Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gob on the street ? - Then cough up £500

• 09-12-2013 2:30am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

Enfield borough council in North London has passed a byelaw allowing their wardens to prosecute and impose fines of up to £500 on those caught spitting in public spaces.

People who spit in the street in Enfield face prosecution and fines of up to £500 from December 8 after Enfield Council's historic byelaw was confirmed by the government banning the practice.

Link:

Well done to Enfield council, thats what I say.

I'd like to see such a law in place over here and enforced nationwide.

On the spot fines of €50 for a first offence rising to thousands or a holiday in the Joy. No excuses.

Spitting is a grossly disgusting practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

It would just be one more unenforced law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

I'd rather lick my own spit back up off the ground than pay the fine!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

humbert wrote: »
    It would just be one more unenforced law.

Thats why I said this.....
    Lapin wrote: »

I'd rather lick my own spit back up off the ground than pay the fine!

Just listening to a phone in on LBC Radio on the topic and that was actually one of the suggestions made.

I'd rather those who refuse to pay were made to lick everything within a radius of one metre from their oral deposits.

Even if the area contains deposits from elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

Depends on the spit, what if I have a very good reason to spit on the ground, like I don't want the gum in mouth anymore?

Edit: Jaysus the sarcasm wasn't detected then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'm in two minds about it. While out cycling or running I tend to offload fluids in this manner a fair but, but would never do it while just walking down the town...
    Depends on the spit, what if I have a very good reason to spit on the ground, like I don't want the gum in mouth anymore?

that's not really a good reason though, is it?

Another genuine reason for spitting is...
    If you've just sucked a penis and he jizzed in your mouth but you don't want to swallow it surely you should be allowed spit it out on the street without being fined

Gum should be put in the bin anyway.

Those who spit their gum out in the street should be fined 4 times as much. Both for spitting and littering.

If only to offset some of the thousands it costs annually to clean gum off the pavements.

Another genuine reason for spitting is...
    If you've just sucked a penis and he jizzed in your mouth but you don't want to swallow it surely you should be allowed spit it out on the street without being fined

Yep, just carry on doing that in the street. A spitting fine will be the least of your concerns before too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

would sneezing be ok ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Thats why I said this.....
    Well, I'm sure that once they get wind that you'd like it enforced it will be so.

would sneezing be ok ?

Of course. Sneezing is an involuntary action that cannot be helped.
    Unlike spitting.

Spitting into a tissue and putting that in a bin is perfectly acceptable, just as one would do after sneezing.

humbert wrote: »
    Well, I'm sure that once they get wind that you'd like it enforced it will be so.

Its not about me.

I started the thread to see if anyone else would like to see it enforced.

It being a discussion forum and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Sometimes I get hayfever and need to spit when nobody's looking. Also, is this the most pressing issue the council had to deal with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Stupid idea.

banquo wrote: »
    Sometimes I get hayfever and need to spit when nobody's looking.

Use a tissue.
    banquo wrote: »
    Also, is this the most pressing issue the council had to deal with?

No. But its still an issue nonetheless, so the the council are right to deal with it.

SV wrote: »
    Stupid idea.

Why?

I remember people saying something similar about other laws that were introduced in the past, but are now almost universally accepted and obeyed without question.

Why?

I don't see the point to it. Especially in this country when something like that just gets washed away anyway.

Fines just because you find something disgusting? Ah stop.

I don't see the point to it. Especially in this country when something like that just gets washed away anyway.

Fines just because you find something disgusting? Ah stop.

So do you think its ok to drop litter because in our windy climate it will just get blown away?

We have fines in place for those who do litter (although they are sadly seldom enforced) because people find it disgusting.

By your reasoning, we should allow people to let their dogs shít on the street because it will just get washed away anyway.

So do you think its ok to drop litter because in our windy climate it will just get blown away?

We have fines in place for those who do litter (although they are sadly seldom enforced) because people find it disgusting.

By your reasoning, we should allow people to let their dogs shít on the street because it will just get washed away anyway.

lol, what?
    Rubbish is not the same thing as spit, which is saliva.

and no, Dog shít is actually quite dangerous.

None of them are comparable.
    by your reasoning there we should fine dog owners for letting their dogs piss on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Simi

Spit isn't the same. Spit will dissolve in a matter of hours. A plastic bottle could last for thousands of years.

I rarely if ever spit on the ground. But if a fly goes in my mouth or I'm choking on something, I'm not going to hold it until I can find somewhere private to spit!

lol, what?
    Rubbish is not the same thing as spit, which is saliva.

and no, Dog shít is actually quite dangerous.

