Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THE FIRST BLACK PRESIDENT OF IRELAND ?

• 23-11-2013 10:41pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭

Would anyone expect to see a black President in this country in their lifetime ?
    After all would anybody have easily predicted a black American President just 10 years ago !

Found myself involved in a heated debate over this, whilst having a few jars last night, and well I`ve wagered a hefty bet that it will happen, but concede it may not happen for a good generation .

Anyhow I win if it happens before 2050, just have to be around long enough to collect the winnings, when do you expect this will happen ? Any predictions/candidates in mind ?

First Black President of Ireland ? 103 votes

In the next 10 years.
    0% 1 vote
    In the next 20 years.
    3% 4 votes
    Before 2050.
    16% 17 votes
    Not ever likely to happen.
    78% 81 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Don't see why not, as we have had quite a mixed bunch already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

It's not as socially relevant here as it was in the US. If a decent candidate came along in a few years who happened to be black, I don't see why he wouldn't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A black TD will probably happen in the next 10-15 years.

Would anyone expect to see a black President in this country in their lifetime ?
    After all would anybody have easily predicted a black American President just 10 years ago !

Bit of a difference between American presidency and irish

Did you mean Taoiseach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭dm09

Found myself involved in a heated debate over this, whilst having a few jars last night, and well I`ve wagered a hefty bet that it will happen, but concede it may not happen for a good generation .

Anyhow I win if it happens before 2050, just have to be around long enough to collect the winnings, when do you expect this will happen ? Any predictions/candidates in my mind ?

Ireland has been multi ethnic since the late 1990s. The UK has had a significant multi ethnic population since the 1960s so going by the logic above the UK should have had a non white Prime Minister by now? I wouldn't rule out a black president in Ireland, I'd imagine it will be a few generations away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Why is there no option between 2050 and infinity?
    Is the OP so young that 2050 seems like an infinity away?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I don't see why not. If Paul McGrath had run in the last election he actually would have been the best candidate. Even Samantha Mumba would have been better than Dana, Sean Gallagher or Martin McGuinness.

sabat wrote: »
    Even Samantha Mumba would have been better than Dana, Sean Gallagher or Martin McGuinness.
    I dislike all of the above, but Samantha Mumba :eek: :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

Black people make up a fairly small % of the population, even if you assume that their race will have no negative impact on their prospects at all, its still quite unlikely given the fact that we will only have a hand full of presidents between now and 2050.
    In the same way its fairly unlikely that we will have a President from Wexford between now and 2050. Nothing to do with Wexford people, just the probability based on numbers.

Then again, you never know, a particularly good and likeable black (or Wexford based) politition may emerge and beat the odds over the next 30 years.

An Coilean wrote: »
    Black people make up a fairly small % of the population, even if you assume that their race will have no negative impact on their prospects at all, its still quite unlikely given the fact that we will only have a hand full of presidents between now and 2050.
    In the same way its fairly unlikely that we will have a President from Wexford between now and 2050. Nothing to do with Wexford people, just the probability based on numbers.

Then again, you never know, a particularly good and likeable black (or Wexford based) politition may emerge and beat the odds over the next 30 years.
    This post is mad - bananas mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

I don't see why not. If Paul McGrath had run in the last election he actually would have been the best candidate. Even Samantha Mumba would have been better than Dana, Sean Gallagher or Martin McGuinness.

Better at what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Yer man that presents the lotto or Lenny Henry would make good presidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Be a while before we see a president but I wouldn't be surprised if there was a TD in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Phoebas wrote: »
    I dislike all of the above, but Samantha Mumba :eek: :confused:
    Better at what?

Now I rock a house party at the drop of a hat...

Better at what?

At being president. I mentioned it in the second sentence of my extremely long post-it's easy to see how you could miss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

Just because there isn't a very high percentage of black people in Ireland, and there is normally only a chance to elect a President every 7 years, combined with the fact that the person needs a profile and there aren't that many with a high profile in Irish life, I'd say the odds of it happening soon are low.

America was completely different with a much much higher percentage of black people and a higher number of famous black people. I'm surprised in one way it didn't happen earlier.

If no-one dies in office, resigns or is kicked out, there will only be a max of 5 new presidents between now and 2050, and probably there will be less as the incumbent has an advantage if they want to run for a second term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Or will a Chinese lad get the job first?

Place your bets....

Or will a Chinese lad get the job first?

Place your bets....
    My moneys on one of them Muslim boyos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Anyhow I win if it happens before 2050, just have to be around long enough to collect the winnings, when do you expect this will happen ? Any predictions/candidates in mind ?

