Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners make bonus plea to Government

• 15-12-2013 10:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭

http://www.dublinpeople.com/article.php?id=3094&l=100

Really shows that some people haven't a clue.

We are still running a significant deficit, so these people think we should heap on further debt or taxes to the tune of EUR 260 million a year?

This is the reason I hate paying taxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

That's old news. The government said no way, so it won't be reintroduced, ever again. :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I don't get a Christmas bonus from work, don't see why anyone not working should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

zenno wrote: »
    That's old news. The government said no way, so it won't be reintroduced, ever again. :(

Only got around to reading it last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

zenno wrote: »
    Exactly right. No way it should be reinstated. Why should you get paid twice? I have worked full time since i left college & never received a bonus at Christmas. Same for many workers i imagine.

If anything, would this be deemed discrimination. Making a payment based on a "Religious" event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Exactly right. No way it should be reinstated. Why should you get paid twice? I have worked full time since i left college & never received a bonus st Christmas. Dame for many workers air imagine.

If anything, would this be deemed discrimination. Making a payment based on a "Religious" event?

It's a public holiday for everyone, regardless of religion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

yes, some people don't have a clue. do you know how much(little) the state pension is? you are barely able to survive on it. do you have older family members? why dont you go talk to them about it or have they disowed you? you troll.

261 million really? when they mention social welfare numbers, you need some salt. 1,388297 pensions based on the 261m, We have that many over 65? so the numbers don't add up knob jockey. now, gfys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,851 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Karma wrote: »
    yes, some people don't have a clue. do you know how much(little) the state pension is? you are barely able to survive on it. do you have older family members? why dont you go talk to them about it or have they disowed you? you troll.

261 million really? when they mention social welfare numbers, you need some salt. 1,388297 pensions based on the 261m, We have that many over 65? so the numbers don't add up knob jockey. now, gfys.

The payment was not limited to people over 65. Would you want it brought back for OAP's but not single mothers or the disabled?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

irish_goat wrote: »
    I don't get a Christmas bonus from work, don't see why anyone not working should.
    They're pensioners. Old people no longer working. Why do you want them to be poor and doing without? Is that some sort of badge of honour, making elderly people scrimp and do without? I'd prefer if they gave them their bonus and let them enjoy a bit extra at Christmass - they've their work done and kept the kip going during their working lives. It's someones elses turn now and paying people a reasonably good pension should be a thing done with pride, not begrudged. It's the likes of Harney walking away with a crazy blockbuster pension that bugs the hole off me.

Exactly right. No way it should be reinstated. Why should you get paid twice? I have worked full time since i left college & never received a bonus at Christmas. Same for many workers i imagine.

Who wouldn't want to get paid twice, bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Shout Dust wrote: »
    It's a public holiday for everyone, regardless of religion

Yes it is, but the premise of it is based on is a on a religious holiday if you strip out the commercialism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Karma,

The bonus was paid to everyone on SW, not just pensioners. It's hard to justify a double payment to pensioners so they can make charitable payments and buy presents (if you believe the article), but it would be impossible if you exclude those on the dole as well.

The grey vote has been bought down through the years and there is a very generous pension available. Of course that doesn't stop much wanting more.

Read the article. The figure came from the article, from the Department of Social Protection or what ever it is called these days.

Maybe these people should have made provision for their old age while they worked? That's what I'm doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Ted, are you working Christmas day? I imagine you are not and you are getting paid regardless. Have you complained about this?

I'd prefer if they gave them their bonus and let them enjoy a bit extra at Christmass

So you are happy to pay more income tax for this?

smcgiff wrote: »
    Karma,

The bonus was paid to everyone on SW, not just pensioners. It's hard to justify a double payment to pensioners so they can make charitable payments and buy presents (if you believe the article), but it would be impossible if you exclude those on the dole as well.

The grey vote has been bought down through the years and there is a very generous pension available. Of course that doesn't stop much wanting more.

Just a small correction and I hope my memory is not letting me down. Most people on the dole did not get it, it was only for those unemployed for more than 15 months. But it still cost about €260 million in the overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

All the quotes in that article are based on wants and not needs. As a f/t worker who cannot afford to be buying presents this year, it doesn't really pull a sympathetic string with me, thats life and it sucks sometimes

I laughed anyway. Pretty much calling a spade a spade there Karma. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

Of all the cuts since the crash I've always thought this was the most despicable. Can't fathom people who would begrudge a pensioner a little extra at xmas.

It was the end of the world when it was abolished, predictions of starving pensioners dying in the streets. The reaction to the call to have it reinsatated does not bode too well for those waiting for the property tax to be abolished as was confidently predicted on AH by a lot of people.

