Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saudi Arabia to expel up to 2 million workers

• 08-12-2013 12:38pm

The Saudi solution to high unemployment, we can only be thankful that countries where Irish workers have fled to don't adopt similar policies, or that Ireland hasn't deported all the EE's.

Teodros Adhanom, the Ethiopian foreign minister, has turned to Twitter almost every night for the last three weeks to tersely report the number of his countrymen expelled from Saudi Arabia.
    “Last night arrivals from Saudi reached 100,620,” he wrote on Friday, describing a fraction of one of the largest deportations in recent Middle East history.
    Riyadh has said it wants to forcibly expel as many as 2m of the foreign workers, including hundreds of thousands of Ethiopians, Somalis, Indians, Pakistanis and Bangladeshis, who make up around a third of the country’s 30m population.
    At home, the exodus of illegal workers is being seen as the kingdom’s most radical labour market experiment yet. With one in four young Saudi males out of work, analysts applaud Riyadh’s determination to tackle the problem, but doubt the crackdown will achieve its objective, as Saudi nationals are unlikely to apply for menial jobs.

original story on FT but behind paywall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Good stuff. Now all the unemployed Saudis will be able to get jobs sweeping the streets, mixing concrete and cleaning Hotel rooms. I reckon they have it sussed.

The Saudis aren't the arrogant looking lads marching around in their white robes with their wives and kids following behind at five paces are they? The ones with all the oil money?Never struck me as the mixing concrete types. Maybe they fancy some excercise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

"illegal workers"
    So, just enforcing the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Good stuff. Now all the unemployed Saudis will be able to get jobs sweeping the streets, mixing concrete and cleaning Hotel rooms. I reckon they have it sussed.

The Saudis aren't the arrogant looking lads marching around in their white robes with their wives and kids following behind at five paces are they? The ones with all the oil money?Never struck me as the mixing concrete types. Maybe they fancy some excercise.

I don't think every Saudi is a prince or oil tycoon.

Pretty sure they've turned out a manual labourer or two in their existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Great Idea I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I'd nearly say they'd be better off out of the regressive hole that is Saudi Arabia. Medieval cesspit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The Saudi solution to high unemployment, we can only be thankful that countries where Irish workers have fled to don't adopt similar policies, or that Ireland hasn't deported all the EE's.

http%3A%2F%2Fpeakoil.com%2Fpublicpolicy%2Fsaudi-arabia-to-expel-up-to-2-million-workers#axzz2mt05tQvV

Fled sounds a bit dramatic.

Seachmall wrote: »

They've turned out a few brutal pilots anyway..

Fled sounds a bit dramatic.
    Well, they didn't stay around to sample the delights of life on the dole or to take minimum wage jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Seachmall wrote: »

The "Saudi" in Saudi Arabia refers to the Saud family. They're the rich ones. The normal Arabians are a different kettle of fish altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭kenobee

Some have to pay big bribes in their home countries to get the job. It can be devastating financially if they are forced home prematurely.

snubbleste wrote: »
    "illegal workers"
    A bit of a double standard though, they were happy to tolerate them during the good times now they just want rid!

Read in the Times today that they were often quite forgetful when it came to actually paying them for their hours of drudgery. Another fine chapter in the Illustrious history of Saudi. "We're done exploiting ye, now feck off."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

They were "guest workers". They were never going to get citizenship or permanent residence. Germany keep its "gastarbeiters" aka guest workers after they helped rebuild their country after WW2, although they never plan on letting them stay in the country. This has caused massive problems. Turks who made us most of the guest workers have ridiculous high unemployment rates, very few make it to third level education and are a massive burden on the german tax payer. Although part of this is the germany governments fault, a lot it is the work ethic of the workers.

If Ireland hadnt been handing out citizenship like their was no tomorrow. We probably wont have unemployment rates of 30% plus with certain nationalities in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

http%3A%2F%2Fpeakoil.com%2Fpublicpolicy%2Fsaudi-arabia-to-expel-up-to-2-million-workers#axzz2mt05tQvV

Typical repressive xenophobic scumbaggery from a vile regime.

hfallada wrote: »
    They were "guest workers". They were never going to get citizenship or permanent residence. Germany keep its "gastarbeiters" aka guest workers after they helped rebuild their country after WW2, although they never plan on letting them stay in the country. This has caused massive problems. Turks who made us most of the guest workers have ridiculous high unemployment rates, very few make it to third level education and are a massive burden on the german tax payer. Although part of this is the germany governments fault, a lot it is the work ethic of the workers.

If Ireland hadnt been handing out citizenship like their was no tomorrow. We probably wont have unemployment rates of 30% plus with certain nationalities in Ireland.

You might want to read up on free movement within the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

If a European country was to do the same what word would we see used repeatedly... you guessed it... the word RACIST.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

If they are illegal I see no issue. If they do have a visa then they dont have to renew it and can send them out then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

How is this even possible, I mean, Saudi Albania only has a population of 3 million people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ha, the chances of the average Saudi citizen applying for any type of menial job are nil to none. The reason they have 10 million foreigners in the country to sweep the streets, make the tea, mind the babies, teach the children, build the roads, drive the taxis is because the locals wouldn't be caught dead doing so. And, as long as the authorities bribe the populace with grants and goodies to ensure they won't revolt, then they won't have to. Idiotic move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Only 11 percent of workers in the private sector are Saudi nationals, the sheer laziness is mind boggling. Sweeping a street, driving a taxi or cooking a meal is beneath them

About time they get off their oil rich holes and started working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

snubbleste wrote: »
    "illegal workers"
    Actually, it's even more laughable; they're most likely kicking the people out that couldn't leave as said people had their passports removed from them when they 1st came to SA and have worked in SA as slaves for the past while... :pac:
    kenobee wrote: »
    Some have to pay big bribes in their home countries to get the job. It can be devastating financially if they are forced home prematurely.
    Devastating financially regardless, as most end up in jobs that pay sweet feck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

They've turned out a few brutal pilots anyway..

