Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people start taking heroin?

• 13-12-2013 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Just looking on from the other thread about sterilizing junkies, the most obvious question entered my head: why do people start taking the stuff in the first place. I can almost understand and sympathize with people who found themselves hooked in the 80's or even the early 90's when it first started hitting the streets - people may have been ignorant of its affects.

But surely ignorance is not an excuse now - young people can actually see what happens to people who take gear. They may have aunties or uncles or brothers or sisters hooked on the stuff, they can even take the Luas in Dublin and see what the craic is. Do the zombies infesting our cities look like they're having a particularly good time in their existance? Is it possible that young, non-using people could look at these junkies shuffling around half dead and think to themselves "that sounds like fun, I think I'll go get some heroin..."?

How do people justify starting it to themselves right now?

Its just a bit of craic......
    I'll get my coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Just looking on from the other thread about sterilizing junkies, the most obvious question entered my head: why do people start taking the stuff in the first place. I can almost understand and sympathize with people who found themselves hooked in the 80's or even the early 90's when it first started hitting the streets - people may have been ignorant of its affects.

But surely ignorance is not an excuse now - young people can actually see what happens to people who take gear. They may have aunties or uncles or brothers or sisters hooked on the stuff, they can even take the Luas in Dublin and see what the craic is. Do the zombies infesting our cities look like they're having a particularly good time in their existance? Is it possible that young, non-using people could look at these junkies shuffling around half dead and think to themselves "that sounds like fun, I think I'll go get some heroin..."?

How do people justify starting it to themselves right now?

Personally I think people start off on a less harmful drug like hash, then they might take a E on a night out before you know it is coke and when that is no longer enough a bit of brown wont let em down

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

To get high. Seeking a sense of euphoria in an otherwise unbearable existence. I'd imagine.
    campo wrote: »
    Personally I think people start off on a less harmful drug like hash, then they might take a E on a night out before you know it is coke and when that is no longer enough a bit of brown wont let em down

As far as I can tell, people who smoke hash, for the most part tend to be happy to stick with smoking hash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Other gateway drugs? I know a friend of mine started because their dealer pushed it on them, said its way better than the other stuff you get. Sounds so stupid but if you love getting high on something, and know this will feel 100 times better, some people are going to say yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Curiosity and for the ultimate high. I know that's why I personally tried it many years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Many start taking it at a young age. As young as 12-16 so they may not be aware of the effects of it and as it is a very addictive substance it spirals to a serious addiction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

I don't think too many are taking it for a fun time.
    More likely to block out some bad time(s).

Once you make that mistake, the rest is history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭certifiedcrepe

Probably for the same reason a lot try smoking; to see what it's like and to fit in.

(Not saying that everyone started smoking this way btw)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

I started because I was told it was a good way to lose weight. They were right, I've told others about this, people going to the gym and all but they never stop to listen.

To get high. Seeking a sense of euphoria in an otherwise unbearable existence. I'd imagine.

As far as I can tell, people who smoke hash, for the most part tend to be happy to stick with smoking hash.

Well there is your Pot heads who just love smoking and don't use anything else but then there is your drugies who hash just does not do enough for them but they probably would have started off on hash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Probably because its extremely good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Is it possible that young, non-using people could look at these junkies shuffling around half dead and think to themselves "that sounds like fun, I think I'll go get some heroin..."?
    That is possible, people see winos on the street, scruffy and half dead and still take up drinking. Same with cigarettes which are more addictive than heroin, people are nearly 100% sure they will end up hooked on cigarettes, its not so with heroin, contrary to what people might have in their heads.

There are lots of functional heroin addicts out there, just like alcoholics, and heroin users who are not addicts.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Well there is your Pot heads who just love smoking and don't use anything else but then there is your drugies who hash just does not do enough for them but they probably would have started off on hash

Doesn't make hash a gateway to the problem. Maybe I want to feel the thrill and rush of the wind in my hair so I cycle down a steep hill. Some people prefer to jump out of planes. Cycling down the hill wasn't good enough for'em it seems. But does that make it the gateway? no. Just because it was something that could have been more accessible to use first, doesn't mean it was what led them to heroin. They were always going to make it to heroin, with or without hash, as it gives'em what they were looking for.

