Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GOLD RUSH

• 10-12-2013 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭

Can anyone tell me when is gold rush is on discovery?
    I thought session 4 was starting??
    Day and time, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭brian_t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I used to like this show, but I think I've gone off it. The first season or two was just some regular guys trying to make some money, but season 4 is so contrived and fake. Some of the stuff that happens is so obviously scripted.

Todd is making more money from Discovery than he is from mining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Mr E wrote: »
    I used to like this show, but I think I've gone off it. The first season or two was just some regular guys trying to make some money, but season 4 is so contrived and fake. Some of the stuff that happens is so obviously scripted.

Yeah, kinda got bored halfway through season 3. Then they had some crap of them mining in the amazon and was just a bit ridiculous. I like the other crews though, Fred Dodge and that young fella, they seem a bit more genuine and realistic. Todd always passed me as somewhat clueless, clearly one of the weaker members of his crew yet always team leader :confused:

There was another show called Bamazon, about gold miners somewhere in the Amazon, was really enjoyable and another one called Gold Divers, Gold Divers is a bit bananas, fellas diving for gold off the bearing sea, some of hte people in it are pretty mad but its entertaining as hell. Be more interested in watching the new seasons of those shows than any further seasons of Gold Rush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Gotya

brian_t wrote: »

That's not very helpful.

I checked the tv guide on sky box can't seem to find it.

Mr E wrote: »

Yeah have to agree about alot of it is set-up, i'm kinda interested to see how Parker gets on.

I was watching "jungle gold" earlier, talk about fake.

The season 2 finale of jungle gold was a rip off of Argo. I kept expecting Ben Affleck to turn up....

If you're looking for a good show along these lines, look for Gem Hunt. A bit more realistic and great characters. It's hard not to like Ron (the lead hunter). About 8 episodes into season 1 at the moment in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

If you're into these Gold type programs two I've really enjoyed are Bering Sea Ice (sea dredging, all done by hand with suction pipes bar one boat) and Yukon Gold (Same format as Gold Rush but less drama and more focus on the actual mining/gold operations)

Used to quite enjoy this show but after Season 2 it went to crap, too much drama now and Todd saying 'fricking' almost every second word is beyond annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Agree about the nosedive when they went to the Amazon in Gold Rush, every situation so fake. Bering Sea Gold/Ice Divers depending on where it was broadcast is the best imo, proper meltdowns and people who actually do that for a living.

Jungle Gold has to be the worst of all of them though, just ridiculously fake from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭ElNino

Yeah I agree about Jungle Gold being the worst of the genre and obviously totally scripted. There is no way any TV company would make a show like in real bandit country with people waving guns around. I like the Tony Beets stuff in Gold Rush as he is the only genuine gold miner in the whole show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

I really love this show and watched the first episode of Season 4 online today, not sure if it is on Discovery yet.
    Think all the Parker footage is pretty realistic. Fred and Dustin the same as Fred is just an eccentric old miner yearning for a pay day. Sure there are a few silly setups but enough true footage to keep you interested.

However the Hoffmans are a pain in the ass.
    Every single problem is so set up and if Todd was anyone's leader in real life there would have been mutiny a long time ago.
    The man is a basket case, a dreamer who works on instinct, which turns out to be 100% wrong on every single occasion.
    Last year at the Klondike when Dave took his own crew and extracted practically enough Gold for the 2 crews should have been in reality when they all said, Todd, we don't you round here no more.

I used to have a lot of time for Dave and Fred Dodge, and the new Mechanic guy from season 3, but by sticking with Todd, its obvious that they now are just in it for the fame/attention/notoriety .
    Discovery must be paying them a fair bit.

Im watching it but skipping the Todd bits for as you said the ridiculous situations, they don't even try anymore, its just stupid setups and fake danger and none of them are good enough actors to pull it off. The same thing is starting to happen with Parker now aswell and the hairy Scandinavian dude, every week a convenient crisis.

Bering Sea Gold is a far superior programme imo especially the first couple of seasons, real people with real problems over their investments, alcohol problems, suicides etc, some fake drama later but overall the best reality tv in a very long time. I think they called it Ice Cold Gold or Gold Divers or something lame if you're not downloading it.

