Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January wildcard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,342 ✭✭✭✭CSF

8-10 wrote: »
    Downgrade Sturridge, you need at least 1 Chelsea player. Really should be Hazard but if not him then Oscar, Cech, Azpilicueta, Willian or Terry would be the ones to look at. I'd go Cech in your situation. Who is your reserve keeper? Anything in the bank?
    Why do you think it is such a necessity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭8-10

CSF wrote: »
    Why do you think it is such a necessity?

I think they'll come close to winning the league. And they won't do it traditionally by scoring goals from their strikers like City (as we can see so far), they'll do it from scoring from midfield and keeping tight at the back.

In terms of midfield I don't think anyone is likely to score that highly, that frequently other than Hazard. He is a player that I think teams should have, Willian and Oscar no.

I don't think Chelsea are value defensively. No issue with anyone having a Chelsea defender but it definitely isn't a necessity.

Everyone should have Hazard, but if one is choosing to overlook him for whatever reason, it isn't crucial to bridge that gap with another Chelsea player IMO.

In terms of midfield I don't think anyone is likely to score that highly, that frequently other than Hazard. He is a player that I think teams should have, Willian and Oscar no.

I don't think Chelsea are value defensively. No issue with anyone having a Chelsea defender but it definitely isn't a necessity.

Everyone should have Hazard, but if one is choosing to overlook him for whatever reason, it isn't crucial to bridge that gap with another Chelsea player IMO.

Yep very fair point. I think it's obvious that the OP originally picked Mata over Hazard and wants Mata in the team. I would only do that if I was going Oscar as well. My wildcard for most of the week had Hazard and Oscar but I ended up downgrading to Lallana to upgrade defense. I reckon the gap between Hazard and Oscar's contributions will lessen as the season goes on, but I agree Hazard is pretty much as essential as you get. Willian is definitely on my radar in the Lallana/Eriksen/Cabaye bracket as I think he's fallen to a value that could be a good gamble if the above lose form/get transfered. Terry is one of the top defenders in the game, if I could afford him I'd have him no problem. Cech I mentioned because he's only 0.1m above Szezcney that the OP has and would be more long term option than doubling up on Arsenal.

Hazard was glaringly missing from the original team. I'm starting to like the second one but it needs a bit of tweaking.

Mert + Coleman + Yaya + Hazard + Ramsey + Mata + Suarez + Aguero is about as perfect as you can get with a first 8. If you can get these 8 in with enough money to have half-decent, well rotating backups then you're golden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭Danger781

Can do a 3-5-2

Szczesney //Davis
    Mertesacker Coleman Bruce //Mariappa Baker
    Yaya Ramsey Mata Januzaj Hazard
    Suarez Aguero //Mason

or Januzaj>Brady, Mason>Chamakh

Doubling up on Arsenal? Personally I'd drop one of Szczesny / Mert and bring in someone cheaper. Let's say you drop Szczesny to Boruc. At current prices that saves you 1.3.

Mata and Januzaj is a bit much United (Assume Mata is actually on his way). Pick one or the other. I'm assuming you want Mata so drop Januzaj to someone cheaper who actually plays. Or alternatively use the spare cash to upgrade him.

You've also chosen Mason, who hasn't played a single game all season and doesn't seem likely to play any time soon. Terrible decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Danger781 wrote: »
    Doubling up on Arsenal? Personally I'd drop one of Szczesny / Mert and bring in someone cheaper. Let's say you drop Szczesny to Boruc. At current prices that saves you 1.3.

Mata and Januzaj is a bit much United (Assume Mata is actually on his way). Pick one or the other. I'm assuming you want Mata so drop Januzaj to someone cheaper who actually plays. Or alternatively use the spare cash to upgrade him.

You've also chosen Mason, who hasn't played a single game all season and doesn't seem likely to play any time soon. Terrible decision.

