Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woodcock!!!

• 15-12-2013 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭

Is anybody finding that the woodcock this year are out of the cover???

We shooting a pile of woodcock out in the mountain, in small valleys with no cover…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

danbrosnan wrote: »

We shooting a pile of woodcock out in the mountain, in small valleys with no cover…

scarce around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭danbrosnan

we had 8 the last day with about five guns, we must have seen twenty, pile of snipe also… a lot of walking mountain areas tho to find them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

On Saturday we came across loads of woodcock and fantastic numbers of snipe sitting in lowland scrub. The land had been very dry in the previous months now its holding a fare amount of water and the birds are haveing a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

out for a 2hrs this evening in a place which is gone wild and has alot of briers, sallys and other trees, high ditches and drains and slushy ,boggy ground and we rattled about 7 but couldnt get any shot off bcos they broke to the wrong side as usual in us.

Great to hear other hunters are finding the same thing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

here in mayo some days im getting them in the header and fields.but mostly in light cover got 10 the last day over the cocker seen 17.so wasnt to bad numbers seem good.need the frost to push them into plantation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

allan450 wrote: »
    here in mayo some days im getting them in the header and fields.but mostly in light cover got 10 the last day over the cocker seen 17.so wasnt to bad numbers seem good.need the frost to push them into plantation.
    Hunted a big plantation today usually holds a few never saw a woodcock plenty of pheasants shot 4 cocks went out for pheasants the other day hunting ditches and met loads of woodcock they are not in there usual haunts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

For some reason this year not too many, but to or 3 weeks ago in 1 area I put up a few, but I am still of the mind that the weather is still very mild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

meeting a fair few along the edges of ditchs and really light cover .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 greengrasscork

mild weather and not very wet yet there not in the deep cover plenty of them around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

we have a nice share of them down here in limerick and cork, both in heavy cover and drains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

would where you hunt be rocky ground?

I got 5 yesterday in heavy enough ditches. A bit of hard frost would be great!

no not really, just small valleys on hills and land like that… they seem to flight into the valleys and stay there not getting many in heavy cover at all… but when the weather changes that might all change..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 sniperviper

Havnt seen as many around this year but last year in the same area there where loads all out in light cover had some fantastic days shooting!!!!

Met a lot woodcock this morn in heavy cover on high ground they were like bullets in the wind dog caught one and I used nearly a full belt of carts no joy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭springer man

met 4 woodcock today in very very wet heavy cover , as for the pheasants , are ye meeting a few?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭johnny3

You would imagine the wd cock would be in shelter in that weather out this morn only seen one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

What are they like to eat? Aren't they pretty small? Do they need ripening like pheasant?

mitosis wrote: »
    What are they like to eat? Aren't they pretty small? Do they need ripening like pheasant?
    very tasty

johnny3 wrote: »
    You would imagine the wd cock would be in shelter in that weather out this morn only seen one
    I met them in heavy briars inside a wood great hunting but hard shooting the bitch I was using is literally shredded just been out with her gave her half a dispirin and some arnica they were well in out of the weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭moloney

put fifteen up on sunday got two on the edge of forests under hollytrees and sallys hard hard country but worth it to see the dog working them out

got 6 today only seen 7 one of those days where they broke the right way for the shot.along the edge of planting again where i got them and one or to bits of light cover.got 1 cock and 5 snipe too so was good clipping.only went out at one the morning was ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

got 6 today only seen 7 one of those days where they broke the right way for the shot.along the edge of planting again where i got them and one or to bits of light cover.got 1 cock and 5 snipe too so was good clipping.only went out at one the morning was ****.

Where did ya meet the snipe very hard to get them in open ground especially in bad weather with wind gale and rain?

i got them yesterday on blanket bogs now thats with alot of walking.their is alot of snipe around me not meeting as much at the moment.thats because the ground is wet everywhere now they could be anywhere.but im working the cocker more so only in cover.the pointers are the only job for snipe.got an other 6 woodcock today seen 10 but only got a shot at 6 so happy and the cocker worked well.

