Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the story regarding insurance and Hunts

• 09-12-2013 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭

What is the story regarding insurance and Hunts (horse and hounds and their followers) entering your land.
    If asked and you let them in are you accepting some sort of responsibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

Not sure but those fkrs wouldn't ask ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I let them in once - never again. They ruined fences, flattened them completely in one spot. I told the lad that originally asked me not to come near me ever again, which they haven't. After my little chat someone came and made a half arsed attempt to fix the fence but a 4 year old would have done a better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

KatyMac wrote: »
    I let them in once - never again. They ruined fences, flattened them completely in one spot. I told the lad that originally asked me not to come near me ever again, which they haven't. After my little chat someone came and made a half arsed attempt to fix the fence but a 4 year old would have done a better job.

Same here, dont let them near the place. Before they come they'll promise you the world as regards fixing fences. After they're gone they wont want to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Years ago my neighbour got his REPS payment cut for poaching after letting the hunt in by an inspector who took part in the hunt!!!!.........don't the IFA have a register of farmers who don't allow the hunt in and present it to the hunt and a warning against trespass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

mikeoh wrote: »
    Years ago my neighbour got his REPS payment cut for poaching after letting the hunt in by an inspector who took part in the hunt!!!!.........don't the IFA have a register of farmers who don't allow the hunt in and present it to the hunt and a warning against trespass

Now I'd say the place was in shyte before they came in and he blamed them. He's stuffing you

delaval wrote: »
    Now I'd say the place was in shyte before they came in and he blamed them. He's stuffing you

80-100 horses galloping will do plenty damage in a small farm.....but my point was the inspector who rode in the hunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

mikeoh wrote: »
    80-100 horses galloping will do plenty damage in a small farm.....but my point was the inspector who rode in the hunt

It was a nice tnx for letting them in
    Oh the long grass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Don't have the hunt here. One of the positives of bad land. One of the landed gentry wanted to get a pack of beagles a few years back. Asked surrounding farmers what they thought, and let's just say he dropped the idea :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

hunt have been here for last nu. years no problem
    its all down to person in charge no galloping on grass will use road ways or stubbles always repair fence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Local hunt here did serious damage on a local farm. Pack rose a fox and took off after him onto a farm they didnt have premission to be on. Straight into the flock of sheep. A lot were drowned and the rest traumatised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭ravima

Hunt insurance looks after farmer/landowners. If they didn't and something happened and farmer/landower was sued, no hunt in the country would be allowed cross farms.

All of us hunted as kids 2 kept it up.

Every farm has a welcome for the hunt around here. All fences are repaired, route agreed before hand and we would cut hi tensile where required. Wet weather they stick to headlands.

If some of the above stories (all happened to a lad I know) the huntsman should be fired immediately.

Don't come back about dry land, plenty of wet stuff around here aswell

If the pack raise a fox, how do they control the pack? Will they come away when called?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

ravima wrote: »
    Hunt insurance looks after farmer/landowners. If they didn't and something happened and farmer/landower was sued, no hunt in the country would be allowed cross farms.

Your assuming they ask for permission. Have noticed that the lads with the horses will go where they want when they want. Fences ditches and gates mean nothing to that lot.

Round here we get a lot of foot beagle and drag hunts and vast majority of them will call around to let you know when they are around and will ask if its ok. We out winter cows (like a number of our neighbours) and there are also a couple of sheep farmers around too, and will look move the hunt around them. The lads following will stay on the road in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭farming93

A family in Wicklow had their little dog killed by hounds, the dog was in its own garden and the hounds just came in and mauled it. We also had a hunt on our land, the cattle were driven into a neighbours field and we had to fix the fences ourselves, needless to say no one lets the hunt on their land in my area anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

