Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

North Dublin Cyclocross League

• 01-12-2013 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭

Hi everyone,
    the North Dublin Cyclocross series organised by McNally Swords Cycling Club will go ahead.

sponsorbanner.png

Many thanks to our sponsors: High5 and Humphries Cycles of Finglas.

It is a series of three races over the month of December to help you stay dialled in for the Nationals.

The first race is in Portmarnock on Sunday 8th December. Some of you might remember the Crossmarnock race from last year, it is the same location for this first race.

Registration and payment is online only and it will open on Tuesday.

We will announce the final race formats and details shortly, so keep an eye out here and on the website. We also have a Twitter account (NorthDublinCX) and a FaceBook page where we shall make announcements.

We look forward to seeing you all at the races. Even if you can't race it would be great if you could come along and offer support.

all the best

The NDCX team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

Great news, well done getting it organised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

Is a time decided for the Senior race on the 8th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

i_surge wrote: »
    Is a time decided for the Senior race on the 8th?

Hi there, we will be making an announcement on race formats this evening or tomorrow morning but it will probably be around 1pm or so.

Hi everyone,

Registration is now open for Crossmarnock. YAY! \o/ You can sign up here. Registration closes at 12.00 mid-day on Friday 6th December.

We are offering a discount to those who commit to sign up for all three races now. For those 18 and over it is 50 Euro for all three races (save 10 Euro). For those under 18 it is 40 Euro (save 5 Euro).

This offer closes at 12.00 mid-day on Friday 6th December.

Those who avail of the discount will still need to register for each race separately.

Note: it was reported that some pages (including payment page) don't render on some Android versions (works fine on my Android) so please be aware of this when you go to register as you may have to use an alternative device/browser.

Any issues, please contact northdublincx@gmail.com

This was the start of last year's A race.

Thanks to The Tax Man for the photo.

DSC_0781.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

^^^Amazing how the gaps form right from the start. Uphill battle (literally) from then on for the stragglers.

Looking at last year's thread there and stumbled across the greatest results link EVER
    http://pastehtml.com/view/cl3uxyfb1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Raam wrote: »
    Hi everyone,
    the North Dublin Cyclocross series organised by McNally Swords Cycling Club will go ahead.

sponsorbanner.png

It is a series of three races over the month of December to help you stay dialled in for the Nationals.

The first race is in Portmarnock on Sunday 8th December. Some of you might remember the Crossmarnock race from last year, it is the same location for this first race.

We will announce the final race formats and details shortly, so keep an eye out here and on the website. We also have a Twitter account (NorthDublinCX) and a FaceBook page where we shall make announcements.

We look forward to seeing you all at the races. Even if you can't race it would be great if you could come along and offer support.

all the best

The NDCX team.
    Is this limited to North Dublin clubs or can anyone enter? Also, do I need a full racing licence, is there an option for a one-day license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

On the "news" page of the website: http://www.ndcx.eu

"One Day Licenses will be available.
    IVCA licenses are accepted.
    Strictly online entry and payment only.
    Entry will close at 12 mid-day on the Friday before each race. Strictly no entries taken after."

Koobcam wrote: »
    Is this limited to North Dublin clubs or can anyone enter? Also, do I need a full racing licence, is there an option for a one-day license?

Anyone from anywhere in any club can enter.
    If you have a CI license and it has NC or CM in your number, then you need a One Day License.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Jmcmen

Looking at last year's thread there and stumbled across the greatest results link EVER
    http://pastehtml.com/view/cl3uxyfb1.html
    That is class

Hi everyone,

sponsorbanner.png

all the best

The NDCX team.

Been dying to try cyclecross this year but broke a bone in my hand on Tuesday. When will race 2 and 3 be. Can you do it on a MB? I might be able to get a lend of a cycle cross bike off a mate though

Jmcmen wrote: »
    Been dying to try cyclecross this year but broke a bone in my hand on Tuesday. When will race 2 and 3 be. Can you do it on a MB? I might be able to get a lend of a cycle cross bike off a mate though

It won't be my decision to make, but I doubt you would be turned away. Better off for yourself if you can get a CX bike though.

