Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you won the lottery....

• 04-12-2013 10:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭

just for fun...We can all dream, but if you won the lottery say something daft like €100M,

what would you buy, assuming farming related!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

€100m would keep a farm going for quite a few years. Ya might even have something left over for a comfortable retirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

keep farming till its all gone:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

If I won 100m everything farm related would be sent out the gate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

More cows and more land, more sheds and a new tractor and tank, basically the lotto would buy me more hardship :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

A plot in the grave yard I have myself drank to death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

I'd widen all the gates from 12 ft to 15 ft and hang a door on the pump house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

I definitely wouldn't spend money on machinery- it depreciates and costs money to run

All machinery on farm should be fully justifiable and actually make you money- ie grass machinery to make drier silage which puts more milk in the tank- slurry equipment for raising n p k levels etc

A new tractor may look nice but is it needed

As for the money I'd buy maybe 200 acres with the money and give all the rest to family and charity

The extra acres will support another 2 million litres a year in milk sales which even in a bad year will return 10-15 cent per litre profit

Let the farm pay for itself and you'll have a happy life and not have to worry about what to do with millions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

stanflt wrote: »
    I definitely wouldn't spend money on machinery- it depreciates and costs money to run

All machinery on farm should be fully justifiable and actually make you money- ie grass machinery to make drier silage which puts more milk in the tank- slurry equipment for raising n p k levels etc

As for the money I'd buy maybe 200 acres with the money and give all the rest to family and charity

The extra acres will support another 2 million litres a year in milk sales which even in a bad year will return 10-15 cent per litre profit

Let the farm pay for itself and you'll have a happy life and not have to worry about what to do with millions

Jesus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Wild man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Give half wife! Just easier! Hire a full time top class manager. Look after the parents etc. book an around the world ticket and head off for a year, feck it life's too short not too! Farming can wait. Did it before but on the cheap, this time I'd live it up! Ha ha. When I'd have it outa d system then come back and invest in a couple hundred acres n stock it. Look after some charities. Not do much different than now really. You still need a focus point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Buy a nice shiny tractor
    Quad
    Jeep
    Box
    Probably double the stock
    Buy a bit more land
    Do up the old sheds
    Hire a few staff
    Relax alot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I'd be shaking the sand out from between my toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Buy a nice house with cash near the farm. Pay off existing neg equity mortgage. Sort the rest of the families mortgages etc. Take a year off work and go travelling the continent, no mad joints. Do a few sea cruises.

Come back. Change the cars, not necessarily new ones. Possibly try buy up a few neighbouring pieces of land if possible so land all one block.

Stow some money away for a rainy day, college fund stuff etc...

Assess a possible career change :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Not do much different than now really. You still need a focus point.

Hmmm maybe I'm horribly pessimistic, or finally starting to mature up alittle ha, but I do wonder would I could out better on the other side afew having being handed 100m ha! Yes I'd be setup for life and all that, but whereas the challenge ha? Try to turn it into 200m???? In regards farming, same idea as Stan, maybe go one step further and have afew 200acre dairyfarms, all setup in a similar enough arrangement, ie very similar sheds/parlour/yards etc, almost operate them like a franchise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Lads he said 100 million........

Even if you blew 20 million, wasted 20 million, gave 20 million to charity and 20 million to family you'd still have 20 million.....and some of ye wouldn't buy a tractor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Lads he said 100 million........

Even if you blew 20 million, wasted 20 million, gave 20 million to charity and 20 million to family you'd still have 20 million.....and some of ye wouldn't buy a tractor.

I would sell a tractor and the land!

They say that €5 million would set you up for life.

€100 million and you could wipe your ar$e with €50 notes every day and still have money left over when you die. A trip to the open farm or zoo a few times a year would sort out the farming yearning in me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

firstly nobody would know I won it.
    99.5 million would go to charity anonymously mainly in the locality and have everybody wondering who the lad was that was firing out cash.:D

Stick up a nice shed and by a teleporter and keltec bale shear.

should have enough to build a house and look after the auld pair then.