I agree I was not trying to say hash was their gateway more of the wanted a high and moved up the chain until they got the high they wanted

But the that's exactly what you are saying :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

urbanledge wrote: »
    Its just a bit of craic......
    I'll get my coat

I think you may be a bit confused there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

For the 1,000,000th time, hash is not a 'gateway' drug. There is tons and tons of researched proof out there that shows it isn't. And it's complete nonsense to think otherwise.

Drugs do not, have not and will not lead you onto other drugs. Everyone who has enjoyed cocaine/yokes/etc. does not take it for a few weeks and then 'move on' to heroin.

Look, people take heroin because they like it, it's simple.
    The world of rock owes a lot to heroin users, Iggy Pop, Bowie, Rolling Stones, Beatles, Nirvana etc. etc.

Asking why do people take heroin is a bit like asking, why do people drink stout. They take it because they enjoy it first and then become addicted, like cigarettes, like beer, like whiskey etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

they probably would have started off on alcohol, then hash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

There are many reasons people take heroin, many I've seen and heard. One is to get that high they hear about, better than nothing else. What they're not told is it's nothing like the first and they chase it and keep doing it. A lot of people seem to be have the mindset (which I'm sure has come up in all our thoughts) that YOU won't be the one to get addicted, you can try it once and never again, it won't happen to YOU. They want to try for that high they've heard about.

Also, what anti-drugs people tell you about gear is that it'll kill you. Again most think they can avoid that by doing things certain ways, but it killing them isn't nearly as bad as what happens to some users. They're destroyed by it and when they don't have it, they NEED to get it. If it killed them, it wouldn't be as bad and if they knew what could really happen, maybe they'd avoid it (but probably not). Now, this doesn't happen to everyone by all means, there are very functional junkies and people who get off. A family friend's ex-dealer was the loveliest fella you'd ever meet (at least when he had the drugs), never banged up when I was there, taught me cards, I loved him. Saw him a little while ago, first time in 14 years or so and he's off the gear, looking healthy, doesn't even smoke anymore. Always good to see.

This one I've heard a little bit too... People generally don't progress from hash to skag unless they're inclined to go to it anyway (and it so happens some of the people that they'll smoke with might have some heroin), but I've heard people who were on shiteloads of Es taking heroin as a comedown. I don't know how much this happened, but there are a couple of poor sods walking around that came from this.

There are many reasons, as I said, these are just ones I've seen or heard.

Asking why do people take heroin is a bit like asking, why do people drink stout. They take it because they enjoy it first and then become addicted, like cigarettes, like beer, like whiskey etc.

Well, I think there can be some sort of social/societal issues with some people who seek such strong drugs as heroin use is generally quite visible in poor areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Baked.noodle

There is a certain romanticism surrounding Heroin. Famous creative people have associated with it, and there is something daring of a willingness to pay the ultimate price for the ultimate high. The wanton recklessness adds to the drugs appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

For the 1,000,000th time, hash is not a 'gateway' drug.
    I remember a good few years ago now the gardai were supposed to have unofficially said to stop using this "gateway drug" term, its embarrassing nonsense, I feel sorry for the anti-drug campaigners with genuine reasons who have people spouting this nonsense "on their side". The argument actually suits the pro cannabis arguments, since people are involved with shady dealers due to the illegality of cannabis.

Most murders started out killing flies and progressed,
    Most rapists started out looking at page 3 and progressed.
    Most bank robbers started out nicking from a pick & mix.
    Most heroin addicts got their first hit from caffeine, hash would rarely be the first substance induced high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Anybody I know who had a heroin addiction (7 people) started off with hash - FACT

The point is a lot of people on heroin began with hash, but not everyone who smokes hash moves onto heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

lukesmom wrote: »
    Anybody I know who had a heroin addiction (7 people) started off with hash - FACT

The point is a lot of people on heroin began with hash, but not everyone who smokes hash moves onto heroin.

This is very true

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

'cause when the smack begins to flow
    Then I really don't care anymore
    Ah, when the heroin is in my blood
    And that blood is in my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I think if you're a habitual drug user than you always want to top your best high and heroin seems to fulfill that because it is supposed to be absolutely amazing. So I think for some people who are big into narcotics in the first place it's simply upping the ante on everything they've tried before only it's not so easy to extricate yourself once hooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

gateway drug eh?

