Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4, Episode 7 - Dead weight [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Just saw this clip it's from a New Zealand channel. It's quite revealing of some developments so spoilers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

watched a foreign advert for the next episode and it gave away an even bigger spoiler
    martinez death
    . how stupid are amc to allow this or do they have no control over what foreign stations show as adverts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Its since been pulled. But as far as spoilers go thats not a biggie it was obvious really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Martinez' character doesn't make a lick of sense. Why the **** is letting Governor join them. Ugh this show sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Sgt. Joe Toye! I wonder will a zed get his leg like the shells in Bastogne?

Grimebox wrote: »
    Martinez' character doesn't make a lick of sense. Why the **** is letting Governor join them. Ugh this show sometimes

He actually explains why in the episode if you watched it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Sgt. Joe Toye! I wonder will a zed get his leg like the shells in Bastogne?
    Kirk Avecedo has been popping up in stuff recently (saw him in Person of Interest a few weeks ago), hope he gets a regular gig, I liked his character (Charlie) in Fringe. I've not seen the episode yet so no pointing and laughing at me if he's already turned into zed chow!

LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    He actually explains why in the episode if you watched it all

I hadn't got to that part yet. And sure enough if you watch even further, he gets killed by him! What an idiot

The other guy joins him after he murders his brother.

This. show. makes. no. sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Thought that was a pretty poor episode.
    And it looks like they found a way to set up the Prison v Woodbury thing all over again.

I don't get where all these people came from?
    One moment it looked like Martinez +3, then there were 20 people just there, not to mention all these other little campsites.
    Where have these people been went the prison guys have been out "scouting".

Even within the confines of this new community, people only seem to appear after the drama is over. The little girl was running for a bit while they were chasing, and she didn't pass anyone, runs into the washing line Zombie, get's in a struggle, and the Gov is the first one (save the sister) to save the day. Yet, as soon as he shoots the zombie, everyone's there.

It just seems like a logistical mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I thought it was a decent episode despite the short comings. Feels like the series is repeating itself re govenor vs the prison, surely this time it has to end? I would like to see an end to it and after the mid series finale Rick and the group push on after the prison was destroyed by the tank or what not and the govenor dead

edit: Why was the RV leaking? It wasn't raining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Although the series is really just repeating itself, like blatantly i cant help but feel this trying to make up for the awful ending last season, and trying to set the show off in a better direction. I hope it leads to the point from the comics that involved the tank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Im really enjoying this series. Very dark but good episode and sets things up nicely for next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

A rehash of season 3 with the whole Gov vs the prison, I hope they can end it quick and with next weeks episode being the last before the break I hope the show can push forward to new ground in february.

I hope one or two of the hang ons are killed off next week, preferably Glen

Grimebox wrote: »
    I hadn't got to that part yet. And sure enough if you watch even further, he gets killed by him! What an idiot

The other guy joins him after he murders his brother.

This. show. makes. no. sense.

Yep it would have made more sense for him to just get rid of Martinez. Then the brothers could have acted as the Govenor's new duo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Celtic Tiger

Couldn't believe your man joining the Governor after him killing his brother. Because they had been getting on so well before that? No your man had been insulting the Governor at every opportunity. Whats was the point of even making them brothers, it only made the forgiveness even more unbelievable.

Also the rediculously timely manner of the other camp getting destroyed a few hours after them finding it.

I enjoy the show but the shoddy writing is really letting it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

9/10
    Excellent episode!!
    I absolutely loved this episode. It was a great set up that made me excited for the finale!!
    Mitch is a bad seed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

Couldn't believe your man joining the Governor after him killing his brother. Because they had been getting on so well before that? No your man had been insulting the Governor at every opportunity. Whats was the point of even making them brothers, it only made the forgiveness even more unbelievable.

Also the rediculously timely manner of the other camp getting destroyed a few hours after them finding it.

I enjoy the show but the shoddy writing is really letting it down.