Yes, homophobic bullying is very funny, I think we can all agree. :rolleyes:

Hopefully Karma will repay the poster...

So you are happy to pay more income tax for this?
    I'm fecking laughing again there mate. I get taxed at 42%, all I ever do is pay fecking tax. Hopefully they'll give it to some auld wan so she can buy tinsel and a naggin of Port. I'd rather that than if they give it to Cowen so he can buy another steak dinner in the Shelbourne. I don't begrudge them a thing. My own Ma is on a pension and it's crap. Funnily enough, I've never been on the Dole, tbtg, I get the absolute bollix taxed out of what I earn, but I don't begrudge either pensioners or people on the Dole. If they are entitled to it, give it to them - as long as it's reasonable. If it's a tad generous, whatever. Some people absolutely milk it and take the mick, but there you go. I don't get the huge desire to see people eating out of bins? WTF is that all about?

btard wrote: »
    Off all the cuts since the crash I've always thought this was the most despicable. Can't fathom people who would begrudge a pensioner a little extra at xmas.

And those of us who work and pay income tax at the higher rate can't fathom why we should pay extra income tax to give someone else a 'bonus'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Off all the cuts since the crash I've always thought this was the most despicable. Can't fathom people who would begrudge a pensioner a little extra at xmas.

Why just pensioners?...what about people with young families...or those who have bills to pay but because they are under 25 the government decided they are not entitled to the full welfare entitlement?

They would be every bit as deserving and in a lot of cases more needing than of it than pensioners.

When did 261m become a little extra. It was this kind of, lets buy votes, thinking that screwed us up.

I'm fecking laughing again there mate. I get taxed at 42%, all I ever do is pay fecking tax. Hopefully they'll give it to some auld wan so she can buy tinsel and a naggin of Port. I'd rather that than if they give it to Cowen so he can buy another steak dinner in the Shelbourne. I don't begrudge them a thing. My own Ma is on a pension and it's crap.

So you think they'd take money from 'Cowen' to pay the pensioners this bonus? :rolleyes:

It would be on top of any existing tax you pay - that doesn't seemed to have dawned on you. :o

Good to see you are willing to pay more on tax, the rest of us aren't. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Yes it is, but the premise of it is based on is a on a religious holiday if you strip out the commercialism.

Turn that music down and do your homework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Half them probably give more than the equivelant of a weeks money to the church over the course of the year, I know mine did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Tbh be fair it should be paid. The pensioners that fill up the Winning Streak panel every single week always look starving.

I laughed when I saw the Moderator had received an infraction. I'd have expected him to know better. :P

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Tbh be fair it should be paid. The pensioners that fill up the Winning Streak panel every single week always look starving.

I know you are joking but anyone who can afford to buy / gamble on lottery tickets or scratch cards doesn't need a bonus...

I'm fecking laughing again there mate. I get taxed at 42%, all I ever do is pay fecking tax. Hopefully they'll give it to some auld wan so she can buy tinsel and a naggin of Port. I'd rather that than if they give it to Cowen so he can buy another steak dinner in the Shelbourne. I don't begrudge them a thing. My own Ma is on a pension and it's crap. Funnily enough, I've never been on the Dole, tbtg, I get the absolute bollix taxed out of what I earn, but I don't begrudge either pensioners or people on the Dole. If they are entitled to it, give it to them - as long as it's reasonable. If it's a tad generous, whatever. Some people absolutely milk it and take the mick, but there you go. I don't get the huge desire to see people eating out of bins? WTF is that all about?

Funny how people pass the royal pronouncement about stuff they don't want to contribute tax to, as if they're the only ones paying it.

I'm also taxed at higher rate and there's far worse things that my taxes subsidise than old age pensions.

Most people on the dole did not get it, it was only for those unemployed for more than 15 months.

That's even worse. Anyone on the dole for more than 15 consecutive months back in the boom days didn't want to work.

anncoates wrote: »
    Funny how people pass the royal pronouncement about stuff they don't want to contribute tax to, as if they're the only ones paying it.

I'm also taxed at higher rate and there's far worse things that my taxes subsidise than old age pensions.

Don't get us started on the public sector...

I laughed when I saw the Moderator had received an infraction. I'd have expected him to know better. :P
    Probably a rush of blood :D It was a bit blunt. GFYS mustn't stand for "Good felicitations young Sir" after all.

Don't think this kind of back seat gloating is allowed either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

So? You'd have a point if only Christians got the benefit of the holiday, but its a public holiday. The payment would be made to everyone, regardless of religion.