None of them are comparable.
    by your reasoning there we should fine dog owners for letting their dogs piss on the street.

I'm not suggesting that human spit and dog shít are the same thing.

I'm simply saying both are disgusting.

As for dogs pissing. That is an instinctive practice whereby they mark out their territory and as such it could be regarded as an involuntary action. It would therefore be impractical to punish dog owners for it.

Spitting however is a completely conscious undertaking without any reason for it.

I'm not suggesting that human spit and dog shít are the same thing.

I'm simply saying both are disgusting.

As for dogs pissing. That is an instinctive practice whereby they mark out their territory and as such it could be regarded as an involuntary action. It would therefore be impractical to punish dog owners for it.

Spitting however is a completely conscious undertaking without any reason for it.

both are disgusting, one is dangerous.
    One leaves a lasting mark ,smells and transfers to other things easily, the other last a short while regardless of conditions.

Fines because you find something disgusting are a ridiculous notion.
    and there can be plenty of reasons for spitting, to say it's done for no reason is just..what? :confused:

Simi wrote: »
    Spit isn't the same. Spit will dissolve in a matter of hours.

That shouldn't excuse the act though.
    Simi wrote: »
    I rarely if ever spit on the ground. But if a fly goes in my mouth or I'm choking on something, I'm not going to hold it until I can find somewhere private to spit!

I doubt anyone would try to impose a fine on some poor bastard choking on the street.

I'd like to think they would offer them some assistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

If you've ever been to South Korea it's done everywhere, by everyone all the time .
    You'll see old ladys or pretty girls even just walking along hocking their guts up. It's horrible.
    Just part of the culture...not sure why it's necessary....maybe better out than in.

Would never see it enforced or want to see it enforced in Ireland.

Fines because you find something disgusting are a ridiculous notion.
    and there can be plenty of reasons for spitting, to say it's done for no reason is just..what? :confused:

There are a group of young fellas who congregate outside a shop near where I live all day every day.

The pavement there is constantly covered in gobs and spits.

It is bloody disgusting and there is absolutely no need for it.

A bit of law enforcement here wouldn't go astray. If only such a law were in place.

SeantheMan wrote: »
    If you've ever been to South Korea it's done everywhere, by everyone all the time .
    You'll see old ladys or pretty girls even just walking along hocking their guts up. It's horrible.
    Just part of the culture...not sure why it's necessary....maybe better out than in.

Would never see it enforced or want to see it enforced in Ireland.

Different folkways always apply to different countries and we make our laws to adapt to our culture.

Try spitting within sight of a police officer in Florida and see how you get on.

There are a group of young fellas who congregate outside a shop near where I live all day every day.

The pavement there is constantly covered in gobs and spits.

It is bloody disgusting and there is absolutely no need for it.

A bit of law enforcement here wouldn't go astray. If only such a law were in place.
    Different folkways always apply to different countries and we make our laws to adapt to our culture.

Try spitting within sight of a police officer in Florida and see how you get on.

So have you ever considered that it's just in their sub culture for these fellas to spit on the pavement? Just seeing as it seems like you're fine with it if it's part of culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

No excuses..

Fly in your mouth? Choking? Dying of a cold and need to get rid of phelgm (icky but sadly an occasional issue)? There are plenty of excuses

COYVB wrote: »
    Fly in your mouth? Choking? Dying of a cold and need to get rid of phelgm (icky but sadly an occasional issue)? There are plenty of excuses

No, you should always have a tissue on hand to get rid of it.
    Otherwise you're getting a fine, spit inspectors have heard all the excuses, and none of them work.

So have you ever considered that it's just in their sub culture for these fellas to spit on the pavement? Just seeing as it seems like you're fine with it if it's part of culture.

Subcultures deviate from the norms of society.

I'm fine with people in South Korea spitting all over the place if they want.
    I don't live there and don't have to put up with it.

In Ireland however, spitting is not generally considered acceptable behaviour and I see no harm in introducing legislation to curtail it in public places.

Let people spit away to their hearts content in the comfort of their own homes.

As for defending it as some kind of subculture. That holds about as much sway as the argument that drink driving is part of Irish life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

That shouldn't excuse the act though.

I doubt anyone would try to impose a fine on some poor bastard choking on the street.

I'd like to think they would offer them some assistance.

We live in a bureaucracy, who decides when a particular act of spitting is ignored? Even if someone is choking?

COYVB wrote: »

Mitigating circumstances can apply to such situations.

We live in a bureaucracy, who decides when a particular act of spitting is ignored? Even if someone is choking?

The bureaucrats I suppose. Given that we live in a bureaucracy.