No problem here. It's all down to the hunt staff. There should be no problem if they have proper control over the hunt and give a good kick in the arse to anyone who doesn't listen. A properly trained pack of hounds should be ubder the huntsman's control. It sounds like the incident in wicklow was more of a case of a dog fight that got out of hand rather than the hounds regarding the small dog as a quarry. Sorry, i'm ranting all over tonight. Must be in a bad mood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Small hunt here,always ask.never any problems.tho few years back an older woman fell off a right slap. So I'm told.all I seen was an ambulance tearing up the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

The lads on the horses wouldn't be round here in a hurry. Had run in with them last year after they left themselves in our place. Luckily I was at home before they decided to go across more of the place. We a dry land but like everyone else it got a serious hammering last summer so last thing it needed was it being made worse.
    It was the dogs that alerted me to the cows (heavy in calf) getting very agitated and running over and back as load of horses were tearing across the field next to them and looking to get over the ditch into them.

They were fairly snotty as if I should have been pleased to have them tearing up my grass. It took me a long time to calm down afterwards. I would say the last time I was that angry was back in my teens. Even my dogs were a bit scared. One of my neighbours called in that later as he could hear me across the fields.

2 hunts around here one is "farmers hunt" made up of farmers who hunt there own land and adjoining neighbours ...the other larger pack is mostly made up of professionals "townies" or hired horses with no connection to the area these guys seem to take over abit on hunt days....block village with trucks stop traffic etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I don't let the hunt in, they can be a bit brazen at times and think they own the place if in.
    A few years ago I heard a load of dogs barking, saw a fox running away in terror, about 10 minutes later I found the hunt in on my lands, asked what they thought they were doing on my land given they had no permission to be there, they looked shocked that some fool was shouting at them, claimed they thought someone else owned the land, but they knew right well whose land they were on, given they are in the area every year and knew they had no rights to trespass.
    Told them the fox was long gone and to get out the way they got in and fix any holes they made.
    I think they thought I wouldn't know and they could get away with it.

I like foxes, don't like my own cattle running crazy on the fields and doing damage, so wasn't going to allow horses do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

30 years ago we used to have several hunts in during the winter -(no talk of extended grazing round here back then) -botch y fencing and flattened gaps in boundary fenses were only discovered as the cows happened upon them during the year - but as there were more than one hunt to share (or denying) the blame little changed for years.
    Came to a head a few years back when they got overzealous with wire snips on high tensile wire after which every hunt asks permission a week in advance and on the morning of the hunt (usually by someone who I know very well )
    I give them the same answer as my father did after the wire cutting incident that "All hunts entering here are on their last warning any messing and that hunt is out"
    Every time they ask I ask about insurance and i am assured that all members are paid up and insured and that the don't allow any non affiliated people (on horseback or ponies) to take part tag along or follow.

The reason I asked this question was that my neighbour just asked me are you assuming or undertaking some sort of responsibility by giving them permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

The never ask here. Confronted them a few times and they just laugh you off.

Have to hang around so they know they are not wanted. They have no idea about farming. They think its ok to let 50 dogs into a field of sheep in Lamb

Think 1 or 2 on this thread say they have no issue with them. The hunt crowd advertise themselves as welcome in the countryside.

They are not welcome bar small exceptions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Had a big blow up with them here years ago when they came into a field of turnips grazed by sheep which they could not get out of except through a locked gate , would not let them out till they dismounted, so they haven't been back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

All of us hunted as kids 2 kept it up.

Every farm has a welcome for the hunt around here. All fences are repaired, route agreed before hand and we would cut hi tensile where required. Wet weather they stick to headlands.

If some of the above stories (all happened to a lad I know) the huntsman should be fired immediately.

Don't come back about dry land, plenty of wet stuff around here aswell

Agree. In general, most farmers around here ok with The Tipps crossing land. Like myself, most farmers hunted a bit when kids, or their kids are now hunting etc.
    There are a couple of other packs, which are not as "careful" as them though and I can see how all hunts get tarred with the same brush (excuse the pun).
    Having lost too many hens to the feckin' fox, I am delighted to see them culling the odd one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Around me there is, nor never was, a hunt that I'm aware of. So I've no experience of them as such. But I will make this point: Hunting foxes on horseback is a tremendously inefficient way of predator control. If I had a problem with foxes the last thing I'd do is hunt them with horse and hound.
    A good man with a rifle would take care of the issue with no fuss.

