Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

heifer weights??

• 13-12-2013 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

Dosed, liced and clipped all the tails on the spring born heifers this afternoon. I put the weight tape on 10 of them.
    FR averaged at 260kg
    JEX averaged 240kg
    JE 230-240kg

Are they in target?
    The 30 of them are eating half a bale a day along with 3kgs 16% ration.
    I'd like to try get them out early feb on reseeded ground that hasn't been grazed yet.

How are yours going??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Ours would be behind that. They're eating 16-17kg of 33% dm arable plus 1kg of a 14% ration plus lime and minerals. I'm happy with how they're going now but they had a 6-8 week store period from August to early October. They've grown well since but there'll be no letup on meal before turnout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Ours would be behind that. They're eating 16-17kg of 33% dm arable plus 1kg of a 14% ration plus lime and minerals. I'm happy with how they're going now but they had a 6-8 week store period from August to early October. They've grown well since but there'll be no letup on meal before turnout.

mine have warts all over there faces and there bleeding now from scratching them off the wall. Horrible looking yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Great idea for a thread. Will have mine in the crush next week for dosing/vaccinations, will weight then. I'd be more concerned about warts on their spins than their face 2bh!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Great idea for a thread. Will have mine in the crush next week for dosing/vaccinations, will weight then. I'd be more concerned about warts on their spins than their face 2bh!

what vaccinations you doing. I have ibr to do mid jan

Just starting IBR now, lepto and blackleg also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Can I just mention that the weight tape isn't worth a bollix. Used it for years until we go the scales. Tested it and the tape was 70kgs out with one animal and 10 on another. Applied the same way on both animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

munkus wrote: »
    Can I just mention that the weight tape isn't worth a bollix. Used it for years until we go the scales. Tested it and the tape was 70kgs out with one animal and 10 on another. Applied the same way on both animals.
    If gives a very rough idea though :) What breed weight were the animals you weighed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

jersey101 wrote: »
    Dosed, liced and clipped all the tails on the spring born heifers this afternoon. I put the weight tape on 10 of them.
    FR averaged at 260kg
    JEX averaged 240kg
    JE 230-240kg

Are they in target?
    The 30 of them are eating half a bale a day along with 3kgs 16% ration.
    I'd like to try get them out early feb on reseeded ground that hasn't been grazed yet.

How are yours going??

Those weights seem alright to me.
    What is your required daily gain to bulling date?

There was a weighing here at end of Oct here and most are on target
    Bottom few only weighed 150kg and getting supplemented

Curious to know what your target bulling weight is for the JEX and JE. We are thinking 320kg based on adult weight of 520kg

49801 wrote: »
    Those weights seem alright to me.
    What is your required daily gain to bulling date?

There was a weighing here at end of Oct here and most are on target
    Bottom few only weighed 150kg and getting supplemented

Curious to know what your target bulling weight is for the JEX and JE. We are thinking 320kg based on adult weight of 520kg

bulling weight is 350? For fr? Well its 136 days till end of april so if they gain .5 till mid feb so say they put on another 30kgs till then i need to get 70-80kgs gain in 100 days at grass.
    Do able?
    ATM the je is 20kgs behind so if they stay at that id be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

bulling weight is 350? For fr? Well its 136 days till end of april so if they gain .5 till mid feb so say they put on another 30kgs till then i need to get 70-80kgs gain in 100 days at grass.
    Do able?
    ATM the je is 20kgs behind so if they stay at that id be happy

I've still a lot to learn about this game but it sounds do able so long as no set backs. Think I'd be happier if they were doing 0.6 in the shed. What if spring is late for example?

49801 wrote: »
    I've still a lot to learn about this game but it sounds do able so long as no set backs. Think I'd be happier if they were doing 0.6 in the shed. What if spring is late for example?

ive 35 acres of a reseed to graze so they will have that to chomp first. Good bit if grass on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

they should be 50% of their mature bodyweight at 12 mths(1st feb). ie 280kgs fr -hol, and 250 jex. also the scales is way more accurate than the tape and I have used both. the 70 days on new grass will be rocket fuel for them. so yours are well on target

PMU wrote: »
    they should be 50% of their mature bodyweight at 12 mths(1st feb). ie 280kgs fr -hol, and 250 jex. also the scales is way more accurate than the tape and I have used both. the 70 days on new grass will be rocket fuel for them. so yours are well on target

maybe its not accurate im not sure but they look goid and gealthy and look as good as they would other years. I might get a scales out in the spring and see. The neighbor has a portable one with manual scales on it. Looks a good job

Sam Kade wrote: »
    If gives a very rough idea though :) What breed weight were the animals you weighed?
    Limo and AAX. The angus x fr have a deep chest which doesn't read right with the tape. They were always 100kg over what that should have been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

