Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2006 520d

• 27-11-2013 6:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭

These have the old engine I take it? Are they a good car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Robbie G wrote: »
    These have the old engine I take it? Are they a good car?

520ds? yes, they have the M57 engine, more reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Zane97

rocky wrote: »

Sorry. Flipping phone . 520 d's I mean. Are they worth the money for them? I see m sports at 11-13 grand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

lovely car for the money..see if you can pick up a nice 525D or 530D. smoother engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

M47 engine actually:). M57 is the engine with the correct number of cylinders:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

M47 engine actually:). M57 is the engine with the correct number of cylinders:).

bleurgh, diesel! :D

True that, it's still the fuel of the devil:).

Petrol is better:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

€11k to €13k is very strong money for a 2006 520d. If you could stomach the higher tax then this would be a better buy for the same money imo:

media?xwm=y&id=427ce179-9d1d-4691-bca3-2f5744f1a91a&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/BMW/5-Series/530-D,/37213827880090110/

I'm a derv man. Tax would put me off in a 525 and a 530. It's big enough as it is .

bazz26 wrote: »
    €11k to €13k is very strong money for a 2006 520d. If you could stomach the higher tax then this would be a better buy for the same money imo:

media?xwm=y&id=427ce179-9d1d-4691-bca3-2f5744f1a91a&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/BMW/5-Series/530-D,/37213827880090110/

Nice car. But again , the tax would put me off.

Just saying what you can get for your €13k. The higher tax is factored into the selling price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,130 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

€11k to €13k is very strong money for a 2006 520d.

That's putting it very mildly. Neighbour just picked up an '08 535d, mint, high spec, for €14k. Yes, the LCI one with nearly 300BHP and only €750 motor tax...

unkel wrote: »
    That's putting it very mildly. Neighbour just picked up an '08 535d, mint, high spec, for €14k. Yes, the LCI one with nearly 300BHP and only €750 motor tax...

English car??

That's a steal given the low tax on a 08, not many post 2007 ones about either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

the 08's and plus in the UK, dont have our bull**** system from what I know, so the jump will be what you would expect for a one year newer car, not the jump and another heap to more than compensate for the "cheap" tax :rolleyes: As if most Irish people are driving big engined cars, most would have been driving under 2L cars, they are saving E200-300 max per year, big woop! that kind of money certainly wouldnt be determining the car I drive...

sure look at what the likes of the below are already going for in the uk!

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201309098693769/sort/default/usedcars/maximum-age/up_to_3_years_old/make/bmw/model/5_series/radius/1501/onesearchad/used%2Cnearlynew%2Cnew/page/2/postcode/ls298jn/fuel-type/diesel?logcode=p

English car??

Nope originally Irish. Unusual spec, built in rollerblinds, etc.!

Worth pointing out to the OP that the models with the proper engine (the one with the all important six cylinders) from 08 onwards are only marginally more expensive to tax than any small engined 520d that is 07 or older, which of course being only a four cylinder sounds like a tractor and is rougher than a 525d upwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Idbatterim wrote: »
    the 08's and plus in the UK, dont have our bull**** system from what I know, so the jump will be what you would expect for a one year newer car, not the jump and another heap to more than compensate for the "cheap" tax :rolleyes: As if most Irish people are driving big engined cars, most would have been driving under 2L cars, they are saving E200-300 max per year, big woop! that kind of money certainly wouldnt be determining the car I drive...

sure look at what the likes of the below are already going for in the uk!

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201309098693769/sort/default/usedcars/maximum-age/up_to_3_years_old/make/bmw/model/5_series/radius/1501/onesearchad/used%2Cnearlynew%2Cnew/page/2/postcode/ls298jn/fuel-type/diesel?logcode=p

That has intergalactic miles for year. It has very little market value as cannot be retailed and is an auction special. Not a fair comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

The models with the later N47 engines have the timing chain issue, don't they? That would be by far my biggest concern.

I've a 2005 320d and I'm so glad I didn't buy (read couldn't afford) a 2006/2007 model with the N47 engine. Theyre a bit of a ticking time bomb, since its an engine-out job to fix the timing chain problem.

I just done a vrt calculation on a 2008 530. It's coming in at €4900

The models with the later N47 engines have the timing chain issue, don't they? That would be by far my biggest concern.

I've a 2005 320d and I'm so glad I didn't buy (read couldn't afford) a 2006/2007 model with the N47 engine. Theyre a bit of a ticking time bomb, since its an engine-out job to fix the timing chain problem.

The 3.0 litre N57 engine has the same design flaw but you don't hear of it as much as they don't sell the same number of them as the 2.0 litre N47 engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

That has intergalactic miles for year. It has very little market value as cannot be retailed and is an auction special. Not a fair comparison.
    where does it mention the auction bit? The year of the car here decimates the value as much as mileage...

here is a 2010, with 73,000 miles asking £12,950...

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201311190017411/sort/default/usedcars/model/5_series/maximum-mileage/up_to_100000_miles/postcode/bt39jp/radius/1501/page/2/maximum-age/up_to_3_years_old/make/bmw/onesearchad/used%2Cnearlynew%2Cnew/fuel-type/diesel?logcode=p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

That's a steal given the low tax on a 08, not many post 2007 ones about either.

It throws the argument out the window that high road tax make big engined cars cheap too. That's a big engine with reasonable tax.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

That's a bargain if it's a straight car. Any link to the car in question? Is it on IRL plates?

Don't have any link. And yes it's on Irish plates - see my last post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Green cars are about to get hammered, what was the milage on that it seems very cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Spipov

28 grand!?!!

Spipov wrote: »
    28 grand!?!!

Yep. A 2008 one in Colm Quinn Bmw

im speechless. im not even sure it has satnav looking at it.

wouldnt you get a good f10 for less than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Not in colm Quinn's you wouldn't :pac:
    Don't all his cars come with a 2 year warranty though. My aunty bought a 3 series there earlier this year and I think thats what see got. That's a shocking price still though.

im guessing you get a new car for the price of the "2 years warranty".

I'm still curious where he got it at that price?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

You get a 2010 SE, maybe a 2011 SE for that money. But let's not compare an entry level 520d with a top of the range 286bhp 535d lads.

The 2008 535d is twice the car a 2011 520d SE is in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I'm still curious where he got it at that price?

I think the neighbour could be telling porkies to his wife and keeping mum on the real price ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭ma88

Hell,who knows is a 2004, SE 320D bmw 4dr or 04 dr?
    As on the ros site vrt amounts differs between the 4 or 04 dr .