Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When are those lights going to be banned.

• 01-12-2013 11:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭

Those cool blue looking headlights are such a disaster to other road users are they even legal? They cause nothing but a glare and should be instantly banned and the driver fined or set to the lock up for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I hope soon.

Ireland is probably the only EU country where they are legal (I'm only guessing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Damn I was just about to buy bulbs like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I'm assuming you mean the knob ends sticking HID kits into badly aligned reflector headlights?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

They are only a distractor imo if they are incorrectly aligned or too bright.

My car is very low to the ground and I have difficulty with normal headlights, 4wds, trucks, and vans, and notice no additional distraction from "most" blue HIDs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Getting more and more common. I had someone tailgaiting me for about 20 minutes the other night with blue dips and fog lights. Seriously annoying. I would have pulled over or sped off only there was some aul wan in front of me and I didn't want to inflict it on her.

This type of ****e. The sooner bans, points and fines are introduced the better IMO.

HID_KIT_PLUS_D2C_E.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭JP 1800

Those HID lights are not road legal and will not pass an NCT. Only factory spec lamps with washing units are road legal (section 30 nct manual), but as usual the finer details of the road traffic act are not enforced in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Those blue lights are seriously irritating.

JP 1800 wrote: »
    Those HID lights are not road legal and will not pass an NCT. Only factory spec lamps with washing units are road legal (section 30 nct manual), but as usual the finer details of the road traffic act are not enforced in this country.

Not passing an NCT is useless as they can be just wapped out for the regullar ones. Needs a clamp down from the traffic corp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Those HID lights are not road legal and will not pass an NCT.

Does fact that they won't pass NCT make their usage illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

robertxxx wrote: »
    Those cool blue looking headlights are such a disaster to other road users are they even legal? They cause nothing but a glare and should be instantly banned and the driver fined or set to the lock up for a long time.
    Bad enough when you meet them on a car but when you are faced with six of them appearing over the brow of a hill on top of the cab of an artic you are really in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Agreed, bring out the car crusher!

More effective than wasting Court time , and possibility of a slap on the wrist and a €50 euro fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    Bad enough when you meet them on a car but when you are faced with six of them appearing over the brow of a hill on top of the cab of an artic you are really in trouble.

Well at least the artic driver will dim, unlike some of the morons in cars:mad:

My experience is that yes many will dim when face to face with you but often the lights on the cab will appear over the brow before the cab comes into view and because they make their own glare the truck driver will not even notice your lights until he has direct sight of you.notwithstanding the legal side of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Mandzhalas

Bull****.o have them in my e39 and passed nct month ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

CiniO wrote: »
    I hope soon.

Ireland is probably the only EU country where they are legal (I'm only guessing).

They are f*cking rife over here as well.

Every single night there's some rehab with these stupid things and the inside of my car is like a german nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

I meet more cars with full beams than I do with those particular HID's, so I don't have a problem with them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its hard to tell if there on full or dim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

They are only bad if they are installed on the big reflective style headlights. Thankfully slowly dying out.

They are grand on projector style headlights. Have had them on numerous of cars and once correctly aligned pose no problem.

My Big issue lately is those poxy k11 1992-2003 Nissan Micras with the overly bright fog lights, blind the fcuk out of anyone within a 1000 foot radius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Mandzhalas wrote: »
    Bull****.o have them in my e39 and passed nct month ago

I do know that they pass them, but the NCT regs state they should fail...

http://www.ncts.ie/NCT%20Manual%20Revise%20May%202012.pdf

Section 30 (page 47)
    4. HID headlamps must be installed as a complete type-approved system. The system will include automatic
    cleaning. HID headlamps can be recognised by:
    a) the light having a bluish tinge,
    b) the light taking a few seconds to reach full intensity,
    c) the headlamp having an igniter module/inverter behind the headlamp,
    d) the headlamp having ”DC” (for HID dipped beam), “DR” (for HID main beam), or “DCR” (if both are HID)
    marked on the lens. This marking should be visible from the exterior of the vehicle but in some cases
    the markings may be hidden under the bonnet and this may need opening to obtain a clear view.
    ITEM REASONS FOR FAILURE
    15 HID bulb fitted in a non-HID headlamp.
    16 Automatic headlamp levelling device not operating or manual headlamp levelling device cannot be operated from driver’s seat.
    17 Mandatory headlamp cleaning device not present.
    18 Mandatory headlamp cleaning device not operating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

That may be in the NCT manual, but how would they check that the headlight auto-levelling that's required for HIDs is working? My allroad went through the NCT earlier this year. It has factory HIDs and I didn't see them testing the headlamp washers either.

