Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freeman leader of possibly dodgy Trust arrested over trespass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ah, Freemen.

I remember meeting a guy, amongst many, at the Rory Gallagher festival who shared this ideology and spouted tremendous amounts of horse-shìt because he got caught having a bag of weed by the Gardaí in his van at the side of the road.

He was going to tell the judge that he would refuse to listen to him because he pays his wage and that he is part of a corrupt system of which this stoner refuses to acknowledge and that no law is applicable to him because he is a citizen of the world.

I would've loved to have heard that judge's reaction.

He also wanted to privatise everything and abolish all taxes........forgetting mentioning earlier that he was on the dole. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Thought this thread was about mail order catalogue with dodgy interest rates.

Thread disappoints :mad:

Gordon Freeman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Gordon Freeman?

No, Morgan.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

That is a bit mad alright. A lot of sitcoms have taken the piss out of cults that expect their members to sign over the ownership of their properties to the cult. The fundemental idea of this "Trust" appears to be no different.

The only problem for the "Trust," was that it wasn't property fully paid off :pac:

CJC999 wrote: »
    No, Morgan.

Morgan Freeman got arrested because people don't trust him? But - but - but - who couldn't trust that voice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Not a freeman anymore then.

Has anyone seen my coat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

he was arrested because of contempt of court. not because he was running a dodgy trust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Duggy747 wrote: »
    He also wanted to privatise everything and abolish all taxes........forgetting mentioning earlier that he was on the dole. :pac:

These guys are great craic.:pac:

They say that the Government is invalid as it comes from a Constitution which was set up by King George. They say that they don't have to obey statutes, which are from the law of the sea. That is, unless they are tricked into contracting with the State by a form of magic words, such as using the phrase 'I understand'.

That would make drink driving an opt-in offence. It's gonna be a merry Christmas in Freemanland this year.

Keep on paying the dole though. Freemen gotta eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

These guys are great craic.:pac:

If you were a bored Judge with a sense of humour, they'd pass an evenin allright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Indeed, they generally are on the scratcher.

Whatever about that, they certainly don't seem to be in this dimension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I usually like to see everyone's point of view....

....but these guys are 110% wrong and crazy from the tops of their heads to the ends of their toes.

They are now branching into child protection -

Here's a thread featuring videos of them in operation.

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/showthread.php?t=223014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Misleading thread title tbh

Those articles say he was arrested on foot of an outstanding bench warrant for failing to respond to a summons relating to trespassing, not for having anything to do with any trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

These guys make me laugh, but annoy me too...

have a gander at this.... haha

http://dailybelch.com/2013/11/21/freeman-freed-after-legal-blunder/

H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

That Constant Markievicz was some fella...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXqIbWacFRQ

_SNIGGERS___

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

he was arrested because of contempt of court. not because he was running a dodgy trust
    Misleading thread title tbh

Those articles say he was arrested on foot of an outstanding bench warrant for failing to respond to a summons relating to trespassing, not for having anything to do with any trust.

Although the articles may state that, in the jurisdiction of AnonoBoy which is the only jurisdiction under which the legal entity known as AnonoBoy is bound, it was because of the dodgy trust.

Ok, yeah. He was arrested over the trespass. But that trust is well dodgy too! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

ronan45 wrote: »
    That Constant Markievicz was some fella...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXqIbWacFRQ

_SNIGGERS___

It's been subsequently proven as an established fact that Constant Markievicz did exist, was killed, died & was buried... & on the third day, the King of England of the Time, none other than Henry VIII had all mention of Constant removed from the pages of History... which as we know as an established historical fact is actually the History written from the viewpoint of the UK Monarchy who are, in fact, as has been scientifically proven, are puppets of the Rothmans, who in turn, it has been proven as a scientific fact, are actually from planet Zog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Ah, Freemen.

I remember meeting a guy, amongst many, at the Rory Gallagher festival who shared this ideology and spouted tremendous amounts of horse-shìt because he got caught having a bag of weed by the Gardaí in his van at the side of the road.

He was going to tell the judge that he would refuse to listen to him because he pays his wage and that he is part of a corrupt system of which this stoner refuses to acknowledge and that no law is applicable to him because he is a citizen of the world.

I would've loved to have heard that judge's reaction.

He also wanted to privatise everything and abolish all taxes........forgetting mentioning earlier that he was on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

My recollection was that he was sitebanned for threatening legal action.

I shall make a cringing apology if I am wrong on this, but I think that this was the relevant post.

So, what Biggins said was that he intended to notify Ben Gilroy, and that benway should not be surprised to hear from Gilroy's lawyers.

Don't be surprised if it rains this month, lads. Consider that a threat of rain.*

*This reference to rain is for satirical purposes only. The Mustard has no actual control over any weather, past, future, or lashing down.

I'm not passing judgement - bans and the dispensement of same are the purview of the moderators.

As for the topic at hand, this freeman stuff is absolutely bananas... and every concievable way...

Which would be fine, if it was just a bunch of loonies who wanted to live in their own little world, but the problem is that they have been actively trying to convince very desperate and vulnerable people to buy into their pseudo-legal fantasism, and as a result people are getting themselves into very real trouble with the law, only realizing the freeman stuff is b0llocks when it's too late.

Exhibit A:

The authorities seem to be finally acting on them, which is a plus. Ben Gilroy is before the courts I think, this trust lad is being dealt with. The Ballyphehane Heritage crowd are coming under scrutiny too - them of this fame fromt he recent protests in Dublin:

The sooner these loonies and their b0llocks-theories are shown up for what they are (preferably before more vulnerable people get into deep legal trouble because of them), the better imo :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    I'm not passing judgement - bans and the dispensement of same are the purview of the moderators.

