Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do some idiots blare the horn in a traffic jam?

• 29-11-2013 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭

Of all the rude and ignorant motoring behaviour one sees on the road, this has to be up there with the most annoying.

Example, yesterday I was in a queue in a shopping centre car park. There was some delay up ahead and no one was moving for maybe 2-3 minutes. Now this was a mild inconvenience at best, but some bozo behind me decided that leaning on the horn every 10 seconds would get things moving. So it turned a slightly irritating event into a serious annoyance as we all had to listen to his horn magnified around an underground car park.

What do people hope to gain from doing this? I couldn’t see what was causing the delay so he definitely couldn’t but I think it’s safe to say there was some problem which was dealt with very quickly by the car park staff. But why do some idiots feel the need to add to the problem by blaring the horn? When has that ever got traffic moving faster???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭thegreatiam

idiots are idiots, that's why we call them that.

Learn to ignore it or go down in a blaze of gunfire when you finally take matters into your own hands.

Personally, If im there when you snap and take a few out ill be a witness in your defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Because they're obnoxious, impatient idiots with a terrific "Who-But-Me" complex, and probably diesel Passat drivers. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 gurl88

I think it's simply a matter of 'blowing off steam' from frustration, either that or he (or she) was practicing his rhytmic skills by playing along with the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

duuhh.. it makes car disappear and then you can drive faster !! ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I rev the engine in between horn blasts.

Keeps it varied

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

I visited Cairo once. You will never complain about horns again if you go there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

jimgoose wrote: »
    Because they're obnoxious, impatient idiots with a terrific "Who-But-Me" complex, and probably diesel Passat drivers. :cool:

+1 on the diesel Passat theory.

Diesel Passat drivers are obnoxious beyond parody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

I visited Cairo once. You will never complain about horns again if you go there.

Or India.

They use they're horns for absolutely everything, from overtaking indicators to letting people know you are slowing down.

A lot of them don't use their headlights on rural back Roads so instead they use they're horn when they see an oncoming car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I may be one of these "idiots" but then again why to people just "stop" blocking the carrageway? If I'm behind somebody who just stops on the carrageway then I'll lean on the horn. I'd also lean on the horn where somebody tries to be a cute hoor by moving down the empty lane at a junction and then stopping to push back into the lane they want. Then again, once the traffic light goes green why do people just sit there?

Then by "just stopping" I mean just that. If people are stopping to leave a passanger alight after indicating properly it's OK, stopping because a dog/cat/ball/etc comes out onto the road is expected I'd also be stopping as there may be a child following (especially the ball).

OP, here is one example of why it's needed. I was walking past the Mercy Hospital in Cork and there was somebody stopped in the carrageway defined in the car park, inside the gates. Thanks to this idiot, the people following into the hospital backed up and backed up onto College Rd. Thus, College Rd was blocked because this idiot just stopped for no good reason. Stopping in the carrageway to pick somebody up is not a good reason as there is a dedicated set-down area as well as a car park!

ianobrien wrote: »

Mmm. Passat driver, eh? :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

The same idiots that honk at someone who is blocking them but clearly has no way to get out of their way for the moment. It makes them feel better and shows their anger at anyone who delays them for even a second. They usually shake their heads for a few seconds on passing the obstacle often mouthing something at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Mmm. Passat driver, eh? :D

Ah no. I wouldn't drive one of them pieces of rubbish.

So, if you are behind me and I stop on the road you'll just sit there and do nothing? I doubt it very much.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭thegreatiam

OP, here is one example of why it's needed. I was walking past the Mercy Hospital in Cork and there was somebody stopped in the carrageway defined in the car park, inside the gates. Thanks to this idiot, the people following into the hospital backed up and backed up onto College Rd. Thus, College Rd was blocked because this idiot just stopped for no good reason.

And its the moron on college road who is blasting his horn.
    Despite all evidence indicating that his honking is doing anything to relieve the jam.

If someone stops in front of you, then by all means honk to get them moving. Its the idiots in back that are pssing everyone else off.

Ah no. I wouldn't drive one of them pieces of rubbish.

