Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any comeback buying a stolen car after online car check?

• 07-12-2013 2:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭

basically i bought a stolen car, i did the online car check with cartell and everything came back clear.... now i know there is pretty much nothing i can do... but if thats the case what is the point of checking online then before you buy a car????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Ouch. Im sure those cartell reports have a sly line somewhere absolving them of any blame if things go wrong.

I'd say the only protection from buying a stolen yoke is to see id of the person selling it and name matches on log book. Did they have a tax book when you bought it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

How did you find out it was stolen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Did the car match the logbook?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Most likely the current fake draft scam.

I buy car today using fake draft.
    I sell car tomorrow for cheap cash.

By the time the original owner realises the draft is fake and then the car is reported stolen, the new owner only finds out the following week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭tomgaa

Yes the log book matched the car, as did the online check match the plates and car description,

Service history was with the car, rang the last garage that serviced it, and it checke out

Change of ownership was with the car. The guy I was buying it from used a false bank draft to buy it from the last owner, rang the owner but got put through to his secretary and she confirmed he owned the car car but never said if it had been stolen or sold.

Just got a bit curious after I bought it, dnt ask me y, and got my friend who's a gaurd to check the plates and he told me it was stolen early n the week...... So iv no car and no money......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I may be very stupid here but is it not the problem of the original owner? For his own stupidity he seems to have gotten his car back.

FearDark wrote: »
    I may be very stupid here but is it not the problem of the original owner? For his own stupidity he seems to have gotten his car back.

Look he owns the car at the end of the day I suppose, he gets his car back but I dnt gt my money back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Sorry to hear it, that's a seriously low scam to to pull on someone, and hopefully they'll get what's coming to them.

How much did you lose?

daRobot wrote: »
    Sorry to hear it, that's a seriously low scam to to pull on someone, and hopefully they'll get what's coming to them.

How much did you lose?

7k :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Ouch.

That must really be hurting. Whatever about insurance scams etc, these things targeting private individuals are truly the lowest of the low.

Obviously you'll have been through this with the
    Gardia, but do you think there's a chance of finding this guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Similar thing happened to a local guy.

Went to the big smoke to buy car with daughter. All good but he seemed to be on phone every few minutes. Then cash was handed over he was sat in car ready to sign the logbook and suddenly speeds off.

Nasty business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

FearDark wrote: »

Yeah, I was thinking that too. Doesn't seem fair, the OP did nothing wrong here.

Two people have been robbed here, but unfortunately only the property of one is recoverable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Two people have been robbed here, but unfortunately only the property of one is recoverable.

Exactly, so surely the OP should be able to claim on his own insurance as the property he paid for was taken from him!

Btw I know already the answer is No!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Surely the name on logbook wasn't changed over that soon.

Did you check ID against name on logbook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭DIESEL TOM

tomgaa wrote: »
    Yes the log book matched the car, as did the online check match the plates and car description,

Service history was with the car, rang the last garage that serviced it, and it checke out

Change of ownership was with the car. The guy I was buying it from used a false bank draft to buy it from the last owner, rang the owner but got put through to his secretary and she confirmed he owned the car car but never said if it had been stolen or sold.

Just got a bit curious after I bought it, dnt ask me y, and got my friend who's a gaurd to check the plates and he told me it was stolen early n the week...... So iv no car and no money......

you will never know but the last owner could be in with the scam ?

Yes the guards are confident of catching this guy,....... The log book was still n the name of the last owner because this guy had robbed the car 2 days befor I bought it... And he was trading as a garage and also had the change if owner ship form.

I actually rang the owner last nite who's number I got from the form, and he said that when he went into aib they said that this was the best fraud brand draft that they had ever seen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭neilaccountant

sorry to hear about that OP :( hopefully something can be done about it

...and one person is paying for another's stupidity unfortunately.

And he was trading as a garage and also had the change if owner ship form.
    what made you believe he was trading as a garage ?.

DIESEL TOM wrote: »
    what made you believe he was trading as a garage ?.

It's just wat he said, and also it was what was down on the change of ownership form. That's all. He was down as the receiver of the car and was down as wyse motors ltd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

hope something can be done for you op, this is a s**t thing to rob someone of 7k,:mad: how did you pay for it cash/cheque?

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    hope something can be done for you op, this is a s**t thing to rob someone of 7k,:mad: how did you pay for it cash/cheque?

Oh me being the brains that I am ...... Cash!!

But it seems to me you done everything you could to check the car out, even more then some people would do, seems like a well planned con,were did the meet take place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I feel your pain....a hard way to learn a lesson, could easily have been any one of us. :-(

It's just wat he said, and also it was what was down on the change of ownership form. That's all. He was down as the receiver of the car and was down as wyse motors ltd.

people will say anything when it come to money. did you even ask for id ete driving licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭kevin65

OP, sorry to hear about your situation. Hopefully you will recover some/all your money.

I always thought that bank drafts were a safe way of receiving payment, but is it the case now that you can't trust them? It's not very safe walking around with a few thousand in cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

So you gave €7k to someone who wasn't the owner on the logbook? Would this not have been the first thing to check to verify ownership check his passport or driving licence?

Sorry to hear of your loss, so many ways people can be ripped off, it's a minefield out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    But it seems to me you done everything you could to check the car out, even more then some people would do, seems like a well planned con,were did the meet take place?

Didn't verify name on logbook was seller, this is the problem. Also it should raise alarm bells somone selling a car as an unofficial trader they just picked up a couple days previously.

If he was selling as trader ,log book wouldnt be in his name anyway would it?
    seems very short time from, stolen, to advertise, to sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Did the price fall in to the " too good to be true" catagory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Look he owns the car at the end of the day I suppose, he gets his car back but I dnt gt my money back!!!

