Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over 120 cases of welfare fraud detected at airports.

• 02-12-2013 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭

Fair play to our Government, In 2012 they changed the law to stop welfare tourists.:rolleyes:
    Over 120 cases of welfare fraud detected at airports - Social Affairs & News from Ireland & Abroad | The Irish Times - Mon, Dec 02, 2013
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/over-120-cases-of-welfare-fraud-detected-at-airports-1.1614317

In 2009, a Ryanair plane coming from Krakow to Shannon had to call in the Guardi before landing as fighting had broke out during the flight.
    Most passengers were drunk and got caught up in the brawl.
    When the plane landed in Shannon, a lot of Guardi and customs surrounded the plane.
    The passengers in their drunkenness taught that the Guardi and customs had come to arrest them for welfare fraud and not the fighting.
    At the start of the Guardi questioning, most passengers started to admit that they were flying in to sign on the dole once A month.
    It was all kept hushed up and kept put of the papers.
    A lot of people know about this incidence and alot more dont know.
    At the time of hearing this, I checked the ryan air flights to and from Krakow and all flights were pre booked for over four months in advance. It took our Government years to change a law to stop this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

If it was hushed up, how do you know about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Jesus OP you could have warned me that the pic in that link was NSFA!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

In 2009, a Ryanair plane coming from Krakow to Shannon had to call in the Guardi before landing as fighting had broke out during the flight.

So?

Whats your point?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

MadsL wrote: »
    NSFA!!

A?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

humanji wrote: »
    If it was hushed up, how do you know about it?
    Brother in law works at the airport. Second source was from a Limerick city councilor.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I thought the government paid for their flights. And gave them a free car every time they sign on. And free buggies for the kids. And flat screen TVs too.

And houses.

With big gardens Joe.

Lapin wrote: »
    I thought the government paid for their flights. And gave them a free car every time they sign on. And free buggies for the kids. And flat screen TVs too.

And houses.

With big gardens Joe.

Its all true! I read it on here I think.

Brother in law works at the airport. Second source was from a Limerick city councilor.

Bit unprofessional of the Gardai to divulge to them what was said in interviews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Both of whom doubtless heard it from some other relation or other.....it's the circle of life in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I think you should be made sign on at least once or twice a week in the local FAS office and register all the positions you have applied for when clocking on for the day and you should spend a min of an hour looking for jobs. Actually get people looking for something/anything that makes them gainfully employed.

If they are not living in Ireland then they won't be able to do this and they shall get cut off. We really need to start wrapping FAS and Job Seekers Allowance into one entity.

I also think your kids should be registered and attending a school in Ireland to get childrens allowance with the schools sigbning letters for the parents to say that this is the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭glass_onion

Article here going back to 2009.Stating there was investigations carried out in October 2007.The peak of the boom.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/fraudsters-flew-in-to-claim-dole-payments-26547844.html

Bit unprofessional of the Gardai to divulge to them what was said in interviews.

Happens all the time. Like people friendly with Poles/Romanians/Nigerians who can tell us how they go round to their house and have a"laugh" at us and how they fiddle the system. It's the new openness.

(Unless they're covering up for the sake of political correctness - then ye won't get a peep out of them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Typical Daily Mail.

OP are you a racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

A?

Anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Big Steve wrote: »
    I think you should be made sign on at least once or twice a week in the local FAS office and register all the positions you have applied for when clocking on for the day and you should spend a min of an hour looking for jobs. Actually get people looking for something/anything that makes them gainfully employed.

Get out.

This is a real 'left the buggy outside the bus' story, isn't it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

A?

Maybe it means Not Safe For Always :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Can't be rocket science to monitor regular monthly arrivals to Ireland from various countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

But only one admitted that they were in fact coming to attend the 2013 International Convention of Alcoholics Anonymous being held in camera in Cill da Lua.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

There was a thread in AH a few weeks ago about the DSP and the Gardai setting up social welfare checkpoints at the Airports and at Industrial estates.

As I recall, a lot of people felt it was a terrible erosion of privacy and an example of state bullying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Internet code for "I just made this up":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Interesting considering they are planning to move to electronic payments directly into bank accounts.

How will they monitor that? You won't even need to be in the country to get your money anymore.

Holsten wrote: »
    Interesting considering they are planning to move to electronic payments directly into bank accounts.

How will they monitor that? You won't even need to be in the country to get your money anymore.

Its the other way around actually.
    Bank payments were stopped so everyone goes to the post office now to collect their money.