Prospectors and Gem Hunt are the best in the genre at the moment.

I'm still rooting for Parker in Gold Rush though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Tony Beets (with his subtitles and beeps) is what makes the current season.

I wish they'd find a glory hole in South America big enough for the whole Hoffman crew to disappear into for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

Sorry for bumping an old thread, but does anyone know wtf is going on with Discovery here; this show seems to have aired in the US but not in UK or ROI version of discovery.
    I've checked the discovery site, and there doesen't seem to be any mention of when or even IF last season's show is going to be aired.

Im pretty sure it did a few weeks ago to be honest, just download it.

Thargor wrote: »
    Im pretty sure it did a few weeks ago to be honest, just download it.

Very surprised if you are correct.

Searched for it to download, but cant find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Episode list here
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Gold_Rush_episodes#Season_4_.282013-2014.29

Doesn't look like there was a grand finale.

Yukon Gold and Game of Stones are two current alternatives.

Episode 17 was the last Hoffman episode.
    Episode 19 was the last proper episode.
    Episode 20 was a reunion show.

Ok guys, thanks for the help, one final question, was this last season actually aired on the Discovery we get here?
    Reason I keep asking is I was looking out for it but didn't see it, and I've been watching plenty of Discovery over the winter/spring.
    Going by the episode list Gran Hermano posted, I've seen none of season 4.

Nope. The Gold Rush microsite on Discovery UK says: "Gold Rush will be back with Series 4 in 2014."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Gotya

For anyone interested, this started back last night, was two hours long. On tuesdays at 9pm, think it will be one hour then.

It also on demand, and i'm sure it will be repeated during the week too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭BrianJD

Anybody watching the new series? I'm disappointed the Dakota boys are gone but Tony Beets more than makes up for it. It's such a beautifully filmed programme, the scenery is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

BrianJD wrote: »
    Anybody watching the new series? I'm disappointed the Dakota boys are gone but Tony Beets more than makes up for it. It's such a beautifully filmed programme, the scenery is unreal.

Fred has no money for this year from an interview I read of Fred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

I agree with previous posters wrt to Todd. That the others can't or won't see he's the most incompetent miner EVER is ridiculous. Jeez.

yeah, a pity the Dakota lads aren't back. At least Tony Beets is a plus. I like Parker, but jaysus, he's an annoying twat. He got a lot of gold,so what can you do?

todd hoffman is just laughable though. No two ways about it...

Ive only watched 2 episodes of the new ones but already the fake scenes and stupid faux tension are getting annoying, not as bad as the jungle crap was though and I agree the scenery in Alaska is stunning so worth watching for that alone nearly. I also really want to see how Tony Beets gets on with this big project, they could have made the whole series about that and Id be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭BrianJD

Tony f**king Beets will f**king do all f**king right....:P

Season 6 starts on October 16th in the States. I have to admit it's a guilty pleasure of mine. :o

Thanks for that, couldnt believe they didnt show Tonys big machine in operation last season, Im looking forward to it just for that. Todd vs Parker can piss off, how dumb do they think the viewers are? They just happened to end up prospecting on neighbouring land so the season can be a competition between them? Fake as it gets, they should fire them all and just call it Tony Beets Gold Rush :D

Grandpa John Schnabel died yesterday in his sleep at the great age of 96.

Without a doubt the nicest guy on the show.

RIP.

Some tribute messages and more info here:
    https://www.facebook.com/GoldRush
    http://www.people.com/article/john-schnabel-dead-gold-rush-star-was-96

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭iano.p

Mr E wrote:
    Grandpa John Schnabel died yesterday in his sleep at the great age of 96.

Poor old john he was a hardy man. I loved his laugh and how he was with Parker. Rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

RIP John

Loved his parts in the show,he was cool character

Even in the last episode of the current series he made me laugh when he landed in the helicopter and told Parker that he an amazing club sandwich :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Graigmanliam

The problem with this show is that every little thing is made into a huge drama, I know that's how most reality shows are but this one is definitely at X factor bullsh*t level. Yer man with the beard is an ignorant prick (and needs subtitles to understand what the feck he is saying)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yer man with the beard is an ignorant prick (and needs subtitles to understand what the feck he is saying)

Exactly, I wish they would drop him from the show.