Heroin is used because by all accounts the first few times are, as the fella says...."bleedin deadly"

lukesmom wrote: »

"not everyone"....as in 97%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

For a lot of people that wind up heroin addicts, the reason seeing people ****ed up from heroin and knowing the dangers of it, doesn't put them off, is because they already feel their life is a world of sh1t. Taking smack and even becoming a zombified homeless junkie is viewed as, at worst, a lateral move.

Take someone who's father has been raping them and their mother has been beating them day in day out since they were 6 years old. Never having made friends due to the psychological issues brought on by having lived that kind of childhood.

They get it into their head that their life is beyond sh1t and always will be. So, why not take smack? Why bother hoping for any kind of decent life when you're convinced that's just not your fate.

They know it's a **** life to be a junkie but life is and always has been **** anyway. At least the heroin takes all that pain away, if even for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I saw this when I was browsing imgur the other day. American, but otherwise relatable.

fBvYabt.jpg

I saw this when I was browsing imgur the other day. American, but otherwise relatable.

fBvYabt.jpg
    Not "relatable" in the slightest...

many people take heroin to take the edge of their sh1t lives...i'm sure heroin would improve a night on the street...until you're addicted of course..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

AFAIK, the first time someone takes heroin they are violently sick, the question is what makes them go back. As others have said, it's the promise of the great high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Heroin is yummy.

spurious wrote: »
    AFAIK, the first time someone takes heroin they are violently sick, the question is what makes them go back. As others have said, it's the promise of the great high.
    that's incorrect...

some people may do it wrong and get sick...for others...as i said earlier it's bleedin deadly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

A mate of mine did it in his 20s, he was a musician and stopped using when friends of his started dying. He regrets taking the stuff but doesn't bs about the highs - which were, according to him, amazing. Another friend used to do it in her 20s, she wasn't a particulary happy person & am not sure what her exact reasons were. I guess she liked to live on the edge. She's now a high flying executive.

I don't partake in drugs anymore (well, the kind of drugs that make people wring their hands and emote about them in the media) but I tried a myriad of them. Some were very, very good and others... I could have done without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Right. So using heroin isn't the same as being addicted to heroin. Not everyone who uses it becomes addicted.

There's a strong argument that it isn't the pharmacological properties of the drugs that cause addiction, but rather social factors:
    Most people believe that certain drugs cause catastrophic addictions in people who use them. This conventional belief is reflected in such familiar phrases as "crack cocaine is instantly addictive" or "heroin is so good, don't even try it once". It is also implied in the professional literature which routinely describes certain drugs as "addictive", "dependency producing", or "habit forming". The belief that drugs can induce addiction has shaped drug policy for more than a century.

However, the only actual evidence for the belief in drug-induced addiction comes 1) from the testimonials of some addicted people who believe that exposure to a drug caused them to "lose control" and 2) from some highly technical research on laboratory animals. These bits of evidence have been embellished in the news media to the point where the belief in drug-induced addiction has acquired the status of an obvious truth that requires no further testing. But the widespread acceptance of this belief is a better demonstration of the power of repetition than of the influence of empirical research, because the great bulk of empirical evidence runs against it. Belief in drug-induced addiction may have deep cultural roots as well, since it is a pharmacological version of the belief in "demon possession" that has entranced western culture for centuries.

http://globalizationofaddiction.ca/articles-speeches/demon-drug-myths/164-myth-drug-induced.html

There's also a strong argument that the effects of globalised neoliberal late capitalism on communities and ways of earning a living tend to cause cultural and social disembeddedness or dislocation, which feeds addiction:

http://globalizationofaddiction.ca/pdf/roots_addiction_2001.pdf?phpMyAdmin=fc7384f5b29d4dcea89cdea166944b98

This guy Bruce Alexander is well worth a look if you're interested in addiction, not sure if he's the most rigorous in his approach, but I tend to agree with his views.

I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I can absolutely understand the appeal of heroin, especially if someone just isn't really feeling normal life. I've been very tempted myself a couple of times but it's more fear of injecting the mashup of crap that can be in it directly into my bloodstream which is the deciding factor.

