Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crossing farmland on foot

• 14-12-2013 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭

Sorry folks - non farmer here just wondering what is the story about crossing through fields, is it allowed or not, or is it down to individual land owners if they allow it?

As a farmer do you feel that people should be allowed on your land without permission 7 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

stoneill wrote: »
    Sorry folks - non farmer here just wondering what is the story about crossing through fields, is it allowed or not, or is it down to individual land owners if they allow it?

No law against it per say but we certainly do not appreciate It here... Even just from a disease point of view... Where have you been??? The farm could be locked up with TB and would not like to spread it to neighbours.

Best thing to do is to politely enquire with the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭vinnie13

its down to the farmer really i always find its best to find out who owns the land and ask them if they mind,most are happy enough once they know the odd one will refusee because of insurnce etc..
    if you were caught on a farmers land he could try get you for tresspassing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Wouldn't appreciate uninvited people on my land to be honest and upfront about it.

We have issues in this area with some sections of society laying claim to farm land for leisure purposes, which has created an unfortunate atmosphere in some places, unfortunately.

Aside from that, yep, there's a biosecurity risk. God knows what's possible to be spread from farm to farm.

There is the possibility of someone using a "lost" or "out walking" excuse for casing a farm for animal, machinery or fuel theft.

Not to mention the inevitable happenings when rover is brought along, and the timeless "Our dog wouldn't do that".

Sorry to sound unwelcoming, but there are lots of headaches and practically no plusses for the farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭lynchieboy

If there is a bio hazard or disease hazard then what about farm machinery on public roads? the amount of mud left on country roads is a bigger risk than some guy walking across a field not to mention a hazard to drivers, my car has been coated in mud several times so who do I complain to? If there is a bio hazard then all farm machinery should be confined to the farm to protect the general public!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

what if the farm isnt in one block hows farm machinery to stay on the farm without crossing roads and could you not try avoid the muck on the road instead of driving in it to prevent your car being coated in it

Better living everyone

what if the farm isnt in one block hows farm machinery to stay on the farm without crossing roads and could you not try avoid the muck on the road instead of driving in it to prevent your car being coated in it
    I have no idea but if there is a bio hazard then why should I be exposed to it on public roads? If cows or sheep must be protected then surely the same must apply to the general public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Rule of thumb ask nicely at the farmhouse, nine times out of ten u will be told to work away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭vinnie13

lynchieboy wrote: »
    If there is a bio hazard or disease hazard then what about farm machinery on public roads? the amount of mud left on country roads is a bigger risk than some guy walking across a field not to mention a hazard to drivers, my car has been coated in mud several times so who do I complain to? If there is a bio hazard then all farm machinery should be confined to the farm to protect the general public!!!

if there was a bio hazzard on a farm the farmer would be taking precautions to avoid spreding but if someone walked across land and did not know of a hazzard it could cause problems.
    straying a bit off topic here anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

If cows or sheep must be protected then surely the same must apply to the general public?

Most humans can wash their hands, their boots or their cars to get the muck off them. Cows and sheep have not evolved to wash and disinfect themselves yet. The problem is that a lot of humans have not evolved enough yet either to wash and disinfect their boots before visiting and after leaving someone else's farm - hence the biosecurity risk.

If you have a problem with muck on a road call the Gardai to inform them of the danger and call the county coouncil to report the offender.

Farmers are responsible for any much that they put on the road and could be sued if it led to an accident or loss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Coated in mud? Really? Mud isn't the problem either. Dog muck can cause pregnant cows to abort.

Just google Sarcocystosis & Neosporosis. Thats from your little doggie alone. Mud isn't the problem, and you're not eating it either I hope...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

I agree with some of the other posters - nine times out of ten if you ask nicely they will let you cross. However if you have a dog or children with you then that maybe a cause for concern. Also depends on the type of farming activity, sucklers, bulls etc
    I don't really agree with the bio-security issue as we cannot control the movement of foxes, badgers, hare's etc, unless you are locked up or there is a national disease issue.
    We give permissions for lads to shoot and on an out farm people regularly cross some of our land to gain access to a lake to fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

To answer your question, there is no legal entitlement to enter land, it is up to the land owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

If there was no cattle in the fields, I wouldnt have a problem with people crossing it, provided they didnt damage gates or fences. Different story if cattle in field. I've seen cows go crazy when they see dogs or young children in the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Well I know for ourselves and our neighbors that walkers are not welcome. Nor are hunters be they club or not, on foot or not.

Would take poorly to people just wandering in off the road and round the place...

If you want to walk find a coilte wood or forest park, there are plenty of them without crossing onto private property...

Think about it... if you came home from work and a few strangers probably with dogs were hanging round your back garden and maybe their dogs shiitting round the place and chasing your cats... how would you feel about it ??

bbam wrote: »
    Well I know for ourselves and our neighbors that walkers are not welcome. Nor are hunters be they club or not, on foot or not.

Would take poorly to people just wandering in off the road and round the place...

If you want to walk find a coilte wood or forest park, there are plenty of them without crossing onto private property...