My father-in-law's B5.5 Passat is due an NCT in a couple of weeks. It has properly adjusted HIDs in reflector housings and cause no problems. I'm in two minds whether to swap them out for the NCT or not.

They are f*cking rife over here as well.

Every single night there's some rehab with these stupid things and the inside of my car is like a german nightclub.
    The Lighting of vehicles Regulations state that you can only show a white or yellow light to the front.
    Those hid lights over 7000k show a blue tinge to the front so are illegal.
    Also most of those bulbs can only be fitted to projecture headlamps otherwise they cannot be focused.
    There is an EU directive stating that these bulbs cannot be fitted without fitting a washing system.
    The NCT tester is obliged to fail a car if the lights do not comply with the RTA or the EU directive.
    Of course the RTA also states that spot/driving lights cannot be fitted where the centre is higher than 1200mm and that fog lights, those with a centre under 500 can only be lit in fog, heavy rain and falling snow.
    For all the notice that is taken of these regulations.

Tropheus wrote: »
    That may be in the NCT manual, but how would they check that the headlight auto-levelling that's required for HIDs is working? My allroad went through the NCT earlier this year. It has factory HIDs and I didn't see them testing the headlamp washers either.

My father-in-law's B5.5 Passat is due an NCT in a couple of weeks. It has properly adjusted HIDs in reflector housings and cause no problems. I'm in two minds whether to swap them out for the NCT or not.

I'd say they are just not checking at all...

A self levelling system isn't required, just a manual adjustment dial within reach of the drivers seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭jdee99

wish they would start and pull people over for driving with their fogs on at night when there is no need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,974 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

As long as lights are properly aligned - they don't care at all. :)

One of the achilles heels of the NCT is peoples refusal to have issues dealt with until the NCT is due...

For example joe soap has a bulb go in his car but waits till the NCT service to have it replaced, or puts it in himself ar$eways and doesn't go for an alignment until after he books his test...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭dingus12

What happens when a honda integra dc5 goes for the nct test? They have factory fitted hid's but no auto leveling or washers.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,347 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

dingus12 wrote: »
    What happens when a honda integra dc5 goes for the nct test? They have factory fitted hid's but no auto leveling or washers.

And reflector housings (although the actual bulb is behind a small metal surround so it doesn't glare)

There are factory fitted reflector HIDs. Volvo use them. The letter at the end of the bulb type determines if should be used in projector or reflector housings. S is for projector housings, e.g. D2S and R is for reflector housings, e.g. D2R. The R bulbs have small shield on them to reduce glare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Healy Rae Permit Holder

I find the vw bora the boy racer favourite the worst car ever to have hids, they are seriously blinding and annoying, and sure they take them out for the nct so long live the problem for other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Are these different/same as night breakers, as was considering getting a pair of them (night breakers).

This guy had something to say about them a long time ago
    http://www.escrs.org/eurotimes/april2003/high.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

dingus12 wrote: »

What happens in the UK when jap cars go for their MOT without rear fog lights? They have to fix the problem, and install their own.

Not going to happen here, of course, because I doubt the NCT rule will ever fully be implemented.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Are these different/same as night breakers, as was considering getting a pair of them (night breakers).

No, night breakers are halogen bulbs with a higher output. They are not HIDs - High Intensity Discharge which is a complete different system.

Night Breakers are good, but don't last as long as standard bulbs. What burns brighter generally fails quicker.

What happens in the UK when jap cars go for their MOT without rear fog lights? They have to fix the problem, and install their own.

Not going to happen here, of course, because I doubt the NCT rule will ever fully be implemented.

They don't even check rear fog lights in the NCT. Noticed mine wasn't working and I went to replace the bulb. Turned out it wasn't the bulb, but had been disconnected when the liner of the rear door was replaced and wasn't reconnected. I reckon they weren't working for about 4 years and went through the NCT twice in that time with no issues.

Dangerous I know. The amount of times I thought I was using them. Like on those clear nights when I really want to pi$$ off other drivers on the M50.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Lights are better than no lights!

