Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you fear dying?

• 16-12-2013 1:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Does the idea of no longer being able to see, feel, remember, love, think or even exist some day make you feel uncomfortable? We all have to die some day after all, but does the idea of being dead make you nervous or bother you at all?

Do you fear death? 71 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 71 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

No because when I'm dead I won't feel any of those emotions you just described.
    I would hate to think of my family being distraught though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I don't really fear the being dead part but dying itself does scare me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

No but it really is sh*t. Then I think about eternity and that's even sh*ttier. I dunno what I want :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Nah no need to fear something you cannot control! If it's your time, so be it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

I was in training for 7 years preparing for my death

it was called marriage ..
    so to answer your question, bring it on ...:D

We're all going to heaven lads, wheeey!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Death is inevitable, it will happen to us all eventually, so why fear it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Why is there so much dying/cancer threads in AH all of a sudden :(

*gently takes your hand and skips with you to the Christmas thread*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It doesn't preoccupy me often, but certainly I don't want to die. Because I like being alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Any normal sane person fears their own death. The natural question arises: which do you fear more? Living or dying? Many people are in bad places and have to make a choice.

Maybe a more interesting question would be "Do you fear death?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

fussyonion wrote: »
    *gently takes your hand and skips with you to the Christmas thread*

There's no need to be an ass. It may be a touchy subject for some of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

More than anything in the world. I think about dying far too much I'd say. Scares the shit out of me. The only thing worse would probably be the thought of losing my parents. I'd nearly want to go before them so I wouldn't have to go through that ordeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Wow, it takes some serious effort to see that post as "being an ass!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I don't really fear it but i hate the thought of me not existing anymore, like not knowing what's it like in 500+ years! Not being around for all the amazing things yet to come. In 2000+ years we'll be the ancients as they're too us now.

I wasn't being an ass at all..I thought I was being nice.
    Sorry if you took it wrong :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Not at all. I'm somewhat afraid of the pain process that may be involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Sciprio wrote: »
    I don't really fear it but i hate the thought of me not existing anymore, like not knowing what's it like in 500+ years! Not being around for all the amazing things yet to come. In 2000+ years we'll be the ancients as they're too us now.

Don't worry, sure it'll be crap anyway.

Earth is heading for the dark ages. We are constantly creating more and more need for energy without having a sustainable means of producing it and so within 50 years, we will be surround by folding TVs, roll up phones, cool looking cars but yet we'll all be sitting in the dark shivering as we'll have no means of powering the fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

That's pretty much where I am on it too - the idea of not existing anymore bothers me a lot more than dying does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

anyone who fears dying is an egomaniac we're all on the way there why wud u fear it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭prince of peasants

If old age/retirement is anything like being unemployed/on the dole then I think a premature death is not such a bad thing because death, like life, is an on going process which seems more apparent to us at certain times of our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I can't imagine me not being around anymore. Who the fe&ck is going to critisize my own actions???

It scares the bejaysus out of me. And unfortunately I'm not joking on this occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Not at all. In fact I hope it happens sooner rather than later. By that I mean, I hope I'm still having some quality of life right to the end and not sick and my last years dragging out.
    Being old and frail scares me a whole lot more than dying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭prince of peasants

Not at all. In fact I hope it happens sooner rather than later. By that I mean, I hope I'm still having some quality of life right to the end and not sick and my last years dragging out.
    Being old and frail scares me a whole lot more than dying.

Old age helps us see the benefits of dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I accept death, we are all going to die, hopefully not yet, but it is inevitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Yes, I do, I really do.

I feel like I should be saying "Naw, BRING IT!!!!" here, but that would be lies, lies, I tell you! :)

I fear death taking me, not me taking it myself some day if I so choose. I fear the nothingness. I fear it being painful. I really wish reincarnation was a thing.

But at the same time, I often feel ambivalent about living, always have, and most definitely about bringing life into this world. It's a curious mix of feelings and emotions that I'm just cannot reconcile.

fussyonion wrote: »
    We're all going to heaven lads, wheeey!

Class. :pac:

Death is inevitable, it will happen to us all eventually, so why fear it?

Oh, if only it were that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

ive been stabbed twice and was on my way out over a punctured artury but I really didn't care if I lived or died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Do you fear death

No, I personally don't fear death at all, it's just a transition from material matter into electrical energy but the "ME" part of it continues on.

I think, therefore I am. Sure how could a person understand the external when trapped inside a container of matter ?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

jimpump wrote: »
    ive been stabbed twice and was on my way out over a punctured artury but I really didn't care if I lived or died

Did your ex gf stab you when she found out you were feekin the brazzers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Poll asks a different question than the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I don't really fear the being dead part but dying itself does scare me.

Just seen this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,025 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

No.

But I fear how I will die. Going out, hooked up to a machine, stinking of shite, with my hair falling out, etc...no thanks.

Thing is, I'm more worried about how life will be in 20, 30, 40+ years time. It ain't that much fun at the moment and I don't really have any expectation that it'll be a barrel of laughs in the later stages.

It's getting worse and worse living in this country, with more expense and discomfort being heaped upon people and I cannot see things getting easier TBH.

Life just seems like it's going to be more of a struggle than the enjoyable experience it was before. Worrying about whether I'll have work (christ, I don't even know if that'll be the case next year), worrying about the death of loved ones (always a crap thing), worrying about where I'll even be living.

It's later life that fills me with fear these days, rather than death.

