Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lovely bit of overtaking

• 15-12-2013 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭

Some footage I caught today on the dash cam. Skip to 1:40 to see 3 examples of overtaking. I'll let ye judge for yourselves... I have a feeling I'll have someone say something about my driving but the main focus on the overtaker if you can :D

Also, as a sidenote, how would someone go about reporting this? Not that I'm one of those "try catch everyone doing something wrong" types but chr!st this fella p!ssed me off with his swerving in and out and driving so close that I couldn't see his bonnet and then overtaking on bends... there was only another kilometre or 2 before the next roundabout which led to a dual carriage way so what did he gain? 40 seconds?

Any way here's the vid:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Foreign plate (Austrian I think), nothing can be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

Also, as a sidenote, how would someone go about reporting this?

Traffic Watch lo-call number 1890 205 805

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭kavanada

If it was left-hand drive, it was dangerous driving. Totally unnecessary. As you said, there was a dual carriage way up ahead.
    He might have been in a foreign car but they had definitely been down that road before.
    That road looks like your typical head-on collision road you hear about on the news. Wet and dark too.

I know you said don't comment on your driving(which was grand) but how are your lights? They look very weak and angled low on the video? Might be just the camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

kavanada wrote: »
    I know you said don't comment on your driving(which was grand) but how are your lights? They look very weak and angled low on the video? Might be just the camera.

The OPs lights are grand.

Cameras always pickup less light than the Human eye. The fact that the camera can see anything means the OP could see fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

That's not dangerous overtaking. If you had to brake, it means you didn't leave enough space to the car in front.

You could see other cars' lights so easier to decide if overtaking is doable. Might have missed it, but all 3 overtakings are happening on a broken line...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

rocky wrote: »
    That's not dangerous overtaking. If you had to brake, it means you didn't leave enough space to the car in front.

OP had left plenty of room between him and the car in front. If he had to brake, it was because the overtaker took away his braking space by inserting himself in there.

If I overtake someone, and they have to brake because of me, then I've done something wrong.

So there was plenty of room to the car in front, but overtaking, while legal, shouldn't be done because... there's not enough room ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Thoie wrote: »
    If I overtake someone, and they have to brake because of me, then I've done something wrong.

Exactly. Nothing annoys me more than someone who overtakes or merges, and assumes that just because you left a braking distance that they themselves should slot right in. Granted we all get caught out sometimes but if the car behind has to brake or slow down, then you shouldn't be overtaking or merging into that space.

Sure, you shouldn't do that every day, maybe he was in a hurry somewhere and can't see anything illegal in those maneuvers.

So there was plenty of room to the car in front, but overtaking, while legal, shouldn't be done because... there's not enough room ?

There is plenty of emergency stopping room between cars A and B, but if car C slots in the middle, C is too close to A and B is too close to C.

Car C, the overtaker, will now decelerate rapidly to give themselves room in front, forcing Car B (who was overtaken) to also have to decelerate quickly. 2 seconds ago they had buckets of time/space to react in, now Car C has "stolen" their reaction time/space, while simultaneously forcing them to react. It's a dickish move on the part of Car C.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

You got in one
    Overtaking a line of cars and then having to push your way in because of oncoming traffic is what is known as suicidal lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I never get why people want to always jump into your braking space, conditions looked wet there, I like to leave the appropriate space in front of me if I have to break suddenly and hate it when donkeys like this overtake and reduce my breaking distance to half/one-third.

Ridiculous

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

A normal day on the Curragh Line into Galway from what I can see :D

Illegal? no. Dangerous? not in my book. People have to brake while driving, noo!!!

You got in one
    Overtaking a line of cars and then having to push your way in because of oncoming traffic is what is known as suicidal lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Illegal? no. Dangerous? not in my book. People have to brake while driving, noo!!!

I agree with you here. If a person is overtaking me I slow my speed down a bit as I am suspecting the car may be coming in front of me. A bit of common sense no. The only thing I did not see is the car indicating in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

First overtake looked fine, 2nd one was on a broken white line but the gap looked small. 3rd one looked like it was started or at least finished over a continuous white line.

It does not surprise me if this driver is Austrian, continental Europeans know how to make progress. Whereas the dawdling Irish are content to sit in long convoys doing 60 km/h on N roads with everyone driving up each others arses and nobody overtaking.