It is shocking to travel our roads and see the numbers of cars , and trucks with faulty lights or only one light working.

Have the Garda Traffic Corps been disbanded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

I put a set of HID's into my car the other week. They're the normal white light ones, instead of the blue tint ones. Only in the headlights, so it's not effecting anyone really. The standard ones were terrible, and it was a cheap enough add-on.
    I haven't noticed, or been bothered by anyone with them before though. I do find large vehicles (4x4's) can be blinding, which I assume is more so down to them installed the HID kit and not getting them aligned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Are these the iridium bulbs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

If a bulb blows does it cause the remaining bulb to be brighter? I have met several cars recently with a blown headlight and then 1 really really bright light invariably focused directly into the back of my retina. I firmly believe there should be 3 penalty points for using foglights when there is no fog and also for defective lights. Outsource it and the company enforcing it would make a fortune and make the GoSafe revenue collecting vans look like small fry. Irish people are seriosuly thick and ignorant when it comes to foglights either fine the heck out of people or just enact legislation banning front foglights in new cars so they'd eventually die out.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Ah, thought I was getting old but had someone with a set behind me this morning from Headford to Galway and it was incredibly annoying.
    Are they of any benefit to the driver or are they just the lights equivalent of German plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Rather see the gobsh1tes with their foglights taken care of first

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Rather see the gobsh1tes with their foglights taken care of first

Fogs are bad but not blinding like them blue torches. :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

yop wrote: »
    Ah, thought I was getting old but had someone with a set behind me this morning from Headford to Galway and it was incredibly annoying.
    Are they of any benefit to the driver or are they just the lights equivalent of German plates?

Did you not hear?,german plates make your car more reliable and give better performance.German engineering and all that jazz.

And they can double the performance of non-german cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Blinding blue or white headlights seem to be the modern day version of go faster stripes. Them now and the rear flickering led number plate lights.

yop wrote: »

I'm pretty sure the lad tailgating me last week couldn't overtake because of the glare off the back of my white van, and it's far from clean:o.

I posted this earlier but just to explain.

Factory xenon - sound

Factory halogen - sound, (not a foglight, it's a spotlamp)

Our xenon in a xenon headlamp - irritating, particularly if headlight alignment is out or if the angle of the road ahead means they are naturally pointing at you. I'll get over it though.

Our xenon in a halogen spotlamp - fcuking wakner :mad:, This applies double if you also have halogen headlights with xenon's(HID's) fitted.

HID_KIT_PLUS_D2C_E.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭140490

Most of new cars have factory fitted Hid, but must be on projector lens !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭140490

Most of new cars have factory fitted Hid, but must be on projector lens !!

Stinicker wrote: »
    If a bulb blows does it cause the remaining bulb to be brighter? I have met several cars recently with a blown headlight and then 1 really really bright light invariably focused directly into the back of my retina. I firmly believe there should be 3 penalty points for using foglights when there is no fog and also for defective lights. Outsource it and the company enforcing it would make a fortune and make the GoSafe revenue collecting vans look like small fry. Irish people are seriosuly thick and ignorant when it comes to foglights either fine the heck out of people or just enact legislation banning front foglights in new cars so they'd eventually die out.
    It used to happen in the 1950's when dynamos were inadequate; battery capacity was low and one wire, from one of the cars two fuses, carried the power to the headlamps.

The law on foglamps is very clear; use only in fog, falling snow, heavy rain... and if centre of light is more than 500mm from the ground they are regarded as auxiliary lights and have to be fitted so that they extinguish when main lights are dipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Aftermarket HID lamps are complete arse, a waste of money, a dangerous irritant to other road users, and usually illegal. Most gawbeens don't seem to know that in order to use these bulbs you also need different lenses and reflectors, in short a whole different headlight unit. Newer yokes that have these as standard are of course OK. Kids, if you want to improve your headlights, do this:

* Break out the toothpaste (seriously!) and give your lenses a good cleaning.

* Fit Osram Night-Breaker bulbs.

* Get the 'lamps correctly aligned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I have HID dipped beams as standard on a 97.

Reflector units though, so nice and focussed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

ottostreet wrote: »
    I have HID dipped beams as standard on a 97.

Reflector units though, so nice and focussed...

Think You mean projector lens and not reflector..

I'm not familiar of any cars having used HID on reflector units as factory. If they are factory it will have the representing markings on the casing of the unit glass/plastic