So, if you are behind me and I stop on the road you'll just sit there and do nothing? I doubt it very much.....

I would sit there and "do nothing" for a time, yes. Most people who are stopped where they shouldn't be are so for a reason, and would rather not be. Blaring the horn makes people nervous and irritable, and that's when stupid things happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

But that's a different situation Ian, I'm not talking about beeping at somebody who's stopped for no reason right in front of you, that's fine. I'm talking about being in a line of traffic, not being able to see what the hold up is yet blaring the horn repeatedly. I mean what is the point?

To top it off, the horn in question was broken (he's obviously a repeat offender) so it would start off loud and the disintegrate into an off key asthmatic wheez :(

I was this close to going back and giving him a telling off (except I'm a total chicken!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Irish people are too slow to use their horns in my opinion. I think there's a happy medium somewhere in between. In general I find people a bit too meek and passive in Dublin. Beeping your horn can of course be aggressive, but there are other uses and ways of using your horn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

ballooba wrote: »
    Irish people are too slow to use their horns in my opinion.

I'd be of the opposite opinion, see plenty of idiots beeping for no reason on my daily commute.

Eg Queue of traffic stopped at a red light - the very second that light goes green, some asshôle 4/5 cars back in the queue will blare his horn. See this nearly every bloody day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

You know, often traffic jams are caused by some idiot at the top too afraid to move.
    I've seen holdups because someone was making a right turn and was overly cautious about turning. Other idiots enter the yellow box, and can go no further, or some enter a roundabout system and clog it up.
    Better blow at them with the car horn than with a shotgun.

ncmc wrote: »
    ...I was this close to going back and giving him a telling off (except I'm a total chicken!)
    Never, ever approach a wild Passat driver with a strop on. There's a lot of head-cases out there these days.
    ballooba wrote: »
    Irish people are too slow to use their horns in my opinion. I think there's a happy medium somewhere in between. In general I find people a bit too meek and passive in Dublin. Beeping your horn can of course be aggressive, but there are other uses and ways of using your horn.

Around here, the Rules of The Road has this to say regarding horn use:

Only use a horn to:

warn other road users of on-coming danger, or
    make them aware of your presence for safety reasons when reasonably
    necessary.

maximoose wrote: »
    I'd be of the opposite opinion, see plenty of idiots beeping for no reason on my daily commute.

Eg Queue of traffic stopped at a red light - the very second that light goes green, some asshôle 4/5 cars back in the queue will blare his horn. See this nearly every bloody day.
    I am that person. I give about 5 seconds tolerance before I give a polite wake up beep. Then about 5 seconds more (joke!) before unleashing the wrath of hell. More tolerance for learners (under instruction), elderly, disabled etc. Light sequences are so short, there's no time for having a nap/picnic/cigarette/text/apply makeup/read a newspaper.
    Around here, the Rules of The Road has this to say regarding horn use:
    I have a passing regard for it like the vast majority of motorists. Rules are useless without enforcement.

Admittedly I've only been driving for about 6 months, but ive manage to do it all horn-free (so much so when i got rid of my first car, i pressed the horn to see, just out of curiousity, if it actually worked. haha).

I don't see the need for it, but i find the most common annoyance around here (Drogheda) are the people who give a nice long honk to say hello to paul, across the road, the fella they mildly know from a year ago.

And then another quick honk for Mary. Haven't seen her since yesterday. And jesus, there's Joanne, just had coffee with her, better let her know what a coincidence it is that we happen to be passing each other so soon.. *HONK HONK*.

The amount of beeping to say hello to pedestrians i see is amazing. And annoying, too (everytime i hear a beep, i assume it's at me, and check my indicators, hazards, beam lights, any doors open, etc. that someone could be warning me about). Annoying.

Relatedly, I love the people who wave to pedestrians they know. It's like driving behind the pope at times going through West St. (the main street in the town). :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Never, ever approach a wild Passat driver with a strop on. There's a lot of head-cases out there these days.