You need to find a solicitor and before you see them google "bona fide purchaser for value without notice". I hope you haven't handed the car over.

Ops only hope that hes caught with some cash on him, but sad to say highly unlikely.

Provided the OP paid a fair price for the car and was unaware of the fraud (note not theft, the car was not stolen), the law will recognise him as the owner.

Marcusm wrote: »
    You need to find a solicitor and before you see them google "bona fide purchaser for value without notice". I hope you haven't handed the car over.

Were would the guards stand on this, would he be asked to return it to owner on log book?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭The Glass Key

Marcusm wrote: »
    Provided the OP paid a fair price for the car and was unaware of the fraud (note not theft, the car was not stolen), the law will recognise him as the owner.

I also can't see how the OP doesn't own the car. The original owner was defrauded and is now owed money by the buyer but the car wasn't stolen.

So if the op told Guards nothing, changed log into his name,tax and insure it,
    pretending to be none the wiser, would the original owner have to take the lost,
    or would hes insurance company demand car back from op?

I couldn't see how I could be the owner of the car!!

Yes I had to hand the car over because my cousin who is the guard who checked the plates for me said I have to turn the car into my local station!!

A few people have said to me that the last owner did turn over the papers in exchange for a fake bank draft and because I then bought it from the "thief" that it could be mine now!! But the guards n the station did say that it wasn'tt mine to own so I really do not know how I stand there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

You may need to contact a solicitor here. The original owner was defrauded; the car was not stolen as such (ie the original owner let it go with their consent). A solicitor should be able to clarify the situation for you.

I couldn't see how I could be the owner of the car!!

Yes I had to hand the car over because my cousin who is the guard who checked the plates for me said I have to turn the car into my local station!!

A few people have said to me that the last owner did turn over the papers in exchange for a fake bank draft and because I then bought it from the "thief" that it could be mine now!! But the guards n the station did say that it wasn'tt mine to own so I really do not know how I stand there!!!

I REPEAT you need to speak with a solicitor; you can't get legal advice here. However, you have the stronger claim to the car. The guards are not experts in the law and frankly have no authority to decide who takes possession of the car - that is a matter for a court. They can seize a car they suspect to be involved in a crime (still not theft but fraud) but should not hand it over to anyone. Your claim for the car would be in doubt if the car had been reported stolen and you'd been informed of this, or if the vendor did not have the VLC or if the price was too good to be true. Absent facts such as these, a Nona fide purchaser for value gets good title to property even if the person selling did not own it.

Don't hesitate or you'll be at the loss if 7k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

In my view possession is nine tenths of the law, you payed fair and square for the car. The guard should not have got involved in this as it was fraud between the original owner and the guy who bought the car from him.
    Who's to say the original owner and the guy who sold you the car weren't in this together? Sounds like the perfect crime to me tbh.

Have to agree, I wouldn't hand it over either. It wasn't stolen in the traditional sense.

In my view possession is nine tenths of the law, you payed fair and square for the car. The guard should not have got involved in this as it was fraud between the original owner and the guy who bought the car from him.
    Who's to say the original owner and the guy who sold you the car weren't in this together? Sounds like the perfect crime to me tbh.

Ok I think I will get advice from solicitor on this just to c where I stand, Altho I do feel like a c**t doing this!! Also I did hand the car over to the guards as that's wat my Garda cousin told me do :(

I wouldn't feel bad about it at all. Let the courts decide, until then the car is yours (IMHO of course).

I was in a similar situation a few years ago where I sold a truck was paid by bank draft, truck was sold on in a hurry at a loss, bank draft bounced, went to guards who told me I had no come back and it was a civil matter between me and the guy who bought it from me, end of story. Checked with my solicitor, same story. Sorry OP but I reckon you should have kept the car regardless of what the guard said. I'd rarely take a guards opinion on anything legal tbh as in lots of cases they won't do you any favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Can the OP via solicitor insist that the car is held by gardai and not returned to original owner until this plays out fully?
    For what its worth, there were warning signs with this deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Ah lads get real
    The OP got stung
    The original owner (let's call him Mr Jones) sold the car to the thief (Let's call him Mr Murphy)
    Murphy "sold" the car to the OP
    BUT given that the car wasn't actually Murphys to sell the sale is invalid
    (The title did not pass legally)
    Therefore the car has to be returned to Mr Jones

It's the same principal as someone who sells on a car that has outstanding finance on it the car belongs to the finance company even if it is registered to a business or individual

http://chestofbooks.com/business/law/Handbook-Of-The-Law-Of-Sale-Of-Goods/41-Sale-By-Person-Without-Title.html#.UqNolssgGSM

Sorry OP even if the Gardaí catch this scum it's doubtful you will see your 7k again
    Pity you didn't pay him by draft :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Ok I think I will get advice from solicitor on this just to c where I stand, Altho I do feel like a c**t doing this!! Also I did hand the car over to the guards as that's wat my Garda cousin told me do :(

Get back onto the Gardai and advise them that you are seeking legal advice on your position, and until you have spoken to a solicitor you do not want the car handed back to the original owner.

If they say anything then maybe outline your concerns over the possibility that the original owner was involved with the seller.

mickdw wrote: »
    Can the OP via solicitor insist that the car is held by gardai and not returned to original owner until this plays out fully?
    For what its worth, there were warning signs with this deal.

Good point but it's a civil matter between the original owner and the guy who bought it from him. OP bought the car and shouldn't really have handed it over to anyone. Technically the OP has no case to answer it's the original seller is the one who should have lost out.