Bad bad writing. As others have said feels like a rehash of last season w the gov against the prison

Shane St. wrote: »
    Bad bad writing. As others have said feels like a rehash of last season w the gov against the prison

Prison attack 2: Electro boogaloo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

Something that struck me, why hasnt the new group got the flu bug type thing the same as the people in the prison?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

viztopia wrote: »
    Something that struck me, why hasnt the new group got the flu bug type thing the same as the people in the prison?

Why would they? Seems confined to the prison similar to how a bug will pass to others from the same home etc

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

viztopia wrote: »

Cos the writers say so!

I enjoyed last week's episode, and moments in this latest were decent (The Governor crying "I don't want it!" as he
    killed Martinez
    was effective), but overall it had far too much shoddy writing to ignore. Nothing seems to flow in this series; scene to scene things happen so arbitrarily it feels like they're making it up as they go along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

nuxxx wrote: »
    Why would they? Seems confined to the prison similar to how a bug will pass to others from the same home etc

The walkers that Daryl and Co. encountered in the veterinary hospital all had bleeding eyes like Patrick and Caleb had when they turned from the flu. Doesn't seem to be just the prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

nuxxx wrote: »

Plenty of the walkers at the fence outside the prison have bleeding eyes and thus the virus so it can't be confined to the prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭AdamB

Mid-season finale already? Nothing much has happened so far yet, in comparrison to previous seasons. I'm starting to loose interest in this show.....But that leaking roof takes the biscuit, WTF was that about?
    Has it ever rained in this show?

AdamB wrote: »
    Mid-season finale already? Nothing much has happened so far yet, in comparrison to previous seasons. I'm starting to loose interest in this show.....But that leaking roof takes the biscuit, WTF was that about?
    Has it ever rained in this show?

Plot rain when Glen and Rick were covered in zombie entrails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭AdamB

It rained right on cue then ;)

I dont get it...if people really hate this show and find it so terrible why watch it? Just like to have a moan? These threads can be bizarre

I have asked myself that same question.

I mildly enjoy the show. It has its moments, but there are some serious clangers consistently. The latest being that guy siding with his brothers murderer (try defending that one). I have a thing for zombie survival so I keep coming back. The first episode of the first season was 10/10 so I was hooked since then. There is usually one or two good episodes per season, "Clear" being one of them from the last season.

What's wrong with a bit of negative feedback? If the show is that good, it should be able to hold up to scrutiny. This is a discussion forum after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Cant believe they've managed to make a zombie apocalypse boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

This episode was a bit ridiculous. Why did the Gov kill Martinez??? And then he murders the other guy who was the brother of his now second in command??? So stupid. I can't believe they are setting up the Gov vs the prison AGAIN. It was done in the last season. Hopefully Rick puts a bullet in the Gov's head and thats it over in the next episode. They do have a tank though.... anyway I can't see why the 2 camps can't just pool their resources and coexist peacefully. Granted the Gov and Michone will still want to kill each other but sure lock em in a cell overnight and see who's still breathing in the morning and then continue the story on to something new please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Martinez is an idiot for not killing the Guv. He signed his own death sentence. His deserted the Gov because he appeared suicidal not because of the woodbury cowards slaughter , Time had passed and after viewing the new gov family and heard them calling him Brian and seeing they cared for him he misjudged brought the guv in and screwed up and got himself fed to a pit of biters alive.

Mitch was not "OK" with Pete getting killed. , he was totally stunned and practically crying. But guv had him at gun point. It was either, join guv, or die right now, just like Pete. The Guv is the master of Stockholm Syndrome.
    I'm not totally certain that Mitch was Pete's blood brother. Maybe, maybe not. Could have been referring to the fact that they were both military men. It is not so hard to believe that he started working with the Guv. His other choice was to be murdered right then and there. A I think when you are actually face to face with a crazy person who still has fresh blood just starting to get sticky on his hands from murdering someone else you are probably going to choose survival. At least until you have a better chance of over-powering him. And who knows, maybe deep down Mitch knows that a good guy like Pete would have gotten everyone killed. Pete would have made a weak leader, that much was clear in the cabin.
    Mitch is also clearly a bad seed and may not have liked his "brother" if indeed it was his brother and not just a comrade. He mocks the weak, different wanted to raid the small tent camp , disapproved of Martinez decision to bring in guvs family.
    He and the guv are kindred spirits

I don't think he was his actual brother either. I got the impression he called him his brother because they served together in the military.

