Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January wildcard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

Dempsey wrote: »
    291136.PNG

A penny for your thoughts

great team, couldn't fault it.

I've def missed out on a few price rises this year as I seem to have a million or two less than a lot on here to spend.

edit, how about gabbidon to mariappa to gain you .2 and then switch bruce to vlaar/brown as you already have mc gregor from hull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭Danger781

A penny for your thoughts

I'd use the 0.2 to upgrade Turner.

Bruce somewhat risky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Well now that we've all played it or know exactly when we will has anybody any regrets about playing it early, would you do the same next year, I was lucky in that I've been happy with my team since Christmas and have had difficult selection choices every week, happy now that I still have it.

Im happy I played mine when I did its given me a boost in the rankings. Ive taken no point hits this month and the one player I want now (mata) I can use my FT to get him in. Everyone that plays their wildcard no matter when will have 1 or 2 issues within a week or two its the nature of the game. Having said that I wasnt happy with my team on Jan 1(unlike you) so it made no sense for me to wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Hogey007 wrote: »
    great team, couldn't fault it.

I've def missed out on a few price rises this year as I seem to have a million or two less than a lot on here to spend.

edit, how about gabbidon to mariappa to gain you .2 and then switch bruce to vlaar/brown as you already have mc gregor from hull.

Danger781 wrote: »
    I'd use the 0.2 to upgrade Turner.

Bruce somewhat risky.

Yea, I think I have to reassess my cheap options. Those will be make all the difference for the next good few GW's

Chester is out for a good while, Bruce would definitely be 5th choice. I'd rarely be doubling up but Brown of Sunderland looks like a good option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I want to have the bones of my team sorted before 5 today just incase the site crashes :eek:

Firstly I have a solid nicely balanced team. What are the thoughts here as I may initially hit the button in this:

263do5d.jpg

However if Rooney happens to start then the temptation to go for him will set in and I need to know what I'm doing so how does this look?

abl2f.jpg

If RVP was actually fit though he could be a great captain to have and I might just blast my way up or down the standings. It'd be interesting anyway thats for sure.

j5ih6g.jpg

Apologies for the image overload but my brain is currently in overload itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,345 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I want to have the bones of my team sorted before 5 today just incase the site crashes :eek:

Firstly I have a solid nicely balanced team. What are the thoughts here as I may initially hit the button in this:

263do5d.jpg

However if Rooney happens to start then the temptation to go for him will set in and I need to know what I'm doing so how does this look?

abl2f.jpg

If RVP was actually fit though he could be a great captain to have and I might just blast my way up or down the standings. It'd be interesting anyway thats for sure.

j5ih6g.jpg

Apologies for the image overload but my brain is currently in overload itself!
    I think you should have Hazard and Toure. You've almost certainly already considered this and decided against it though.

I really dont think Hazard and Toure are essential.

CSF wrote: »
    I think you should have Hazard and Toure. You've almost certainly already considered this and decided against it though.

I should have them but at this point I'd prefer to go down swinging. I can't justify the outlay and thats my own fault for not getting them in when I should have, and I should have got them at the time.

But that's the beauty of the game, there's more than one way to do things. I might not necessarily do it successfully but still I might as well try at this point. I can't gain much ground with them and it might be time to have a little fun with the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,935 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Just a thought, the Rooney squad leaves you a bit exposed to GW28 Mr.P.
    You're bringing in an extra United & Sunderland player who won't be playing.

I should have them but at this point I'd prefer to go down swinging. I can't justify the outlay and thats my own fault for not getting them in when I should have, and I should have got them at the time.

But that's the beauty of the game, there's more than one way to do things. I might not necessarily do it successfully but still I might as well try at this point. I can't gain much ground with them and it might be time to have a little fun with the game.
    I still think you might get more points from them at the inflated price they're at now than you would get from the cheaper players you get in instead to save value around your team. But as you said you've got your wildcard fairly sussed by now and to bring them in later would require points hits or weeks with no transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,935 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I really hope Hazard and Toure are not essential :D

Not that easy to come by differentials for us that need them and I have opted for others.

Give me any midfielder in the Premiership that has only scored less goals this season than Suarez and Aguero and I will snap them up at most prices.

Hazard has also been a points magnet. I don't see any reason for either of these things to change.

Give me any midfielder in the Premiership that has only scored less goals this season than Suarez and Aguero and I will snap them up at most prices.

Hazard has also been a points magnet. I don't see any reason for either of these things to change.

They're great assets but i don't see them as essential at current prices.

3rd top scorer in the Premiership, a midfielder, not essential? Fair enough, but can you elaborate a bit on why not?

PARlance wrote: »
    Just a thought, the Rooney squad leaves you a bit exposed to GW28 Mr.P.
    You're bringing in an extra United & Sunderland player who won't be playing.

Good point there alright. At this point I'm in a battle to the death with my eccentric streak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Hard to consistently keep up with the average scores without Yaya Toure & Hazard imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Johntm

Is it the last time today to use the january wildcard or can I use it before the next bunch of matches

Hard to consistently keep up with the average scores without Yaya Toure & Hazard imo
    This. I mean you're going to get weeks where you'll pick the right midfielder and he'll score you a bumper week like Cazorla last week for instance. But to keep up with those 2 in the long-term will take some doing. Fair play to any of us who manage that.