Unnecessary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

According to wiki:
    Saudi's population is estimated to consist of 16m citizens, 9m registered foreign expatriates and 2m illegal immigrants
    That's a huge amount of furriners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Unnecessary.

Ah stop picking things out to be offended over.

It'll be the women next when that doesn't work - no jobs for women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

hfallada wrote: »

Any proof that the bolded part is true? I'm going to say no.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Dai John

At one time taxi-driving was a protected occupation, only Saudis were allowed to do this job. Aside from that, I would say they woke up one morning and realised that they are vastly outnumbered in their own country, and many of these are from countries where there are internal problems. There are many factions within Islam fighting each other to complicate things further, but they feel they have to allow Muslims make their Hadj and visit Mecca and Medina (this is how many enter illegally). Yes they are paranoid but with so many counties collapsing around them why wouldn't they be ? There were hundreds if not thousands killed during trouble at Mecca a few years ago, the oil wealth of Saudi makes it very attractive place to take over and there are only a few centres of population despite it's huge size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    I'd nearly say they'd be better off out of the regressive hole that is Saudi Arabia. Medieval cesspit

Well said.

A nation void of liberties, ruled by uneducated Bedouin who a century ago contributed nothing to the wellbeing of mankind. The only thing they contribute now just so happens to be the lifeblood of the industrial world - oil. And that too only because foreigners are there to do the dirty work for them.

Well said.

A nation void of liberties, ruled by uneducated Bedouin who a century ago contributed nothing to the wellbeing of mankind. The only thing they contribute now just so happens to be the lifeblood of the industrial world - oil. And that too only because foreigners are there to do the dirty work for them.

.....really? Bad and all as they are, the notion they're uneducated is laughable.

Nodin wrote: »
    .....really? Bad and all as they are, the notion they're uneducated is laughable.

Well if you think educated means the compulsory studying of Islam at University and memorization of the Qur'an, then yes.

It would be nice if you read what I was responding to. The ruling elite are educated abroad at western universities.

Religious education is compulsory here as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Saudi Arabia is a very interesting social experiment. It'll be even more interesting when the oil runs out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

No it's not. A lot of schools were/are religious run so it may be de facto in some areas - I'll give you that.

smcgiff wrote: »
    Saudi Arabia is a very interesting social experiment. It'll be even more interesting when the oil runs out.
    Most of the Middle East is a bit of an anomaly because in ancient times there were no countries, just City states and the desert between them was given the same status as the open oceans are today. The countries were created by European empire builders who needed to map their conquests (or attempted to conquer).

A few lines drawn in the wrong places has resulted in some very fragmented nations, a perfect recipe for civil unrest when things get tight. Arab spring part II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

I'm pretty sure they have gold and and other precious metal reserves that they're sitting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

No it's not. A lot of schools were/are religious run so it may be de facto in some areas - I'll give you that.

I may be wrong with this but I thought that schools must teach some form of religion to receive state funding. It can be many religions like the ET schools but you cannot have school without religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

So their cheap labour is gone to be replaced by Saudis demanding higher pay... /go Saudi ! You stupid nation! -.-;

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 226 ✭✭Frank Garrett

Only for Catholics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

BeerWolf wrote: »
    So their cheap labour is gone to be replaced by Saudis demanding higher pay... /go Saudi ! You stupid nation! -.-;

The locals won't do the work though, anything that is perceived as being menial is beneath them.

They have a great dole system however, every company's staff must be comprised of at least 10% Saudis, so there's a load of people on the payroll who you will never see. I think their actual rate of unemployment is much, much higher, they're just hiding it quite well, sort of like job bridge on a grand scale without the having to work bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

The locals won't do the work though, anything that is perceived as being menial is beneath them.

They have a great dole system however, every company's staff must be comprised of at least 10% Saudis, so there's a load of people on the payroll who you will never see. I think their actual rate of unemployment is much, much higher, they're just hiding it quite well, sort of like job bridge on a grand scale without the having to work bit.

And this is why I hate Saudi's - they generally perceive themselves as better than everyone else. I seriously look forward to how these feckers handle themselves once they've ran dry of their oil within the next 50 years. Probably end up becoming like Somalia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Is it just a case of a country putting its own citizens first?

Nodin wrote: »
    It would be nice if you read what I was responding to. The ruling elite are educated abroad at western universities.

WTF are you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

WTF are you on about?

Read the post it is quite obvious really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Great idea it should be done here too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Shure its hardly worth it, I mean how many Ethiopian workers do we have here?

Is it just a case of a country putting its own citizens first?
    Yes it is, but is it acceptable? Historically, the migrants would have been driven out or killed, with many countries (where these migrants are from) experiencing population explosions, they are unlikely to receive a warm welcome when they get "home".

Would you be happy if the UK, Australia, and Canada expelled all Irish workers it would only be fair, as you want to expel foreigner workers from Ireland, or dose it only work in one direction in your world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

mariaalice wrote: »
    Would you be happy if the UK, Australia, and Canada expelled all Irish workers it would only be fair, as you want to expel foreigner workers from Ireland, or dose it only work in one direction in your world.

No no keep them there, only the one direction for me thanks