Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone keyed my car

• 21-11-2013 7:39pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27

I'm pissed off about this. My wife parks in her parents estate and gets the bus to work from there. a few weeks ago we noticed 4 big dents in the front passenger door. I found it hard to believe this pattern of dents was accidental, but what can you do. Today someone keyed a deep 4 foot line across two doors when parked in the same place.

My question is, is there any point reporting this to the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

No earthly point whatsoever in this lifetime.

Park somewhere else perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I'm pissed off about this. My wife parks in her parents estate and gets the bus to work from there. a few weeks ago we noticed 4 big dents in the front passenger door. I found it hard to believe this pattern of dents was accidental, but what can you do. Today someone keyed a deep 4 foot line across two doors when parked in the same place.

Maybe, for insurance reasons?

No, but there is point in getting some cameras in the car to find out who's doing it.

You're not obstructing someone who may be getting annoyed, are you? Blocking someone from leaving their house or anything along those lines? (not that that would justify criminal damage, but it could be some lunatic getting enraged if you're keeping them stuck at home, etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

There's only one thing to do OP. Beat them to death with their own shoes.

That'll teach them. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Mickey H wrote: »
    There's only one thing to do OP. Beat them to death with their own shoes.

That's how the shopkeeper and his son died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Id be pointing the finger at your father-in-law.
    He sounds like an oul bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Red_Dwarf

Maybe its her Parents way of telling her to stop parking the Fucking car outside their house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Is she blocking someone's driveway?

If so you should be happy the mirrors are still attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭Danger781

Sounds like you / your wife / the parents did something to piss someone off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

You don't fcuk with another mans vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Burn their house down. If you don't know which house in the estate then burn them all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I was parked outside a shop today and this dope of a woman decides to hammer the door of her car against mine, she left paint from her car and a dent on it :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 Fabric Softener

No, but there is point in getting some cameras in the car to find out who's doing it.

You're not obstructing someone who may be getting annoyed, are you? Blocking someone from leaving their house or anything along those lines? (not that that would justify criminal damage, but it could be some lunatic getting enraged if you're keeping them stuck at home, etc.)

No one is being instructed and its perfectly legal to park there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Sounds like something an OAP living in the estate would do. Probably doesn't take too kindly to outsiders parking in their field of view :rolleyes: you know the ones

Red_Dwarf wrote: »
    Maybe its her Parents way of telling her to stop parking the Fucking car outside their house

If it was parked outside her house this wouldnt have happened.

Someone broke the sign off my mercedes a few years ago. Someone else keyed my 5 series.

There's no point to my story other than to let you all know what cars I've owned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

No one is being instructed and its perfectly legal to park there.

Did you accidentally something there when parking the whattyamacallit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

My wife parks in her parents estate and gets the bus to work from there
    This is the problem. You can be 99% sure it's someone who lives in that estate who doesn't take kindly to someone using "their" estate for free parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Someone broke the sign off my mercedes a few years ago. Someone else keyed my 5 series.

There's no point to my story other than to let you all know what cars I've owned.

I'm never becoming a subscriber again. Now I know where my money is going

This is the problem. You can be 99% sure it's someone who lives in that estate who doesn't take kindly to someone using "their" estate for free parking.

Or it could his wife doing it to the car herself 'cause she wants a new car for Christmas .... did ya think of that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

That's how the shopkeeper and his son died.

That was a whole other story. However, we did get the 1000 brown M&M's and Ozzy went on stage and did a great show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Xeyn

Reporting to the gardai isnt always about getting personal justice. Reports are also used for statistics which improve security and more importantly there may be similar events happening near by that might prompt scrutiny in that particular area by the gardai but there wasnt a pattern until you provided them with your account. Your reporting may help others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I know I'm going to regret this.

What did the sign say?

Can anyone recommend a good shop or website to buy a cctv camera for a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

cml387 wrote: »

What did the sign say?

Mods car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

cml387 wrote: »

What did the sign say?

Honk if you've never seen an Uzi fired from a car window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

You need one of these OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

And now you ride the bus? Wasn't the Celtic Tiger wonderful!? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Rolls Royce???

I'm sorry, did you just mention my Rolls Royce?

Rolllllllssssss Royyyyyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

kneemos wrote: »
    Mods car.

It was modded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

This is why I always leave my Lambo in my secret garage and take the Fiesta everyday.

Gonna put my Columbo hat on and get to the bottom of this. My sister in law's friend lives on the road where the car was parked today. Will ask her if she has seen anyone damaging cars.

I'd even be tempted to take a day off work and hide in the back seat for the day. Thats how pissed off I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Get on to the Irish Federation of Beekeepers.

They'll help you arrange a sting operation.

Alternatively, take some time off work and conduct a stakeout with a video camera.
    Chances are it is a disgruntled neighbour who believes they own the road space outside their house and will likely keep damaging the car.

Gonna put my Columbo hat on and get to the bottom of this. My sister in law's friend lives on the road where the car was parked today. Will ask her if she has seen anyone damaging cars.

I'd even be tempted to take a day off work and hide in the back seat for the day. Thats how pissed off I am.

'Magine it was your sister in law's friend who keyed the car .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Probably this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Seamus1964

Next time you park there you may get your car foamed

http://f.pmo.ee/f/2013/11/19/2631800t81hc66e.jpg

• Site Banned Posts: 6 Pubic Paddy

What do you think of the person who did this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭dockleaf

I bought a 132 car in August when my last car gave up the ghost ( twas very old, had owned it for more than 10 years). The first day I drove it to work, parked ( legally) where I always park, came out to find a large dent in the bonnet. It's just a clio, dunno how anyone could be that jealous or just bloody minded. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

dockleaf wrote: »
    I bought a 132 car in August when my last car gave up the ghost ( twas very old, had owned it for more than 10 years). The first day I drove it to work, parked ( legally) where I always park, came out to find a large dent in the bonnet. It's just a clio, dunno how anyone could be that jealous or just bloody minded. :rolleyes:
    It was probably Papa - he's had it in for Nicole for a while now since she started dealing crack. Apparently the money from the adds dried up and she got desperate. He probably mistook yours for hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

Are you parked where they play football? hence the dents from the ball and the scratches to keep you away.
    A cat just done a multi scratch job on my car, jumping up, it must have lost grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

There is an easy less expensive way to fix dents and that's paintless dent removal (search for it loads doing it). If the scratch or scrap is light it could be fixed by using a cutting compound with a machine polisher. If it has gone through to the primer the panel will need respraying (usually).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Put a note on the windscreen saying something along the lines of "I have permission to park here from my family who live at number xx if you want to take any issues you have to them rather than damaging my car anonymously. Thanks."

Hal1 wrote: »
    There is an easy less expensive way to fix dents and that's paintless dent removal (search for it loads doing it). If the scratch or scrap is light it could be fixed by using a cutting compound with a machine polisher. If it has gone through to the primer the panel will need respraying (usually).

The scratch is fairly deep.