Re: some of the comments in this thread - nobody has any entitlement/right to the braking space in front of their car. If anything there is a responsibility on drivers to leave enough room in front for an overtaking vehicle to move into. Obviously there is also a responsibility on the driver who is overtaking not to barge into a non existent gap causing a tailgater to have to brake/change course to avoid a collision.

At 80 km/h according to the 2 second rule a driver should be leaving 145 feet to the car in front. An average car is 13-15 feet long. If everyone in a line of traffic left the correct gap then there would be no issue at all with people doing "leapfrog" overtakes.

The main problems that I see are that many drivers:

1) Drive far, far too close to the car in front.

2) Seem to have a phobia about overtaking. Everyday I come across drivers willing to break the speed limit until they come up behind ONE slow vehicle then they just sit there, driving up its arse and spurning every overtaking opportunity that presents itself.

3) Are incapable of overtaking unless the vehicle in front pulls over into the hard shoulder. Then if it does pull over, they overtake when it's not safe. Basically they allow someone else's "courtesy" to influence their decision. I have seen numerous near misses because of this

4) Have poor observation and overreact to situations eg slamming on the brakes when an overtaking car "appears out of nowhere" in front - when all they had to do was observe properly and maybe lift off the throttle to increase their braking space after he moves in front.

5) Have a begrudging mentaity and pull stunts like speeding up to close gaps in order to block the "dangerous idiot" overtaking them. When in fact their behaviour shows that it is they who are the dangerous idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

This dull as dishwater video has given me a new appreciation of Russian dash cams, which actually catch footage which is worth watching. I feel like shooting myself for waiting and waiting, expecting something of any interest.

This is not the thread for you then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Thoie wrote: »
    OP had left plenty of room between him and the car in front. If he had to brake, it was because the overtaker took away his braking space by inserting himself in there.

He had plenty of room. The lead car, which had just been overtook, braked for no apparent reason. Looked like hesitancy braking due to a oncoming car, eg the type of slow scared Irish driver we all know and love. This closed the gap which made things worse for the overtaker but not enough to be overtly dangerous. I'd actually rate the OP's driving as perfect, he kept his distance and his road positioning is really good.

The two drivers in front created a problem when combined with a impatient driver. The bad driver in the lead and the tailgater up his hole.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    First overtake looked fine, 2nd one was on a broken white line but the gap looked small. 3rd one looked like it was started or at least finished over a continuous white line.

It does not surprise me if this driver is Austrian, continental Europeans know how to make progress. Whereas the dawdling Irish are content to sit in long convoys doing 60 km/h on N roads with everyone driving up each others arses and nobody overtaking.

If he was in a LHD Drive car he was an absolute tit end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Looks like the Op was pissing off the car behind, he was probably swerving in and out looking for an opportunity to overtake. Why should he have to sit behind someone doing 80 km/h on a 100 km/n road.

If you're not going to overtake leave room in front of you for the car behind you that is obviously trying to overtake.

Looks like the Op was pissing off the car behind, he was probably swerving in and out looking for an opportunity to overtake. Why should he have to sit behind someone doing 80 km/h on a 100 km/n road.

If you're not going to overtake leave room in front of you for the car behind you that is obviously trying to overtake.

I would say the guy in the car behind was an idiot.

In the last overtake he pulls out (Probably in a LHD Car, while on a bend.
    Then passes the car and forces his way back in to avoid hitting an oncoming car (you can see his brake lights coming on)

On top of that it looks like the road is wet so hardly favourable conditions.

Especially if they guy in the LHD car cannot see anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,650 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Where was the dangerous part? Have I missed something? Decent wide road, well in before on-coming traffic.
    Nothing wrong OP with using and looking in the old mirrors and giving the driver overtaking some room. People take it so personally when they're over-taken in this country. Big deal.

I would say the guy in the car behind was an idiot.

In the last overtake he pulls out (Probably in a LHD Car, while on a bend.
    Then passes the car and forces his way back in to avoid hitting an oncoming car (you can see his brake lights coming on)

On top of that it looks like the road is wet so hardly favourable conditions.

Especially if they guy in the LHD car cannot see anything.

Especially at night it's easy enough to see if there's oncoming traffic.
    Braking to get back in does not mean he 'forces' his way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Nothing much wrong with your video, aside from the fact that it won't play!:P
    I followed the link in the email notification instead:

Nothing much wrong in there either, if we let the Yaris at 01:00 and Miley Cyrus slide.
    What you didn't do and what I used to do all the time, is to overtake a truck and 17 cars all in one go and just push your way in halfway through, because of oncoming traffic.
    For that you will have to pray a spot magically opens up.
    I'm don't do it anymore, so I'm here to tell the tale.
    In the OP's video, the overtake at 03:20 is definitely a bit iffy, aside from the hopscotch (dangerous game), tailgating, aggressive driving and all that in the wet and dark.
    Not great. The main reason for the lower fatality rate are the motorways, so flutes like that don't endanger everyone else.

