Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any interest in a Christmas / New year outing?

• 30-11-2013 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭

Just thought I'd throw it out there guys if anyone would be interested in getting together for an outing over the christmas hols?

Anyone and everyone welcome.

Depends on interest I suppose where we would play, but if there was enough interest I wouldn't mind trying to organise something.

let me know opinions and ideas :)

Any interest in a Christmas / New year outing? 25 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    RoadRunnerSeve OBWombatmanMacker1RikandspacecoyoteMr. LarsoncharlieIRLkkellihermillerjthe lawmanscrubber72ryaner777PARlancessbobdwdFixdePitchmarkcghshane0007kieran. 25 votes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

No
    hey stevie, I'd be up for a round anytime after the 13th of this month. Only day i'm not really around is the 16th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

No
    I'd be on for a game Stevie, I'll be away from the 23rd so before that could suit me.
    charlieIRL wrote: »
    Off topic for a min - If you're unlucky enough not to win, I'm off from the 14th if you fancy coming down for a round?

Said I'd reply in here Charlie.
    I think I'm free on the 14th, I'll let you know tonight, wouldn't mind a trip down at all. Athlone or Moate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

No
    I may be interested in joining too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

No
    i was thinking more after the man in the red suit comes down the chimney, bit manic until then, but now gonna go off and see if i can squeeze something into the diary :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

No
    @ Stevie I added a public poll to gauge interest. Poll closes Friday - midnight so that you can make preps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

No
    Would love a game, will all depend on time and work. Fingers crossed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

No
    Would love one depends though where we play. In galway so alone is as far as i will travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

No
    scrubber72 wrote: »
    Would love one depends though where we play. In galway so alone is as far as i will travel

+ 1 on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

No
    Not been to one of your outings yet but would love to come along if the day suits. Would be travelling from North Cork so anywhere should be okay really within reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

No
    I would like to play too. Hopefully the date and times works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

No
    I should be around, and would be up for a game. A links would probably give the best chance of not getting interrupted by the weather, somewhere like Portmarnock hotel or Corballis might be an idea if staying Dublin based.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

No
    Yup definitely interested in a game over the holliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

No
    Yep, I'm interested too and based in the midlands. Judging by the replies so far it makes sense to host it near my house :D

No
    I have an offer from a club of a free fourball for a midlands course here if that would suit? We can split the rest of the green fees between us after that.

No
    Would it be best for Charlie and Stevie to nail a date(s) and course(s) that suits them and we could take it from there.
    It may be a bit of a hectic time for some so once we have those we confirm our availability.

Stevie might have been looking for a game closer to Dublin and possibly a bit further into the break, I'm sure there'll be takers for that, so possibly: two dates, two venues and see what happens?

No
    I don't mind where we go, wouldn't bother me to head to Dublin either if that's where everyone wants to go.

No
    I don't mind where we go, wouldn't bother me to head to Dublin either if that's where everyone wants to go.

There's no way we'll pass up a free four ball :D

I'm provisionally on for anything, anywhere, but I'll just need a heads up to come up with an excuse or two for herself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

No
    always on for a game, we'll see how the dates pan out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

No
    Im on . But will have to see date. Wedding and other stuff.

So will wait to see .

No
    Only have motorbike for transport. If it's midlands then would have to pass (or bum a lift from Dublin)

No
    RoadRunner wrote: »
    Only have motorbike for transport. If it's midlands then would have to pass (or bum a lift from Dublin)

If I'm travelling from Dublin (will all depend on the weekend), you can jump in with me RoadRunner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭3putt

No
    I'd be up for a game. Don't mind where either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

No
    I might be up for this too! If its pre Christmas, the Eastern Pale area suits. Post Stephenzezezzes day midlands suits so sounds like I could be in luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

No
    I'm in depending on location/date. With enough notice it shouldn't be too much of a problem

No
    Sorry guys, been so busy, not had a chance to get back here, but am conscious that I started this so am sneaking a few minutes to follow up.... don't tell the boss :)

OK so, I agree with DWD and I think a lynx is the best option as I have all to often arrived to a frosty reception... happened again yesterday in Carlow, an hour and a half hanging around waiting..... it's a pain especially if plans have been made and we all need to get home for whatever reasons. However I guess we have to be fair to everyone not near the sea, so majority should rule to be fair.

