Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nightlife in Lisbon

• 09-12-2013 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

Going to Lisbon this week anyone been there?

Any advice on the nightlife good pubs, clubs, good restaurants even good Irish bars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Barrio Alto & Alfama have lots of nightlife, everything from mellow to raucous, depends what you're after.

As for Irish bars, I once asked my cousin how his weekend in Paris went. He replied "T'was alright, but it took us 3 hours to find an Irish bar".

He'd have enjoyed himself as much in Thurles tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

From my 2 night experience Barrio Alto is the place to be between 8pm and around 1am. Loads of little bars and most people drink on the narrow cobbled streets, great craic! After that seems most people go to one of the big night clubs like Lux or Urban Beach which open until around 7am (That's when we left anyway and it was still going).

If it's Irish bars you want we were briefly in Hennessys and O'Gilins which are close to each other down by the waterfront. Both we're nothing special, just your usual Irish pub abroad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,205 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

with the ammount of Irish pubs in Paris they must have been already gargled if it took them 3 feckin hours to find one.

I was in Lisbon back in October and to be honest the nightlife was a little tame for my liking and I'd be far from a party animal these days ! Barrio Alto is where you need to be but its a bit awkward and takes a little time to explore up there as it can be a little disjoined and not in a temple bar style where all the main bars are together. if you are into your Irish bars while away maybe to catch a match on TV or what not the aforementioned Hennessys and O'Gilins are almost side by side by while both have friendly welcoming staff they are a kinda dives I especially found Hennessys to be filthy, went in there to see match and spent most of my time trying to keep flies away from my pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Biggest rip off pubs abroad are Irish pubs. Best place to drink in Lisbon is either in the docks area or up in the Barrio Alta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Barrio Alto street drinking all the way. Plus Lux is meant to be a good night club but I didn't go. And there is a place everyone goes to after all the clubs are closed called Bassment.