok for the next gameweek but if he is playing I may consider getting rid, with one or 2 chances I could upgrade to rvp

Id say he will play that swansea league game but I reckon the main focus will be on making sure he is fit for chelsea away, particularly if rvp is back for the swansea league game. Its the type of injury he keeps aggravating every time he plays and probably needs 2 weeks of inactivity to clear up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

For those looking at Adebayor...

James Olley ‏@JamesOlley
    Adebayor left Old Trafford last night smiling and signing autographs. Didn't seem in bother- suggestion was cramp more than anything. #thfc