Johntm wrote: »
    Is it the last time today to use the january wildcard or can I use it before the next bunch of matches
    The wildcard closes on Saturday morning.

Right I have a provisional team sorted for now in case the site plays tricks later but the real fun will kick off when we enter the panic stations at 6:30 at T-1 hour.

I shall see ye then folks. Time to clear my head for a little while first but I'm pretty damn excited about tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

On wildcard...

Mannone (Boruc)

Cahill Koscienly Gabbidon (Coleman Baker)

Yaya/Silva Johnson Mata Hazard (Ramsey)

Eto'o Aguero Suarez..

Any opinions/ideas. Not sure weather to go Yaya or Silva, have 0.7 in the bank, Silva would leave me more towards switching Eto to Rooney when hes match fit again.

All criticism taken in the correct spirit.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Right, Wildcard team near settled.
    Biggest problem I have is deciding to keep Hazard and Yaya in place of Mata.
    Not happy with Noone but needs must.
    Januzaj is a gamble I am happy to take for now.

Any feedback?

Untitled_2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Wildcard panic ahoy. This has changed quite a bit since yesterday. And even a tad since in posted in GW23 thread

Bony for Aguero as Mancity have Spurs and Chelsea next 2 games. neither will be goal riots Id say. Bony is bang in form and Swansea have decent ish fixtures in the next few weeks. I have enough scope to jig around to get Aguero back in in the next few weeks as well

15632_10202826820329361_115688309_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

The wildcard closes on Saturday morning.

are you sure - sure? :D

i like my team for tonights fixtures but it needs drastic changes for the game week utd and city aren't playing.... which i want to make thurs/friday this week

so i don't want to lose my wildcard.....

def sat morning. Your safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

gimmick wrote: »
    Wildcard panic ahoy. This has changed quite a bit since yesterday. And even a tad since in posted in GW23 thread

Bony for Aguero as Mancity have Spurs and Chelsea next 2 games. neither will be goal riots Id say. Bony is bang in form and Swansea have decent ish fixtures in the next few weeks. I have enough scope to jig around to get Aguero back in in the next few weeks as well

15632_10202826820329361_115688309_n.jpg

Aguero has already scored against United, Spurs, Chelsea and, in only a short appearance, Arsenal.

He is fixture proof IMO.

is mariappa not a guaranteed starter? I was just looking that he had played 90 mins in the last 7 matches and thought I might aswell save .2 on gabbidon by putting him in..
    then I seen somewhere today that someone linked a quote from FFS saying he might not play. I can't afford to switch back to gabbidon as he's 4.3 and I only have 4.2.
    is it worth paying the extra .2 for joel ward though? I was trying to keep all the money I could scrape incase I want to switch januzaj to ramsey in a couple of weeks but at the same time while i'm on wildcard I want to address these 4th and 5th choice defenders because with coleman out I may need them.

I know i'll get to see tonight if mariappa starts or not but I kind of want to know I have a regular player and not looking to transfer him out in a couple of weeks.
    I'm already taking a chance on bruce.
    (if bruce wasn't starting tonight I was going to use the .2 to switch in Collins of west ham)

so rambling aside, is ward worth paying an extra .2 for over mariappa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I hope Ozil, Lukaku, Lallana and Silva all go nuts this week. Partly because I have them, but more so because the wildcarders are all getting rid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Thankfully I was busy at work and out on site most of the day so have got the head cleared a bit. Uniteds team sheet tonight will be most interesting.

Have booked 7.00 to 7.30 with the missus to have peace to sort the final team regardless of whatever mayhem the kids may be up to. Roll on the deadline and an end to this hell. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Who_8_Paul?

Hogey007 wrote: »
    is mariappa not a guaranteed starter? I was just looking that he had played 90 mins in the last 7 matches and thought I might aswell save .2 on gabbidon by putting him in..
    then I seen somewhere today that someone linked a quote from FFS saying he might not play. I can't afford to switch back to gabbidon as he's 4.3 and I only have 4.2.
    is it worth paying the extra .2 for joel ward though? I was trying to keep all the money I could scrape incase I want to switch januzaj to ramsey in a couple of weeks but at the same time while i'm on wildcard I want to address these 4th and 5th choice defenders because with coleman out I may need them.

I know i'll get to see tonight if mariappa starts or not but I kind of want to know I have a regular player and not looking to transfer him out in a couple of weeks.
    I'm already taking a chance on bruce.
    (if bruce wasn't starting tonight I was going to use the .2 to switch in Collins of west ham)

so rambling aside, is ward worth paying an extra .2 for over mariappa?