Fair play to our Government, In 2012 they changed the law to stop welfare tourists.:rolleyes:
    Over 120 cases of welfare fraud detected at airports - Social Affairs & News from Ireland & Abroad | The Irish Times - Mon, Dec 02, 2013
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/over-120-cases-of-welfare-fraud-detected-at-airports-1.1614317

In 2009, a Ryanair plane coming from Krakow to Shannon .............

As far as I know, theres no airline operating direct from Krakow to Shannon. I'm fairly positive that certainly Ryanair don't operate one.

Nodin wrote: »
    As far as I know, theres no airline operating direct from Krakow to Shannon. I'm fairly positive that certainly Ryanair don't operate one.

In 2009 Ryanair did. They are resuming the service again in April :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Chucken wrote: »
    Its the other way around actually.
    Bank payments were stopped so everyone goes to the post office now to collect their money.

They are returning to the old way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Phoebas wrote: »
    There was a thread in AH a few weeks ago about the DSP and the Gardai setting up social welfare checkpoints at the Airports and at Industrial estates.

As I recall, a lot of people felt it was a terrible erosion of privacy and an example of state bullying.

It's even worse now because they want to catch Non-Nationals fiddling the system...it's not only bullying it's Racism and must be opposed by the enlightened few.

chopper6 wrote: »
    It's even worse now because they want to catch Non-Nationals fiddling the system...it's not only bullying it's Racism and must be opposed by the enlightened few.

What is a "Non National" one would expect almost everyone in the world is a national of somewhere!

Which is why I said "almost".
    However on AH it is fashionable to treat anyone who is not Irish as having no nationality at all.

What is a "Non National" one would expect almost everyone in the world is a national of somewhere!

A Non-National is a non-citizen resident.

Trite rubbish.
    By definition a Non National, is a person who is without any nationality.
    A resident of Ireland who does not hold Irish citizenship would be a Non Irish National.

That would be a 'non-Irish national'.

This is ireland..the thread refers to welfare fraud at airports here in ireland.

I'm fully aware of that. "non-national" is still an erroneous term.

That is exactly why a certain type use it.

I'm fully aware of that. "non-national" is still an erroneous term.

Non Irish nationals then?

Okay....what about the non-irish nationals fiddling the system and welfare tourists generally?

What is your opinion of this?

I'm sure they're terribly,terribly insulted.

I can almost hear them wailing in anguish at such an insulting term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

What interesting is that I'm 100% positive if this had been posted before this press release the OP would have been mocked as similar to one of those people that talk about "Nigerians getting free cars", the fact that in 2012 a 120 cases were detected says a lot, considering the (in)efficiency of the social welfare it would be fairly safe to say that there is substantially more cases than this occurring, and historically its likely that this occurred even more in the past as by 2012 most payments would have gone to the post office requiring a weekly visit.

Non Irish then?

Okay....what about the non-irish fiddling the system and welfare tourists generally?

They are as bad as the Irish that fiddle the system. Changes were made to the system to cut down on this kind of thing, but obviously theres always going to be a few who abuse it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Seems to be the official term so why wouldn't a poster use it

Garda website has a section on non nationals

Non Irish nationals then?

Okay....what about the non-irish nationals fiddling the system and welfare tourists generally?

My opinion is that welfare tourism is about as real as the leprechaun, and non Irish nationals are probably just about as likely to defraud the welfare system as Irish Nationals are.
    In fact since most non Irish nationals who qualify for welfare came here to work in the first place , they may actually be less likely to be defrauding the system.

My opinion is that welfare tourism is about as real as the leprechaun, and non Irish nationals are probably just about as likely to defraud the welfare system as Irish Nationals are.
    In fact since most non Irish nationals who qualify for welfare came here to work in the first place , they may actually be less likely to be defrauding the system.

Ah...so it doesnt exist?

The govt are chaneling all these rescources into chasing a chimera.

Would you do us all a favour and email Joan Bruton and tell her because she obviously hasn't a clue what's happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

My opinion is that welfare tourism is about as real as the leprechaun.

So what are these 120 cases that have been caught then :confused: (and thats the number that have been caught and sanctioned, I'l remember this logic the next time there is an argument about crime so I can say things like Ireland doesn;t have a problem with rape/racism/todays hot topic because only X number have been prosecuted)

Holsten wrote: »
    They are returning to the old way.

Really? And what would the point of that be?
    If the whole idea is stop all these 'welfare tourists', why go back to the way that makes fraud easier?