I know you are a united fan, Januzaj has started 7 of the last 8 in the league, I've become a bit of a cheerleader in recent days but only because he has impressed me so much, do you think he will be dropped now that Mata has signed? It would seem harsh to me. At full strength I think we'll see Valencia lose out with Mata, Rooney and Januzaj all accommodated behind Van Persie. There's a lot of goals in that lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭bezuaua

WC activated... but cannot settle on the GK's!!
    Currently have Manonne/Steven Davies but not very confident in relying on sunderland defense. Next 3 GW are attractive (Stoke H, Newcastle A, Hull H) but from there it's City and Arsenal both away...

bezuaua wrote: »
    WC activated... but cannot settle on the GK's!!
    Currently have Manonne/Steven Davies but not very confident in relying on sunderland defense. Next 3 GW are attractive (Stoke H, Newcastle A, Hull H) but from there it's City and Arsenal both away...

I like Adrian/Boruc and Krul/Vorm as rotation options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,238 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Is Adrian first choice now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Boruc and Speroni.

Perfect until the end of the season and two clean sheets in the last two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,250 ✭✭✭G1032

What to do about Yaya?

Yaya 2012/13 - 142 points
    2011/12 - 139 points
    Total - 281

Silva 2012/13 - 147 points
    2011/12 - 184 points
    Total - 331

Silva has outscored Yaya by 50 points over the last two full seasons. That means little I know, but the points listed above shows that Yaya is far exceeding his FF expectations this year. The bubble will burst. He can't keep
    scoring free kicks like he has done.

Silva has missed 9 full matches this year but his points per 90 minutes is 6.53 compared to 6.63 for Yaya

I think I'm going to stick with Silva. He's more or less a million cheaper and that money can be used to upgrade Adebayor if neccessary. It looks like I'll have no Arsenal attacking cover after WC and may need Giroud soon if he hits a bit a form again.

It'll leave me with a front 7 of

Mata, Silva, Hazard, Noone, Lallana/Ramsey/Cabaye, Suarez, Aguero, Adebayor
    and 3 top defenders - Kos, Azpil and Baines

and I'll be left with ~1.2m in the bank

It gives me the option to keep Mert instead of Kos too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

G1032 wrote: »
    What to do about Yaya?

2011/12 - 139 points
    Total - 281

2011/12 - 184 points
    Total - 331

Silva has outscored Yaya by 50 points over the last two full seasons. That means little I know, but the points listed above shows that Yaya is far exceeding his FF expectations this year. The bubble will burst. He can't keep

Silva has missed 9 full matches this year but his points per 90 minutes is 6.53 compared to 6.63 for Yaya

I think I'm going to stick with Silva. He's more or less a million cheaper and that money can be used to upgrade Adebayor if neccessary. It looks like I'll have no Arsenal attacking cover after WC and may need Giroud soon if he hits a bit a form again.

Had more or less decided to go over to the Yaya dark side. But you've given me something to think about. Thanks. I know someone will point out that Yaya had ACON most years but still good stats for Silva.

76% in my league have Yaya so I still haven't decided if that makes him essential or makes Silva a great differential.....

FHFC wrote: »
    Had more or less decided to go over to the Yaya dark side. But you've given me something to think about. Thanks. I know someone will point out that Yaya had ACON most years but still good stats for Silva.

76% in my league have Yaya so I still haven't decided if that makes him essential or makes Silva a great differential.....

Is that 76% relevant though? How many in your league can actually challenge for prizes? How many of the leaders have him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭patmac

Thinking off:

Szczesny,Marshall
    Coleman,Davies,Gabbidon,Shaw,Turner
    Johnson,Mata,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Livermore
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    Or
    Szczesny,Marshall
    Coleman,Gabri,Gabbidon,Shaw,Turner
    Johnson,Cabaye,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Wiltshire
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

What to do about Yaya?

2011/12 - 139 points
    Total - 281

2011/12 - 184 points
    Total - 331

I don't agree that Silva can be expected to outscore YaYa.
    In each of the 2 seasons you have selected YaYa was playing under Mancini's rigid tactics, he was held back in midfield a lot, had defensive duties that shackled him, under Pellegrini has has a much freer role, less defensive duties, Fernandihno covers that position now, so i think he can continue to score very well for the remainder of the season.

who_ru wrote: »
    In each of the 2 seasons you have selected YaYa was playing under Mancini's rigid tactics, he was held back in midfield a lot, had defensive duties that shackled him, under Pellegrini has has a much freer role, less defensive duties, Fernandihno covers that position now, so i think he can continue to score very well for the remainder of the season.