Especially at night it's easy enough to see if there's oncoming traffic.
    Braking to get back in does not mean he 'forces' his way.

Yes, he got the car he was overtaking to do something to avoid causing an accident. That's forcing.

Also, if you've ever driven a LHD car in a Country that drives on the left, you'd know from experience you cannot see anything when you drive that close to the car in front.

Yes, he got the car he was overtaking to do something to avoid causing an accident. That's forcing.

Also, if you've ever driven a LHD car in a Country that drives on the left, you'd know from experience you cannot see anything when you drive that close to the car in front.

Thought you were referring to the overtaking car braking.
    Nothing much wrong with your video, aside from the fact that it won't play!:P
    I followed the link in the email notification instead:

Had an extra space in the tag, fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

If he was in a LHD Drive car he was an absolute tit end of.

Lhd or rhd has nothing to do with the matter. It is not more dangerous to drive a lhd here than a rhd.
    It is actually safer to drive a lhd car here, especially with cyclists. When it comes to overtaking it makes no difference whatsoever.
    Speaking from actual daily experience here, for the last 10 years.

Thought you were referring to the overtaking car braking.

I was, the car overtaking realises he's in danger of hitting the oncoming car and brakes while pulling in, forcing the car he's overtaking to brake also.

bmstuff wrote: »
    Lhd or rhd has nothing to do with the matter. It is not more dangerous to drive a lhd here than a rhd.
    It is actually safer to drive a lhd car here, especially with cyclists. When it comes to overtaking it makes no difference whatsoever.
    Speaking from actual daily experience here, for the last 10 years.

Its not more dangerous.

But it makes the practice of driving up someones arse and then pulling out and flooring it even more dangerous than it already is if the steering wheel is on the right hand side of the car.

In my experience of driving LHD on the left and RHD on the right on single carriageway roads.

Regardless, the practise in Germany if you are caught is very serious as it can be classed as coercion and that's a court appearance.

Same for flashing your lights and driving aggressively to get someone out of the way on the autobahn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

This example of bad overtaking ? and you want to report it ?
    or u must have plenty of time dear op, or you don't drive to often and driving in slow convoy is normal for you.

I don't see anything wrong here.
    On other note what annoys me are drivers, who don't intend to overtake and keep close behind slow cars, what make situation more dangerous for other drivers who wants to drive 100km/h on 100, not 60 or 70 or even 80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

I thought I said it on the youtube description but when he overtook me it was alright, the second overtake wasn't fantastic but can't complain too much, the last overtake was terrible. I know the road well and you can't see a thing coming to that bend. It's not that sharp but its very enclosed or something and even at night you can't see a thing.

I happily overtake everyone when I deem fit but I'm driving a 1.2 litre so power is quite lacking and with three cars ahead of me (2 after one pulls off before the bend) I saw it pointless to overtake as they were still going along about 90kmh (admittedly it was about 80 to 85 when I was overtaken). I knew there was a dual carriageway in a few minutes so what was the point in doing something stupid.

I've seen first hand what happens when someone misjudges a situation slightly. I've seen the bodies after crashes and it's drivers like that who try to shave a couple of minutes off their travel time and think they know it all that cause pointless deaths. I've attended scenes and seen it first hand and I've lost a member of my immediate family due to overtaking misjudgments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Using that road everyday (Clonmel - Cahir), even though the road has a broken white line, it is barely visible for a forseeable distance ahead of you. Poor driving by the Austrian.

As stated above though, nothing can be done really since it's a foreign reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Dat 6 pot sound :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

You could see other cars' lights so easier to decide if overtaking is doable. Might have missed it, but all 3 overtakings are happening on a broken line...

Broken white line means you must not cross it unless it is safe to do so (RotR pg. 67).
    The only thing I did not see is the car indicating in

Why the hell would you indicate to return to your own side of the road? It's expected that you're going to do this after overtaking on the wrong side of the road.
    BrianD3 wrote:
    2) Seem to have a phobia about overtaking. Everyday I come across drivers willing to break the speed limit until they come up behind ONE slow vehicle then they just sit there, driving up its arse and spurning every overtaking opportunity that presents itself.