Put up about 12- 15 today in forestry some were in dark shaded areas some in sunny spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Put up 10 today in very heavy cover and briars

seen maybe up on 15 today their was abit of a comp on for most woodcock heaviest duck and longest cock.so we got 8 woodcock 5 cocks and only 1 drake mallard.we didnt beat as much cover as i wanted for the woodcock as we were looking for the BIG pheasant but biggest shot was 36 and a half.we beat the heavy cover in the morning took us well over 2 hours only one bird in it.lads iv been shooting woodcock now for 4 days straight.their sitting just in the Forstery where you see them red bits of trees/cover just along the front of it.also brakes in the forstery is good for them and where sun is hitting it for best results.i no people prob already now this but id just thought id share it hope it helps.also a good dog makes things that bit easier ha ha.:D

their is a very pics of the last few days....

Impressive shooting their lads

its the dogs the cocker he only 14 months and he is losing and finding springers in the hunting.he goes in to the planting will beat for 40 yards and then stop on the bank and wait for you to send him on again this season is really for him to get his feet.great nose for them.im out 4 days a week with him put in a good foundation for the first year or 2 and you have a great dog for life.well that my thinking of it.then just let the pointer scan the fields its a great system.the cocker put up all the woodys today.even the springer men that i shoot with said it will be their next dog.very easy handled.we forgot the go pro disaster.i won the bag for most woodcock nice 100 euro for the day.just makes it more interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

their is a very pics of the last few days....

Fair play boys some serious pegging there.

Are the woodcock numbers down this year
    Where would be the best place to find them after a nite of heavy rain

met a good few today in heavy cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Kells1

johnny3 wrote: »
    Are the woodcock numbers down this year
    Where would be the best place to find them after a nite of heavy rain
    Heavy cover...very heavy cover

Kells1 wrote: »
    Heavy cover...very heavy cover

Meeting them out in the bog with no cover at all imagine that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭lofty95

Meeting them out in the bog with no cover at all imagine that!

Same as that come on more out in bogs than any other year

lofty95 wrote: »
    Same as that come on more out in bogs than any other year

I know and people would not believe you!

Meet a few today on sunny side of furs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭moloney

anyone finding that they are in poor enough condition this year shot a few that the chest done was quiet easy to see

They wer prob just in

ones ive shot are biggest ive seen in a long time good fine meat on them too

i wouldnt say numbers are down its just their a bit scattered due to the weather.we got 10 today well 1 got stuck in a tree so 9 must have seen 20.so numbers ok and that only out for 3 hours from 12 until 3.we meet some in bogs some in fields but most in light cover/heavy cover with the sun on it.shot over 2 gsps a cocker and springer.woodcock shooting 002.jpg

Great shooting there fair play…

was out again today done different spots then the norm.all day from 10 until 4 only seen 10 got 3 only a snipe and a cock.their was a few bad misses today as well.a bit sore from all the briers yesterday ha ha.still seen them everywhere really.

shooting in mayo as well, bumper year for woodcock if you have good dogs, never put up as many as this year. Out this evening for 3 hours put up 10 woodcock, 3 snipe and a pheasant, got 3 woodcock and a snipe!

that was are worst day only seen 10 so shows how many is in.got great shooting on the duck as well but that was due to the late rain fall.i must add though alot of walking was for these birds and i mean alot.when you have good dogs its half the battle alright

Ya walking has to be done but sure its great craic, I wouldn't know what I would do without the woodcock shooting:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

A lot of wc over our side have retreated deep into the plantations with this weather. Got a couple of very goods days over the xmas but that was down to a lot of walking and hunting. One thing i have noticed is that the bloody briars and furs are still so green and strong compared to last year very hard going on dogs..

sniper83 wrote: »
    One thing i have noticed is that the bloody briars and furs are still so green and strong compared to last year very hard going on dogs..

noticed that too its very hard on a dog to work through and on a lads legs ive been ripped apart going through parts ,hard frost is whats needed but we only seem to be getting heavy rain at the min.