Think about it... if you came home from work and a few strangers probably with dogs were hanging round your back garden and maybe their dogs shiitting round the place and chasing your cats... how would you feel about it ??

yes but if was like our farm and there were one or two ancient monuments of interest to people would you mind if people came and asked,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Bio security issue are real for farmer. An infected dogs dropping their poo causes occyst to pass out and infect food and water. It is highly transimissible and can cause abortion in cattle. Dogs are the most definitive hosts. Also there is no horizantial cow to cow transmission.
    Many farmers pay particular attention to bio security as it infulences profit and loss .It is nice to tell a potential purchaser about your high herd status wheather from Ireland ,UK, Europe. This has potential to add value . I definitely oppose the idea of people crossing lands. Most are unware biosecurity and when explained they completely understand. This is my experience.

yes but if was like our farm and there were one or two ancient monuments of interest to people would you mind if people came and asked,

No access allowed..
    Land in this country is private and access is at the discression of the landowner.. We have access to great hunting ground and will not allow shooting, as a result biodiversity is strong.. I can go out any day and see kestrels, foxes, rabbits, lots of phesent and god knows what else I don't notice...

If they want to see monuments go to an OPW site where they won't be contaminating farmland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Can you run faster than a bull? If yes, you'll probably get done for trespassing. If no, then you'll be up sh|t creek without a paddle!

No access allowed..
    Land in this country is private and access is at the discression of the landowner.. We have access to great hunting ground and will not allow shooting, as a result biodiversity is strong.. I can go out any day and see kestrels, foxes, rabbits, lots of phesent and god knows what else I don't notice...

If they want to see monuments go to an OPW site where they won't be contaminating farmland.

there has to be a happy medium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

As I said in another thread, I don't like going onto neighbour's land without a reason to, because I don't believe I have a right to be there unless looking for a missing animal, fencing a boundary or if it has been tradition to take a short cut on foot to another field one owns - so it is not unusual.
    I have neighbours who sometimes takes walks on my land with their dogs but they don't do any harm so don't mind them.

If in some other area of the country where I don't know the people, definitely would not go onto land uninvited, one would need permission as it is private property.

There is, ask, and respect the landowners wishes.

must expand on this, we cannot get to the stage that has happened in the UK where it is normal to walk on a bridal way with a Jack Russel off the lead with a flock of sheep is seen as OK (big bust up with an x over that , also I hated that dog) but if people treat you nice then you should reciprocate

Remember townies are the majority, and have a problem comprehending where milk comes from

There is, ask, and respect the landowners wishes.

Which is what I said in post 8

Remember townies are the majority

So?

So?

so they have a majority vote, and we have moved on from most tonies being first generation off the bog, so the Daily fail/Indo can now move the mob

look at Clarissa Dickson Wright and her BBC show

so they have a majority vote, and we have moved on from most tonies being first generation off the bog, so the Daily fail/Indo can now move the mob

look at Clarissa Dickson Wright and her BBC show

The UK is an extremely different situation to Ireland. They have what 50-60 million people there on an island not an awful lot bigger than Ireland, so the ratio of farmer to non farmer is completely different.

First ports of call for any Irish farmer worried about property rights, or any issue in relation to their property should be their TD's (all of those thought to be friendly to the cause at least, whether ye voted for them or not), and also a farming organisation of your choice.

No more than an other thread, apathy is one of the biggest enemies of the Irish farmer.

There is.
    When I get a list of private gardens I can wander round and let my dog dig them up and chase the cats as pet rabbits, then I'll consider further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Anybody who sets foot in our land is cleared in a very prompt manner, bar a few local lads we let go fishing

Farmers are fools if they let the public get this idea that it is ok to wander around land as they choose

There is.
    When I get a list of private gardens I can wander round and let my dog dig them up and chase the cats as pet rabbits, then I'll consider further.

if people treat your land like that then you be right, but if I walked up and asked permission just to see something, and you had no cattle worries would you object

Am coming from a background of a 13 year old telling a local shop keeper if didn't get off our land now he would never keep a window in his shop

the mob

In particular relation to the mob, it's my thinking the mob couldn't give a flying monkey.

It is the same squeaky wheels like keep ireland open.

Which is why farmers need to be proactive, not reactive. But again, apathy.

In particular relation to the mob, it's my thinking the mob couldn't give a flying monkey.

It's worrying the apathy that some are showing towards it

the mob can be moved that is why ye are running around with slurry seasons and why the gentleman can't spray and burn the five acres, that everyone is telling to graze with sheep

But you are right, farmers need to be proactive

AFAIK the gentleman can spray the five acres, though this time of year it won't be growing well so would probably be a waste. We are outside of the bird nesting season, I am not aware of what would be stopping him do a controlled burn. I'm not in slurry country so it's not a concern of mine. We've had a ****load of dry weather during and since the Summer, not exactly educated on the stuff but I don't see why it would be a problem in the last six months of 2013.

