Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TK Maxx Blanch

• 01-12-2013 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭

Just a heads up folks, I was in TK Maxx Blanch today and they've had a MASSIVE delivery of ladies ski gear. Some really good stuff too- Killy, Salomon, HH, Hyra, and lots of Bench & O'Neill's (for the more style conscious) ;-)

Still not so much kids gear and I didn't check out the men's, but definitely plenty of choice for the laydeez.

Happy shopping! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Just to add.. Carrickmines have some really nice billabong and other snow gear for men. I was really tempted my a nice jacket but just got a brand new Burton..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭fannymagee

TK Maxx Stephen's Green also full of new ski stock today (Monday), so presume all branches have had a dump of ski gear :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

TK Maxx gets deliverys every MON and Thur stock updates every time

Yes but not ski gear, there's been very little ladies or kids gear in a long time- I check both stores regularly. At the moment both stores have about three times more ladies gear than normal. Hence the post :)

Some REALLY nice Mammut men's gear in Stephen's Green today :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

It wasn't there on Monday!!! Balls.

You didn't happen to notice if they had much mens ski pants? Anything they had in there on monday wasn't great.

No it's wasn't CardinalJ, you're right! I'm like their feckin stock controller at this stage lol! Yes they had lots of ladies and men's trousers in- seem to have lots of Oakley in the ladies section too so was a good delivery yesterday- it was the Mammut that really caught my eye in the men's though! Would you make it in tomorrow maybe? They had three of them anyway so you might be lucky? I'm off to Soll tomorrow so I won't be doing my usual lunchtime stockcheck- it'll be SKITIME instead, finally!! ;-)

Yea I'll jump on a dublin bike and spin up at lunch. Ah here, if I can ski, or be on a mountain wearing Mammut, I'll have arrived. hahaha. Such expensive gear but really good stuff.

Haha yeah, and it makes everyone look good, lol!

I was just about to message you & say it turns out I've to go to TK Maxx Blanch in the morning to return a kiddy jacket, I'll have a quick look & see if they're there too if you'd like? What size are you?

CardinalJ, LOADS of men's Mammut in Blanch this morning- I thought I'd posted this at 10.30 but it obv didn;t upload!! So if you didn;t pick one up in town Blanch have men's S/M/L/XL jackets in purple (twilight!) and White. Think they were €179, down from €379 or something.

Hope you find something you like!

Right, I'm off. Enjoy the windy weather!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Good info in this thread.

Don't mean to hijack the thread, so apologies in advance, my question probably isn't worth a thread on its own.....and excuse my newbie ignorance of most things skiing.
    I've a chance to pick up a jacket made by some crew called Eider, a mate bought it in the spring clearances and now he doesn't fit it, the tags etc are still on it. It was €359 (per the price tag, don't know what he paid) and I can have it for €120. Good deal ? Are they a good brand ? Reputable etc ?
    Cheers !

Russman; They are based in Annecy next door to Salomon make really good stuff sponsor alot of Pro- Freeriders and big mountain skiers. Depends on the jacket and what you are using it for.

Rule of thumb for ski gear, Water proofing and breathability 10,000mm or higher (Should be on the tags)

Enough pockets, pass pockets are not as nesecarry as they once were as proximity lift passes become more common (Pretty much every european resort) and advanced.

Thanks for that Fattes, fair play.

I just googled it and its this jacket:
    http://www.eider.com/en/products/fall-winter-2011-2012/mens-shell-jackets/kirkwood-jkt-m

Think I'll go for it. I'm just a novice skier, but it seems like a good deal to get a good quality item.

You are on a good thing there!

Eider make super mountain gear. Expensive but really good. Nice find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 smilinguk

What mammut jacket do you have there? In Scotland there was the stoney jacket. I wanted to buy but no XL left... Anyone who can help?

smilinguk wrote: »
    What mammut jacket do you have there? In Scotland there was the stoney jacket. I wanted to buy but no XL left... Anyone who can help?

Try TK Maxx online, for those of you in Ireland you can use Parcel motel to get delivery!

TK Maxx in Swords had a PIC helmet yesterday I was amazed

http://www.tkmaxx.com/men/view-all-mens-clothing-/icat/2000?sort=release&sort=name&parentCategoryRef=2000&order=desc&order=asc&perpage=24&q=*&brand=Mammut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 smilinguk

Fattes wrote: »
    Try TK Maxx online, for those of you in Ireland you can use Parcel motel to get delivery!

TK Maxx in Swords had a PIC helmet yesterday I was amazed

http://www.tkmaxx.com/men/view-all-mens-clothing-/icat/2000?sort=release&sort=name&parentCategoryRef=2000&order=desc&order=asc&perpage=24&q=*&brand=Mammut

Already tried but there is not the ski jacket...

TK maxx in Stephens green had a load of good merino wool baselayers for €35 today.

TK Maxx Carickmines today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

TK Maxx Carickmines today

Did you note how much?

Senecio wrote: »
    Did you note how much?

€89 small in purple & large in black in stock Retail they are north of €250

In original boxes with carry bags and visors

€89 small in purple & large in black in stock Retail they are north of €250

In original boxes with carry bags and visors

Good bargain to jump on for a beginner/once a year skier ?
    Would rather own my own than rent something that you don't know who's been wearing it or what's happened to it.

Russman wrote: »
    Good bargain to jump on for a beginner/once a year skier ?
    For anyone probably the best helmet on the market right now

Only one left in small when I was up there tonight, there was a box with large on it, but the helmet inside was a cheapo from one of the other brands. Methinks someone chanced their arm and paid even less for the good one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭d-don

My helmet is taking shape .. Took delivery recently .. Got the go pro attached and now to custom art te helmet and fit my bluetooth communications :)

Woww, ski-ninja!! Looks great :)

d-don Did you buy a Ruroc? Are you Russian? ;)

fannymagee wrote: »
    Woww, ski-ninja!! Looks great :)

I am getting it all sprayed up this weekend to spruce it up Irish style :)

d-don Did you buy a Ruroc? Are you Russian? ;)
    i ain't rushin I'm relaxing ( tongue out ) ah they are class helmets ... I have a 1000 meter communications device arriving for it so me and my cousin can talk while in le deux alpes . I love them different yes but no harm in stepping outside the norm

d-don; If you spray it you will void the warranty on it & most manufacturers don't recommend it Personally i think it is marketing bull from most of the helmet companies but just before you spray it at least you will know!

Cheers dude ... We got them brand new for less than half price so I can live with the out of warranty ... Can't leave it standard gotta stand out from the crowd ;)

Like I said pretty sure it is BS, they have said the same about Go Pro mounts and stickers! No research published to support it! The mind boggles!
    gotta stand out from the crowd

Part of the fun isn't it!