Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying TV Licence

• 25-11-2013 8:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Firstly yes I know its the law blah blah blah so if thats your reply please move on!

Basically myself and 3 friends live on campus in dublin at university and have so far gotten two letters about the tv licence, one asking us to pay it and one saying they called but we werent in.

Now when I was in first year we got one letter and never heard from them again. How long can we actually get away without paying (we move out at the end of may)?

We have a tv that we use for xbox and while I'm aware we would still have to pay it could we simply refuse entry to the inspector should we answer the door to him?

I'm sorry if this sounds cheap but we're four students with little money!

Any advice/help would be greatly appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Sell the Xbox and games to pay for the tv licence....

...you are grown ups now, welcome to the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Hi guys,

Firstly yes I know its the law blah blah blah so if thats your reply please move on!

Basically myself and 3 friends live on campus in dublin at university and have so far gotten two letters about the tv licence, one asking us to pay it and one saying they called but we werent in.

Now when I was in first year we got one letter and never heard from them again. How long can we actually get away without paying (we move out at the end of may)?

We have a tv that we use for xbox and while I'm aware we would still have to pay it could we simply refuse entry to the inspector should we answer the door to him?

Maybe check all the other countless TV License threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

Students with little money........

yet you still have an xbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

They've heard all the excuses...

all.of.them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

hahahhahahahha

OP, just never answer the door ever. and if you do answer the door tell them youre just robbing the place and have no idea who lives there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,640 ✭✭✭cml387

No it's fine. You don't have to pay the license.

Just show this to the inspector and he'll agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Just refuse them entry to your premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,850 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Blah, blah, blah the law. And also against the rules on AH. But you needn't worry, it doesn't apply when its anything to do with paying taxes or the TV Licence.

From the AH Charter.

No advocating criminality or violence

Any threads or posts advocating illegal activities or asking for help in such activities will be deleted. Please do not attempt to advocate or incite criminality or violence as this is a bannable offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I moved out of the family home 5 years ago. Never once paid for a tv license. Johnny 1 Enda 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Inspector cannot enter unless he has a garda with him/her.

Technically speaking, if you tell the inspector you don't have a TV and have no visible outside connections (dish/aerial), you can get away with it. But that means every single person must agree that if asked, they must deny there being a TV in the house.

If you want to be as within the law as possible, replace the TV with a computer monitor. Then you aren't legally obliged to pay anything... until the broadcasting charge is introduced

Blah, blah, blah the law. And also against the rules on AH. But you needn't worry, it doesn't apply when its anything to do with paying taxes or the TV Licence.

From the AH Charter.

Any threads or posts advocating illegal activities or asking for help in such activities will be deleted. Please do not attempt to advocate or incite criminality or violence as this is a bannable offence.

Laws are made to protect citizens, not just to prosecute them.

If a person has the legal right to refuse a tv inspector entry into his or her home, unless (legally) compelled to, then what is the problem here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

From the AH Charter.

OK mod! :rolleyes:

OP doubt you will get away with this. Tell them you'll start buying the TV licence stamps, whether you do or not is entirely up to you. As long as you are aware of the consequences if you and your mates get caught!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

For future reference-
    Buy the €4 tv licence savings stamps weekly from the post office and get the stamp booklet that goes with them-tis the easiest way of payin the tv licence coz once ye continue to buy stamp(s) every week and the stamp book should have the €160 worth before the due date.Tis probably too late for ye to start doing that now but start after ye sort the current one out.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Keep TV in shower, sorted.

And title should not be "Paying tv licence", it should be "We don't want to pay the tv licence".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

Once they have none of your names you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I lived alone for about 4 years, never paid it. Got loads of letters, never answered the door.

Dont answer your door, sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Yourself and your housemates should take the TV license inspector captive , sure he wont be missed at all.

Quite the fashion in some circles these days to have your own captive housemate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

Go to the post office,tell them the inspector has already paid a visit and ask them at the post office is it too late to start buying the savings stamps.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

How long have you been living at the current address? Any licence fee you pay will most likely be backdated to the date that they have you at that address, ignore them if you wish and to be fair when I was student I would have but there has been a spate of prosecutions on tv licences recently in the east coast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Have sex with the tv inspector, or make one of your mates have sex with the tv inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

I moved out of the family home 5 years ago. Never once paid for a tv license. Johnny 1 Enda 0

Johnny 1 Taxpayer 0. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

mauzo! wrote: »
    I lived alone for about 4 years, never paid it. Got loads of letters, never answered the door.

Dont answer your door, sorted.

That was the ol' trick alright. Once you didn't open your door you were grand.

I am too young to remember it myself but my da says back in the 80s loads of the neightbours got caught. Blokes walking around with clipboards knocking on peoples doors. People would naturally open their doors only to get hit with a big "Do you have a tv license?"

bah. cunts. and before anyone gets back to me saying it's the law. It's a fucking stupid law. Designed the tax you/get more money out of you.

Hi guys,

OP, do you have a TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

If you're paying 5-6grand to live on campus, the poxy TV licence should be included!

Or look at it another way. If someone can afford to pay 5 - 6 grand to live on campus then they can afford a few Euros a week for a TV licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

OP, do you have a TV?