As for the topic at hand, this freeman stuff is absolutely bananas... and every concievable way...

Which would be fine, if it was just a bunch of loonies who wanted to live in their own little world, but the problem is that they have been actively trying to convince very desperate and vulnerable people to buy into their pseudo-legal fantasism, and as a result people are getting themselves into very real trouble with the law, only realizing the freeman stuff is b0llocks when it's too late.

Exhibit A:

The authorities seem to be finally acting on them, which is a plus. Ben Gilroy is before the courts I think, this trust lad is being dealt with. The Ballyphehane Heritage crowd are coming under scrutiny too - them of this fame fromt he recent protests in Dublin:

The sooner these loonies and their b0llocks-theories are shown up for what they are (preferably before more vulnerable people get into deep legal trouble because of them), the better imo :cool:

Agree entirely here. I work near Thomas st, and have cause to visit Hse sites in disadvantaged areas, and their dangerous bollocks is everywhere. They'd be funny if they weren't sucking in some desperate and vulnerable people.

I fear the day that they discover bitcoins.

This gives great insight into the minds of Freeman types.

Completely ineffective, when it comes down to it... & now, in the situation above, what do/can they do? What means of appeal? What allies do they have (with any power to do anything about this)? ..or is it that they genuinely feel that one day their numbers will be so large that they will take over? &, even then, for how long (before that is snuffed out by some external power)?

Their declarations make as much sense as if they were stating that they were all from Atlantis & refused to accept the world as anything other than a hallucination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I agree with you.

I'd like to see the authorities taking a harder line with these guys.

After the video clip where the Polish lady was arrested, amidst jostling from the Ballyphehane Freemen, there was a subsequent clip where a man comes to a Garda station in Cork, banging on the windows, raising his voice, and making a spectacle of himself.

Not one guard came out to confront him.

I'm not a guard, but if I was, I'd have gone out to him and told him to fcuk off, and if he didn't, I'd have arrested him and thrown him into the cells.

...not sure that was why he got the chop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Well, he didn't support freeman stuff, but he seemed to be briefly personally acquainted with Ben Gilroy, trusted Gilroy's judgment, and then when overwhelming evidence came to light that Gilroy was into freeman nutter stuff, there was a, eh, rather large bout of cognitive dissonance on Biggins part, that had him vociferously (to the point of getting permabanned) defending Gilroy.

Didn't help that the thread was so focused on ridiculing Gilroy, and that this started (wrongly) spilling over onto Biggins, as if he supported freeman stuff (he didn't) - just got each side dug in their trench even deeper; I think Biggins would have come round to sense eventually, once the personal disappointment subsided.

Fwiw, in various parts of the internet he still posts rambling nonsense in support of Gilroy, using the 'fools' and 'idiots' language of the earlier linked thread to address those who have the temerity to disagree with him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It works both ways. If they don't recognise the law then does the law need to recognise them ? :pac:

In historical legal systems, an outlaw is declared as outside the protection of the law. In pre-modern societies, the criminal is withdrawn all legal protection, so that anyone is legally empowered to persecute or kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Gardai/Police should be given medals for not punching these 'freemen' in the face when they encounter them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

MadsL wrote: »
    I do feel a slight tinge of guilt about that thread :o

That truly was the thread that kept on giving...I'm still waiting on the answer to my question as to why Gilroy was up on stage at the Quinn rallies in Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

It works both ways. If they don't recognise the law then does the law need to recognise them ? :pac:

In historical legal systems, an outlaw is declared as outside the protection of the law. In pre-modern societies, the criminal is withdrawn all legal protection, so that anyone is legally empowered to persecute or kill them.

Here's a good piece of (Irish-)American history to demonstrate. At one point both sides were acting as 'the law'. It gets messy when we have more than one force of law.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County_War

Nodin wrote: »
    ...not sure that was why he got the chop.

I stand corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

The gardai need a clear and graphic approach to dealing with these deluded individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

These absolute spastics would be grand if they kept their loony ideas to themselves, it's when they start recruiting vulnerable people like that young foreign mother in Cork that they become dangerous.

The gardai need a clear and graphic approach to dealing with these deluded individuals.

Well they can't smack them in the head with that flick out baton. It'd kill even the densest of them.

xploderz wrote: »
    These absolute spastics would be grand if they kept their loony ideas to themselves, it's when they start recruiting vulnerable people like that young foreign mother in Cork that they become dangerous.

That's the problem with people who have loony ideas. They always want to share them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Boy Of The Clan Anono you mean.

These jokers claim to represent the downtrodden people of Ireland. Aren't they actually formerly successful businesspeople?

It's Boy Of The Clan Anono(TM), and you now owe him €50k for copyright infringement.

How long before one of these Freeman nuts sets up some sort of commune and we wind up with a Waco type situation in a farmhouse somewhere in the midlands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

This isn't a thread for having a pop at former members. Stick to the topic.

Allen today apologised unreservedly to the High Court and admitted he was in contempt of court.

The Freemen will be very disappointed in him for recognising the court won't they?

http://www.newstalk.ie/Antieviction-protestor-avoids-penalty-for-contempt

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Allen today apologised unreservedly to the High Court and admitted he was in contempt of court.

The Freemen will be very disappointed in him for recognising the court won't they?

http://www.newstalk.ie/Antieviction-protestor-avoids-penalty-for-contempt

Was it him though? Was it really him? I heard it was an actor playing him, or they'd hypnotized him, getting him recognising the court that way, or he was possessed by one of those lizard aliens that live in your appendix like in Stargate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson