Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 7th Dec TINGLE CREEK DAY

• 06-12-2013 9:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭

May aswell start a thread now,what you backing lads??

Ive yet to go through the cards but well done to anyone who got 1/2 faugheen or 4/6 felix younger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭CueCard7

SRFC wrote: »
    May aswell start a thread now,what you backing lads??

Ive yet to go through the cards but well done to anyone who got 1/2 faugheen or 4/6 felix younger.

Yeah Mullins odds on hurdlers have been great value lately

Was a 1/10 shot turned over during the week?

Ya get word for these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Lads, give the sniping about each others picks a rest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

was gonna follow clondaw after his prep run lto but
    the price is plenty short

I got Clondaw Kaempfer at 4/1 earlier in the day. After the disaster 2 weeks ago, I am prepared to give it one more chance as it might have just needed the run. It has won over course and distance and I think the good to soft ground should suit it better than the soft/heavy ground it has been over recently. Think the field is bit weaker than last time out, so I am hoping its last run was an aberration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

Or maybe it hasn't got over it's injury.

Anyway I fancy Stormin Exit in the Grand Sefton. Jim Goldie has a decent record in the race and seems to be a bit of money for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

layers will have a field say with grandouet at 7/2
    awful price to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

I got Clondaw Kaempfer at 4/1 earlier in the day. After the disaster 2 weeks ago, I am prepared to give it one more chance as it might have just needed the run. It has won over course and distance and I think the good to soft ground should suit it better than the soft/heavy ground it has been over recently. Think the field is bit weaker than last time out, so I am hoping its last run was an aberration.

I was looking at this earlier! McCain seems to have gone off the boil lately and im finding it very difficult to trust him. Lieutenant miller has been kept for a big handicap and its evident he has talent from his flat runs. I just think with the weight allowance unless CK turns out to be something special he will find it difficult tomorrow

I see Mad Moose is being unleashed upon us again tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

I see Mad Moose is being unleashed upon us again tomorrow :D

They interviewed Dave Crosse on ATR and the guy said he cleans cars on the side to enable him to go racing. All that commitment to something he loves doing and he gets a leg up on Mad Moose for his troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Sandown:

1.50: Balder Succes @ 7/2 - Having backed that rogue Grandouet for the Arkle :o I agree that he's a shocking price tomorrow. Tarquin Du Seuil could prove a bit above the rest but with slight worries about the drop back in trip, I think Balder Succes is one to oppose him with. Jumps lovely and is an out-an-out 2m chaser.

3.00: Wasn't going to touch this race but have convinced myself that Somersby @ 7/2 is worth a bet with BetVictor. Not convinced about the form of Captain Conan and Sire De Grugy (even though I backed him to win lto) while Somersby showed himself to be in good form in his Haldon Gold Cup win. His beating of the heavily-weighted Cue Card is good form and he was good enough to beat a top-form Finians Rainbow and Al Ferof in the past. Not known for putting back-to-back wins together but with doubts over pair at head of the market, worth a small bet imo.

Aintree

2.40: Katenko @ 11/4 Controversial character on here lately, this lad is. Backed him for the Hennessy when he travelled and jumped well before his one, costly mistake. He has it all to prove, even at tomorrow's level, but he's hugely progressive imo and will be disappointed if he's not good enough to win tomorrows average contest. TGB is a Cheltenham horse, Unioniste was poor in an average RSA and the form of his Charlie Hall 3rd has already been let down badly. Wishfull Thinking is probably the biggest danger as he's well capable on his day and may find some improvement for step up in trip. Still though, he hasn't really impressed enough in last year or so and Katenko should have the beating of him tomorrow. NB

The 3 above for me along with The Fugue NAP and Sky Lantern in Hong Kong.

When is that racing on in Hong Kong?

Imagine if Mad Moose, decided to run tomorrow and was a beast.

Like Somersby 7/2

There is people backing him @80-1

I think it's a novelty thing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Serious good card in Chepstow.

CueCard7 wrote: »
    When is that racing on in Hong Kong?

Imagine if Mad Moose, decided to run tomorrow and was a beast.

Like Somersby 7/2

There is people backing him @80-1

I think it's a novelty thing

Around 4am Sunday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Ive a feeling Grandouet will ate this lot tomorrow

From Geraghty's ATR blog:
    I am really looking forward to getting back on GRANDOUET (1.50) in the Grade 1 Racing Post Henry VIII Novices' Chase - a really big chance despite this being a serious Arkle Chase trial – quite possibly the nap of the day. People might be surprised because we are going in again with Hinterland who just had our measure when we parted company at the last here in early November.

And I’m well aware that this is level weights with no winner’s penalty but my lad had given a blow after two out and he’ll be a different proposition this time.