I suppose one could smoke it but I doubt it would be the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

strobe wrote: »
    They know it's a **** life to be a junkie but life is and always has been **** anyway. At least the heroin takes all that pain away, if even for a few hours.

Agree with this, its something that takes the pain away for a while, at least for some users. For others I'd say it's partly chasing the high and thinking they'll be able to control it and they won't get addicted. I think it's something like 1/4 to 1/3 who try heroin become dependent on it. For me thats playing with fire, but has a certain strange attraction as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Same reasons some people turn to alcohol.It's enjoyable,it's an escape from (an often shítty) life,a friend or family member does it,it's readily available etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

It is supposed to be an amazing high so I guess once you've tried it it must be enormously tempting to try it again. There's a part of me that would like to try it but I also know it would destroy my life in no time so I stay away. I guess if you feel like you can't get anywhere in life it might be tempting but in reality it's a drug of no hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

There are a lot of people who take heroin and live a perfectly normal life, they have wealth and can fund the habit so that are not living on the streets. If you take it once a day have your buzz come down you can function quite normally.

I think they should have treatment center and just give the heroin away for free, this would lower crime as junkies won't need to steal to feed their addiction and dealers would very soon find themselves out of business as there would be nobody to sell it too ergo, no new users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd say there's plenty of people that used hard drugs for the first time when they were drunk. When your drunk you'll try anything, which isn't true for other drugs. When you're on coke you just want more coke and heroin would not be the direction you'd want to go. When you're on weed the thought of heroin would make you scared. When you're on yolks you don't want anything but yolks.

Drink on the other hand you'll take the drugs without a second thought.
    strobe wrote: »
    Take someone who's father has been raping them and their mother has been beating them day in day out since they were 6 years old. Never having made friends due to the psychological issues brought on by having lived that kind of childhood.

They get it into their head that their life is beyond sh1t and always will be. So, why not take smack? Why bother hoping for any kind of decent life when you're convinced that's just not your fate.
    Heroin would seem like a step up from that kind of hell, at least you'd be numb and in some respects you'd feel like you're able to function better because the heroin blocks out that horrible feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Lets play a game of spot the middle class in this thread lol, hash as a gateway drug....Thats too expensive..

Glue is THEE gateway way drug, cheap affordable and found everywhere. NExt comes painkillers from the doc morphine or other lighter generic drugs, easily cooked by those who know how to make an injectible hit.
    Then pushers start giving free hits to get hooked and bang your down the rabbit hole. With F all chance of getting out. Until you go on meth which is just state sponsored pharma invested drug use anyway.
    A few people I know who went on meth went back using again. Its either total abstinence or bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

kupus wrote: »
    Lets play a game of spot the middle class in this thread lol, hash as a gateway drug....Thats too expensive..

Glue is THEE gateway way drug,
    tobacco is the gateway drug, it's most peoples first introduction to illegal drug use (as a kid) and it causes a change in your brains chemical make up to make you more susceptible to addiction later in life.

I dont know anyone from school that I saw using glue or solvents still doing them today. Or even a week after first trying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Tobacco doesnt get you high.
    glue is usually done by kids that you wouldnt see in your school anyway.
    Go out and have a conversation with an addict from a ghetto be it irish french german, american, and a lot will have tried glue as their first high.

Source: if you want a link, I havent a clue where to find one. I just use the bit of life experience that I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

fBvYabt.jpg

Not really. A lot of American heroin users start out abusing prescription painkillers. As their tolerance builds they need more pills which they can't afford so they move onto heroin which is cheaper.

I wouldn't imagine many Irish people start heroin that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

kjl wrote: »
    There are a lot of people who take heroin and live a perfectly normal life, they have wealth and can fund the habit so that are not living on the streets. If you take it once a day have your buzz come down you can function quite normally.

I think they should have treatment center and just give the heroin away for free, this would lower crime as junkies won't need to steal to feed their addiction and dealers would very soon find themselves out of business as there would be nobody to sell it too ergo, no new users.

You'll never find a politician here with the spine to even broach that subject,yet they are happy enough to string addicts along on methadone indefinitely.

I believe they have trialled prescription Heroin in Switzerland and it found to be positive in reducing open drug dealing,disease,associated petty crime and as well as stabilizing the lives of addicts.

Link