That tape weight measure sounds about as good an idea as a post I say recently about using wellies/tape measure to measure grass

A waste of time

Panch18 wrote: »
    That tape weight measure sounds about as good an idea as a post I say recently about using wellies/tape measure to measure grass

A waste of time

it gives you a rough idea. I knew the heifers were over 230kgs but knew they werent 280kgs, maybe the tape is wrong, but never had any trouble with getting heifers the right weight here. On using the wellie to measure grass, its used as a guide to train your eye so do you dont have to go off and buy a plate meter or be cutting every paddock

Both of these measurement techniques take absolutely no account of the quality of the animal, the thickness of the grass sward etc etc. using the wellie could mean that a field of high stemmy grass would measure more than a field of leaf that you can't see a bit of clay

My opinion is if your are going to measure something you might as well measure it right

Both of these measurement techniques take absolutely no account of the quality of the animal, the thickness of the grass sward etc etc. using the wellie could mean that a field of high stemmy grass would measure more than a field of leaf that you can't see a bit of clay

My opinion is if your are going to measure something you might as well measure it right

how would you measure grass then? Anything with stem here is over 2000 and i wouldn't graze it. Mower in straight away

Hmm does the actual weight of the heifer even matter? All you are doing is using the chest measurement as a gauge as to how big she is getting, and how each animal is doing relative to others. For a decent group of animal, the inaccuracy will average out as well, so the average weight using the tape should be very similar to the true average weight. Still well worth comparing results back to back 1st time you use a tape, are you pulling the tape too tight, or not tight enough.

Largely the same with grass measuring also, you might be a fair bit out on one or two paddocks, but the AFC will be very similar using either eyeballing/welly measuring against cutting a square from each paddock. And then, at the end of the day it all boils down to the farmer to make the final call, are the heifers going to be big enough calving down, or is say he going to run out of grass in one week, or have too much, the two above things are very very simple tools to aid decision making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

PMU wrote: »

when you say mature do you mean when calved down at 2yo or when the fill out later on because if its the later of the two 560kg would be a bit on the light side do ya not think

Hmm does the actual weight of the heifer even matter? All you are doing is using the chest measurement as a gauge as to how big she is getting, and how each animal is doing relative to others. For a decent group of animal, the inaccuracy will average out as well, so the average weight using the tape should be very similar to the true average weight. Still well worth comparing results back to back 1st time you use a tape, are you pulling the tape too tight, or not tight enough.

Largely the same with grass measuring also, you might be a fair bit out on one or two paddocks, but the AFC will be very similar using either eyeballing/welly measuring against cutting a square from each paddock. And then, at the end of the day it all boils down to the farmer to make the final call, are the heifers going to be big enough calving down, or is say he going to run out of grass in one week, or have too much, the two above things are very very simple tools to aid decision making.

They aren't tools though as they are in no way accurate, they offer nothing more than your 2 eyes do

So in my opinion you either use your eyes or you measure accurately

The problem with using an inaccurate tool is your eyes will never learn to measure properly as it has no accurate basis to measure against. These so called tools are in fact a hinderence in the learning process

They aren't tools though as they are in no way accurate, they offer nothing more than your 2 eyes do

So in my opinion you either use your eyes or you measure accurately

The problem with using an inaccurate tool is your eyes will never learn to measure properly as it has no accurate basis to measure against. These so called tools are in fact a hinderence in the learning process

whats the best way to measure grass then??

Nay in fairness I agree that they don't offer anything more than your eyes, however it takes time and lots of experience to properly calibrate your eyes, and your eyes/mind can suffer from measurement drift, if your optimistic going out doing a farm cover, or guessing a heifers weight, you could well be adding on a fair bit to the measurement, whereas with the welly marks/weight tape, you have a reading in black and white.

I also agree that for both your eyes, and the weight tape/welly, you do need a base point, our discussion group regularly do grass walks, and measure the odd paddock with a square and weight it, as we are walking the paddocks we'd discuss what sort of covers are on it, and take into account say poor quality swards which have alot of dead material etc.

The two above tools are only a hinderence if you base all your judgement directly on them, this is why I called them a tool to aid decision making, you'll still use yourown experience and knowledge.

whats the best way to measure grass then??

Well if you need to measure then out with the shears and scales

half the day gone so. I eyeball here and reckon its accurate enough. Cut and weighed once takes too long

Well eyeballing is fine, I was just saying to cut and weigh if you wanted to learn to eyeball as you are starting from an accurate measurement - so you will quickly learn to eyeball accurately. With the wellie you never have an accurate measurement - so you will never get good at eyeballing

only my opinion of course

half the day gone so.

bloody 1/2 the day gone pricking around on the laptop with boards ha, I'm off doing abit surfing for the afternoon!