Edit - oh you wrote 'a strop on'. Apologies I misread.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

Edit - oh you wrote 'a strop on'. Apologies I misread.
    Haha I misread that the first time too, I was like :eek::eek::eek: what sort of Passat drivers do you know???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

The same idiots that honk at someone who is blocking them but clearly has no way to get out of their way for the moment. It makes them feel better and shows their anger at anyone who delays them for even a second. They usually shake their heads for a few seconds on passing the obstacle often mouthing something at the same time.

This grinds my gears. Particularly crossing the N7 from the Long Mile Road side around rush hours. Everyone breaks the lights coming from town and ends up blocking lanes for people coming from the long mile road. Simple solution is to not move unless you can clear the junction. Those drivers deserve that blast of a horn and the head shake they receive.

Vikings wrote: »
    This grinds my gears. Particularly crossing the N7 from the Long Mile Road side around rush hours. Everyone breaks the lights coming from town and ends up blocking lanes for people coming from the long mile road. Simple solution is to not move unless you can clear the junction. Those drivers deserve that blast of a horn and the head shake they receive.
    What they really deserve is penalty points, but in the absence of that blast their eardrums.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

A lot of people are only annoyed by being beeped at, because it interrupts their snooze.
    The Irish in general are too slow to use the horn (Well, here in the Wesht anyway), in Ennis someone will have to sleep through at least three green cycles before anyone beeps, maybe it's because it's such a small town and it could be someone you know, you'll never live it down!
    Here the horn is mainly used to say goodbuy when driving off somewhere or to say hi to someone you meet on the street.

In Germany I once saw an Opel Manta being held up by a few pedestrians in a shopping mall car park. The guy had one of those rubber-ball bicycle horns mounted on his door and gave them a polite beep.
    Everyone smiled about it, horns definitely cause aggro by the way they're used and how they sound.
    It nothing moves, it's not loud enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

Idiots in their cars blaring horns do so because in their cars they are invincible . ;) I once seen a guy turn from the Incredible Hulk in his car , beeping his horn ,, to a wobbly jelly , after the person he was blaring his horn at , got out of his car and approached his window .. Very funny indeed

Nothing worse than beeping vociferously at someone only to realise they were actually in the right. Collateral damage. :D

Vikings wrote: »

It is annoying alright but there is little to be achieved by sitting there with your hand on the horn when they clearly cannot move anywhere especially if they have already acknowledged their error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It is annoying alright but there is little to be achieved by sitting there with your hand on the horn when they clearly cannot move anywhere especially if they have already acknowledged their error.

Makes them less likely to do it again the next day.

Stark wrote: »
    Makes them less likely to do it again the next day.
    I think you'll find those people have the thickest neck in the world and you could blow the horn til the thing broke and they'd still do it the next day.

It's the same EVERY morning at the Dunkettle Interchange, particularly bad with traffic coming from the Glanmire direction, every single day they block up the whole junction and prevent traffic from the Dublin side getting through. I wouldn't mind but the lights already favour them by about 4:1 time wise. It's so bloody frustrating, but all the honking in the world won't stop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I hope you never visit Rome OP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

tbh i am guilty of this very recently.

There was works going on in rathmines and there was 2 lads controlling those swivvle stop / go signs to allow for traffic either way. It was a sunday.

I am not joking when they allowed traffic to flow from the city for 15 minutes before they let the other side go into the city. And it was backed up nearly right up the rathgar road to rathgar cross roads.

The lads only seemed to turn the sign when pretty much everyone starting punching the horns in frustration. Had to be two of the biggest toolbags ever in existence. They shouldnt have been allowed near traffic control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Fussgangerzone

My favourite is people who drive up your hole on the dual cabbageway when the cars are solid on your left and you're as close as anybody who's not an aggressive asshole will go to the car in front of you.

