Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little old lady a racist?

• 24-12-2013 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭

I was waiting in line at the checkout in Tesco recently. Little old lady in front of me paid for her groceries in cash and was holding her hand out for the change.

As the cashier gave her the change, she counted it meticulously, querying the value of some of the coins as old people do some times. She then said to the cashier, with a cheeky grin and a wink "I have to watch my change with you lot..."

In light of the fact that the young male cashier was clearly of west African origins, I was taken aback...and so was he. I felt for the poor fella, but the old dear thought this was hilarious.

I immediately put this down to good old fashioned racism, and only later that evening thought that she could have been referring to Tesco staff in general, rather than black people...and maybe I was wrong to assume she being racist...on reflection I'm pretty sure she was referring to skin colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭TJ Mackie

All old people are racist. It's completely acceptable. I can't wait until I'm that age so I can let loose on every minority I've ever hated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Grandma got run over by a reindeer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I was waiting in line at the checkout in Tesco recently. Little old lady in front of me paid for her groceries in cash and was holding her hand out for the change.

As the cashier gave her the change, she counted it meticulously, querying the value of some of the coins as old people do some times. She then said to the cashier, with a cheeky grin and a wink "I have to watch my change with you lot..."

In light of the fact that the young male cashier was clearly of west African origins, I was taken aback...and so was he. I felt for the poor fella, but the old dear thought this was hilarious.

I immediately put this down to good old fashioned racism, and only later that evening thought that she could have been referring to Tesco staff in general, rather than black people...and maybe I was wrong to assume she being racist...on reflection I'm pretty sure she was referring to skin colour.

All I know is the funniest situation is if she meant Tesco workers but ended up looking like the sweet old lady from father Ted who turns out to despise the Greeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

O.A.P in being un-pc shocker. Anyone notice Phil from Duck Dynastys travails across the big pond? He referred unflatteringly to gays... in fairness, if my old lad ever managed to give his opinions on pretty much any subject under the sun, he'd have been dragged away in handcuffs. The "older generation" tended to have missed the whole "p.c" thing slightly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

People are racist until proven otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I'm offended by everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

How'd you know he was from the Wesht?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Meh, she's old.

As long as she's not screaming racist slurs at people, it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I was only talking to an elderly Australian lady yesterday, and racism is alive and well in the older generations alright.

They still haven't forgiven the Japanese for the atrocities the committed to family members during the battle for the Coral Sea in the second world war.

Now she is worrying about the country in twenty years time with all the muslims arriving and buying up church blocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Might have meant Tescos, might just have been taking the piss....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Are you sure she didn't mean telco workers and you jumped to the conclusion that she meant the blacks because you are subconsciously racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Did she have any pork products or Alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Meh, she's old.

As long as she's not screaming racist slurs at people, it's grand.

Being old is no excuse for being racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

No actually :p Sounds like a bitta good ol' Irish banter :D and she's sound enough to include a foreigner in it :D ergo she's anything but racist but you enjoy your xmas op happy in the knowledge that she must be racist :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

Theres a strong chance she was just referring to cashier staff in general - which would mean shes being falsely accused of racism.

Riamfada wrote: »
    Are you sure she didn't mean telco workers and you jumped to the conclusion that she meant the blacks because you are subconsciously racist?

The black guy on the till must have been subconsciously racist too, so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I work retail and Im as Irish as you get. But people can still think they treat you like ****, because you are working a low-paid job and therefore you are stupid( I have a IQ which is in the top 2%, but customer still treat me like Im intellectually challenged). I had a customer shouting at me today, because I over charged him as it said €29 on his receipt. But was the amount he should have received in change.

If Bill Gates worked in Lidl, people would treat him like he was dumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Well she is right to be careful, you said so yourself

Yet again Tesco Ballyfermot messed up for me and scanned two products twice. Since it's Christmas Eve I had to customer service and queue for aaaaaaaaages. And then open my bag for inspection to prove I was paying for something I never got.