That was me quoting FFScout; I'm hoping Mariappa is on the team sheet, pickings are slim at the 4m and below; 3.9 options are probably Bruce, Whittaker, Bennett and Baker, not great... Eagerly awaiting team news later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,250 ✭✭✭G1032

I've brought in Ramsey on the WC. Looking for alternatives if he doesn't start.
    I have Hazard, Silva, Mata and 1m in the bank.
    I was half thinking of leaving him there anyway if he's only on the bench and bringing in Gnabry for Noone. Gnabry will start if Ramsey doesn't.
    Any opinions on what I could/should do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

That was me quoting FFScout; I'm hoping Mariappa is on the team sheet, pickings are slim at the 4m and below; 3.9 options are probably Bruce, Whittaker, Bennett and Baker, not great... Eagerly awaiting team news later

Chambers at Southampton is 3.9m. I'm not certain if he's a guaranteed starter, as he seems to be in competition with Clyne. But I'm keeping an eye on him - he's played a bit recently (although Clyne started the cup game at the weekend, which really could mean anything).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭POKERKING

FHFC wrote: »
    Thankfully I was busy at work and out on site most of the day so have got the head cleared a bit. Uniteds team sheet tonight will be most interesting.

Have booked 7.00 to 7.30 with the missus to have peace to sort the final team regardless of whatever mayhem the kids may be up to. Roll on the deadline and an end to this hell. :)

Me too im worried the site will crash so dont know what to do.

This has been the most confusing wildcard in a longtime. im not happy either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mjp

Thought tonight was last chance to use wildcard but hearing can use it up until Friday. Thinking of leaving team as is until then and see how mata goes and update on few injuries.

Is fri deadline for definite and if so what time is cutoff?

Help greatly appreciated

Sat morning 11.30

Oh might I add Coleman is gone from my team too. Slowly realising the implications of this 2 hours later but it's done now :eek:

Anyway I'm not meant to be back on here for another hour or so!

*scuttles off again*

yeah baker looked the best out of them in terms of gametime but he's rated at 50% of an injury doubt and villa don't play until tomorrow.
    even if mariappa does start tonight i'm not sure if he's going to be nailed on and I don't want to be wasting a transfer on a 4th or 5th defender in a couple of weeks so wondering ig I should just pay .2 extra for joel ward.
    but then that .2 could be crucial in getting in ramsey.
    oh I think as it stands i'll leave mariappa there if he starts tonight, I plan on only playing 3 at the back every week so hopefully between bruce and mariappa one of them plays on a week I need my 4th def to come in.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Aguero has already scored against United, Spurs, Chelsea and, in only a short appearance, Arsenal.

He is fixture proof IMO.

Big time. Going without Kun is suicide.

Id be interested in hearing other peoples opinions on kolarov. Hes played 8 of the last 9. Is it his place to lose?

Any thoughts on this? Suppose I could swap him out for Dawson if it looks like hes not getting his game.

for those on wildcard Dan Burn fulham 4.0 could be another cheap defender only added to the game fulham recalled him from loan and started the last league game.

Any thoughts on this? Suppose I could swap him out for Dawson if it looks like hes not getting his game.

I just don't trust city to get many clean sheets. Their defensive form has been poor...which has not been an issue for them as they score 4/5 themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭steve_r

From memory he's got the most assists & goals (i.e. together) of any defender in the league. Just bombs forward regardless.

I don't like him defensively, feel they have less chance of clean sheets.

I can understand that reasoning alright. City defs are getting involved in their attacks all season though. Him and Zabaleta have 5 assists each, 2 more than any other defender.

Right time to leave work, best of luck to everyone still in the FSA champions cup. For my opponent Yeats County, here's a sneak peek at my post WC team:

Mannone
    Kos Kolarov Ward
    Mata Hazard Ramsey Yaya
    Suarez Aguero Rodriguez

Subs: boruc, bruce, noone, whittaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Im a city fan, he is currently 1st choice so will play the next couple of games i would imagine, then once champs league come about he could be dropped for the league games. Also i brought in kolorov but something niggling me saying he might be dropped tomo as he played on sat and generally struggles against pacey wingers so in theory clichy is a better option for us against lennon.

So basically i havent a clue! But from an attacking perspective hes very important to our system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

To the lads that left Wildcard till now....likes of Aguero went up lot in price since coming back,have ye struggled to find funds to accommodate him?...am a Man Utd fan myself but feel Mata needs few games at club before considering getting him to see where/how he plays.

Aguero, Suarez, Yaya, Hazard and Mata are all top dollar, but the question is 'can you afford NOT to find the funds for three or four of them.
    Some have five of them!

For me I had kept money back to be sure I could afford him when he returned.

for those on wildcard Dan Burn fulham 4.0 could be another cheap defender only added to the game fulham recalled him from loan and started the last league game.

Not sure why you'd want Fulham coverage? :confused:

3 CS this season and no sign of it improving

Not sure why you'd want Fulham coverage? :confused:

3 CS this season and no sign of it improving

Im not getting him in just throwing out a cheap potential option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭smokingman

Coleman, wilshhere and chamak or Evans, ki-sung Sunderland and Bony?

smokingman wrote: »
    Coleman, wilshhere and chamak or Evans, ki-sung Sunderland and Bony?

I dont like either of those combinations :confused: