Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think the Irish have a good reputation abroad these days?

• 13-12-2013 11:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

I remember when i was very young, i often heard people mention how welcoming and friendly the Irish are. I never hear that these days though.

How do you think we are thought about abroad now? Has the increase in booze trips to places like magaluf and santa ponza made us unpopular? Our have we as a people just become more unfriendly? Maybe our reputation abroad is actualy largely unchanged?

EDIT: Just realised i messed up the thread title :/

Do you think it has changed? 106 votes

Yes, for the better
    0% 0 votes
    Yes, for the worse
    24% 26 votes
    No
    40% 43 votes
    Potato
    34% 37 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Still known as pissheads afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭1stimpressions

Most people in the world don't know who we are or know anything about us including our nearest neighbours. But who cares?

Personally I think we are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I doesn't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I have often heard people in China describe us as "a great bunch of lads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Most people I have met who have been to Ireland on holidays say they loved it.

Outside of that, I'd say most people abroad have no real opinion of us.
    Outside Europe some might barely know we exist, we are a small country after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

1. People in other countries still think of Ireland/Irish at home as quaint and lovely.
    2. Irish people makes fools of themselves when in other countries with all the drinking and fighting. Second only to the Brits imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Nearly everyone loves us. In my experience the Irish have a great reputation and love to spend money in whichever country they reside/holiday in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 walt_white

biko wrote: »
    1. People in other countries still think of Ireland/Irish at home as quaint and lovely.
    2. Irish people makes fools of themselves when in other countries with all the drinking and fighting. Second only to the Brits imo.

the brits make far bigger asses of themselves in places like ibiza or those greek islands than we do in australia , hell sky pump out tv shows about essex girls abroad etc :D

the irish " drunken lout " thing in australia is overdone , aussies ( and kiwis ) are brits a few generations back , they like the idea of knocking us irish , makes them feel more old school british and lets face it , its not like australians are the most refined of people themselves , this faux shock at beer loving paddys is pretty trite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

was in Norway last month and was a bit suprised the amount of locals that visited Ireland and loved it. Mainly the friendliness and all that stuff..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Who actually gives a shít? Such navel-gazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

People Yes.

Government - Only in certain financial pro business circles.

No one else cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Anyone I've met in Europe who I've spoken with about Ireland or Irish people have only had positive things to say.

To be fair, we've a pretty inoffensive history. We haven't really had squabbles with any other places except Britain. I don't think any nation has much of a bone to pick with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Building up an awful reputation in Australia thanks to the minority scumbags going there and starting fights on nights out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I tend to judge people individually, not by nationality. Except the Japanese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Virtually every day someone tells me how they enjoyed the Irish hospitality whilst on holliers there. They compliment the Irish accent and seem genuine in their thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

"Irishness" has far less baggage than "Englishness" in most countries. Most foreigners just associate the Irish with booze, but not in the hooligan way.

When I've travelled with my missus (I'm English, she's Irish), she's even got a friendlier reception at border crossings etc. (particularly in Africa), but then that might be because I'm a right ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

The Spanish either like us or are indifferent to us (indifferent more often though).

Luckily they think all the foreigners who've imported their own lifestyle from their respective countries to the South of Spain are English or German. I don't enlighten them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭malkmoose

In the majority of Europe the Irish are viewed closely to the stereotype of good fun, friendly, musical and big drinkers. We don't really register that much on the day to day lives of European countries. They tend to look inwards at their own country like we do in Ireland. Generally a positive reputation. I could ask, do you think the Belgians have a good rep? I would get some bland non offensive response from the majority of people.

In English speaking countries like US, Canada, NZ, Oz we are a bit more tied in to the culture, and there is more of us there, so I guess we have a more visible reputation. Never lived in any of those countries so just through the media we seem to be getting a crap reputation especially in NZ and Australia. There was a paper in NZ saying that a higher % of Irish people have an STD per capita, Irish need not apply for apartments in Queensland, Irish fights in Melbourne etc. The is a bit of a media attack on the Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Irish people, more so than any other nationality I know of, seem absolutely obsessed what others think of them.