I would hate to have so much money that I couldn't walk into the local without everybody looking at mister moneybags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I'd put in a lot of security given my family and I would be potential kidnap targets.
    The farm would be done up to look like something one would dream of...so some landscaping.
    The farmhouse would be knocked down and replaced by a nice mansion.
    I would play the stock market with maybe €30 to €40 million in companies with a good record and strong dividend history.
    Another €30 million to €40 million in a charitable trust named after me, with investment in my local community and Glanbia would be kicked out and my name would be on the Kilkenny hurling team shirts.

Of course I would look after my family and friends and would have someone hired to run the farm.
    I would not be milking cows myself...the human robot would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

id be happy if i got 500k i could do all the jobs i want around the place and make mine and the fathers life a bit easier. Id prefere to have worked to get enough money so i could buy/lease ground. Itd keep ye grounded and lads wouldn't begrudge it too ye,
    I wouldnt know what to do with 100 million if i got it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

asia/concoon/south america/us for 10 years knocking off serious talent, then come home to settle down on a 5000 acre estate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

First thing I'd go on a nice long holiday, overdue one by about 10 years.
    Secondly I'd buy up a couple of 100 acres close to me, and spend a bit of time getting it all set up to my specifications.
    After that the sky'd be the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

kevthegaff wrote: »
    asia/concoon/south america/us for 10 years knocking off serious talent, then come home to settle down on a 5000 acre estate!

Knocking off or knocking up. ;):)

Do ye know how much 100m is? Why would you stay farming the interest alone would make the highest farm income look like pittance :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We're only small but I don't think I'd buy more land.
    Spend a good bit on drainage and cleaning up. Renovations. Small bit on machinery.
    I'd be giving up the day job for sure and focus on the farming and my other part time business too as they would allow me to work from home and be closer to family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Couple of the people on the PJ's catalogue would probably grow to like my looks. I'll have a few of them !

A tray of the finest cigars, there is to be had, stupidly expensive cognac. Oh and a big F off yacht.

maybe look at getting into a business where money is needed, international drugs smuggling or something of the likes to keep the mind ticking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I'd widen all the gates from 12 ft to 15 ft and hang a door on the pump house.

Ha, post of the year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I'd give up the day job and tip away at farming to keep me occupied when I'd be between the 9 month a year holidays I'd be taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Trying to see would a Lexion 600 fit down the lane for more tillage and competing with Bob sure for the cattle :D

We can but dream.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

A farmer won the lotto, his wife wanted to know what they should do about the begging letters

''Keep sending them''

Give half wife! Just easier.
    She would blow it then start dipping into your half:D The 2 UK euro million winners recently dumped their wives because they were giving away too much to their families. There was a man in the US that started giving handouts to his family the more they got the more they wanted, he has none of his winnings left and the family don't want to know him now:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Sam Kade wrote: »
    She would blow it then start dipping into your half:D The 2 UK euro million winners recently dumped their wives because they were giving away too much to their families. There was a man in the US that started giving handouts to his family the more they got the more they wanted, he has none of his winnings left and the family don't want to know him now:(

That would always be the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Do ye know how much 100m is? Why would you stay farming the interest alone would make the highest farm income look like pittance :)

Because rich people have farms - Tony O'Reilly, Michael O Leary as examples. The Saudi King has a farms that is thousands of acres and he only eats food that is produced on his farm, it is shipped around the world to wherever he is.

Rich people have farms...does lottery to become rich :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Would buy some land say 100 acres so I would have something to do everyday.

Buy all new machinery and have the farmyard like a concrete jungle with the best of everything.

Double the house so I could have a few man caves in it.