Races 2 and 3 are scheduled for 15th and 29th December: http://ndcx.eu/race-series/

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

So the registration deadline for Sunday's race in high noon tomorrow - I would suggest anyone else who wants to enter gets on with it, as Raam can be very strict in enforcing the rules ....

It won't be my decision to make, but I doubt you would be turned away. Better off for yourself if you can get a CX bike though.

Races 2 and 3 are scheduled for 15th and 29th December: http://ndcx.eu/race-series/

Cheers Raam. Doubt the paw will be ok for 15th but might make the 29th. Will it be ok to just do one in the series? Just want to see what its like

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Will it be ok to just do one in the series? Just want to see what its like
    Only if you pay your €20;)

Riders can do any or all of these events - the only stipulation, as I understand it, is to qualify for the overall title you must compete in the final event (presumably because that's when the prize will be handed out)

Cheers Raam. Doubt the paw will be ok for 15th but might make the 29th. Will it be ok to just do one in the series? Just want to see what its like

Sure thing, you can do as many or as few races as you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

All signed up. Looking forward to it too, last years race was great craic, other than my crash in the warm up...

Race day tomorrow.

Anyone who is helping build the course and get the race village set up, please be on site from 9am.

Anyone who can help with marshalling, please be on site from 10.45.

Wrap up well, it will be cold standing there :)

Directions to the course: http://ndcx.eu/directions-to-crossmarnock/
    The course will be up the hill, so keep walking in-land away from the sea until you see some action.

Swapping wheels over on the CX bike i'm after knocking the front right cantilever brake off and its not set to rub on the wheel, being a knowledge less bike rider, any tips or reckon someone at the race will be able to adjust it? I've tried some youtube and some general allen key turning but no luck :(

ask for Derek Humphries on the day. Have your tools with you. If he has time he might be able to sort you out. Arrive early as he will be busy setting up the race village/course and getting ready for his own race.

Tell him Peter asked if he could help you out.

P

ask for Derek Humphries on the day. Have your tools with you. If he has time he might be able to sort you out. Arrive early as he will be busy setting up the race village/course and getting ready for his own race.

Tell him Peter asked if he could help you out.

P

Cool, I know Derek so will get him to have a look! More fiddling now and maybe i'll sort it but will check for him if not, looking forward to it!

What kind of PSI will people run on tomorrow's course? Higher or lower than Annes last week or how does it change on grass etc..? I'm 95kg so is it half of that as a rough guide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

What kind of PSI will people run on tomorrow's course? Higher or lower than Annes last week or how does it change on grass etc..? I'm 95kg so is it half of that as a rough guide?

depends on how wet the ground is. Iirc there was quite a bit of mud on this course last year.

lennymc wrote: »
    depends on how wet the ground is. Iirc there was quite a bit of mud on this course last year.

Cool, managed to get the front brake working so thats something! Same Lenny that showed me the course on a warm up lap last week in St. Annes from Drogheda? Your tips on braking etc helped a lot so thanks if so! Might do a lap with you in the morning if possible!

there's only one of me afaik :)

yeah - give me a shout in the morning. bring your climbing legs!!

there's only one of me afaik :)

yeah - give me a shout in the morning. bring your climbing legs!!

Great seeing you again this morning Lenny.

Your friend, Peter! ;)

Christ, how can anyone confuse those 2?:D

Beasty wrote: »
    Christ, how can anyone confuse those 2?:D

I know! One is ugly as fcuk while the other just isn't attractive in any way, shape or form!

Yep, I believe the pretty one emigrated...

Beasty wrote: »
    Yep, I believe the pretty one emigrated...

Nah. He was exiled for crimes against cycling fashion. It was horrible really.

Lads, would yis mind keeping stuff specific to the races series. I'd like to keep the thread on topic and useful. Thanks

There looked to be a good turnout there today. The locals were interested in the races too which was nice.

That was a tough race. The hill, the wind and no gears all conspired to make me have to htfu. I cried a little bit at the end. Roll on next week when I will most probably increase my self inflicted suffering by being extremely hungover!!