The idea of 2 dates and 2 venues might work, but it will also mean less people turning up to each, so I would rather pick 1 and commit to that...... 23 names interested now, but no doubt there will be drop outs based on location and date. I possibly will have a few lads joining me not from Boards, so feel free to invite your buddies along (if I may so so without offending :) )

TBH, between now and Christmas is out for me, so I was thinking any date at all between Saturday 28th December and Sunday 6th January. By all means if you want arrange something and head out before that, don't let me stop you. We'll probably get a better deal if we go midweek. I just went on Tee times there for example and threw in Seafield in Wexford and we could get out there for €20 on the Monday or Tuesday. Maybe throw a tenner in the hat for prizes.

I'll play wherever and don't mind travelling so if you are in Dublin and only have a motorbike, there is plenty of room in my boot for an extra set of clubs :)

So in order to get the ball rolling, I'm going to suggest that to start with the date so how does Monday the 30th December sound? 10 am ish so we won't be struggling for light by the time last group gets out.

Then Venue, Seafield, but maybe Dublin will be better? Portmarnock Links? or St Annes... I've no idea what kind of money we'll be talking. Or down the sticks somewhere :)

If was really going to be cheeky, I'd suggest you all are welcome to come to my own club in Greytstones.... or the two clubs on my doorstep being Luttrelstown and Castleknock (my prospective new 5 day home as of next year).... If you haven't played it, it's a gem and they do great deals. ATM are offering €30 for golf and Christmas dinner....

No
    stevieob wrote: »
    Sorry guys, been so busy, not had a chance to get back here, but am conscious that I started this so am sneaking a few minutes to follow up.... don't tell the boss :)

OK so, I agree with DWD and I think a lynx is the best option as I have all to often arrived to a frosty reception... happened again yesterday in Carlow, an hour and a half hanging around waiting..... it's a pain especially if plans have been made and we all need to get home for whatever reasons. However I guess we have to be fair to everyone not near the sea, so majority should rule to be fair.

The idea of 2 dates and 2 venues might work, but it will also mean less people turning up to each, so I would rather pick 1 and commit to that...... 23 names interested now, but no doubt there will be drop outs based on location and date. I possibly will have a few lads joining me not from Boards, so feel free to invite your buddies along (if I may so so without offending :) )

TBH, between now and Christmas is out for me, so I was thinking any date at all between Saturday 28th December and Sunday 6th January. By all means if you want arrange something and head out before that, don't let me stop you. We'll probably get a better deal if we go midweek. I just went on Tee times there for example and threw in Seafield in Wexford and we could get out there for €20 on the Monday or Tuesday. Maybe throw a tenner in the hat for prizes.

I'll play wherever and don't mind travelling so if you are in Dublin and only have a motorbike, there is plenty of room in my boot for an extra set of clubs :)

So in order to get the ball rolling, I'm going to suggest that to start with the date so how does Monday the 30th December sound? 10 am ish so we won't be struggling for light by the time last group gets out.

Then Venue, Seafield, but maybe Dublin will be better? Portmarnock Links? or St Annes... I've no idea what kind of money we'll be talking. Or down the sticks somewhere :)

If was really going to be cheeky, I'd suggest you all are welcome to come to my own club in Greytstones.... or the two clubs on my doorstep being Luttrelstown and Castleknock (my prospective new 5 day home as of next year).... If you haven't played it, it's a gem and they do great deals. ATM are offering €30 for golf and Christmas dinner....

Stevie,
    Good to see some suggestions on the table. Judging on the responses I'd say Seafields wouldn't work, all the replies are suggesting midlands or Dublin. That would mean large travelling for everybody. If you were going for links, then it makes no sense to look outside Dublin, I'd suggest Corballis, cheap and decent. If we are going for parkland why not somewhere in West Dublin or Kildare? Have to agree with Castleknock and Luttrelstown, both great tracks. Also could try Rathcore, Palmerstown, Naas or Millicent to name a few....

No
    Lads, think - I'm good for that date.

Would it make sense to put it on M50 belt or west as suggested by Barnaboy. It is so much easier for anybody to hit M50 from anywhere ?

Castleknock and luttrestown are good calls - how are they at this time of year - soft, greens in play etc ?

Corballis is a love / hate thing. A bit much for all the travelling, for some lads to turn up and it is a bit of a blind course. If it is links, Portmarnock Links is worth travelling for - but expensive.