Does anyone know how many of Yaya's goals have come from play? That'll be a big factor for me.

patmac wrote: »
    Thinking off:

Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    Or
    Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

What do ye think?

I think you have too much money invested in the goalkeepers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Does anyone know how many of Yaya's goals have come from play? That'll be a big factor for me.

That's an unusual consideration, a goal is 5 points, his free kick technique is outrageously good this year, he will continue to have success with them, I think it roryc who has pointed out elsewhere and there's a lot of truth in it that Yaya has gotten a lot greedier, he see's himself as an elite attacking midfield player now, he wants to score lots of goals. The upshot of this is that his previous returns in FPL aren't as relevant as might otherwise be the case. I'd rather him over any other midfielder right now, even Hazard, pity he has such high ownership, I find myself hoping he'll pick up an injury that'll keep him out for a while, makes it more interesting to have a spread of players rather than everyone having the same

Thinking off:

Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    Or
    Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

What do ye think?
    I think you have too much money invested in the goalkeepers
    So take out Szczecin and put in Manone giving me 1.8m more

Manone,Marshall
    Johnson,Mata,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Wilshire
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    Or
    Manone,Marshall
    Coleman,Sagna,Gabbidon,Shaw,Turner
    Johnson,Mata,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Sidwell
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

So take out Szczecin and put in Manone giving me 1.8m more

Manone,Marshall
    Johnson,Mata,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Wilshire
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    Or
    Manone,Marshall
    Johnson,Mata,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Sidwell
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

It's one option. In the past I've gotten keeper rotation badly wrong. This year I started with Mig, switched to Szcz and had a non playing sub. I'm on WC now and I'll probably end up with Boruc and Kelvin Davis

That's an unusual consideration, a goal is 5 points, his free kick technique is outrageously good this year, he will continue to have success with them, I think it roryc who has pointed out elsewhere and there's a lot of truth in it that Yaya has gotten a lot greedier, he see's himself as an elite attacking midfield player now, he wants to score lots of goals. The upshot of this is that his previous returns in FPL aren't as relevant as might otherwise be the case. I'd rather him over any other midfielder right now, even Hazard, pity he has such high ownership, I find myself hoping he'll pick up an injury that'll keep him out for a while, makes it more interesting to have a spread of players rather than everyone having the same

But will he continue to have success with them? I just think it's hard to see that free kick conversion rate continuing. At 10.1m he just seems very expensive.

Is that 76% relevant though? How many in your league can actually challenge for prizes? How many of the leaders have him?

Good question, but kinda sorry you asked!

Winner of my league will probably come from current top 10 of which I am 6th.

Of the top ten, guess what, I'm the 9 have Yaya, and then there's me! So 90%.

If I expand it to the top 15 it becomes 13 of the 15 have Yaya or 87%.

So. Now is he essential??

Thinking off:

Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    Or
    Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

What do ye think?

Who's Gabri?

Good question, but kinda sorry you asked!

Winner of my league will probably come from current top 10 of which I am 6th.

Of the top ten, guess what, I'm the 9 have Yaya, and then there's me! So 90%.

If I expand it to the top 15 it becomes 13 of the 15 have Yaya or 87%.

So. Now is he essential??
    Looks like you need Yaya! You've no choice really, have you?

Edit. 3 out of the top 5 in my league have Yaya. Top 3 in the league are well inside the top 10,000 in the world. I'm a long way behind but am still in the hunt for prize money places. Comes back to your question now.. Is Yaya eds essential for me or is Silva a good differential?

Looks like you need Yaya! You've no choice really, have you?

Edit. 3 out of the top 5 in my league have Yaya. Top 3 in the league are well inside the top 10,000 in the world. I'm a long way behind but am still in the hunt for prize money places. Comes back to your question now.. Is Yaya eds essential for me or is Silva a good differential?

I'm coming to the reluctant conclusion that he is essential. With such high ownership in potential for double figure returns he can hurt you so much. In your case if you are well back you need differentials but IMO also need to cover players who can put you out of sight if they keep even 80% of their pace to date. So yes you probably need him, Coleman and probably Hazard for now, with differentials elsewhere.