Camel jockey, you know the op has a tv. It clearly says so in the post YOU quoted.
    It doesnt take a clairvoyant to see that you want the op to reply with yes just so you can have your little ol' jollies by replying with "well pay the tv license!!!"

There is no need to be a dick about it. He stated it. You quoted it.

OP, do you have a TV?
    We have a tv that we use for xbox 

Eh. Dunno why, but I've a haunch they do. :)

OP, do you have a TV?

No , I dont think he does.

Camel jockey, you know the op has a tv. It clearly says so in the post YOU quoted.
    It doesnt take a clairvoyant to see that you want the op to reply with yes just so you can have your little ol' jollies by replying with "well pay the tv license!!!"

Eh. Dunno why, but I've a haunch they to. :)
    mattjack wrote: »

Sounds like he should have a TV licence to go with the TV then. That clears things up. Thanks lads.

Damn, he would have fallen for it too. Killjoy.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Or look at it another way. If someone can afford to pay 5 - 6 grand to live on campus then they can afford a few Euros a week for a TV licence.

Also true.

According to the OP, he does though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Pay a tv licence to watch re runs of misses browns boys and Aussie soaps? I've paid my fee but begrudge every single penny! They wouldn't even pay to show highlights of the Poland v Ireland game.

According to the OP, he does though.

No dont think so , I doubt you have a camel either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

OP do you not know they have heard all of the excuses? How are we going to fund our state broadcaster without everyone paying their TV Licence. The extremely low standard of broadcasting may worsen(although its so sh1t it probably cant get any worse)

I have a box of twenty. ;)

You are correct, I don't have a camel. But that doesn't mean I can't appreciate the sport of kings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,636 ✭✭✭✭road_high

hfallada wrote: »
    OP do you not know they have heard all of the excuses? How are we going to fund our state broadcaster without everyone paying their TV Licence. The extremely low standard of broadcasting may worsen(although its so sh1t it probably cant get any worse)

LOL. So true. Or Marian and Joe's fat salaries for that matter?

The idea of a "TV Licence" is like something from a by gone era. It's like paying to go shopping or some daft notion like that.
    Personally couldn't give a damn about RTE or it's "public service remit" or other such non-sense. No other station on the Sky (we/I pay for) enjoy this unbriddled privilige. It's perverse in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

It may be the law but there was also a law in this country not too long ago that forbid gay people from having the sex.

I pay taxes on my UPC and Netflix bills, I paid tax when I bought my tv and PS3.

I don't like people saying it's only a few euro a week. I can buy an extra tub of yummy ice cream with that extra few euros a week.

RTE should be scaled back enormously. I don't have an issue with them doing public service broadcasting like the news, weather and Primetime but sh1te like Fair City and can fuck off as far as I'm concerned. I like sport, I was able to watch the Ireland Poland match because I pay for Setanta, that's how it should be in my opinion. Pay for what you watch, don't pay for what you don't watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Can't remember the last time I watched RTE for longer than 15 seconds without changing the channel in utter disgust. It's not like they even manage to keep it advert free like the BBC. I feel like I'm wasting money. Sure, it's not much per month but it would pay for Netflix twice over and I use that every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Answer the door in the nip, they'll never call again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Answer the door in the nip, they'll never call again.

They'd never leave me alone!!

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

OP I'll rob your TV for you when the TV inspector calls I've been stealing electronics since I was 10 so I'm an expert.
    Just gimmie a call when the inspector calls over and I'll burst through the front door steal your TV give the inspector the 2 finger salute and be on my way!
    I will then return with your TV and all I'll charge for this service is €20 thats alot cheaper than paying for your TV license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭IrishWelshCelt

We have no access to a tv/digital service and would be unwilling to pay for it even if we did. Essentially in your scenario we'd have a tv and licence but no xbox and nothing to watch, that would be rather pointless.

jobyrne30 wrote: »
    Students with little money........

yet you still have an xbox

Ah here this is the 360, I got it like 5 years ago off santa!

kev1.3s wrote: »
    How long have you been living at the current address? Any licence fee you pay will most likely be backdated to the date that they have you at that address, ignore them if you wish and to be fair when I was student I would have but there has been a spate of prosecutions on tv licences recently in the east coast.

We've literally only being living here the guts of 2 months since september the 1st.

OP, do you have a TV?

It's not mine, its my flatmates, my xbox is attached and the four of us use it to watch movies via hdmi and play fifa.

I am on a grant as is one of my other flatmates without it I'd be commuting from Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,393 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Seasan wrote: »
    For future reference-
    Buy the €4 tv licence savings stamps weekly from the post office and get the stamp booklet that goes with them-tis the easiest way of payin the tv licence coz once ye continue to buy stamp(s) every week and the stamp book should have the €160 worth before the due date.Tis probably too late for ye to start doing that now but start after ye sort the current one out.
    Seasan wrote: »
    Go to the post office,tell them the inspector has already paid a visit and ask them at the post office is it too late to start buying the savings stamps.

Do you have shares in An Post tv licence stamps, or do you just really like stamps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Pay a tv licence to watch re runs of misses browns boys and Aussie soaps? I've paid my fee but begrudge every single penny! They wouldn't even pay to show highlights of the Poland v Ireland game.

TV licence doesn't just pay for television. It covers much more.