In fairness there is a big difference between casually spitting on the street and turning blue due to a lack of oxygen.

Subcultures deviate from the norms of society.

I'm fine with people in South Korea spitting all over the place if they want.
    I don't live there and don't have to put up with it.

In Ireland however, spitting is not generally considered acceptable behaviour and I see no harm in introducing legislation to curtail it in public places.

Let people spit away to their hearts content in the comfort of their own homes.

As for defending it as some kind of subculture. That holds about as much sway as the argument that drink driving is part of Irish life.

So basically you want laws against things you don't agree with and/or find disgusting.
    Not a world I'd like to live in.

If it was everyone who eats bacon and cabbage would be locked up.

Next people will be fined for picking their nose in public because its disgusting!

So basically you want laws against things you don't agree with and/or find disgusting.

No. I want to see the unhygienic practice of people openly and casually spitting on pavements, walls etc in public spaces prohibited.
    As I said above, let people go home if they feel the need to do it. Or even each others homes where they can compare notes if they wish.

There are many laws in place that I don't agree with but I still adhere to them, just as there are many other things I would like to see banned, but don't openly call for it because they are generally accepted in our society.
    Not a world I'd like to live in.

Nor would I.
    If it was everyone who eats bacon and cabbage would be locked up.

You're missing out.

Next people will be fined for picking their nose in public because its disgusting!

Now there's a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I always thought that spitting was illegal anyway, all the way back to the TB days as it spreads infection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

You're in ahead of me, MadsL. Spitting on the street has been illegal in Ireland for many, many years, since the pre-BCG vaccination days when Ireland was the world epicentre of tuberculosis infection.
    Spitting phlegm on to the street is a primary method of spreading TB. Now that new antibiotic-resistant forms of TB are a growing danger, it's time to enforce the law again.
    If you have a roll of kitchen paper at home you're well capable of bringing along a couple of pieces to hawk and spit into, rather than sharing your infectious mucus with the rest of us.

Let's round up those who dare get asthma and lock them up as menaces to society then.

Smokers are already criminals in many senses, might as well throw them in too.

Garda units outside hospitals around the country, waiting for those with respitory conditions. Breathalyse them-> if they have one, sorry guv, back to the hospital or off to the joy with you.

Anyone with dodgy lungs must be removed from society or destroyed.

It's the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

If people want to spit when they're out they should be made carry around a little spittle bag.Then we can collect all of our spit and bring it to a water filtration facility to recycle it and then we'll not only have renewable clean water but a new booming industry in the country.Problem solved.

Let's round up those who dare get asthma and lock them up as menaces to society then.

I know you're joking, Slacker, but to take you seriously for a second, as an asthmatic I don't want the risk of TB from gobbets of phlegm on the street and tracked into my home on my shoes.
    It's really not a Big Brother question, this; it's a question of how civilised people live together in our society. We shouldn't be doing anything that shares infection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I'm all for this. There is nothing as gross as having to jump over big gobs of phlegm on the paths. People are utterly revolting at times. If you have to spit in public (and why would you, most of us never need to), do it into a tissue!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Soon they'll have fines for farting, sneezing and talking too loud. More and more laws. Ireland is becoming the ultimate nanny state as it is...

Brave attempt to whataboutery-divert a question about health. But once again I say, spitting phlegm on the street spreads disease. I sceith a chéile a mhaireann na daoine.

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Ireland is becoming the ultimate nanny state as it is...

No it isn't.

And anyway, there is nothing Nannyish about about enabling the provision of legislation to allow law enforcers to tackle disgusting needless anti social behaviour.

Others have said there are laws in place already. If so I wonder what the penalties are for breaching them and do they need to be updated.

Either way, I'd like to see them being enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Spitting on the street for any reason is disgusting. If you're the sort of person who thinks you're going to need to spit (hayfever or whatever) then carry some tissues, discreetly use them and then bin them. If you're just walking along and hock out a pile of phlegm onto the street because you feel like it, then you're a skanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Enfield borough council in North London has passed a byelaw allowing their wardens to prosecute and impose fines of up to £500 on those caught spitting in public spaces.

People who spit in the street in Enfield face prosecution and fines of up to £500 from December 8 after Enfield Council's historic byelaw was confirmed by the government banning the practice.

Link:

Well done to Enfield council, thats what I say.

On the spot fines of €50 for a first offence rising to thousands or a holiday in the Joy. No excuses.

Spitting is a grossly disgusting practice.

Instead of adding new laws i'd prefer the current laws to be enforced first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

If you hang a Compact Disk from your ear they cannot fine you for this.