Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top Ten 'Fairways Less Travelled'

• 09-12-2013 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭

My blog series on Hidden Gems Fairways Less Travelled (thanks only1stevo) is kicking off today. There will be 20 courses in all (10 parkland and 10 links), covered over the next 2-3 weeks, and there are free fourballs up for grabs. If you're not in...

Here are the first two courses (at No. 10)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Think you should do a ranking for the 9 hole courses in Ireland, think we dismiss a lot of them as not proper courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

mike12 wrote: »
    Think you should do a ranking for the 9 hole courses in Ireland, think we dismiss a lot of them as not proper courses.

Would very much like to but haven't played enough of them. A couple in Donegal, Mulranny and Carrickmines is the sum total of my 9 hole experiences.

No Connemara Isles, Borris, Spanish Point, Gweedore, Glengarriff, Helen's Bay, Rush... and those are just the ones that first come to mind.

I was contacted by Golf Digest Ireland about a top ten - but never heard anything further. I'd be interested to know if they ever produced a list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭hades

Fairways Less Travelled

Is that a list of every hole i ever played?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

My blog series on Hidden Gems Fairways Less Travelled (thanks only1stevo) is kicking off today. There will be 20 courses in all (10 parkland and 10 links), covered over the next 2-3 weeks, and there are free fourballs up for grabs. If you're not in...

Delighted to see that barbed wire fence as soon as I went to the blog

Free fourball for Esker Hills up for grabs
    www.theirishgolfblog.com

Would be interested to hear feedback on Esker Hills from anyone on the Boards Society trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

I was supposed to play Esker Hills last Saturday but couldn't as I was ill.

I like playing there and there are some spectacular holes but wouldn't fancy it every week as there are a lot of punishing climbs!

I like the 6th and 7th down along the water but I hate the 9th, par 3 that feels you are just hitting it along the road and the green is in an awful spot, stuck on the side of it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Free fourball for Esker Hills up for grabs
    www.theirishgolfblog.com

Would be interested to hear feedback on Esker Hills from anyone on the Boards Society trip.

Fantastic course, love playing there. We had beginners to low single digit golfers there for our outing and I'm glad to say that everyone loved it.

There is a bit of a climb between some holes alright but nothing that would leave you too wrecked, the battery trolley got a workout though! Good mix of open and tight holes and every time i've played it its been in great condition.

Really liked the course Kevin, it wasn't far off freezing the day we played it and it held up very well. Some really challenging tee shots and approach shots scattered along the course but as you said in the blog, it's not too difficult.
    It's one of those courses, having played it only once, that I'd love another spin around.

A few of us will be playing it again on Dec 22nd.
    If I win the 4 ball from the blog, there'll be 3 happy posters benefiting from it on the day.

I like the 6th and 7th down along the water but I hate the 9th, par 3 that feels you are just hitting it along the road and the green is in an awful spot, stuck on the side of it.

I don't remember the 9th - is that where you're below the green for your tee shot? I certainly don't recall any bad holes (although the backdrop of houses to the 10th green annoyed me - unnecessary)
    PARlance wrote: »
    Really liked the course Kevin, it wasn't far off freezing the day we played it and it held up very well. Some really challenging tee shots and approach shots scattered along the course but as you said in the blog, it's not too difficult.
    It's one of those courses, having played it only once, that I'd love another spin around.

A few of us will be playing it again on Dec 22nd.
    If I win the 4 ball from the blog, there'll be 3 happy posters benefiting from it on the day.

Yea, have to say I'd love to get back there. I was supposed to play in April but had to cancel last minute. I'll be drawing winners or Monday and will post the names on here.

Yes Kevin the 9th tee box is below the hole and it's a shot to nothing. Left you're in long grass and right you're down on a road. Poor hole on an otherwise excellent course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Fantastic course, love playing there. We had beginners to low single digit golfers there for our outing and I'm glad to say that everyone loved it.

There is a bit of a climb between some holes all right but nothing that would leave you too wrecked, the battery trolley got a workout though! Good mix of open and tight holes and every time i've played it its been in great condition.

We were all panicked over the weather - as, was due to snow. In the end, it was a perfect day for a game. The course was in great condition for that time of year. Much to be said for the sand based greens. Only thing - they can be impractically quick in summer.

Played with Charlie there, first time ever meeting - great day out. Was only back from an injury - so not my finest day on a course.