Luckily, I'm a dick as well, so if they don't cop on in five seconds, I decided that a reasonable distance between me and the car in front is 250m.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I hope you never visit Rome OP :D
    Did that once. It's fine once you make the mental decision, "I am now a prick".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Did that once. It's fine once you make the mental decision, "I am now a prick".
    Unlike us, the Romans don't seem to take any of it the slightest bit personally. The Irish are slow and sensitive drivers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

It's ok for me, I commute by motorbike so my left thumb gives a blast of the horn while I snake by on the bike glaring at them. If it makes them feels like a numpty and even slightly lowers the chances of them doing it again, mission accomplished. I've gotten that acknowledgement before, a quick wave of the hand to say "sorry, I'm a tool" doesn't quite cut it when that one tool is now holding up countless other people so he/she can get home 30 seconds quicker. Yes, they really frustrate me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭kryptonmight

I work in the city and see this every day, especially on Tara street with traffic trying to turn left onto the quays. I don't get why they do it either as its obvious the traffic is backed up from the lights on O'connell bridge.

I guess if you beep enough, the traffic just disappears like in the Truman show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Yesterday I was out shopping and I indicated to turn into a Wheelchair space (I have a permit).

Plenty of room on the right side for the cars behind me to pass by, yet some moron thought it was necessary to blare his horn at me. I gestured in the rearview mirror that I was turning into the wheelchair space, but this didn't placate him and he kept beeping.

I jumped out of the car and went over to his driver window. "I'm turning into this space, what's the f****in problem?"

He says "You're blocking cars". "I'm not, you can drive right past me. There's tons of room, are you blind?"

He then told me "You're meant to keep driving and not block people."
    "Keep driving? When I want to turn into a space? What are you on about? Where did you get your driving licence, Toys-R-Us?"

He then told me to "Fk off" and sped off. He then had to slam on the brakes as he almost knocked three people down at a zebra crossing.

Some people like to think their horns are an extension of their penises.

fussyonion wrote: »
    Yesterday I was out shopping and I indicated to turn into a Wheelchair space (I have a permit).

Plenty of room on the right side for the cars behind me to pass by, yet some moron thought it was necessary to blare his horn at me. I gestured in the rearview mirror that I was turning into the wheelchair space, but this didn't placate him and he kept beeping.

I jumped out of the car and went over to his driver window. "I'm turning into this space, what's the f****in problem?"

He says "You're blocking cars". "I'm not, you can drive right past me. There's tons of room, are you blind?"

"Keep driving? When I want to turn into a space? What are you on about? Where did you get your driving licence, Toys-R-Us?"

He then told me to "Fk off" and sped off. He then had to slam on the brakes as he almost knocked three people down at a zebra crossing.

If he wasn't blocking you then why didn't you just park the car?

[...]

Y'see, people like that are why I think an IQ test should be part of getting a license.

ncmc wrote: »
    I think you'll find those people have the thickest neck in the world and you could blow the horn til the thing broke and they'd still do it the next day.
    Also buzz them as you go past and scare the bejaysus out of them.;)

Anan1 wrote: »
    If he wasn't blocking you then why didn't you just park the car?

He said *I* was blocking him. I did park the car after I confronted him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Should cars have horns at all?
    Very little need for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Just curious.... Why do you need to park in a disabled spot if you are able to jump out if the car and go over to his drivers window?

Valetta wrote: »
    Just curious.... Why do you need to park in a disabled spot if you are able to jump out if the car and go over to his drivers window?

Did I say I was disabled?
    My passenger is disabled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Did I say I was disabled?
    My passenger is disabled.

Ah... Apologies.

Must think before posting.

Should cars have horns at all?
    Very little need for them.
    You're probably right. Since I fitted the flamethrowers I hardly use the horn at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SleeperService

Anan1 wrote: »
    Unlike us, the Romans don't seem to take any of it the slightest bit personally. The Irish are slow and sensitive drivers. :D
    I quite enjoyed driving in italy.
    Irish N road, having to drop out of 5th cos some dawdleballs feels like creating a 2 mile tailback? Not so much...

He said *I* was blocking him. I did park the car after I confronted him.
    I understand. What I'm asking is why get out and confront him at all? Why didn't you just park the car?
    I quite enjoyed driving in italy.
    Irish N road, having to drop out of 5th cos some dawdleballs feels like creating a 2 mile tailback? Not so much...
    Me too!