Heard a story once from a guy that was standing looking at a local hunt going through. There was a young guy standing hear him, both got chatting away just passing the time. Along comes a heavy portly guy and his horse refuses to jump the wall. He shouts at the young fella - ' hey boy, open that gate'.
    'Listen you fat ****, if you want that that gate opened, get off and f***ing open it yerself'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Bizzum wrote: »
    Around me there is, nor never was, a hunt that I'm aware of. So I've no experience of them as such. But I will make this point: Hunting foxes on horseback is a tremendously inefficient way of predator control. If I had a problem with foxes the last thing I'd do is hunt them with horse and hound.
    A good man with a rifle would take care of the issue with no fuss.

Don't let them tell you it's to keep foxes under control, it's 'hoorah henrys' with nothing better to do with themselves. I own and like horses, but would never hunt or let my kids hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

In order for a hunt to receive a licence to hunt they must be registered with the Hunting Association of Ireland http://www.hai.ie/about-us.php and they pay into an insurance fund to cover damage, injury etc, a bit like the local gun club pays into an insurance fund to indemnify the farmer/landowner through the NARGC.
    However there are some hunts not registered with the HAI and they could simply be a few local guys who keep a few hounds between them and like to hunt on a Sunday morning.
    Irrespective as to whether the hunt is registered or not they should apply common curiosity and let farmers/landowners know when they intend to hunt in an area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

I had one of the hunting class tell me one night that I'm lucky to have roast chicken on a Sunday and its all down to them hunting foxes. I told her how great they were, with their 50 horses and pack of hounds to hunt a single terrified fox where me and my rifle could dispatch numerous foxes without the show. Shut her right up:P

The hunt is in my area tomorrow. I preserved the land to keep the horses and followers out. They came and asked if I'd mind if the hounds went across the land. I told them to do their best to keep the hounds out but I wouldn't lose the plot if the hounds followed a scent. See there's great cover on the land but its part of my REPS habitat.
    Question is if its a designated habitat are they even allowed in it?:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Wouldn't let them in near the place. Most of them think they have a divine right to go wherever they like. If you want to avoid hassle with insurance claims or fences or damage to fields/livestock don't let them anywhere near your farm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

I sometimes hunt and i'm not a stuck up so and so. I'd like to think i'm a pretty down to earth person. Not starting a row here but not everyone who hunts is a hooray-henry (or henrietta in my case):rolleyes:.

lefthooker wrote: »
    I had one of the hunting class tell me one night that I'm lucky to have roast chicken on a Sunday and its all down to them hunting foxes. I told her how great they were, with their 50 horses and pack of hounds to hunt a single terrified fox where me and my rifle could dispatch numerous foxes without the show. Shut her right up:P

The hunt is in my area tomorrow. I preserved the land to keep the horses and followers out. They came and asked if I'd mind if the hounds went across the land. I told them to do their best to keep the hounds out but I wouldn't lose the plot if the hounds followed a scent. See there's great cover on the land but its part of my REPS habitat.
    Question is if its a designated habitat are they even allowed in it?:confused::confused::confused:

"Hunting class" could you expand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Based on the majority of repies here I'm in good company. How do the hunts even think they are welcomed by farmers as their PR people constantly claim. I've been driven to my limits more than once, as late as last week and even fired on the hounds on one occasion on their third foray through a paddock with a half dozen springers in it.

Last weeks episode involved an attempt to hunt up our main entrance where we had 50 dry cows in a paddock right beside the roadway, at the top of the road was the main yard with another 100+ head housed and beyond that on one of their likliest route was a neighbours 50 odd in calf heifers on a stubble beyond that was another run of ground with at least 200 ewes scattered over 50 acres.