The lady is watching alright OP. Watching for staff asleep on the job

Being old is no excuse for being racist.
    It is. It's also an excuse for being rude, pushy, smelling slightly of wee and not running much, unless there's a really good sale or a fire. Old people have a pass on loads of things. Even on busses. It's the glory of being old. I'm going to turn into Alf garnet when i get older..everyone does..even women. I believe it's because you know you're about to pop your clogs and no longer give a damn what people think of you. "Fcuking Liberty.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

In fairness OP, you're the one who brought race into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

What's wrong with being racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Riamfada wrote: »

Are you still talking about Tesco staff?

Or have you moved onto Phone Companies? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

mitosis wrote: »
    In fairness OP, you're the one who brought race into it.

Correct, your point being?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭maryk123

When I started reading it I straight thought "you lot" as tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

It is. It's also an excuse for being rude, pushy, smelling slightly of wee and not running much, unless there's a really good sale or a fire. Old people have a pass on loads of things. Even on busses. It's the glory of being old. I'm going to turn into Alf garnet when i get older..everyone does..even women. I believe it's because you know you're about to pop your clogs and no longer give a damn what people think of you. "Fcuking Liberty.."

So your saying that you are racist now and that you'd be quite happy to smell of wee etc except that right now you hide it only because you care what people would think?

I've seen people mention the Duck Dynasty on here. What the heck is it? The reign of ducks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Jaysus, my granny was an awful racist, Satan possess her soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Correct, your point being?

.. being you have no reason to accuse another person of being racist than your own perceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

As a person of color I'd be more suspicious of the one who jumped to the race conclusion. I'd have just assumed she meant my position as a cashier. Too many people are waiting to be offended these days.

mitosis wrote: »
    .. being you have no reason to accuse another person of being racist than your own perceptions.

Wow, that's pretty clever of you. Maybe even too clever.

So you're telling me I can't use my judgement? It's incorrect to say I had no reason, and I didn't exactly accuse her of anything at all...I simply shared here on AH the experience.

Phoebas wrote: »
    So your saying that you are racist now and that you'd be quite happy to smell of wee etc except that right now you hide it only because you care what people would think?
    raaargh. Go gettim Tiger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

As the cashier gave her the change, she counted it meticulously, querying the value of some of the coins as old people do some times. She then said to the cashier, with a cheeky grin and a wink "I have to watch my change with you lot...".

I have to be honest, any story a mate tells me about a personal experience involving a dodgy taxi driver, the driver is nearly always foreign. Not knowing a main road/ destination, demanding the exact fare (demanding 10.10 instead of a tenner note- established taxi etiquette has always been to round down or up for both driver and customer), attempting to pass off a dodge amount of change when they know the customer is drunk, "forgetting" to put on the meter and when arriving trying to ask you for what, in his opinion, the fare was roughly worth (always 3 or 4 quid above what it should have been worth, which usually earns them a prompt f'uck you from me and I instead give them a few quid less than the fare should be worth) in my life I have only had one dodgy native taxi man and I don't know how many foreign ones.It is at the stage whereby when a mate tells you "the driver last night did x y z" and you ask "foreign, was he?" and you are always right on the money. Most of them are grand but there are a disproportionate amount of cowboys amongst the foreign ones, and based on that I generally far prefer getting a local taxi man than a foreign one. It is not in the slightest racist, put simply, when the government is allowing people from countries with patchy record collecting of criminal records to enter a largely night time game you are going to get a fair few cowboys take advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

You forgot to say "I'm not racist, but..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I would take her as directing it toward Tesco. For instance http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056589560