Kevin - thanks for posting a photo of the first - never wanted to see the back trees there again - long story - ball 1 OBB after Charlie saying go over bunker on right. I'm there "jaysus" - Charlie must hit the ball miles.
    Anyway - he was dead right and he does. And he gave me great lines all day. Thanks C.

A great course - not the easiest place to find. You arrive in
    Tullamore
    thinking - grand, here now. But it is a good trip out and easy to miss signs. ;)

The course - is top notch - great character to so many holes. You need to be clever off the tee and in reality, many of the holes require you to have played the holes. Lovely people in
    Offaly
    - and nice to see ranger out - not just moving things along , and not there to be a quiet menace. Helping you and guiding you. He told me what club to play off the infamous 14th. Of course - I was young and even more stupid - hit driver and he gave out to me (lol).

So many great holes - it is the closest thing to an inland links I have played - very clever piece of land to pick for a golf course. Of course - many golfer do not enjoy courses that are so up and down. There are blind shots too and strong dog legs. This again , is not something that all golfer like - particularly if you like your parkland and the holes that do exactly what they say on the card. It is the sort of of course you need to know the greens and even the landing areas, even the side of the landing area you need to aim at. You can be blocked out very easy.

All in all - I'd say it is a bit too hard for the average society golfer. Very enjoyable for a good player. If you are wide you are looking for balls - but you are looking for them on the side of a cliff. :)

I could be wrong on this - but - i find that the type of greens on Esker Hills get very damaged by pitch marks. I've seen this on some of the more modern sand based green. One for the greenkeeper.

The only thing I'd say - if I'm being hard , is the final loop and finish is not as memorable as the first 2 sets of sixes.

Very welcoming in the place. They know they need visitors - they welcome them. You don't feel like an inconvenience. You can see why Shane has such a great short game and playing top class links was no problem to him.

I'd say if you were feeling, unloved, tired, emotional, man-flu-ish, or are just sick of walking - you would need a cart.

Will be back.

Number 8 (x two) is up on the blog. Two free fourballs to give away this time.

lads next courses are up and more freebies on the go.

My own little gem is up. :)

http://www.theirishgolfblog.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Nice one mentioning Corballis. Always play there a lot in the summer at first light, can be back before most people are out of bed on a Saturday.I've never ever hit a decent shot on the 4th and it's only a sand wedge. I can't explain it. I always start well there, and the bam shank, blade. I think the high tee box scrambles me.

There are some absolutely silly holes at Corballis, 2nd, par three 17th with that idiotic double tier green. But some classics too. The 3rd through the 7th are great links holes. 7th is one of my favorite holes, the should make it longer. 12th 13th are quirky holes too.

If I could pitch another underrated but cheap links, Rosslare. Seems to be overlooked, but a classic old school links on great links land, straight up and back. Maybe not technically a 'hidden gem' but definitely less travelled than it should be imo.

Wohooooo! Won this, thanks Kevin. Looking forward to playing my first ever links courses!!

I'll stick the kettle on whenever you're coming down to Mulranny :)

I was supposed to play Esker Hills last Saturday but couldn't as I was ill.

Andy - a small but hopefully helpful tip... add your email address to your answers on the blog!!!

Free four balls at Rossmore and Corballis (ends tonight) and also Dundrum House

Have yourself a merry little Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Won the Rossmore and Corballis :) Thanks Kevin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    Won the Rossmore and Corballis :) Thanks Kevin

Well done........you know that you'll have to post a hole by hole review now.

Who won the free golf for the one that closed on 27th December?

Did any of ye do the big quiz on Kevin's blog?

Who won the free golf for the one that closed on 27th December?

Sorry Andy,
    I was delayed on the Dundrum winner - blog now up, as is winner of the Golf Quiz.

I'll post the 5th ranked courses in next day or so.

:-( wasnt me anyway. Definitely got the last one wrong. Technically it was sort of right but still wrong lol.

Just posted the 5th Ranked courses (with free fourballs to both courses up for grabs)

Last day for the free four balls to Portarlington and Cruit Island...

... maybe it's the start of the New Year so things are a bit slow, but only 30 entries so far so decent odds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Neil Andblomee

Last day for the free four balls to Portarlington and Cruit Island...

... maybe it's the start of the New Year so things are a bit slow, but only 30 entries so far so decent odds.
    Or maybe it's just the courses in question. :pac::D

Ouch!