They had been hunting in the area all day at this stage and either knew well what stock was in the vicinity and didn't give a f**k or had their heads shoved so far up their own holes that they were completely unaware of the lie of the land either way they had no business going where they were going. And this is after one of them texted the oul fella to say they would be in the area but if they came in would keep away from stock and the yards. The only reason we even contemplated allowing them in was because this guy hunts with them but that's over now. There is a farmers hunt in the area who do a drag or two every season and they're more than welcome. They're friends and neighbours who respect the permission and leave the place as they find it. But the one made up of the "hunting class" that de seems to take offence to can go have a good healthy one from now out.

I'd say the likes that have no problem letting themselves in other peoples land and go riding their horses through it. But would get fair annoyed if you tried playing football on their lawn.

Mightn't be every hunter but they do seem to have a very higher then normal concentration of arseholes.

Based on the majority of repies here I'm in good company. How do the hunts even think they are welcomed by farmers as their PR people constantly claim. I've been driven to my limits more than once, as late as last week and even fired on the hounds on one occasion on their third foray through a paddock with a half dozen springers in it.

Last weeks episode involved an attempt to hunt up our main entrance where we had 50 dry cows in a paddock right beside the roadway, at the top of the road was the main yard with another 100+ head housed and beyond that on one of their likliest route was a neighbours 50 odd in calf heifers on a stubble beyond that was another run of ground with at least 200 ewes scattered over 50 acres.

They had been hunting in the area all day at this stage and either knew well what stock was in the vicinity and didn't give a f**k or had their heads shoved so far up their own holes that they were completely unaware of the lie of the land either way they had no business going where they were going. And this is after one of them texted the oul fella to say they would be in the area but if they came in would keep away from stock and the yards. The only reason we even contemplated allowing them in was because this guy hunts with them but that's over now. There is a farmers hunt in the area who do a drag or two every season and they're more than welcome. They're friends and neighbours who respect the permission and leave the place as they find it. But the one made up of the "hunting class" that de seems to take offence to can go have a good healthy one from now out.

Yeah find a huge difference between the drag hunters and the horsey lot. Maybe it goes back to the days of the landlords where they owned huge tracks of land so were able to gallop all over place and the peasants had just their dogs so would meet up with a few friends to use their place.

The drag hunt were around last Sunday and took a route around our place to avoid the cows. In fact with the mild weather there are a lot of cattle still out round here so they made a big effort to chose routes across closed land.

All I can say is thaw the two hunts that hunt in my area are kings compared to what ye describe.

That behaviour wouldn't be tolerated by either hunts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

All I can say is thaw the two hunts that hunt in my area are kings compared to what ye describe.

TBH de I was talking to a guy who was on the the ministers advisory something or other for hunts and a board member of the hunting association, He knew where I was from and asked me specifically about one of the hunts I posted about. He led me to believe they were well up the s**t list for troublemaking, notorious. The hunt this guy was involved with provided a knackery service for anyone who allowed them hunt and were dilligent about repair after they had hunted an area. Something like this would smooth the path for a lot of hunts.

They seem to be the exceptions rather then the rules. The might to watch out in case the gob****es from the other hunts head up that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 irish horse

Save all year to go hunting.never met anybody that does not have the highest respect for farmers.no good will from farmers no hunt .some people like soccer some like hurling be a dull world if every one liked the same thing. It's 2013 not 1813 do not think anybody can afford to look down their nose at anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Irishmale

The only way to rightly stop them is that every time you see them in the place is to go at them with a bill for damages to land or animals.

I have seen them on this farm tear across new grass, sowing, wet fields, they don't give

The opinion is that the cattle and the sprayers are in the shed and even if you said no they will sneak here and there and no one will see until spring. BS. Been asked and said no when ploughing and caught them on the out farm. Lads on horses, quads, jeeps and foot. They don't give a fook about anything other then little Johnny on his pony or looking in awe as they fill in a ditch or knock a fence. They would cross you to do it and laugh about in the boozer later. If you get mad at them they call you a dickhead later and say you are out of line etc. they really have no clue.

