Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Holidays - will ye have much of a break

• 15-12-2013 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭

Will have 2 weeks holidays from the day job, but have a lot of farming work to catch up on. Dosing, cleaning sheds, setting up the lambing area...but don't mind as it's something different, couldn't sit still for 2 weeks doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Yeah will have a nice bit to catch up on over the break. Have a week and half. The farm work will be ok, shouldn't have a huge amount of extra work may need to check the boundary ditch's alright. Not expecting the 1st lot of calving to start till mid January and have the pens ready as it is.

Main work for me over Christmas will be on the house. Putting on a bit out the side so need to get that finished for the new year. Have most it done but need to put in the insulation and get it slabbed. Also there a few of the rooms that need to be finished off up stairs so will be laying floors and painting too. We usually try to get away for a few days over Christmas but Herself isn't off much over the holidays so I'll have plenty to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Will have 2 weeks holidays from the day job, but have a lot of farming work to catch up on. Dosing, cleaning sheds, setting up the lambing area...but don't mind as it's something different, couldn't sit still for 2 weeks doing nothing.

The joys of a public servant????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Normal work stops here next Mon and we'll get back into it after the first. Just the absolute minimum for the 8 or 9 days. Milking, feeding and bedding. Try to keep it to under 4 hours per day. Plenty of matches on and there'll be someone calling or somewhere to go most days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

duty on christmas eve and off christmas day but on standby for St Stephens Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Better to have a break from the day job in the summer when stuff is going on.

Back into the latest project trying to wrap it up now during my few days off at Christmas (just the bare bank holidays), happy out spanner turning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Love to have a few jobs to do around Christmas, it's the worst time of year to be stuck indoors, that feckin awful TV schedule :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

nashmach wrote: »
    Better to have a break from the day job in the summer when stuff is going on.

Back into the latest project trying to wrap it up now during my few days off at Christmas (just the bare bank holidays), happy out spanner turning.
    Thats the style Nash, get stuck into it. Ive stalled abit on mine but will get going again shortly as ive gone as far as i can at this stage of development

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

stanflt wrote: »
    I wish!!!!. Plant shutdown, so have no choice. Still don't mind. As others said prefer summer but ce le vie. (del boy spelling I think)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Love to have a few jobs to do around Christmas, it's the worst time of year to be stuck indoors, that feckin awful TV schedule :eek:

its the best time of the year for beer though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

If I was spring milk, I'd be well gone abroad for christmas ha! The farm only ticks over alright for xmas, but I certainly don't, between running/cycling and motocross there is something on most of the week between xmas and new yr.

jersey101 wrote: »
    its the best time of the year for beer though,

Yeah, was never really into the beer myself mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

First year in five I haven't to work over Christmas and an hour and half does the farm jobs at the moment so looking forward to the break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Will do the minimum amount of work, small bit of milking, keep the cubicles clean, look after the animals - my PS4 is suppose to arrive tomorrow so I want to play that over the Christmas period.

I don't drink alcohol, gave it up as I prefer tea anyway...so nice food and nice tea and some gaming :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Whiskey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Flat to the mat here. Will hunt on Stephens and New Years, will get in a days racing if I can. One place needs a major overhaul of the fencing so will do with young lad off school to drive post driver

delaval wrote: »
    Whiskey?

I'm nearly as good as Robert above :o Thought I wouldn't mind having a go at making whiskey, in a jurisdiction where it is completely legal I mean :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Me neither, but beer has a knack of getting into me

delaval wrote: »
    Flat to the mat here. Will hunt on Stephens and New Years, will get in a days racing if I can. One place needs a major overhaul of the fencing so will do with young lad off school to drive post driver

i feckon hate driving posts with the father, i can never get them straight when he's with me. On my own im fine, but does take longer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

stanflt wrote: »

Here's one for ya: I often work on Christmas eve, and Stephens day. And I remember when all the fuss was goin on the 31st Dec 1999, I was working. I remember seeing fireworks in the distance around some of the towns.

Not so bad for a public servant, and get to do a bit of farming in between.

I've 23 days a year AL and I doubt if I take half of them. I should really cop myself on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭visatorro

Work load won't go down but I will just take a couple of days off and go away somewhere with herself. She's a civil servant and has loads of time off over Christmas!

Have a 21st on Saturday so thats the start of it for me. Will go out Stephens night and new yrs aswell and all the milking,bedding feeding in between. So ill be busy enough. Looking forward to the Christmas dinner though:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Just after booking a weeks holiday to lanzarote, leaving the 31st and back the 7th, ill leave a neighbour looking after the stock, i have them all out on a winterage anyway so tis easy mind them :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Been a bit more relaxed since cows dried 2 weeks ago and finally getting alot of the little jobs done around the house so herself is happier .digger coming in in the morning to start afew jobs so holidays might beover but we still do a bit of visiting and hosting over the couple of weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Home from uk for two weeks. Have a massive list of stuff to get done!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Spring calving here so more or less on holidays here!!.over Xmas will do just minimum,foddering,check. Stock,clean and bed cubicles.have made a start on profit monitor and will complete by mid jan.pricing around still for urea and 18 6 12.my winter holiday starts on 11 jan when I'm off skiing to Austria for the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

canaries for 1st week of jan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Spring calving here so more or less on holidays here!!.over Xmas will do just minimum,foddering,check. Stock,clean and bed cubicles.have made a start on profit monitor and will complete by mid jan.pricing around still for urea and 18 6 12.my winter holiday starts on 11 jan when I'm off skiing to Austria for the week

Where in Austria

dzer2 wrote: »
    Where in Austria

Soll but will ski mostly westendorf and kitzbuhell!.was on mayrhofen for last 2 years.cant beat a ski holiday!

