Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thanksgiving

• 28-11-2013 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭

Happy Thanksgiving to all the Americans on boards. Hope ye have a good day.

I wish I was with the family state side. I would be lining up for the parade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

STOP THE TURKAY GEONCIDE!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Nodin wrote: »
    STOP THE TURKAY GEONCIDE!!!!!!!!!!

♫ It's Istanbul not Constantinople, it's Istanbul not Constantinople.... ♫

Hmmmm, sweet potatoes, pecan pie and several litres of Michelobe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Thanks for giving me herpes yo. :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Happy Hanukkah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Plazaman wrote: »

I had to look up what Michelobe was.

I'm old, old and grey......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Nodin wrote: »
    I had to look up what Michelobe was.
    Horribly bland faux beer :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

I love Thanksgiving, my boss and all my team live in the states so I won't hear from them until Monday Afternoon. Yipeee!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

It seems to get earlier and earlier each year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Remember once you are happily fed, go out and massacre some natives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Why, thanks for the Thanksgiving wishes. I'm thankful I'm spending it with friends and not family :)

The Master wrote: »
    Happy Hanukkah

This particular Thanksgiving/Hannakah mashup will not take place again for 79,000 years.
    Remember once you are happily fed, go out and massacre some natives!

Ah here, our native friends did actually wish us happy thanksgiving this year, some people can actually build bridges.

Some Native Americans celebrate thanksgiving, whilst others in fairness do call it the "Day of Lies".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

MadsL wrote: »
    Why, thanks for the Thanksgiving wishes. I'm thankful I'm spending it with friends and not family :)

This particular Thanksgiving/Hannakah mashup will not take place again for 79,000 years.

Ah here, our native friends did actually wish us happy thanksgiving this year, some people can actually build bridges.

Some Native Americans celebrate thanksgiving, whilst others in fairness do call it the "Day of Lies".

So I'd better say it now: HAPPY THANKSGIVNUKKAH! to everyone everywhere.

We're having a few snifters (9.45am) while die Yiddische Mamaleh is poring over the hot stove.
    Gesundheit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Yall have a great now, ye hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Plazaman wrote: »

It'll always be Byzantium to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

You mean happy kill the Native American day?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

We need more public holidays here for **** sake, anything, Michael D's birthday, Pat Kenny appreciation day, Battle of something or other Day, River Dancing Day, Leitrim Day, anything, more holidays, more meat, more beer and more meat and most importantly more meat and beer and meat. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

http://www.nytimes.com/video/movies/1248069318731/critics-picks-the-ice-storm.html

Wendy Hood:Dear Lord, thank you for this Thanksgiving holiday. And for all the material possessions we have and enjoy. And for letting us white people kill all the Indians and steal their tribal lands. And stuff ourselves like pigs, even though children in Asia are being napalmed.
    Ben Hood: Jesus! Enough, alright? Paul… roll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Many, many Natives celebrate Thanksgiving. What the hell?

Thanksgiving coincides with many of our traditional feasting days. The Mashpee Wampanoag, the tribe known to help the pilgrims on Thanksgiving, still celebrate their traditional feasting day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Thousands of US retail workers are presumably shítting/steeling themselves for tomorrow's manifestation of the ugly side of consumerism though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

P_1 wrote: »
    Thousands of US retail workers are presumably shítting/steeling themselves for tomorrow's manifestation of the ugly side of consumerism though

Have you been watching South Park? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

We need more public holidays here for **** sake, anything, Michael D's birthday, Pat Kenny appreciation day, Battle of something or other Day, River Dancing Day, Leitrim Day, anything, more holidays, more meat, more beer and more meat and most importantly more meat and beer and meat. :)
    We sure do. They use any excuse for a bank holiday in Asia
    eg. Respect the Elderly day in Japan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What's the word from Punxsutawney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

kneemos wrote: »
    What's the word from Punxsutawney?

Phil doesn't come out until February 2nd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

pew pew pew pumpkins and turkeys. Yeeehaww.

Is tomorrow Black Friday?!

Jump over to reddit they have a section on it this time of year. It's makes the January sales here laughable. Holy crap I've never seen so many people trying to buy stuff. It's like Armageddon!

Hell. Stores are open today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

Tomorrow? Don't you know Black Friday is on a Thursday now.
    Shops open at 6pm today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Tomorrow? Don't you know Black Friday is on a Thursday now.
    Shops open at 6pm today.

Really? That is rediculous, guess retail workers in the States don't get a Thanksgiving so nowadays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

You mean happy kill the Native American day?!

Yeah, I have a sweet potato marshmallow pie in the oven, and arrows from the local tribes shooting through my window and I'm just about to pull out my pilgrim hat and grab my rifle. Because you know, it's still 300 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

the ugly side of consumerism

Racking my brains here to conjure an image of the pretty side...

.... nope.

Tomorrow is Native American Heritage Day.

I worked in retail back in high school and was happy to work on Black Friday as I got paid double time and they had hours for me to work. It meant more money for Christmas.

Black Friday is a magic card trick by retailers, this is actually not when the best deals are to be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Thanksgiving
    cena
    'cena' is Italian for dinner.
    Well played!

Yeah, I have a sweet potato marshmallow pie in the oven, and arrows from the local tribes shooting through my window and I'm just about to pull out my pilgrim hat and grab my rifle. Because you know, it's still 300 years ago.

Firstly, that pie sounds disgusting and secondly WTF you doing on the interweb if there are arrows coming through your window. Get under your bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I declare shenanigans! 300 years ago they would have use muskets, not rifles. You probably don't even have a pie in your oven and your statement is as worthless as a peace treaty with Native Americans!

Tomorrow is Native American Heritage Day.

I worked in retail back in high school and was happy to work on Black Friday as I got paid double time and they had hours for me to work. It meant more money for Christmas.

Black Friday is a magic card trick by retailers, this is actually not when the best deals are to be had.

All of November is Native American Heritage Month. It is declared by the President on the first of the month. Does your state celebrate something different?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Native_American_Heritage_Day

There is a day and there is a month.

I wonder if they were trying to push for a second holiday so that people can get the Thursday and Friday off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I often wondered, do the Sith Lords have a public holiday in the days of the Galactic Empire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

At some stage I def want to go to American and have thanksgiving, the food tbf sounds amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Yeah, I have a sweet potato marshmallow pie.

Is that a dessert or a side dish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Many, many years ago when I was in secondary school I had a brilliant History teacher. She made History interesting, anyway, she told us stories of indigenous American's who sent aid to Ireland during the Great Famine 1845 +.
    I loved History but due to the selection process in my school after the Inter Cert I had a choice between Physics or Economics.
    I choose Economics - feck all good it did me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

That's nice of them.They get a whole month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Yanksgiving, aka The US Nazi invasion.

Gobble gobble!

I wonder if they were trying to push for a second holiday so that people can get the Thursday and Friday off.

Don't people already have Friday off?

Except in retail obviously.

Don't people already have Friday off?

Except in retail obviously.

Mostly government jobs, it seems. My old corporate office was open on the Friday after, but most everyone took the day off (a vacation day).