Seen a lad cut wire to drive through on a quad. Was told it was all fenced after. It was with baling twine. Had to pull sheep out of ditches after them for a neighbour recently.

Then off to the pub with them and sculling pints and who saw this and who jumped that after pissing all over someone else's livelihood. If I parked the tractor on their lawn or blocked their access with my jeep they would call the cops on me.

And this is meant to be one of the good hunts around here.

They don't do catch nothing, scare nothing but the sense of entitlement in them is huge.

If a hunt wants to hunt they should do as they are told and when they are throwing euro notes in to that hat at the start they should be handing it over to whoever they are crossing. They can afford time off work, a horse, trailer etc they can pay to cross you too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

I'd describe them as a rabble who from their lofty perch look down on all around them and think they have a lawful right to wander wherever they like. The lady in question was also a farmers daughter, never hunt their own land tho.

I'm telling you del if you had this crowd around your area with their behaviour and attitude you wouldn't be long changing your stance too

Is there anything in REPS that says they're not permitted in a habitat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Similar story here. Despite being told by a number of farmers that they were not welcome they still trespassed. At one stage I got them going down a field, when I asked where they were going I was told they were following the fox. In the same small field was a bull and and an in-calf cow about to take off. Long story short, I f.cked them out of it and told them to clear off, a few days later a delegation arrived to apologies.....blah blah. Told them to eff of aswell. To sum up, from my own first hand experience they have no respect for me and I have no time or respect for them, but I do own the land!!!

Yeah, that kinda sums them up. Was checking cattle on the uncles outside farm last year and spotted the hounds passing me down the field the. heard a load of galloping behind me. Half a dozen horse came over the neighbours ditch . One stopped to untangle his horse from the wire and proceeded to f**k me and saying how he will be sending me vet bill for his horse. He was a lucky boy I didn't swing for him. Place looked like a point to point course after them. I was fairly tempted to get in the car drive to his house and do doughnuts round his lawn.

As the lads above say don't let the f**kers anywhere near your place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

grazeaway wrote: »

I've no axe to grind in this issue but I feel thats a bit presumptuous of all hunts.

I dont hunt, never did, never will. Neither do any of my family. Horses are a waste of grass to me but at the same time I see how much enjoyment people get out of it, young families especially. There's f*ck all to do in the Winter months around here and this is a great outlet. I know families scattered all over the world and the only thing they get to do together is hunt over Christmas.

And as for this "Hurray Henry" image. To be blunt thats complete b*lls**t. Vast majority of the hunt in my area are farmers and their immediate family.

That same hunt have a crew following them noting anywhere they've knocked or damaged fences and its all repaired the next day.
    They kinked the electric fence at the gate handle here the last day and they were on the following day and it was replaced.

Now I'm not saying "Their all the finest, let them in". Just as nobody should say "Their all pricks, kick 'em out".
    But ask around and see what rep a particular hunt have. If its a bad one then your doing the sport a service by stopping them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Irishmale

I also have no axe to grind. I know plenty who hunts, their friends and their families. I know about most of what they are at and seen them at it and I would not let them in. I know farming families with kids hunting and family members hunting that wouldn't let them in themselves. My recommendation is not to let them in. Why would you? They make a mess and there is no need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

grazeaway wrote: »
    Yeah, that kinda sums them up. Was checking cattle on the uncles outside farm last year and spotted the hounds passing me down the field the. heard a load of galloping behind me. Half a dozen horse came over the neighbours ditch . One stopped to untangle his horse from the wire and proceeded to f**k me and saying how he will be sending me vet bill for his horse. He was a lucky boy I didn't swing for him. Place looked like a point to point course after them. I was fairly tempted to get in the car drive to his house and do doughnuts round his lawn.

Jeez, lads, there's some quare thick feckers hunting in your areas!

