Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2007 Petrol SUV suggestions ? Qashqai Vs Vitari Vs RAV4 etc. ?

• 21-12-2013 5:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭

Hi, looking for an SUV for the wife and kids etc.

I'd like a lower mileage / well looked after one.

Budget could stretch to an lower mileage well looked after 2007.

She does about 8-10,000 miles per year max.

So I think a petrol one would be best value.

Something like the Qashqai, Grand Vitari, RAV 4, CRV etc.

What would be the best bet including any other suggestions ?

Many thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Qashqai will be the cheapest to run but among the most expensive to buy.
    1.6 petrol would be just the job.

You'd pick up an 07 from about €6500 privately. More if you want the best examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Subaru forester would be my choice.

Unless she likes boxer engines or needs awd its hard to recommend a forester to someone looking at more jeepy SUVs.
    Don't get me wrong, I like them, but any I've seen are driven by men. Not being sexist just women love Qashqais
    Old model 1.8 Rav4 worth a look too. (Up to 06)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Malcolm.

Yep, I won't be driving it that much,just the odd time, so its more for herself

Is there one that's more reliable than the others, or is there any of them I should look out to avoid due to reliability problems ?

The vitara and crv gave 4wd so will be more complicated.
    I reckon the qashqai is the way to go or a rav4 1.8 2wd
    If she just wants a jeepy car then there's no need to be lugging along all that hardware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭650gs

Well like all Nissan now the qashqai is powered, gear box and running gear by Renault a real bummer there cheap for a reason steer clear, any of the others would be twice the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Malcolm.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    If she just wants a jeepy car then there's no need to be lugging along all that hardware.

I'm with you on that, we'd never need 4wd. Waste of equipment and money.

650gs wrote: »
    Well like all Nissan now the qashqai is powered, gear box and running gear by Renault a real bummer there cheap for a reason steer clear, any of the others would be twice the car

You'll need to go into more detail. All I'm hearing is pub talk tbh.
    The Suzuki also has a renault (diesel) engine.
    They're hardly cheap either, their resale value vs new price is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

1.6 petrol is a Nissan sourced unit not Renault. I believe the g-box is Nissan too......

Look again you will see the Renault markings on them Nissan do not make engines any more, mine is the same been back for replacement gear box, break cylinders on the rear wheels changed and all sorts of problems with the ECU.
    I did read the reviews on the net but didn't take any notice of the bad ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

Look again you will see the Renault markings on them Nissan do not make engines any more, mine is the same been back for replacement gear box, break cylinders on the rear wheels changed and all sorts of problems with the ECU.
    I did read the reviews on the net but didn't take any notice of the bad ones.

Here is the 1.6 petrol engine from Nissan used in 2007 Qashqai:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_HR_engine#HR16DE

Here is the 1.5 DCI diesel engine from Renault used in 2007 Quasqai
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_K-Type_engine#K9K_dCi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SleeperService

Crv isn't real 4wd, 2wd most of the time. Of the choices there, that would be my favourite. Good value in the petrols.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

For build quality and reliability the rav4 and the crv are a good notch or two above the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

colm_mcm wrote: »

I dont think there is a 2wd rav4 (could be wrong) but rav4 stands for recreational all terrain vehicle with 4 wheel drive so this leads me to think they are all 4wd.

I drove one once a 1.8l from 03 and liked it a lot but prefer the suzuki grand vitara.

kerten wrote: »
    Here is the 1.6 petrol engine from Nissan used in 2007 Qashqai:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_HR_engine#HR16DE

Here is the 1.5 DCI diesel engine from Renault used in 2007 Quasqai
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_K-Type_engine#K9K_dCi

Well if you read the top of the page (The HR is a family of straight-3 and straight-4 automobile engines co-developed by Nissan and Renault. Renault calls it the H engine. It is made by Aichi Machine Industry in Japan.)
    It states this clearly co developed and if you look at the engine block it only bears the Renault logo, it might be made in Japan but not by Nissan they dont make engines any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I dont think there is a 2wd rav4 (could be wrong) but rav4 stands for recreational all terrain vehicle with 4 wheel drive so this leads me to think they are all 4wd.

I drove one once a 1.8l from 03 and liked it a lot but prefer the suzuki grand vitara.

Yes there are 2wd versions, the majority of them sold here would have been 2wd.

There was a 1.8 2wd from 00 to 06. More recently there is a 2wd diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

If its a 2wd drive, why not go for an estate car --- more load space than SUVs and becoming sorta "hip" :P

In most cases, ESP/ABS etc will be as good as 4 wheel drive in wet or icy conditions.....

99.9999% of people don't need 4 wheel drive.....only useful if you are trying to haul the bullock out of a ditch :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

Well if you read the top of the page (The HR is a family of straight-3 and straight-4 automobile engines co-developed by Nissan and Renault. Renault calls it the H engine. It is made by Aichi Machine Industry in Japan.)
    It states this clearly co developed and if you look at the engine block it only bears the Renault logo, it might be made in Japan but not by Nissan they dont make engines any more

Fair enough on branding of units produced.

Anything designed after Renault-Nissan Alliance(around 2000 I guess) emerged is co-developed like dci engine. At the end of the day both brands contribute to design of these engines depending planned use of engine. But You can still see where these engines are mainly used first and characteristics of brands.

Simply HR series engines uses timing chain instead of belt similar to older Nissan engines(SR, QG, etc) while dci unit is using timing belt similar to all older Renault engines designed before alliance.

HR(or H) Engine is started to be used lately in turbocharged form in Renaults but Renault still uses their own K series NA petrol engines in current models

HR Engine is being used in most of the Nissan models.

dci engine has been mainly used in renault models after it is introduced in 2002 till it is used in Nissan Micra. Then it has been only diesel option for Nissan models.

I am not saying HR engine is designed and produced by Nissan only but it has more characteristic of Nissan designs than Renault which I prefer over K4M engine any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

Jesus lads ye were right found this
    RAV4 stands for Recreational Active Vehicle with 4-wheel drive because the fore-mentioned equipment is an option in select countries.
    Seems on the verge of false advertising.

In that case Skoda better watch out - the Rapid and Superb are neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Crv isn't real 4wd, 2wd most of the time. Of the choices there, that would be my favourite. Good value in the petrols.

I have a 2 litre petrol CRV myself and they are 2wd and the back wheels start to drive only if the front wheels start slipping so it's good piece of mind. As said before the OP wants reliability and the Toyota and Honda are streets ahead of the rest and on a personal note my ten year old CRV is still tight as a drum.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I have a 2 litre petrol CRV myself and they are 2wd and the back wheels start to drive only if the front wheels start slipping so it's good piece of mind.
    That's AWD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's AWD!

Technically its "Real Time All Wheel Drive" the Crv is normally 2wd and only uses the AWD when slippage is detected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Technically its "Real Time All Wheel Drive" the Crv is normally 2wd and only uses the AWD when slippage is detected.
    That's what I said, it's AWD! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SleeperService

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's what I said, it's AWD! :)

Ish.
    But the minor penalty/complications of it are worth it.
    Until some gom in the limerick NCT centre decides its just another 2wd suv and sticks it up on the rollers to stress test the diff for the lols...