Top of my league is 3,000 in world, 10th is about 37k. I'm in the middle at just cover 20k. I think you are right I don't have a choice. I am looking possibly to I RVP for my differential, esp with Mata there now too.

Of those 9 rivals of mine, only 2 don't have both Yaya and Hazard so even having them both only gonna hold ground, I'm gonna have to look for my differential elsewhere.

Everton have away games against Liverpool, Spurs and Chelsea in their next 5 GWs
    Would it be wise to hold off on Baines until after them 5 games or should I throw him and hope he picks a penalty or free kick?

I'm coming to the reluctant conclusion that he is essential. With such high ownership in potential for double figure returns he can hurt you so much. In your case if you are well back you need differentials but IMO also need to cover players who can put you out of sight if they keep even 80% of their pace to date. So yes you probably need him, Coleman and probably Hazard for now, with differentials elsewhere.

Top of my league is 3,000 in world, 10th is about 37k. I'm in the middle at just cover 20k. I think you are right I don't have a choice. I am looking possibly to I RVP for my differential, esp with Mata there now too.

Of those 9 rivals of mine, only 2 don't have both Yaya and Hazard so even having them both only gonna hold ground, I'm gonna have to look for my differential elsewhere.

Sold Coleman the last night. I had the almost 100% intention of bringing in Baines but now I'm not so sure! This January WC is a b@lls and should be scrapped. And the other WC. And Captains!

Who's Gabri?

Meant Sagna sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Another consideration in my mind is that Silva seems to be getting a lot of niggling injuries, whereas Yaya is a tank.

Getting close now like the look of this:
    Manone,Marshall
    Johnson,Yaya,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Livermore
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

Getting close now like the look of this:
    Manone,Marshall
    Johnson,Yaya,Ki Sung-Yueng,Hazard,Livermore
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    What value do you have Coleman since? That looks like a team very low on value. If you have excess funds I would advise you to use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

who_ru wrote: »

Spot on. I mentionned Pellegrini's influence on his returns last week IIRC. Pellegrini likes to play attacking football and his teams do score a lot of goals (Villareal, Real, Malaga, etc...).

New (FK) ; Hul (FK) ; Nor (FK) ; WBA (pen) ; Ars (pen) ; Ful (FK)
    MU (OP) ; AV (OP) ; WBA (OP); Swa (OP) ; Car (OP)

36.4 % free ficks, 18.2 % penos, 45.4 % open play.
    55 % from set pieces - 45 % from open play.

What value do you have Coleman since? That looks like a team very low on value. If you have excess funds I would advise you to use them.

Comes to 99.9 ,Coleman is 6.1, Yaya 10.1, Aguero 12.2, Suarez 12.8 and Hazard 9.8. So that's 52m alone leaving feck all for the other 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭steve_r

Must say I'm tempted to cash in on Coleman. It would free up a lot of funds for me, could get a good defender and have funds for an upgraded 4th mid (I currently have Ki, which is my fault for stupid transfers earlier in the season).

If he's out for a while it makes sense, but otherwise? what do people think?

steve_r wrote: »
    Must say I'm tempted to cash in on Coleman. It would free up a lot of funds for me, could get a good defender and have funds for an upgraded 4th mid (I currently have Ki, which is my fault for stupid transfers earlier in the season).

If he's out for a while it makes sense, but otherwise? what do people think?

He's not going to be out for long from what I've seen. Maybe even be fit for Liverpool according to papers yesterday.

Was kind of half hoping for a reason to ship him myself, but then I haven't as much value tied up, only bought him back at 6.3 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭steve_r

He's not going to be out for long from what I've seen. Maybe even be fit for Liverpool according to papers yesterday.

Was kind of half hoping for a reason to ship him myself, but then I haven't as much value tied up, only bought him back at 6.3 or so.

See I support Liverpool, so I don't want him to get any points that week. :)

Have him since the start. Very tempted. This is my first season playing this game (I'd played different versions previously) and I didn't really understand the rules at the start. Probably still have low team value even if I did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

lads heres my team any suggestions??
    Manone
    Azpi Evans Kolorov Kos
    Mata Navas Lalanna Hazard
    Suarez Aguero
    subs Bony Januzaj Parr Mcgregor

I thought I'd look to see if Yaya's points returns diminished when Silva played with him. Doesn't look like it. The opposite actually.