Mitch and Pete were portrayed like ying and yang. This show is so damn obvious sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I really enjoyed this episode.

Im guessing there is going to be a big standoff in the next episode but with no actual fight.

The fight and its fallout with take place in the 2nd half of the season. YAWN.

So out of the *dozens* of people in the camp, no-one saw what the Govnernor did to Martinez? How did he manage to get the other body to the lake without anyone noticing? A leaky roof with no obvious precipitation? One minute the camp is deserted, the next it's swarming with inhabitants...this ep had more plot holes than a swiss cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Wait, you can't be for real?

People are allowed to like stuff and still criticise it!!!!

Examples:

Love chinese food, criticise a particular restaurant as the food was muck.

Support Man Utd in football, criticise them when they play poorly.

Like a certain band a lot, criticise their latest album.

Like your job a lot, but moan about it when you're having a bad day.

People are well within their rights to invest time in a show, watch it and still criticise it. Ok, of course, at some point if it's criticism every single week then it might be time to give up on it. But say for example you dislike 10 episodes out of a 4 season run, you're still allowed to like and watch the show.

More to the point, there's a collossal amount of pure sh1te on telly these days and, for some, watching an intrinsically decent show that still gets on their nerves > 99% of anything else on the box.

That's a good point. As much as I slate this show, its better than 90% of stuff out there. The production value alone of TWD is almost reason enough to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Yakuza wrote: »
    One minute the camp is deserted, the next it's swarming with inhabitants...this ep had more plot holes than a swiss cheese.

I know what you mean, but you know they were all just relaxing in their caravans right? Why not??

Mitch and Pete Dolgen ARE brothers as said during the episode and in the casting call for these characters. Dont know why people cant understand what the show says.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Was nice to see Dale back too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I thought last week was bad but this week was even worse in regards the ridiculous writing and down right dumb plot holes.

The Gov's arc over the last two episodes is just not believable or natural. Here we have a man who is punishing himself, wandering around on his own for months, clearly disturbed by his actions. Doesn't want to make contact with anyone.

Next episode he's back to being a murdering psycho lunatic !!!

The whole thing with the Gov killing Martinez was absolutely stupid. Martinez suggests he step up and play more of a leadership role. The Gov is so upset by this that he beats the guy with a golf club and throws him into a pit of zombies to die. The Gov is clearly traumatised by the suggestion of being a leader again because of the mess he left behind last time.

Yet 5 mins later he has killed the interim leader in cold blood, recruited his brother (who's grand with all of this after a bit of a cry and smoke) as his lieutenant and has take full leadership of the group !!! He was going on a like a mad man say he didn't want it earlier.

It really disappoints me how lazy and sloppy the writing has become. It seems like nothing has progressed, its the same stand off as last season, Rick vs Gov / Woodbury vs Prison.

So out of the *dozens* of people in the camp, no-one saw what the Govnernor did to Martinez? How did he manage to get the other body to the lake without anyone noticing? A leaky roof with no obvious precipitation? One minute the camp is deserted, the next it's swarming with inhabitants...this ep had more plot holes than a swiss cheese.

I think the Governor watched too many episodes of the later seasons of Dexter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Terrible episode. And I had really enjoyed seeing the governor back last week. I find it amazing how people on the road can go months without seeing anyone else alive and then suddenly they are tripping over other people.

The decapitated zombie heads were good though.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I like this show a lot, but that was definitely one of the poorer episodes. Hopefully they will do soon what they should have done at the end of last season - kill the governor and move the main cast out of the prison.