His jumping was novicey, too, but he’s a horse that needs the freshness taken out of him, just gets too buzzy and can be a bit of a handful but he’ll be fine now. I couldn’t be more pleased with his schooling since.

He must be doing something right at home but, for a lad who's fairly straight-talking, hard to see how Geraghty has such confidence.. :confused:

Always forgive a horse one run,but if I was backing him id be puttin a place lay in for my stake back incase he doesnt get around

Hinterland wont be beating him again thats for sure.

Is that Mullins yoke gona win the listed Aintree hurdle? SRFC

CueCard7 wrote: »
    Is that Mullins yoke gona win the listed Aintree hurdle? SRFC

Yeah wont come off the bridle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Always forgive a horse one run,but if I was backing him id be puttin a place lay in for my stake back incase he doesnt get around

Hinterland wont be beating him again thats for sure.
    Why is that for sure

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Why is that for sure

You will see tomorrow,absolute fluke hendersons probably need the run that day aswell,not a hope of hinterland beating grandeout ever again hes a pig.

You never answered my question earlier. If he's such a pig how did he get so close to your TC fancy Captain Conan over C&D last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Yeah I thought the same but Hinterland was backed against him like a good horse. Nothing flukey about him that day. No bet race for me but there are better 7/2 shots than him tomorrow, especially people backing him at shorter odds than Hinterland (not sure how many times I've said about being careful about making excuses for horses facing the same horse)

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Yeah I thought the same but Hinterland was backed against him like a good horse. Nothing flukey about him that day. No bet race for me but there are better 7/2 shots than him tomorrow, especially people backing him at shorter odds than Hinterland (not sure how many times I've said about being careful about making excuses for horses facing the same horse)

I wont be having a bet in the race tbh theres too many good things tomorrow to worry about that minefield,im even looking at sundays cards now an they're top quality Harry Fry has a flying machine from france running in Warwick,Noel Meades best bumper horse againt Black Hercules is a serious clash aswell its like christmas to me this weekend.

That race is very tough. So many uncertainties.

Those graded novice events are a minefield.

The Tingle creek is tough too.

And the big race in Aintree, a minefield.

It's easier to find value earlier in the week or on Sundays.

Anyone fancy baby run????to recoup money he owes me from Cheltenham 11

Geraghty was pretty confident about Boston Bob on the Morning Line when it ended up coming nowhere.

He missed the boat from Carlow sure! :pac: Ya, he was keen on Bobs Worth alright. Still though, very odd for him to be so openly confident on a horse who has it all to prove. I can't even remember him 'napping' a horse before either..

Bright new Dawn is jumping fences sunday against Dogora and Sizing Gold,cracker of a begginers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I like Vesper Belle EW in the 2.05 Aintree. And Wyck Hill !
    12-1 and 14-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I really dont think Taquin Du Seuil has the speed for 2 miles, and although i expect Grandouet to come on a bundle i think Balder Success is the bet here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

Horse Urban tipped the last twice in Dundalk is running in a maiden hurdle in navan with ruby Walsh on her back. (Grandma Dotty)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The Druids Nephew going tomorrow at Chepstow on a recovery mission..backed him last week when he fell at the first (travelling great at the time im certain he would have won) but not sure about tomorrow, i'll wait to see if there's any confidence behind him like last week.

Might give Roberto Goldback am e/w squeek in the Beecher at Aintree (interesting to see if Bostons Angel is fancvied for Pipe here).
    D-Day for Katenko tomorrow, between him an Unioniste in my book, couldnt have TGB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

I got a decent bet on the 6/4 double :)

Handy money they just have to jump a clear round,no even backing faugheen tomorrow just backed him twice this week for the neptune if he wins he'll shorten if he cant beat this lost id rather have done my money on him ante post at 14/1 than get cleaned on him at 1/2 or 1/3 tomorrow.

Very interesting horse going in first tomorrow.

Wouldn't touch it with a barge-pole but Triumphant -j Halley

2nd in Group 3 on flat beating smart Parish Hall (which won Dewherst)

This Halley fella owns trains and rides this son of Danehill Dancer. Claims 7lbs

Doesnt look to have enough stamina in pedigree for hurdling .

Would also be concern that Halley (o'briens neighbour) won one hurdle race over past three years.

Slattsy wrote: »
    The Druids Nephew going tomorrow at Chepstow on a recovery mission..backed him last week when he fell at the first (travelling great at the time im certain he would have won) but not sure about tomorrow,

You'd be severely worried of any horse wasn't traveling great at the first :-)

Katenko looks like the one in that race but can't get away from the fact he's conceding 7lbs. TGB has poor course form though which would strengthen the case for Katenko IMO. Unless there was something wrong with unioniste the other day I don't think he'll be involved.
    I'd stay away from Bottoms angel-the horse is finished a long time ago.