Great race Raam, thanks to all that helped out, I'll defo be back for more next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

That was probably the longest consecutive grimace I have ever made.....a full hour! Thanks to RAAM for facilitating my tardy reg, and for all involved in putting this on.....while setting out parts of the course this morning with Lennymc I was doing my darnest to make the circuit as short as possibly...didnt help me any! Duffyshuffle, you shuffled well today, fair play!

Provisional results now available for those in the prizes. Full results will follow tomorrow.

Short write up here: http://ndcx.eu/oregan-wins-crossmarnock/

Photos are by Peter O'Toole.

1395113_230594117117789_132426605_n.jpg

1461575_230593630451171_1851649420_n.jpg

1476370_230594427117758_1625587748_n.jpg

1474430_230595177117683_1303734585_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Great event today, have to have a go sometime. Major kudos to all the riders, hard as nails. Link to pics from A Race, I'll put B race one's up tomorrow.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/105265777200352970835/albums/5955139156198564305

greenmat wrote: »

Great pics, thanks a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

greenmat wrote: »

Thanks again for the shouts of encouragement Greenmat....(from the struggling man on a MTB!) Good snaps too.

padjo5 wrote: »
    Thanks again for the shouts of encouragement Greenmat....(from the struggling man on a MTB!) Good snaps too.

No bother, the first CX race I've attended, very impressed with it all. Looks like great fun but my god it looks harder than anything I've done so far in my short cycling life.

It looks like my jumps survived the battering! Any thoughts from the riders on how to improve (read make more difficult) the course for the return next year?

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    It looks like my jumps survived the battering! Any thoughts from the riders on how to improve (read make more difficult) the course for the return next year?

ban the use of gears! :)

the jumps were pretty cool. towards the end of the b race (last 2 laps maybe) they had moved and you could cycle around them. Maybe add more of them.

The slalom through the trees was good - maybe make it tighter to encourage tree crashing.

The twisty bits at the back were also good as you lost all momentum and had to build it up again on a little hill. Maybe head back down the long drag before turning up again, to increase the amount of climbing, and do it on the grass with lots of tight turns.

Maybe some twisty stuff on the downhill parts were the start was, including some back up the hill stuff to really tire the legs.

Encourage more audience participation, where they throw things at the riders, thereby making it tougher.

if ye do all that Ill definately be back.

Peter

Registration for Brackenstown is now open at www.ndcx.eu

The course is soft but it should run fast.

Last time we were there it was bone dry and very fast.

283891.jpg

283892.jpg

Gratuitous photo to remind myself that I once raced.
    283890.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »

The slalom through the trees was hard - maybe make it wider to encourage staying upright

The twisty bits at the back were also hard as you lost all momentum and had to build it up again on a little hill. Maybe avoid going uphill to decrease the amount of climbing, and do it on the tarmac with lots of long straights.

Maybe some straight stuff on the downhill parts were the start was, including some more flat stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Windbreakers!

Only thing I can think of is barriers that force you to get off the bike. Course is always going to be tough with the climb and the bumpy ground.

The slalom through the trees was hard - maybe make it wider to encourage staying upright

The twisty bits at the back were also hard as you lost all momentum and had to build it up again on a little hill. Maybe avoid going uphill to decrease the amount of climbing, and do it on the tarmac with lots of long straights.

Maybe some straight stuff on the downhill parts were the start was, including some more flat stuff

that sounds like it would make it easier!

As a cx race, it is one of the tougher ones (yesterday wasnt as tough as last year when you had to climb all the way off up the path). Some more obstacles that encourage running with the bike would be nice, but I dont know how you would do that. Perhaps temporary steps or something,

A water feature would also be nice :)

that sounds like it would make it easier!

As a cx race, it is one of the tougher ones (yesterday wasnt as tough as last year when you had to climb all the way off up the path). Some more obstacles that encourage running with the bike would be nice, but I dont know how you would do that. Perhaps temporary steps or something,

A water feature would also be nice :)

Otherwise known as rain!

Thanks for the feedback, we will take it all on board. This year with Crosmarnock we tried to run it almost as a grass crit in order to keep the racing bunched and tight. Some of the pictures show that this was achieved, but I don't know how long that lasted for.

I felt that the long hill from last year was too much, hence we made it shorter. Although that meant that we lost the lovely fast downhill turns which bring us right out at the coast.

IMG_2037.JPG