I forgot to add above that I did like the bit with the tank, to Johnston Green in Jericho, "you never know when you're going to need a tank" ;) I've not read the comics so I've no idea whether it's significant or not.

So wait did people actually think The Governor was not going to return to try and get the prison group? THAT would be ****ty writing of course he was going to return he HAD to thats glaringly obvious. Episode 6 had a definite non linear timeframe as did parts of 7. Only at its end do we see the timelines join up. It would have been utter crap to just have the gov appear and do things so having his two episodes so that we know what he did was the only sensible thing. Live Bait had a lot of similarities between The Gov and Rick. Now his motives to attack are different. The man has changed and we got to see that. That is good writing rather than just never mentioning him ever again or have him appear out of the blue. People can call what Gimple has done "bad" writing but if these people were in charge of the show it would be a helluva lot worse.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I forgot to add above that I did like the bit with the tank, to Johnston Green in Jericho, "you never know when you're going to need a tank" ;) I've not read the comics so I've no idea whether it's significant or not.

Nor have I read the comics, but it seemed to me like a clear case of Checkov's gun... well, tank I guess; you can't introduce a fully-functioning tank in one episode & not fire/use it at some point in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭obriendj

So wait did people actually think The Governor was not going to return to try and get the prison group? THAT would be ****ty writing of course he was going to return he HAD to thats glaringly obvious. Episode 6 had a definite non linear timeframe as did parts of 7. Only at its end do we see the timelines join up. It would have been utter crap to just have the gov appear and do things so having his two episodes so that we know what he did was the only sensible thing. Live Bait had a lot of similarities between The Gov and Rick. Now his motives to attack are different. The man has changed and we got to see that. That is good writing rather than just never mentioning him ever again or have him appear out of the blue. People can call what Gimple has done "bad" writing but if these people were in charge of the show it would be a helluva lot worse.

Yeah I dont see the problem with what they did. They dont seem to want to split an episode between 2 separate groups, they did this last season as well. It gave a small insight into his character but dont see how his motives are that different. He still wants the prison as it is safer that the Camp site.

By this logic, I cannot criticise a professional footballer because he is better at football than me. Rubbish.

I am no writer nor have I ever claimed to be. TWD's budget is in the region of $2.8m per episode. I expect decent writing for that money.

I don't have a huge issue with the over arching plot itself, its the delivery that is piss poor. I think it would be best for everyone involved if I just stopped posting here altogether. I'm getting too wound up by some posts, especially this piece of fan fiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

It felt a bit like they had this great idea to show the Gov appearing mid-way through the season and then backtrack and show his progress before a climax at the mid-season break.

Their execution of the idea hasn't been great.
    There's been some good moments. The Governor makes for good TV. He's a presence on screen. There's been some solid bits of action in the last 2 episodes, some shocks and overall I thought they were both ok.
    I generally do have problems with plot holes but ones like there not being people around either for the governor to bump into on his travels or inside the camp itself when the zombie was chasing the little kid don't bother me. Both are unlikely but not ridiculous. It's not like they had to break the laws of physics to get them to work in the show.
    Most of the plot holes are minor ones like that - mild contrivances to advance the plot. Not brilliant writing but not catastrophically bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Gbear wrote: »
    Most of the plot holes are minor ones like that - mild contrivances to advance the plot. Not brilliant writing but not catastrophically bad either.

I disagree.

The last two episodes have been filled with glaring plotholes, dumbness and general poor writing.

I'm gonna call the scene in epi 7 where Mitch is told by the Gov that he killed his bro, the Gov explains it to him like he's 4 year old then tells him to have a smoke. Come off it. Stupid writing...

Why not this: they aren't brothers, Gov turns up, I'm charge now howya fixed? problem solved.

He's either with him or he's not and the Gov blows his head off.

A grown man finds out the man sitting across from him just whacked his brother. The first chance he gets, that's if he can compose himself not to immediately attack, and he kills the Gov. Straight up, no questions asked.

And a man as intelligent as the Gov thinks this man is trust worthy considering he just killed his brother?

Lame writing...