I have to be honest, any story a mate tells me about a personal experience involving a dodgy taxi driver, the driver is nearly always foreign. Not knowing a main road/ destination, demanding the exact fare (demanding 10.10 instead of a tenner note- established taxi etiquette has always been to round down or up for both driver and customer), attempting to pass off a dodge amount of change when they know the customer is drunk, "forgetting" to put on the meter and when arriving trying to ask you for what, in his opinion, the fare was roughly worth (always 3 or 4 quid above what it should have been worth, which usually earns them a prompt f'uck you from me and I instead give them a few quid less than the fare should be worth) in my life I have only had one dodgy native taxi man and I don't know how many foreign ones.It is at the stage whereby when a mate tells you "the driver last night did x y z" and you ask "foreign, was he?" and you are always right on the money. Most of them are grand but there are a disproportionate amount of cowboys amongst the foreign ones, and based on that I generally far prefer getting a local taxi man than a foreign one. It is not in the slightest racist, put simply, when the government is allowing people from countries with patchy record collecting of criminal records to enter a largely night time game you are going to get a fair few cowboys take advantage.

You must be ****ing joking. Every single bad experience I've had in a taxi involves an Irish driver looking to scam you, drive a stupid long way home, and invariably the journey comes with a free meandering racist diatribe about whatever is bothering them at the moment that they can conceivably blame on Nigerians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Kudos to me for managing to correctly put a YouTube link up via my mobile. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

You must be ****ing joking. Every single bad experience I've had in a taxi involves an Irish driver looking to scam you, drive a stupid long way home, and invariably the journey comes with a free meandering racist diatribe about whatever is bothering them at the moment that they can conceivably blame on Nigerians.
    Any bad taxi journey I've been in, involves Biracial taxi drivers with dual citizenship.

The only two negative experiences I have had with Irish drivers has been one lad who was steaming drunk and another who was, just simply, strange, scarily weird (his cab stank and all)

I couldn't start on the amount of dodgy foreign ones I have had, or have herd first hand accounts of. When coming from a country with haphazard criminal record keeping there really should be a rule whereby you must have a clean record in Ireland for x amount of years before getting a licence.

You forgot to say "I'm not racist, but..."

Excuse me, what?

It is racist to recognise/ realise that virtually all negative experiences I have both heard of and personally had have involved a minority of ( a disproportionate minority at that) foreign drivers?

Is that a joke? Really, is it?

When coming from a country with haphazard criminal record keeping

What on earth does that mean?

Excuse me, what?

It is racist to recognise/ realise that virtually all negative experiences I have both heard of and personally had have involved a minority of ( a disproportionate minority at that) foreign drivers?

Is that a joke? Really, is it?
    Foreign is a big old place tbf. I'm guessing you're referring to all the dodgy Italian taxi-drivers with their big sunglasses and love for pasta, swanning round ringsend? Or the Spaniards, with their bulls on the back seats, four pints of Sangria and a sombrero on, cruising the mean streets of Cabra?

Fair nuff, largely West African.
    What on earth does that mean?

You know fully well what it means. Why are you asking?

I honestly haven't a clue what you meant. Criminal record keeping? Are you suggesting that there are countries that convict people of crimes but don't bother keeping track of who's been convicted of what? If that's what you're suggesting, then it doesn't warrant response. If not, then I need clarification. Despite your insistence that I know full well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Confirmation bias maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

If I've learned anything from After Hours it's that everything and everyone is racist, except for those people who spend their lives getting offended on behalf of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

I think the fact that the op thought she was racist because she was old is ageism. :)

although I do remember 2 old wans at a bus stop giving out about 'Darkies' about 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Good for her!!

sheesh wrote: »
    I think the fact that the op thought she was racist because she was old is ageism. :)

although I do remember 2 old wans at a bus stop giving out about 'Darkies' about 10 years ago.

...not to mention sexism! Also, she was a little overweight so maybe that makes me fatist :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Anyone remember the age old trick of leaving a can of beans or something near the till ? You assume the last person left it. But the cashier adds it to your bill , if you catch them they just go "oh thought it was yours" and if you don't then it's gone though the system won't cause any problems during stock taking and been paid for so they can take it home or get a refund on it.