Caution in overtaking is fine in my book. It's a terrible cliche, but arriving late is better than not arriving IMO. As much as I hate being stuck behind a slow driver (and I'm not averse to driving on when conditions allow) I won't overtake if I'm not confident of getting back in with room to spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Chimaera wrote: »
    Why the hell would you indicate to return to your own side of the road? It's expected that you're going to do this after overtaking on the wrong side of the road.

So anyone who you're overtaking knows that you're not overtaking the next car in front of him.

Could be a lifesaver a lot of times.

I know it's not against the law to not put your indicator once you're going back to your lane, but I always do, just in case.

I happily overtake everyone when I deem fit but I'm driving a 1.2 litre so power is quite lacking and with three cars ahead of me (2 after one pulls off before the bend) I saw it pointless to overtake as they were still going along about 90kmh (admittedly it was about 80 to 85 when I was overtaken). I knew there was a dual carriageway in a few minutes so what was the point in doing something stupid.

I never had a problem overtaking in a small engine car in Ireland and I drive lots of them as i'm a tight git when renting.

As long as you give yourself plenty of space between you and the car in front its quite easy to have a differential speed of 20-30 kilometers per hour since you have a long run up before performing the overtake.

Sobanek wrote: »
    Dat 6 pot sound :D

Was expecting more tbh, but it's great for the other 95% of the time when you don't feel like pressing on...

As long as you give yourself plenty of space between you and the car in front its quite easy to have a differential speed of 20-30 kilometers per hour since you have a long run up before performing the overtake.

The theory's good - in reality as you start your run up an Austrian appears ;)

Rocky, in the video you showed the overtaker wasn't shoving himself into other people's stopping distance. He overtook, and fecked off away from the car he'd just passed, and didn't appear to have just cut the nose off the other car. I'd suspect none of the cars that were passed out in that video had to adjust their speed because of the overtaker.

I know, what about the flasher? btw I'm the overtaker :)

He probably knew you were listening to Miley Cyrus and going to use star fades on the video, and giving you a flash of disapproval :p

I think he was OK - he was driving a silver car on a nice day, and was just making sure you knew he was there. He wasn't frantically flashing and leaping for the ditch. I had a metallic green car at one stage that used blend in beautifully to the Irish countryside. I was inclined to give people an "I'm here, get off my side of the road" flash from time to time. If there was any danger there'd be more frantic flashing/beeping/leaping for ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Zoney

Agree with this - as a learner driver, I'd only really have confidence and experience to overtake on really clear wide stretches in good conditions (even then, it's more to build experience than because I feel I want to).

If I'm behind a slow driver myself, and someone comes up behind me, it's usually obvious if they are impatient and want to overtake. In that case I've no problem dropping a bit further back from the car in front - it doesn't really affect my journey time.

Do have to wonder about some of the deadly slow drivers out the country at night though - are they coming back from the pub even now?

I do hate tailgaters in a 50 or 60 km/h urban area where they aren't going to overtake (can't) and I can't legally go faster! Particularly alarming one recently was an Artic who insisted on riding up my rear bumper! (That long stretch at Claregalway is ridiculous, but it's not something I can do anything about!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Where was the accident?
    I think I may have missed it. :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

There's such a sweet note from Rocky's motor in that clip.

Sounds better than Miley Cyrus that's for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

fup me - every overtaking manoeuvre is considered dangerous here in Ireland and we basically boo hiss flash the lights and point at pretty much everything we don't understand as being dangerous.

A ridiculous country to drive in these days, under trained and far too eager to judge with pretty much no foundation or little understanding of whats going on.

this forum is the culmination of that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    this forum is the culmination of that.

I do find this Forum very, I don't know, "Asshole-ish"? at times I must admit.

Some sound lads on it too though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Chimaera wrote: »
    Caution in overtaking is fine in my book. It's a terrible cliche, but arriving late is better than not arriving IMO. As much as I hate being stuck behind a slow driver (and I'm not averse to driving on when conditions allow) I won't overtake if I'm not confident of getting back in with room to spare.
    I think what BrianD3 was getting at was, the type of driver who zooms up behind another car, sits feet from their bumper and won't overtake no matter how good the overtaking opportunity is.

As far as their concerned they'd rather sit there dangerously tailgating and pissing off other motorists, instead of overtaking and getting on with their journey.