I've hunted off and on over the years with the Tipps and that behaviour would NEVER be tolerated. If someone said that to a farmer, they would be banned for life! And should be!

While I am not hunting now, I know that most of those who are, put huge effort into "keeping farmers onside". A lot are farmers anyway. Those that aren't, run point to points, hunter trials and other events, where landowners are invited and looked after. It is maddening to hear some of the stories on here. In fairness, if dealt with properly, most farmers would be ok with the hunt, in my experience. But it must come from the Hunt leadership all the way down.

For kids, crossing the country on a pony is one of the greatest thrills they can get. I will admit to "spying" on how others farm while I was at it. You can always learn from looking:)

To be honest I don't really care too much if people want to go horse riding or not it not my thing but if they want to then do so on their own land or use a race course. Why should I have to provide for and pay for some else's fun. Whatever about the hounds traveling the land they very seldom take any notice of the cattle (sheep farmers may think different) I see no reason to have someone else horses treat my place like point to point. What is the point of maintaining boundaries, setting trees, hedgerow and spending hours cleaning ditches and putting up fences, gates and wires not mind taking cattle off the grazing land to let some stranger make s**t of it?

Over the years we have had to waste loads of time and effort repairing after them.

Sure I could always invite some drunken teenagers over to spray graffiti and trash the garden. Would hate to stop them having fun.:D

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    Jeez, lads, there's some quare thick feckers hunting in your areas!

I've hunted off and on over the years with the Tipps and that behaviour would NEVER be tolerated. If someone said that to a farmer, they would be banned for life! And should be!

While I am not hunting now, I know that most of those who are, put huge effort into "keeping farmers onside". A lot are farmers anyway. Those that aren't, run point to points, hunter trials and other events, where landowners are invited and looked after. It is maddening to hear some of the stories on here. In fairness, if dealt with properly, most farmers would be ok with the hunt, in my experience. But it must come from the Hunt leadership all the way down.

For kids, crossing the country on a pony is one of the greatest thrills they can get. I will admit to "spying" on how others farm while I was at it. You can always learn from looking:)

Farmers in this area are treated with the greatest respect. Permission always sought and granted, fences always repaired by a dedicated team FRS following. Point to point, hunt ball tickets arrive in the post. Love watching the hounds working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

We had hunts that came onto the lands a number of times in the past without permission, one time they wanted to bring all their horses and hounds through the yard in front of our house, was a child at the time, father was at the mart, mother told them to go another route and they could get onto the road - just two gates to open and close, could they use the gates - no left holes in ditches, including onto the road and did a repair job that left my father angry.

Just to add to my earlier story, when I stopped them a few years ago, the head of the hunt a woman whom I did not know, knew who I was and whose land they were on and knew they had no permission, what was worst, the whole hunt knew I was not happy and had stopped, yet when talking to the head of the hunt, two of them proceeded to gallop off down the field out of sight which was being very ignorant and disrespectful.

I don't even like going on neighbours land without a reason to be there as it is not my land to be going onto.
    I don't know how people can feel they have a right to act in a way that makes one feel they are being treated as a lesser class, that what they want to do with their property is their own business and if it is refusing the hunt, it doesn't mean one should use a route that maybe they might not be discovered and then pretend they didn't know whose land they were on, yet they hunt in the area every year.

It doesn't do the hunt any good when some choose to act like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Farmers in this area are treated with the greatest respect. Permission always sought and granted, fences always repaired by a dedicated team FRS following. Point to point, hunt ball tickets arrive in the post. Love watching the hounds working[/QUOTE

This is what happens in my area. Farmers are treated with bad manners and broken promises. Permission is often not sought, they just plough on regardless. Fences are usually not repaired and if they are it is a token effort by a dedicated team which consists of a couple of young lads who are still plastered from the piss up which follows "the hunt".

As for watching the hounds working, yeah it's great crack watching animals being chased for miles until they can run no more and are ripped to shreds.