Yaya has played 12 games with Silva. He scored 78 points for those games
    He has played 9 games when Silva had been out. He scored 58 points for those games

So we're looking at 6.5 points per game for Yaya with Silva along side him and 6.44 when Silva has been missing.

So it would appear that Silva is not taking any of Yaya points when they both play.

I'm beginning to think that I must get Yaya in. If he has a quiet few weeks I can swap him out for Silva. I'm going to have to crumble and get him in. I thought I could get away with Silva instead of Yaya but I can't. Too much of a risk. My differentials will have to come from elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

kevthegaff wrote: »
    lads heres my team any suggestions??
    Manone
    Azpi Evans Kolorov Kos
    Mata Navas Lalanna Hazard
    Suarez Aguero
    subs Bony Januzaj Parr Mcgregor

Utd, city and sunderland dont play gw 28. So if you go with that team to field eleven in gw 28 every transfer from gw 25 on will involve transferring out 1 of those 7 players.

I count 6 from those teams but excellent point

Edit: Mata, duh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Took me a long time but I think I've finally got a team I'm fully happy with. Had to cut a few players, Ramsey included, but it had to be done.

Szczesny
    Mert, Gabbidon, Cahill
    Hazard, Mata, Yaya, Wilshere
    Suarez, Ade, Augero

Davis, Oviedo, Faye, Collins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Going to have to sit down and have a long think about my Wildcard tonight.

My goalkeeper set-up has been exposed with Jaaskelainen dropped the past two weeks and my replacement being a cheap non-starter. Coleman injured and Zabaleta probably over-valued for what he's currently returning.

I'm considering downgrading Lukaku to Jay Rodriguez which should allow me to bulk up my midfield a bit more too!

Decisions Decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Thinking off:

Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez
    Or
    Szczesny,Marshall
    Agüero,Suárez,Rodriguez

What do ye think?

Isn't Cabaye going to PSG?
    He may not play any more if the rumour is true.

HighClass wrote: »
    Took me a long time but I think I've finally got a team I'm fully happy with. Had to cut a few players, Ramsey included, but it had to be done.

Szczesny
    Mert, Gabbidon, Cahill
    Hazard, Mata, Yaya, Wilshere
    Suarez, Ade, Augero

Davis, Oviedo, Faye, Collins.
    Serious team how can you afford it, quite new to this, am I missing out on extra funds somehow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭basillarkin

My WC team

Krul

Cahill Sagna Olson (gabbidon, Bruce)

Hazard, Silva, Cabaye, Carzola, (cork)

Suarez Ade Augero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Serious team how can you afford it, quite new to this, am I missing out on extra funds somehow?

Thought it was a cheap enough team tbh, had 108.4 in the bank to work with. I got lucky that when I got Ade, Yaya, Mert & Szczesny they were a bit cheaper than they are now. Had to go with Whilshre over Ramsey due to the price and went for a very cheap bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Played the wildcard on Sunday after a calamitous GW. Have had no phone and FPL is blocked at work so may have missed some rises. CUrrently looking at:

Marshall Mannone

Coleman Sagna Azpi Mariappa Chambers

Toure Hazard Mata Cabaye Noone

Suarez Aguero Adebayor

No Arsenal attacking coverage is a problem but I plan on getting Ramsey in for Cabaye when he's back. Ozil deserves the boot. Finally bit the bullet and got yaya in (too late). Terry to Azpi saves a bit of cash.

Is Chambers guaranteed a start? Not sure on him.

Any thoughts on the above? Comments would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭qwabercd

What to do about Yaya?

2011/12 - 139 points
    Total - 281

2011/12 - 184 points
    Total - 331

Very much on the same wavelenght as myself. Exaxt same front 8, except I currently have yaya over silva (and went with Cabaye of the above 3). Still haven't made my mind up on Silva and Yaya fully, but for my own sanity i might go safe with yaya. And my 3 top defenders are coleman, sagna and azpil so similiar again.

Cazorla has now scored 4 goals in 4 games. Hitting somewhat of a purple patch. Who would ye go for...... Cazorla or Mata?

Cazorla right now