Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Stephen's Day traditions.

• 25-12-2013 11:45pm
    Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭

What are your St. Stephen's day traditions?

Some people like to get up early and drive the Mondeo down to an out-of-town park to buy a cheap sofa. Others plan their day around the soccer fixtures. The hunters' amongst us like to head out and shoot birds for sport.

What do you like to do?

Me? I like to get up late in the Morning; have a couple of rashers shoved into batch bread with loads of HP sauce. Couple of coffees and a fag, and I'm ready to head up to the throne to pinch out a yuletide log, cursing my exuberance on Christmas Day. 45 minutes later I emerge like a new man.

I then like to head into town to invest a few quid with Mr. Paddy Power. You may lose all your initial investment. Couple of cans of stout to take the edge off the day. More turkey and ham, then get a life into town to meet people I haven't met since last Christmas. 10 pints and a cheeky box of fags later, I've promised to 'facebook' people I went to school with. Buckled with a fierce dose of 'regret horn'; it's time to get a taxi home.

Love it.

And you? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Pub. Racing. Football. Home. Turkey sambos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Like a mini Christmas Day only instead of presents at the start you hit the town that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Copious amounts of cold cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Naid23

Pub with my dads side of the family... Might be different this year thou!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

watching The Guns of Navorone

i persume its on this year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Rabelais wrote: »
    45 minutes later I emerge like a new man.

45 mins on the throne? You taking a couple of dumps at once?

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Aidric wrote: »

Gravity is there for a reason. No point forcing the issue and causing yourself angst later on in the day. I'm with Louis Armstrong when it comes to matters like this. Mindfulness dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Watch a lot of football and chill out. Lazy day. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

videogames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Fcuk all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Rabelais wrote: »
    Gravity is there for a reason. No point forcing the issue and causing yourself angst later on in the day. I'm with Louis Armstrong when it comes to matters like this. Mindfulness dude.

45 mins sounds indulgent but I wish you well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 fusion19

have a trial match in the morning for gaelic football seems a bi extreme to me but no pain no gain

Fryup, watch the racing, round two of Turkey and ham, pub by 5:30 for the game, drink until closing, nightclub until closing, supermacs and home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

A good breakfast followed by lots of soccer.

45 mins sounds indulgent but I wish you well.

It's the one day where you can just relax and mull over the year that has just passed. One man, Armitage Shanks and memories. No time constraints or rushing off for a meeting with the C-Suite. Read the newspaper and take some time to realise who you are as a person in this crazy, crazy world.

Fryup, watch the racing, round two of Turkey and ham, pub by 5:30 for the game, drink until closing, nightclub until closing, supermacs and home.

Sounds like a textbook Galway night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Head into town to meet my mates for a coffee and watch the lemmings bargain hunters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

I'll let you know as soon as the two twin boys three doors down plays they're new drum kit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Cold cuts and salads with all my dad's side of the family, about 15-20 of us. Play charades/pictionary/Wii, an elaborate twist on Secret Santa then excuse myself by about 9pm and head to town with my mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Usually apologising to various relatives for saying the wrong thing whilst pissed the previous day.

Been a good boy this year though.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Go for a dump, racing, soccer, beer, apache pizza, bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Full Irish, tea, set my Fantasy Football team, watch United game, food, pub, beer, friends, soccer, beer, whiskey, nightclub, women, whiskey x5, taco fries, shag/****, bed/ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Fly to Cape Town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Not quite. Picture it like a bad Court case. After a long sitting, the matter was dropped. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

videogames.

This, want to finish GTA V and start on the Last of Us tomorrow. Eat crappy food, again. Possibly stay in my Pj's all day. This is my first year away from home so I don't really have any traditions, I will begin making them tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Long standing tradition of doing sweet fcuk all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    start on the Last of Us tomorrow.

Best choice you'll make this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Big fry up of bacon, boxty, runny eggs and tea.

Then put all the presents I received up on Ebay and head off to the flicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

fusion19 wrote: »
    have a trial match in the morning for gaelic football seems a bi extreme to me but no pain no gain

I once gained without going through any pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

for the day thats in it....

happy st stephen's day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

my tradition is,

up early (7am), fodder the horses, ride out if its not too snowy/icy. down to the shop for the paper. Breakfast sandwich on batch bread. Read the paper, (racing section). stick on my few bets and then go and pick up my son. Play with him all day whilst watching the racing, Drop him home, few pints with people i haven't seen in a year and more than likely cant stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

Stephen's Day is a day for moping. I never get dressed, I mong out in front of the TV while eating all of the leftovers from yesterday. Then later on I'll be going on the session. Tis a good day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Yerrah lads!. Don't any of ye do anything traditional.

I was down at the local hunt, chanting "hunting out" as an accompaniment to their stirrup cups. Watched the Wren Boys. After a bite to eat I'll look for any pub that isn't showing f***ing premier soccer for a couple of hot whiskies. Then ...... I dunno - depends.

But I suppose up in the Pale ye don't have any traditional culture left.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Are there still any wren boys anywhere on Steves Day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

darkdubh wrote: »

Yep. Although the tradition has somewhat changed in many areas. It's more organised and they often collect for charities. Still strong in parts of Cork and Kerry anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

We had them all of five minutes ago in south Kerry. I only ever saw them for the first time when I met the misses, a Kerry woman, and spent Christmas down here. They collect for the youth club in our area afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Basically just chill out, cook another roast dinner, recover from Christmas day and watch all the tv programmes shown on Christmas day that I didn't get to watch yet. Oh and graze on junk food while feeling like a blimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Míshásta wrote: »
    Yerrah lads!. Don't any of ye do anything traditional.

I was down at the local hunt, chanting "hunting out" as an accompaniment to their stirrup cups. Watched the Wren Boys. After a bite to eat I'll look for any pub that isn't showing f***ing premier soccer for a couple of hot whiskies. Then ...... I dunno - depends.

But I suppose up in the Pale ye don't have any traditional culture left.

****ing hate antis!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    This, want to finish GTA V and start on the Last of Us tomorrow. Eat crappy food, again. Possibly stay in my Pj's all day. This is my first year away from home so I don't really have any traditions, I will begin making them tomorrow.

Trying to finish it today so I can chance my arm on trade in in GameStop tomorrow along with another game that is no longer on their "trade in list". Prepare yourself it's a journey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Going to the local watering hole for some pints, then back home for more beer and mince pies. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's based on a horrible frigging tradition. Hunting some little bird, tying it to a pole, parading it through the town and pulling feathers out of the poor bird to give to people who give them money as a good luck token. All so they could have a pi$$ up with the money. Feck that for a game of cowboys.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

"When I was a lad, we still understood the true meaning of Yule. We'd dance nakedly round standing stones, bite the thorax from unworthy slaves and bathe cravenly in their spurting blood. I suppose I'm a stick in the mud. But I still prefer the old ways."
    Donald Clarke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Aunts house for Christmas dinner part 2, then the folks go off to the pub for the evening and I have some friends around for drinks, games and a bitta grub if i'm in a cooking mood.