Half them probably give more than the equivelant of a weeks money to the church over the course of the year, I know mine did.
    Outrageous. The charitable feckers should be punished severly for that. How dare they spend their money on whatever they like.

Probably a rush of blood :D It was a bit blunt. GFYS mustn't stand for "Good felicitations young Sir" after all.

I don't think that was the offending comment.

anncoates wrote: »
    Don't think this kind of back seat gloating is allowed either.

Thanks you for pointing that out, I will take this feedback on board in future.

Having said that, there doesn't seem to be any issue with people thanking a mod post where the mod posts specifically on someone being infracted or banned, so there may be some ambiguity around this.

FF courted the pensioners big time. The "bonus" used only be 70% but they made it 100%. And pensioners were well looked after by Bertie and Charlie every week. But when it all went belly up the pensioners (rich ones) turned on FF. Funnily enough although the pension has been left unchanged since 2009 there has been little protest looking for an increase.

http://economic-incentives.blogspot.ie/2010/11/pension-rates.html

Prior to 2010 there was only one year since 1998 when the increase in the contributory old-age pension was less than the rate of inflation. This was in 2000 when the pension was increased by 5.1% while inflation was running at 5.6%. In each subsequent year to 2009 the increases in the pension outstripped inflation.

We can also see that the total amount paid by the State in contributory old-age pensions has increased from €413 million in 1997 to €3,340 million in 2009 – an increase of 709% which is driven by demographic changes as well as increases in the rates.

Ah just bring the bloody christmas bonus back, sure the IMF are gone now, I like bubbles, bring the bubble back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

And those of us who work and pay income tax at the higher rate can't fathom why we should pay extra income tax to give someone else a 'bonus'.

I consider myself very lucky to be working and paying the higher rate of income tax too. I don't get any bonus at xmas myself, but I wouldn't begrudge some of my taxes helping out pensioners or even the long term unemployed at this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Outrageous. The charitable feckers should be punished severly for that. How dare they spend their money on whatever they like.
    I think the point being made is that anyone putting that much on discretionary spending probably doesn't really need a leg up.

I consider myself very lucky to be working and paying the higher rate of income tax too. I don't get any bonus at xmas myself, but I wouldn't begrudge some of my taxes helping out pensioners or even the long term unemployed at this time of year.

Do you understand that it would mean you paying MORE tax?

So the higher rate would go up? The money won't come from anywhere else, there isn't a pot of unspent tax that needs to be directed somewhere.

Do you understand that it would mean you paying MORE tax?

So the higher rate would go up? The money won't come from anywhere else, there isn't a pot of unspent tax that needs to be directed somewhere.
    We'll agree to differ on that one. Mis-spent might be a better word than unspent.

So tell me how you will raise this 260 million? Without burning any bond holders or breaking any legally binding contracts with regard to pensions or salaries.

I have no doubt the money is there to be saved, I agree there are plenty of inefficiencies in the public sector and running of the government, but any savings should either lead t tax cuts that benefit all taxpayers, or to reducing the annual deficit.

How much did we give to overseas aid again? Just remind me, I forget. Charity begins at home, but to be fair, calling a pension bonus "charity" is an insult to Pensioners - they did the slog, now it's someones elses problem to ensure they're well taken care of. Like I said, it should be a matter of national pride. Who would want to be known for how tough you are on the elderly and unfortunate? Is that some sort of badge of pride? It's not one I'd fancy wearing tbh.

They can spend it on whatever they like but if they give it away they can **** off coming back and asking for more.

If they are in such need of a christmas bonus to survive then they arein a catagory of needing charity themselves so shouldnt be giving their money away.

What would your boss say if you went in asking him to replace the weeks wages ypu just gave to the wino down the road?

How much did we give to overseas aid again? Just remind me, I forget..

Thats another thread again. Its something thats should definately be cut or stopped when we are borrowing to send it.

How much did we give to overseas aid again? Just remind me, I forget. Charity begins at home, but to be fair, calling a pension bonus "charity" is an insult to Pensioners - they did the slog, now it's someones elses problem to ensure they're well taken care of. Like I said, it should be a matter of national pride. Who would want to be known for how tough you are on the elderly and unfortunate? Is that some sort of badge of pride? It's not one I'd fancy wearing tbh.

Why only give them the bonus once a year? These people worked through the economic war, they built up this country to where it is now. Why should they only have this benefit once a year? How scummy is that.

Shame on you NuckingFacker. You must have no loved ones that rely on a pension.

Only once a year? Bah humbug, you scrooge.