Well eyeballing is fine, I was just saying to cut and weigh if you wanted to learn to eyeball as you are starting from an accurate measurement - so you will quickly learn to eyeball accurately. With the wellie you never have an accurate measurement - so you will never get good at eyeballing

only my opinion of course

ye i get what your saying now. The idea of the wellie is to keep your eye trained so you have something to mark off

Hmm does the actual weight of the heifer even matter?

It does when you're dosing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

loveta wrote: »
    when you say mature do you mean when calved down at 2yo or when the fill out later on because if its the later of the two 560kg would be a bit on the light side do ya not think
    must be the calved down weight,most of my friesians are over 600kgs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We had all thee weanling heifers through the race in the last day or two. All dosed and weighed. They are all out on grass and will be for the winter. If things get too tight we will house the biggest that are ahead of target.

They is three groups with the biggest ones getting 1 kg of beef nut, the next group are getting 3kg of 20% protein and the smaller ones gettin 3 kgs also but in a much smaller group

Group 1 averaged 265 kgs ranged from 250-280
    Group 2 averaged 247 kgs ranged from 240-250
    Group 3 averaged 230 kgs ranged from 215-238 these won't all make the bull

All weighed on a scales in the race

With 140 days 'till AI

Gr 1 need to do .42kg/day

Gr 2 need to do .50kg/day

Gr 3 need to do .71kg/day

Do ye think it's possible to de .7/day? I know the others can be done no bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

delaval wrote: »
    We had all thee weanling heifers through the race in the last day or two. All dosed and weighed. They are all out on grass and will be for the winter. If things get too tight we will house the biggest that are ahead of target.

They is three groups with the biggest ones getting 1 kg of beef nut, the next group are getting 3kg of 20% protein and the smaller ones gettin 3 kgs also but in a much smaller group

With 140 days 'till AI

avg ages of grp 3 ?
    housing options for intensive feeding or
    sale options

do i remember you saying u had something in the pipeline so needed all your heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

With 140 days 'till AI

Group 3 will make it I'd say house them on wraps if you still have them or your best first cut silage and 3 to 4 kg a day of a 18 or 20% protein meal.turn out to grass in mid feb and feed same at 2 kg and they won't be too far off come next may

avg ages of grp 3 ?
    housing options for intensive feeding or
    sale options

do i remember you saying u had something in the pipeline so needed all your heifers
    Age, born April-May
    Housing is available but so will grass in Feb. I'd keep in a seperate group till mating.
    Selling is an option as I really dont think they will make the bull in May and any later is too late for us but June, early July may not be too late for someone else

A really good do and sell is probab ly the thing to do. The biggest group of empty cows we had this year was the late born heifers that were bulled in May and calved in Feb and March

I need all the heifers I can get but could do without these, I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

Age, born April-May
    Housing is available but so will grass in Feb. I'd keep in a seperate group till mating.
    Selling is an option as I really dont think they will make the bull in May and any later is too late for us but June, early July may not be too late for someone else

A really good do and sell is probab ly the thing to do. The biggest group of empty cows we had this year was the late born heifers that were bulled in May and calved in Feb and March

I need all the heifers I can get but could do without these, I suppose

straight comment here... how come you have apr/may heifers with all your efforts with early calving compactly etc....

i`ll presume so that they are a bunch that are small in numbers so theyre a nuisance rather than vital to you .. rear welltill grass and sell april

btw what did u plan on doing with em you did put fr on your later calving cows after all....

straight comment here... how come you have apr/may heifers with all your efforts with early calving compactly etc....

i`ll presume so that they are a bunch that are small in numbers so theyre a nuisance rather than vital to you .. rear welltill grass and sell april

btw what did u plan on doing with em you did put fr on your later calving cows after all....

We use dairy on all cows. These few are by a stock bull, devaluing them further???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

We use dairy on all cows. These few are by a stock bull, devaluing them further???

That only makes teat squeezers point more valid. Those girls will make you most money in April 2013 than any other time. Those stock bulls you used wouldn't be the choicest animals IIRC. A working p***k was your main selection criteria I think:eek:.

He's spot on, confirms my thoughts

2014 ;) Are you saying maiden dairy heifers will make crazy money this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Sam Kade wrote: »
    2014 ;) Are you saying maiden dairy heifers will make crazy money this year?

Almost certainly. I have been offered €800 unsolicited for weanlings.

I've asked this question before, what are all these new entrants going to do with the milk from when the heifers calf in feb till April 1st in 2015?

feed it to calves dump surplus then store as much as possible at the end of March. Nothing different to being in a super levy situation.