What the hell happened? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

I'm going to say yes, because I fear the unknown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

My initial response to this question is always no. Cause I don't go around in fear of death or anything. Don't think of it much. But any time I've been in a genuine life or death situation I've learned just how full of sh1t I am. I don't fear dying in the way I don't fear tigers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Tony EH wrote: »
    No.

But I fear how I will die. Going out, hooked up to a machine, stinking of shite, with my hair falling out, etc...no thanks.

Thing is, I'm more worried about how life will be in 20, 30, 40+ years time. It ain't that much fun at the moment and I don't really have any expectation that it'll be a barrel of laughs in the later stages.

It's getting worse and worse living in this country, with more expense and discomfort being heaped upon people and I cannot see things getting easier TBH.

Life just seems like it's going to be more of a struggle than the enjoyable experience it was before. Worrying about whether I'll have work (christ, I don't even know if that'll be the case next year), worrying about the death of loved ones (always a crap thing), worrying about where I'll even be living.

It's later life that fills me with fear these days, rather than death.

What the hell happened? :eek:

Yeah, life is strange, every-one has to work morning noon and evening, day in, day out, to be able to live semi comfortably.
    But after the years fly in, you notice you are getting old, and only then you will say to yourself... I have worked hard all of my life but didn't take a long break when I was younger, but now I'm too old and not as fit to do the things I would have liked to do back in the day.

Ah well, I'll just sit here with my pipe and ponder reflecting on a life I could have had, instead of working my bollix off for the last 50 years.

hypothetically speaking

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I think everyone has a natural fear of dying whom faced with it.But its a natural progression as you get older you will learn to face the fact you won't live forever.To someone in their mid 30s the thought of dying is frightening, but to someone in their 80s it might be more acceptable.I remember my last conversation with my grandmother about how she felt about dying and she told me she envied the people that died young, she was ready and looking forward to dying
    .I think it's a great way to be at 86, that you actually want to die.
    I recently lost someone very close to me who was very young and had young kids, she didn't want to die but had no choice in the matter, but that didn't mean she wasn't frightened, she was very scared and angry that at 41 years of age it was all going to be taken off her, she would never see her daughters married or graduate or meet their first boyfriends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

"I am not frightened of dying. Any time will do, I don't mind. Why should I be frightened of dying? There's no reason for it – you've got to go sometime."

-Gerry O'Driscoll, Abbey Road Studios.
    -The Great Gig In The Sky.
    -Dark Side of the Moon (1973).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Dying and death don't scare me in the slightest, they're an inevitability of life. Just make the most of it and you can't go wrong, because I think regret is actually the worst thing of all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,025 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

zenno wrote: »
    Yeah, life is strange, every-one has to work morning noon and evening, day in, day out, to be able to live semi comfortably.
    But after the years fly in, you notice you are getting old, and only then you will say to yourself... I have worked hard all of my life but didn't take a long break when I was younger, but now I'm too old and not as fit to do the things I would have liked to do back in the day.

Ah well, I'll just sit here with my pipe and ponder reflecting on a life I could have had, instead of working my bollix off for the last 50 years.

hypothetically speaking

Aye. I've been sort of thinking quite a bit about how just plain stupid life is. We go to school, then get a job. We stay at the mercy of work, more than likely in a job we dislike (or outright hate). Hopefully, there's actually opportunity to get work in later life, cos the reality is that most people are "aged out" in their 50's. Have a look around your office...not to many 50+ year olds, I reckon.

And now we have to worry about securing work until 67 years old.

We spend most of our time worrying/planning for the "future" and in no time at all, the future is upon us and we regret not having done anything.

Then we die.

The whole thing's bloody ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Of course I fear death. Think about it. Yeesh. The thought of just nothingness.... sends a shiver down my spine.

Sure whatever ya believe in may provide some comfort... souls living on or whatever but the simple fact is, you will no longer be here. Creeps me right the fcuk out! Here one minute, gone the next!

It's a really stupid thing to be afraid of. No doubt about it. Nothing you can control but knowing this still will not remove the fear of it.

I can only say just try and make the best out of what time you have left

I have chills now. Bleugh!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

I dont want to die ever. Plain and simple.

I want to see space travel - doubt ill see it in my lifetime
    I want to see aliens - not anytime soon id say

I want to see what life is like in 200 yrs considering what it was like 1813.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭_MadRa_

Spiders, Clowns and women, but not dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭weetiepie

I had absolutely no fear before I had children. I don't fear dying just that my kids would no longer have a mother..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

Nobody knows what happens when you die, i think deep down we all fear the unknown but in my opinion the idea of going to heaven, meeting up with old family/friends & living for ever lasting life is pure fantasy. Even If it was to be true who would fancy that kind of life anyway. I would like to think that we cease to exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

I find that having no belief in heaven is more comforting than believing in life after death. The fact we came from nothing and will end with nothingness is really nice to me.
    I don't fear death itself more just the way in which I will die, like a violent lonely death would obviously be more scary than peacefully in my sleep or whatever. And I worry for my child and things like that but that's not a fear for myself as such.
    I do fear an illness that would cut my life short and I'd know I was going to die soon, the pain it causes for everyone can be horrific, although some people do find some kind of peace in it when it does happen. A family member of mine got to say goodbye to everyone which I will cherish forever so I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

I am not afraid to die, I am afraid of what I will miss like children's events, weddings, children. I would like to see them all settled and happy. Of course that may not happen whether I live or die but I suppose that is the hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Dying now would scare me.

When I've reached a much older age and my kids are grown up, not so much so.