Who gives a sh1t?

elefant wrote: »
    Anyone I've met in Europe who I've spoken with about Ireland or Irish people have only had positive things to say.

To be fair, we've a pretty inoffensive history. We haven't really had squabbles with any other places except Britain. I don't think any nation has much of a bone to pick with us.

And this is why nobody ever gives us their 12 points in the Eurovision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I tend to judge people individually, not by nationality. Except the Japanese.
    Old Hippy will give up his pacifist ways if he meets you BraziliaNZ :eek: :D

No disrespect to Old Hippy intended ;)

Irish people, more so than any other nationality I know of, seem absolutely obsessed what others think of them.

Who gives a sh1t?

I suppose the fact that there's so many Irish around the globe that it's natural enough to wonder how we're perceived.

I give less of a **** the more I'm out of the country though. Used to think the sun shone out of my arse simply for being Irish when I first moved abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

No dont think so we have a terrible reputation for our cruelty to animals particularly horses in the last few weeks see article in the indo today. also still drunk out of our minds and corrupt beyond the imagination stealing from the charities. We are no better than korea but unfortunately we can t just execute our wayward politicians and ceo.s and scumbag animal abusers!!We are stuck with them cos we are now a cowardly yellow bellied nation of sheep heading up the slaughter line.....without a single individual thought between us, brain washed within an inch of our lives. `i used to love this country, not any more .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

countries some distance away think the irish are great

our close neighbours dislike us more

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Irish are usually seen as good people in that we're not usually agressive,we can hold our booze and we tend to have girlfriends with us when we go abroad.

Contrast that with the english...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

No dont think so we have a terrible reputation for our cruelty to animals particularly horses in the last few weeks see article in the indo today. also still drunk out of our minds
    The above is true, even if the "our" is kinda unnecessary.
    and corrupt beyond the imagination stealing from the charities.
    Hold on a sec, that was a small few people - if you want that to be reflective of everyone including you, that's fine, but speak for yourself.
    We are no better than korea
    If you're referring to North Korea, then you're wrong - this is a much better country in which to live than NK is.
    we are now a cowardly yellow bellied nation of sheep heading up the slaughter line.....without a single individual thought between us, brain washed within an inch of our lives.
    What the actual fuk? :pac:
    Again, speak for yourself - lots of us have individual thoughts ta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

I suppose the fact that there's so many Irish around the globe that it's natural enough to wonder how we're perceived.

I give less of a **** the more I'm out of the country though. Used to think the sun shone out of my arse simply for being Irish when I first moved abroad.

Seriously? What made you think being Irish made you special?

Unnecessary vulgarity short of a few words in your vocabulary? obviously a red top reader ... scum .I rest my case!!

Huh? At least specify who you're talking about. You rest what "case"? How is this phantom person "obviously" a red top reader? :confused:

Good question. I suppose we do like to big ourselves up a fair bit ("Friendliest nation in the world" and "Everyone loves us" etc.) and I bought into it. My background had a lot to do with it too. I come from quite a Republican family and national pride was drummed into me from a young age. Luckily we've all chilled the fook out on that front now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Good question. I suppose we do like to big ourselves up a fair bit ("Friendliest nation in the world" and "Everyone loves us" etc.) and I bought into it. My background had a lot to do with it too. I come from quite a Republican family and national pride was drummed into me from a young age. Luckily we've all chilled the fook out on that front now.

Fair enough, honest answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I rest my case!!

You don't have a case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

There's still a lot of anti-Irish prejudice in the world, notably in parts of Britain and particularly Scotland (not to mention the north as well). A significant chunk of England still doesn't like Irish people. You only have to read generic forums like Digitalspy to see how this is evident.

Of course a lot of English people don't harbour these views, but there are a sigificant number of them who do sympathise with unionism/loyalism in Northern Ireland, and hate how the catholic/nationalist population has gotten more control there etc. Obviously many English don't care about the North but the ones who do tend harbour a lot of hatred towards all things Irish.