If you've nothing constructive to add to a topic I'd rather you didn't post at all thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭onlyfinewine

Not to look a gift horse in the mouth, but if the fourballs were separated I think it might be more manageable. I have played Portarlington a number of times and found it a fine course and most enjoyable with a decent and friendly clubhouse, but the thought of driving to Donegal no matter how good the course would not entice me when you add in the cost of accommodation and fuel?

p.s. Your blog is much enjoyed keep it going!

Not to look a gift horse in the mouth, but if the fourballs were separated I think it might be more manageable. I have played Portarlington a number of times and found it a fine course and most enjoyable with a decent and friendly clubhouse, but the thought of driving to Donegal no matter how good the course would not entice me when you add in the cost of accommodation and fuel?

p.s. Your blog is much enjoyed keep it going!

You can always give one or both away as presents. Or make a holiday of it! Go up, play Cruit Island for free, then head west to Narin & Portnoo or try east for Rosapenna, Portsalon, Ballyliffin...

Can't say I'd considered mileage etc. when I was putting the list together.

The top 3 will be separated out (i.e. 6 courses individually).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Yes very good quiz and I see that I pipped everybody else and won it. That's the only thing I won last year cos my golf has gone to the dogs as I hardly get out anymore.

^ Well done :-)

If you get the golf for free that goes some way to off setting the other expenses. I'd definitely make use of them. Hint hint :p

I won the Bearna & Mulranny ones so we are planning on playing Bearna on a saturday, staying somewhere near Clew Bay that night and play Mulranny on the sunday if possible. Make a weekend of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

I won the Bearna & Mulranny ones so we are planning on playing Bearna on a saturday, staying somewhere near Clew Bay that night and play Mulranny on the sunday if possible. Make a weekend of it!

mulrany wont be playable in th short term - badly damaged by weather last weekend

sorry to hear that, lot of courses damaged with that weather.

I had not planned on playing them until the summer as well though.

Sligored wrote: »
    mulrany wont be playable in th short term - badly damaged by weather last weekend

Badly damaged structurally or just with rocks, debris washed onto course etc ?

Two more free fourballs for No.4 ranked courses.

www.theirishgolfblog.com

That link isn't working unfortunately.

I'd say its a link to a video that was flying around Facebook yesterday. If it is, it's a video off Mulranny beech rather than the golf course.

The course itself shouldn't have been too badly affected as 8 out of 9 holes are far enough away from the coastline to be a problem I'd guess.

Will call tomorrow out of curiosity or extp might know. He's a member I think.

Not sure how to send photos I seen on Facebook to here - they are on Enda lonergans Facebook page , anyone who wants to see the photos otherwise can dm me for a friend request as they are on my page also .

Sligored wrote: »
    Not sure how to send photos I seen on Facebook to here - they are on Enda lonergans Facebook page , anyone who wants to see the photos otherwise can dm me for a friend request as they are on my page also .

Crap, must be worse than I thought so.
    I was hoping it was that video of the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

I'd love to win the fourball, ever since I got a look at the curragh course when buying clubs down there I've been planning to go out this year. The scenery down there looks amazing

I've just gone and won the green fees for Rosslare and Royal Curragh :D

Both are courses I've never played before so I'll look forward to getting out on them a bit later in the year. Thanks a million Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

I've just gone and won the green fees for Rosslare and Royal Curragh :D

Both are courses I've never played before so I'll look forward to getting out on them a bit later in the year. Thanks a million Kevin.

Congrats, be sure to write back , interested to see what the Curragh is like:)

Need a lift Andy?!!

Andy, green fees went in the post today.
    Charlie, my home is on the way to Rosslare, so looks like Andy only needs one more to make up the fourball.

Blog up for the 3rd (parkland) best Fairways Less Travelled. Green Fees up for grabs, and other stuff!
    Blog is here

Andy, green fees went in the post today.
    Charlie, my home is on the way to Rosslare, so looks like Andy only needs one more to make up the fourball.

Blog up for the 3rd (parkland) best Fairways Less Travelled. Green Fees up for grabs, and other stuff!
    Blog is here

I'll Play Rosslare any day If you need someone.

In fact post up when going we could pay for another four make a day of it. And night :p

I think I'll be waiting until the temperatures are at least above 10 degrees before venturing to Rosslare. I reckon I will have a few volunteers to join me but if I need help making up a fourball I will make sure I ask here first :-)