Lord Fox running in the 2.50 wetherby
    Could be the plot of the day. Ran into the 90's in PTPs and is carrying 10st 0
    1st time in an extremely
    Poor handicap. His novice hurdle form is too poor to be true. I had a quick look at his PTP form and other horses which have gone under rules whixh ran behind him in his races have run pretty averagely but in company of much better horses than horses he's running against today.

Prices knocking around at the moment are 18-1. Waiting for one of the other zzzzopey bookies to get up to 25's and I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

One more that has caught my eye is Diaktoros in the last at Wetherby. Ben Haslam does well with his 3 year olds so I will be having an ew interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Chep 12.55 Midnight Prayer 2/1 his last win has worked out very well and very surprised he got away with only 7lb hike.San1.50 Hinterland 5/1.This looks a very progressive youngster and with question marks about plenty in the race he should not be the price he is.Aintree 2.05 Across The Bay 12/1 .A very sound jumper who had the cobwebs blown off last time and will stay all day.Navan 1.45 Beach Of Falesa 4/1 had a touch of class on the flat and wont mind the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Slattsy wrote: »
    The Druids Nephew going tomorrow at Chepstow on a recovery mission..backed him last week when he fell at the first (travelling great at the time im certain he would have won) but not sure about tomorrow, i'll wait to see if there's any confidence behind him like last week.

Might give Roberto Goldback am e/w squeek in the Beecher at Aintree (interesting to see if Bostons Angel is fancvied for Pipe here).
    D-Day for Katenko tomorrow, between him an Unioniste in my book, couldnt have TGB.

I'm looking at Roberto Goldback too. 20/1 doesn't look right. He was going fine until running out of steam in last years national. He should have plenty enough stamina to get around 3m2f. May have a punt on it myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Think Calculated Risk is a nice each way price at 9/1 in the 2:25 Chepstow. Ran a satisfactory race in the Greatwood on his return in mid division and id expect him to go well today. Wont be backing it myself as im on the 'dry' the few weeks! Keep the winners going lads some of yas are in great form the last few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Honestly cant believe people are saying Taquin Du Seuil might find the 2m on the sharp side :confused: He won last time out in a sprint finish showing a nice turn of foot, todays race will be much more of a stamina test than when he beat Oscar Whiskey, where they literally walked for half of the race. My NAP of the day 3/1 is an absolute gift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Anyone like that Mullins filly in the listed at Aintree? I know it disappointed on debut for King Willy but the form isn't the worst as Guitar Pete was second in a Grade 2 at Cheltenham and ran a cracker and the 2nd horse won a maiden hurdle easily. 3 of the horses in todays race all raced against each other so hard to weigh up that form, I think it's worth taking a chance on the Mullins horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

One bet today. Shantalla in the 2m 4 handicap at Navan, massive e/w bet a 9/1. Favourite is piss poor even Ruby won't perform magic on that mule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

Friend spoke to the jockey on Act of Kalenisi 1.20 Sandown. Supossibly thinks its gonna run a cracker. Also Pineau De Re was given by him in 2.05 Aintree. . Told to do both each way.
    any opinions on them?

My own bet is Taquen de and Captain C double. Think TDS will outclass these and has the speed to have them beat before the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kksaints

Gone for a Willie Mullins treble in the first three races at Navan. Swing Bill in the Becher chase and Forgotten Gold in the Grand Sefton.

Chepstow
    Gunner fifteen first at Chepstow
    Midnight thunder (nap)
    Pamplona run
    Royal native/ugly big
    Reynard
    Ballytober

Sandown
    3.35 franklin rooosevelt and soll

Wetherby
    Rick
    Tour d'argent
    Zaplamation
    2.50 LORD FOX handicap debut point form in 90's carrying

Aintree 1.30
    Dundee

That looks another Mullins machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Its crazy that Henderson has won that race for the last 6 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Johner wrote: »
    That looks another Mullins machine.

Just goes to show much of a grasp he has on the game here. 30 runners in a maiden hurdle. Goes off 1/2 and wins as he likes.

Johner wrote: »
    Anyone like that Mullins filly in the listed at Aintree? I know it disappointed on debut for King Willy but the form isn't the worst as Guitar Pete was second in a Grade 2 at Cheltenham and ran a cracker and the 2nd horse won a maiden hurdle easily. 3 of the horses in todays race all raced against each other so hard to weigh up that form, I think it's worth taking a chance on the Mullins horse.

Hehehehehe. I got 2/1 hehe. I'm such a ****ing machine hehehehe.