It is Christmas - lads are travelling - stick with good quality as cheap as possible. In other words worth travelling for.

But, I'll play anywhere

No
    I'll be out in corballis tomorrow so can get us a price and some dates and put them out there to see what people think.

Castleknock for €30 including dinner sounds like a good deal. only played it once but really enjoyed it.

No
    ryaner777 wrote: »
    I'll be out in corballis tomorrow so can get us a price and some dates and put them out there to see what people think.

Castleknock for €30 including dinner sounds like a good deal. only played it once but really enjoyed it.

That does sound an unreal deal - lads coming and getting a feed and all in. A real xmas day out. Even a half to warm ye up.

No
    That does sound an unreal deal - lads coming and getting a feed and all in. A real xmas day out. Even a half to warm ye up.

it is a savage deal. Unfortunately it is for a limited time and think it runs out tomorrow.

I am signing up as a 5 day member, so maybe when I'm doing that, I can push for some kind of similar deal with them if everyone wanted to go there. Location wise, it's about 5-10 minutes off the M50 (depending what way you go)
    I played it 2 weeks ago and condition was great.

I've never played Corballis but heard bad things about the place, but majority rules and I'll be happy to play it.

No
    There's some spots available in corballis on Saturday the 28th from 8.45. €20 per head. Spoke to the pro shop and they're provisionally held. Just another option.

No
    Corballis is 160kms from me!!

No
    Corballis is 160kms from me!!

1 and 1/2 hours so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭rambojon

Interested.. Clare based...anything a little more central...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

If it is a mid week game I can more than likely get a good deal at Portmarnock Links.

J

No
    Castleknock, luttrelstown, portmarnock link all sound great & are v handy for me.
    I live close to cknock, and was mulling over the idea of joining it next year. Never played it, so would love to get out on it.

No
    Right, to get things moving again.

Propose the 22nd December for one of the outings and whenever suits after for Stevieob's one.

Where will we go? Midlands / East / West?? Suggestions here and I'll make a few calls.

No
    Right, to get things moving again.

Propose the 22nd December for one of the outings and whenever suits after for Stevieob's one.

Where will we go? Midlands / East / West?? Suggestions here and I'll make a few calls.

I'm on for the 22nd (Sunday)

Personally I'd love another crack at Esker Hills after it battered me up earlier in the year but anywhere will do for me.

There's a deal on Just Treats at the moment, 2 ball + buggy for 49 (which is basically just a free buggy thrown in)

No
    Esker Hills is available from 11:10 onwards on the 22nd.

No
    i won't make 22nd

i propose 30th for Castleknock. Roadrunner, we should hook up for a game there even if nobody else wants to tag along…. i'll be on for joining up whenever. the deal is you get a year from when you join rather than pay by calendar year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

No
    I can't make 22nd either, anything before Christmas is probably out for me. But count me in for Castleknock on the 30th, I'm definitely free for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

No
    Before Christmas is probably out for me. But Castleknock on the 30th sounds good

No

It seems there may be two groups forming, the midlanders and the dubs.
    As a dub living in the midlands I've a foot in both camps :)

It might work having both Esker Hills and Castleknock. No matter what you do, you can't please everyone. I live less than 20 miles from Esker but have never played it :rolleyes:

Count me in for the 22nd and Esker and maybe even Castleknock too- would need to consult with the executive committee at home for two outings....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

No
    I would be on for the 22nd too. Anywhere within 2 hours drive of Monaghan!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭rambojon

I'm in if an hours drive from Clare .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

rambojon wrote: »

We might have a third group starting...the Mid-Westerners :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dossy

No
    rambojon wrote: »

I might be aswell, dont know for defo if im able too, will know closer to the date, where in Clare are you Rambojon

No

Charlie, is it worth booking Esker Hills now? I'm in, looks like ParLance and kieran are on too. So we at least have a fourball!

No
    Barnaboy wrote: »
    Charlie, is it worth booking Esker Hills now? I'm in, looks like ParLance and kieran are on too. So we at least have a fourball!

I'll ring now - everyone happy with Esker Hills? I'll book 2 lines as i'll probably have someone coming with me too.

No
    I'll ring now - everyone happy with Esker Hills? I'll book 2 lines as i'll probably have someone coming with me too.

Great Charlie, thanks