Get some land and turn it into a firing range and have a nice private collection of firearms

Create a private lake for some fishing on the extra land and make a cross country tank track on it so I got mess around in my collect of restored WW2 metal beasts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

buy a horse and two cows and then dig a big hole and bury the rest until 20 years has past and try to remember where i put it and then go to china and never come back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

€100 million

fleet of john deeres, land, jeep, cows!! buy a young one!! still do the lottery every week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

Clear the topsoil of top of land and put a metre of drainage stone over subsoil then replace topsoil and then only worry about drought and not every time it rains land getting poached.Put fence up round farm so nothing could get out.Then would get cameras put up around farm so can look at cattle on my phone from anywhere in the world.Would be happy then so could piss of to airport and come home sometimes have a long list of places would like to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭cavandown

If won lottery would sell out and enjoy rest of my life.
    If any yous win lottery - 100 acre farm for sale, good sheds. Machinery thrown in for luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

id be intersted if it wasnt in cavan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I won the lottery once, £17. Sitting on my own looking at the telly. I had the first 4 numbers as they came out. Didn't have the 5th or 6th. Started to sit up on the chair as the 5th was called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

call me daft, but I think id go mad buyin land for sake of it, 1000 acres or so, could always resell it if your hard up !! haha, probably change the 165, maybe a 390...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

Come to think of it I would buy some new machinery- a Cavan mans quad would be a nice addition- hope it would come with 2 sets of keys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Come to think of it I would buy some new machinery- a Cavan mans quad would be a nice addition- hope it would come with 2 sets of keys

I'm dying to hear what a cavan man's quad is.... :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

My kids ask me this question and I always say"I'd buy a boy called owen, another boy called liam and a little girl called orla, oh sher I have those already so I dont need to win the lotto".they love it.on a personal note I dont think I could handle it because I am so long scratching and rooting to survive my head couldn't work any other way

Muckit wrote: »

BMW x5 maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Muckit wrote: »

A reliant robin?

Had further thoughts on this and decided that I would become a gentleman farmer buy a few hundred acres have few hundred cows and employ full time manager etc.
    Still keep involved but only when I want to not have to! It would keep me active and give me freedom also. Sure with milk prices like they are it would all pay for itself anyway!
    Maybe take a few million and have a flutter on the stock market, buy a nice car, new jeep , tractor n gear! Oh and I wouldn't tell a soul how I got the money let the feckers talk and speculate it would be a great laugh watching them!
    Also think I'd buy forestry and invest in wind energy also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

I'd be coming into this thread to get some inspiration! I'd probably buy a nice 500 cow farm in nz, with a run off block attached and grow all my own feed any be self sufficient, throw an excellent manager on it and make it state of the art, would defiantly get a decent return from it so worst case scenario ud always have that. I'd have a house out here for meself so whenever I'm in the country I have a home.

Then at home I'd try buy a bit of neighbouring land and expand the farm a bit, modernise everything and give the place a good tidy up and again stick a real good manager on it and help them progress and get their own herd. Do up the family house, and build a shed and fill it with old ford tractors in mint condition.

The obvious one look after family but nothing more than sibling and parents, and some of my family out here, the rest never paid me no heed so they can stay where they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Tell nobody for a start,,, buy enough socks and jocks so I could have a new pair everyday or the rest of my life,, nothing nicer!
    Not too pushed after that really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Well I suppose it depends on the amount I suppose. I would split half of it to the missus, my folks and siblings. They could do what they want. Depending on what's left over I would hope to have enough to pack in the job so I could farm the place my self. I would look to buy more land and up grade the yard and machinery.

Ideally I would luv to be able to do the above and still have enough to be a gentleman farmer. Be able to hire a farm manger to run the place while I would be able to travel the world and go places I have always wanted to go. When I was younger and I went traveling I was always drawn back to the farm but would luv to see more of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Conor556 wrote: »
    Tell nobody for a start,,, buy enough socks and jocks so I could have a new pair everyday or the rest of my life,, nothing nicer!
    Not too pushed after that really!

No,No,No. I'm sure there's a clause in the SFP conditions about their disposal, winter storage, vermin, run-off etc.