Well given that there has been an indigenous population of leprechauns in this country for centuries, and it's only in recent times we have a leprechaun for president...

Me personally I couldn't give a fcuk if the president was purple with blue spots as long as he or she represented Ireland on the International stage in a competent manner. I can just imagine what some Americans must be thinking when they see Michael D on television -

"Look Mabel, it's one of them Airish lepercauns!"

"Don't be silly dea... holy shìt!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I'm surprised in one way it didn't happen earlier.

It didn't happen earlier because mainstream America, i.e. non-Blacks, would not elect a President who was descended from African slaves. Obama is black, but he did not inherit the generational pain that Black Americans have because of slavery. His father was an immigrant from Kenya.

Americans are very reluctant in engaging in a fruitful dialogue about slavery. Having a Black president who is a descendant of those slaves would likely force the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

How "hefty" was this bet OP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Jimmy Rabbitte from The Commitments, he was black and proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Sure let me know when ye are are ready to nominate me lads
    If every boardies votes for me I'll defo win any presidential election

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

Paul Galvin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

Could happen if the right candidate emerges, wouldn't be that big a deal, we don't have the same problem with race relations as the US did. Closest you could get to compare situations is maybe Travellers?

Or Tonto Og O Halpin maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Phil Lynott for president!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

will he make that annoying tutting noise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Phil Lynott for president!

As a deceased heroin addict he may not swing the rural vote but the Mayor of Dublin would be a shoe-in:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

as long as it's not another culchie who care's what color he/she is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

If it was humanly possible, I'd like to see Michael D. in power forever. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

A man with a recurring alcohol problem, a young singer who has probably been manipulated out of most of her money and Dana.

And these are better candidates than a successful/respected business man and another who has been an elected politician (who is well respected in some areas) for 15 years.

I really hope you don't vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Thats weird.

I got an email yesterday from a black president from Nigeria .
    He claims that the political climate or legal issues preclude him from accessing funds in a foreign bank account and request my help to gain such access.
    I sent him my account details straight away. Glad to help him.

Cant wait to meet him next week.

And these are better candidates than a successful/respected business man and another who has been an elected politician (who is well respected in some areas) for 15 years.

Sean Gallagher is a failed businessman, a liar and a laughing stock and Martin McGuinness, whose main selling point is that he used to murder people then stopped, has never even lived in this country so yes, as bad as the two people I mentioned would be, I would prefer either of them as president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

A man with a recurring alcohol problem, a young singer who has probably been manipulated out of most of her money and Dana.

Paul McGrath has represented the country at home and abroad more successfully and in a better light than some of those you refer to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

Sean Gallagher is a failed businessman, a liar and a laughing stock and Martin McGuinness, whose main selling point is that he used to murder people then stopped, has never even lived in this country so yes, as bad as the two people I mentioned would be, I would prefer either of them as president.

They are still more competent candidates than Paul McGrath and Samantha bloody Mumba, to compare them is laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Chuck Norris will be our next president. He will convince us all he is black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Day Day Lewis's son.

Thinking your black counts, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah he seems to be settling into the job nicely all right, he was definately the best canidate for the job, I'd say Gallagher could have got it only he got caught out a few days before the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Shout Dust wrote: »
    Could happen if the right candidate emerges, wouldn't be that big a deal, we don't have the same problem with race relations as the US did. Closest you could get to compare situations is maybe Travellers?

Not really, we haven't a history of hanging Travellers from trees here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Unfortunately as he's living in the human world now, he's subject to time as it passes here.

I'd like to see him in a role where he actually has power. If Michael D. was our benevolent dictator I'm sure we'd have had proper legislation for gay marriage and abortion by now.

Nodin wrote: »
    Unfortunately as he's living in the human world now, he's subject to time as it passes here.
    but....he's a wizard!

Anyways, I'm saying around 2100, 2050 is a bit close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭hsianloon

Would be a good idea. Not to stereotype but most black's ( in Ireland mostly Nigerians, Sudanese )I've met are more straightforward speaking than Irish people. Would be a refreshing change compared to the pro forma statements we here everyday.

What about a Traveller taiseoch ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Racist question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭hsianloon

Racist question.

What's racist about it? Because we're suggesting someone who isn't white ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

nevermind a black president, isn't it about time we had a black newscaster on RTE to reflect the racial diversity in this country

fryup wrote: »
    nevermind a black president, isn't it about time we had a black newscaster on RTE to reflect the racial diversity in this country

Hardly. What % of the population is black?

hsianloon wrote: »
    What's racist about it? Because we're suggesting someone who isn't white ?

No, because race shouldn't come into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

We've already had an Indian muslim TD, a black president isn't that much of a stretch imo