So in my opinion I don't believe the Irish are as popular as made out abroad, as there is still a lot of negative stereotypes that exist. But Irish people are certainly nowhere near the most disliked thats for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭systemicrisk

No dont think so we have a terrible reputation for our cruelty to animals particularly horses in the last few weeks see article in the indo today. also still drunk out of our minds and corrupt beyond the imagination stealing from the charities. We are no better than korea but unfortunately we can t just execute our wayward politicians and ceo.s and scumbag animal abusers!!We are stuck with them cos we are now a cowardly yellow bellied nation of sheep heading up the slaughter line.....without a single individual thought between us, brain washed within an inch of our lives. `i used to love this country, not any more .

Jesus h Chihuahua, generalise much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Yep we're great generally speaking and everyone loves us generally speaking :D and i'm awesome so everyone doubly loves me and I do Ireland proud as much as I can by being great.

Jesus h Chihuahua, generalise much?
    Of course they don't apply that stuff to themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

There's still a lot of anti-Irish prejudice in the world, notably in parts of Britain and particularly Scotland (not to mention the north as well). A significant chunk of England still doesn't like Irish people. You only have to read generic forums like Digitalspy to see how this is evident.

Of course a lot of English people don't harbour these views, but there are a sigificant number of them who do sympathise with unionism/loyalism in Northern Ireland, and hate how the catholic/nationalist population has gotten more control there etc. Obviously many English don't care about the North but the ones who do tend harbour a lot of hatred towards all things Irish.

So in my opinion I don't believe the Irish are as popular as made out abroad, as there is still a lot of negative stereotypes that exist. But Irish people are certainly nowhere near the most disliked thats for sure.

A lot of those ''Anti-Irish'' types in Britain, would be Daily Mail reading pseudo middle class plastic Tories who can't differentiate between regular Irish people and the ones who knock on their doors offering new driveways, or Rangers supporting Neds off the Jeremy Kyle show with three yellow teeth and tattoos on their fingers, both sets of people are woefully uninformed and ignorant about the UK, never mind Ireland and other Euro nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

It's been my observation that many Americans hold much respect for Irish people; however, I think many of these same Americans are guilty of holding anachronistic perceptions of Ireland and Irish people.

When did the Irish ever have a good reputation abroad?

The libyans think we're gas!!!

Of course they don't apply that stuff to themselves.

FYI i am kind to animals - not a horse abuser
    i work and pay tax - not a dole scanger
    i am a non drinker - not a piss head
    i am not dis honest and give regularly to charities - not a thief

So i can say what the **** i like about what i see around me ok. freedom of expression and all that. So bugger off both of you critising me!!!!

FYI i am kind to animals - not a horse abuser
    i work and pay tax - not a dole scanger
    i am a non drinker - not a piss head
    i am not dis honest and give regularly to charities - not a thief
    Even though you're saying "our", "our", "our"? Exactly. You're not any of the above, therefore why say everyone else here is?
    So i can say what the **** i like about what i see around me ok. freedom of expression and all that.
    And others can express their views in relation to what you say - freedom of expression and all that. Or do you feel that should only apply to you?
    So bugger off both of you critising me!!!!
    I see you also feel you can use vulgar language but not anyone else. :D

But go on, tell me how you've come to the conclusion that I "obviously" read red-tops and am "scum"? :)

Even though you're saying "our", "our", "our"? Exactly. You're not any of the above, therefore why say everyone else here is?

And others can express their views in relation to what you say - freedom of expression and all that. Or do you feel that should only apply to you?

I see you also feel you can use vulgar language but not anyone else. :D

But go on, tell me how you've come to the conclusion that I "obviously" read red-tops and am "scum"? :)

I withdraw all my comments as I am not interested in a prolonged abusive dialogue with you I don't care who you are or what you are or what you read OK .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

It's a common delusion.

How many times have you heard some fool say "Sure everyone loves the Irish".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

It's a common delusion.

How many times have you heard some fool say "Sure everyone loves the Irish".

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87983038&postcount=8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭systemicrisk

I withdraw all my comments as I am not interested in a prolonged abusive dialogue with you I don't care who you are or what you are or what you read OK .

You really are a delight. All the best.