Yeah love Kitzbuhel my self

Are you doing a diy or package

Where in Austria

Yeah love Kitzbuhel my self

Are you doing a diy or package

DIY through Munich

I do all my skiing at home, on one heel or my arse down mucky hill sides :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Working Xmas day and Stephens day then off for six days. Flying down to queenstown Stephens day then flying up to wellington for New Years. Will be a busy period, nobody to cook the Xmas dinner here for me so it will be lamb chops and steak on the BBQ with a few new spuds for the dinner, along with a few bottles of beer happy out. Xmas day will do bare minimum, three hours in the morning and an hour in the arvo will see me sorted.

Just booked a skiing trip in Morzine (France) 1st week of March. Few friends going then, I'm bloody lucky that I happened to have a 10day dip in the calving season then, only one heifer due to calf when I'm away.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Just booked a skiing trip in Morzine (France) 1st week of March. Few friends going then, I'm bloody lucky that I happened to have a 10day dip in the calving season then, only one heifer due to calf when I'm away.

First trip Tim???.great skiing in France but they ride u for all the money they can bleed from ya ,love Austria,short flight ,transfer and very reasonably priced food and beer and great après!!.shur ye liquid lads have money burning holes in yer pocket !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Stop talking about skiing, its the one thing I miss from my single days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Ill take a week or so off from the job , there is a hape of stuff to do around the farm but I doubt ill tackle much of it ! I hope to squeeze in plenty of beering

keep going wrote: »

Going on a skiing holiday is like going to a bull pen,I'd say any ski holiday I've been on its about 80% fellas 20% women..only holiday I've been on where everyone is there for a holiday to ski booze and eat and never as much as a hint of trouble.great to meet people from other country's ,in often left disgusted with myself after meeting Germans,French,Russians etc and they can all communicate with me through English ,I wouldn't know where to start if I had to talk to them through their native tounge.

First trip Tim???.great skiing in France but they ride u for all the money they can bleed from ya ,love Austria,short flight ,transfer and very reasonably priced food and beer and great après!!.shur ye liquid lads have money burning holes in yer pocket !!!!

Yep 1st time! So will spend more time on my arse than the skis, but hopefully the mtb/motocross and surfing will count for something. I might hit Kilternan in Dublin for a quick spin beforehand to try get me up to speed. Anyways doing a cheapo on it, friend of a friend has been to Morzine several times and they were looking for people to make up a group so I jumped on it, working out about 600quid, shy food/booze. I had planned on going to Austria myself in late Jan (before calving!), but jumped on this when it popped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭PanaDrama

finishing tomrw week then off til the 3rd, grand break.

keep going wrote: »

Going on a skiing holiday is like going to a bull pen,I'd say any ski holiday I've been on its about 80% fellas 20% women..only holiday I've been on where everyone is there for a holiday to ski booze and eat and never as much as a hint of trouble.great to meet people from other country's ,in often left disgusted with myself after meeting Germans,French,Russians etc and they can all communicate with me through English ,I wouldn't know where to start if I had to talk to them through their native tounge.

DIY through Munich

The only way to do it. We are not going this year but will return next year. Saying that we booked it xmass night last yr.

Enjoy it and take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

often left disgusted with myself after meeting Germans,French,Russians etc and they can all communicate with me through English ,I wouldn't know where to start if I had to talk to them through their native tounge.

I totally agree Mahoney_j. Never been skiing but I find the same when I go abroad. I did French to honours level in secondary school and would struggle to string a few sentences together and I would only have about ten words of Italian!! And that's it. Very embarrassing!!

Everyone young person on continent seems to have 3-4 languages and can talk fluent in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Going on a skiing holiday is like going to a bull pen,I'd say any ski holiday I've been on its about 80% fellas 20% women..only holiday I've been on where everyone is there for a holiday to ski booze and eat and never as much as a hint of trouble.great to meet people from other country's ,in often left disgusted with myself after meeting Germans,French,Russians etc and they can all communicate with me through English ,I wouldn't know where to start if I had to talk to them through their native tounge.[/QUOTE]

I wonder could they communicate with you if you were speaking the coupla focal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Going on a skiing holiday is like going to a bull pen,I'd say any ski holiday I've been on its about 80% fellas 20% women..only holiday I've been on where everyone is there for a holiday to ski booze and eat and never as much as a hint of trouble.great to meet people from other country's ,in often left disgusted with myself after meeting Germans,French,Russians etc and they can all communicate with me through English ,I wouldn't know where to start if I had to talk to them through their native tounge.[/QUOTE]

I wonder could they communicate with you if you were speaking the coupla focal.
    I bet half the irish people couldnt !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Our office closes from this Friday to the 6th but I'm working 4 days over that period.
    Same for herself, she's in the HSE and working 5 days over the festivities. We're staggering our work days so one of us is at home with the kids. Means I'll do feck all on the farm only basic feeding over the time, but that's ok. There's plenty other time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

moy83 wrote: »
    I bet half the irish people couldnt !

I know neither can I but because of the attempts to impose Irish on us ands it failure it leaves a lot of Irish people with a distain for languages and a dislike of trying to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

working xmas day and Stephen day off then for day and back in again Friday .On the run up to then its Canadian maize boat and then a coal boat and one fuel oil ,o well next year twill be better as young lad will know what Santa is about then.

jerdee wrote: »
    working xmas day and Stephen day off then for day and back in again Friday .On the run up to then its Canadian maize boat and then a coal boat and one fuel oil ,o well next year twill be better as young lad will know what Santa is about then.

You're some discount shopper, I know they say buy in bulk but by the boat load :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

somebody has to keep bob in feed................
    ps rain stopped play now.