Am out of the game with a long time,but if it was land I knew then I would have drained during the summer , burn , rotavated and seeded

Aiming at a first crop of hay

Am out of the game with a long time,but if it was land I knew then I would have drained during the summer , burn , rotavated and seeded

Aiming at a first crop of hay

The only issue I'd see there would be to burn before the start of the nesting season in that case. Then proceed on as planned.

Why are everyone then telling him to graze it with sheep/horses if that is the case

Perhaps you should ask on that thread :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Come onto my patch uninvited and you'll see proactive..:D

Perhaps you should ask on that thread :confused:

will do tomorrow, thought that burning was completely verboten

Controlled burning, outside of the nesting season is OK, AFAIK.

Whilst throwing a match into a bush then fecking off to the pub isn't OK.

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Come onto my patch uninvited and you'll see proactive..:D
    As de fella said can your dog put out your burning car?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

Normally it would be ok if permission was asked but on the hill is where I would have a problem as people think they have a right to roam where they want without asking who owner the land.
    If they enter through coillte they think they can go past the woods and beyond.
    Sometimes they are as bad as that hunt crowd .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

feartuath wrote: »
    If they enter through coillte they think they can go past the woods and beyond.
    Sometimes they are as bad as that hunt crowd .

Can you specify? People Shooting / fishing? Guys hunting with dogs? or people on horseback?

In my experience the ones who are most likley to ask is the local hunt with hounds. Most of them around here are locals and they always ask for access. Some of the shooters are grand too - asking permission etc.

Personally I don't want this country ever to have a blanket "off my land" attitude that brings us back to the days of high walls and estate middlemen. we thankfully got rid of that (under the land acts as far as I remember) as long as people ask / are responsible. There is a path to (to site of old church) that has been used since time immemorial. I carry on that tradition and have absolutely no problem with this.
    Land is very different from house and a garden and in my experience people are aware of this.

gozunda wrote: »
    Land is very different from house and a garden and in my experience people are aware of this.

How is it different?? Both land and houses have deeds and both are private property

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Panch18 wrote: »
    How is it different?? Both land and houses have deeds and both are private property

Ok land around house is known as curtilage. there are other better definitions but at this time of night I went straight to Wikipedia

"in law, the curtilage of a house or dwelling is the land immediately surrounding it, including any closely associated buildings and structures, but excluding any associated "open fields beyond".

It delineates the boundary within which a home owner can have a reasonable expectation of privacy and where "intimate home activities" take place. It is an important legal concept in certain jurisdictions for the understanding of search and seizure, conveyancing of real property, burglary, trespass, and land use planning."

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curtilage

I have never known any one to ask access for my garden - people in my experience have more cop than do that.

Ok land around house is known as curtilage. there are other better definitions but at this time of night I went straight to Wikipedia

"in law, the curtilage of a house or dwelling is the land immediately surrounding it, including any closely associated buildings and structures, but excluding any associated "open fields beyond".

It delineates the boundary within which a home owner can have a reasonable expectation of privacy and where "intimate home activities" take place. It is an important legal concept in certain jurisdictions for the understanding of search and seizure, conveyancing of real property, burglary, trespass, and land use planning."

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curtilage

I have never known any one to ask access for my garden - people in my experience have more cop than do that.

Ever hear of trespass???

"Trespass to land involves the "wrongful interference with one's possessory rights in [real] property."[12] It is not necessary to prove that harm was suffered to bring a claim, and is instead actionable per se. "

So if your back garden was the route of an ancient pathway to a church for example you would be happy to let people wander through your garden as they please??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I don't mind if the person asked but hate to come across people who just do it without looking for permission. I found the remains of a picnic in a part of our winterage a few miles up the road from the house during the summer. It would make your blood boil. We have a few cows that would be touchy (as has everyone I would imagine) after calving and if a stranger was to happen upon them they would be in trouble. Have a few marked monuments including 2 ringforts which doesn't help our case much either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Can you specify? People Shooting / fishing? Guys hunting with dogs? or people on horseback?

In my experience the ones who are most likley to ask is the local hunt with hounds. Most of them around here are locals and they always ask for access. Some of the shooters are grand too - asking permission etc.

Personally I don't want this country ever to have a blanket "off my land" attitude that brings us back to the days of high walls and estate middlemen. we thankfully got rid of that (under the land acts as far as I remember) as long as people ask / are responsible. There is a path to (to site of old church) that has been used since time immemorial. I carry on that tradition and have absolutely no problem with this.

People shooting - yep, have had them, have they sked permission - no. Was the local shooting club told they weren't welcome, yes, they were. Did some members still come and shoot - yes :mad:

Guys with dogs - yep, have he them too.

Local hunt - yep, often. Ever ask for permission, no. Have I had run ins with them, yes I have.

Blanket "off my land" approach - yeah, I must say I would like this approach.

Can I ask Gozunda - do you have sheep? As am sure yiu can imagine, letting random people with dogs onto your place, if you do have sheep can change your perspective.

EDIT : I was once told by people who were knowingly trespassing and cutting timber off our place, that they adopted the approach of it was better to ask for forgiveness, thn to ask for permission. :(:(