Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

christmas can you wait till it is over - or can you not wait until it starts?

• 21-11-2013 1:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Christmas - it gets mixed reactions. Are you looking forward to christmas or are you one of those bah humbugs who cant wait till its over?

And why?

Christmas love it or hate it? 18 votes

bah humbug - you have money you love xmas you dont have money you dont love xmas
    0% 0 votes
    love christmas - misteltoe,the smell of cinnamon,santa clauses the excitement of kids,presents etc
    100% 18 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I like the few days before Christmas Eve(If you're lucky enough to have them off work). After that it's really annoying with the visiting and parties and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Should be abolished!
    Bah Feckin humbug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Took my holidays at Christmas this year (or I would lose them). So looking forward to it.

Yes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

Always nice to have everybody together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

In two minds.

Love spending time with family. But this year am broke and looks like OH wont be here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    In two minds.

Love spending time with family. But this year am broke and looks like OH wont be here :(

Amen, brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭darrcow

my baby son died christmas 2006 so I f*cking hate Christmas now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Am working over the Christmas holiday :rolleyes:. Plenty of time for carousing after work. Sooooo, am happy with the situation.
    But I look forward to the turkey&stuffing sandwiches all week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Fcuking pile of putrid horse Shoite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

darrcow wrote: »

how can you follow that

sorry for your trouble:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

It ain't the same in the baking heat, far away from home. No real additional time off here, the big day is Xmas eve, all happens late, Xmas day is a non-event, like a quiet day for sleeping and recovering from the night before. Bit of swimming pool, bit of sleeping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Sad to hear that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Love Christmas :D:D:D

Been listening to Xmas tunes all day everyday all week :D and it's getting really cold, hoping for snow this Xmas! :P:P The 10th can't come fast enough cos that's when all the decorations go up! :) then it's 15 days of Chriiiiistmas!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Hate it from Christmas day on. The nights out in the run up are alright though.

Shtick up a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

I like the week before and week after christmas. Don't like this business of "festive cheer" in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

I used to be the biggest grinch ever but I moved country for work a few months ago and I'm really looking forward to coming home for Christmas this year and seeing everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

That's so sad, so sorry:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

I refuse to even think about Christmas until December at the earliest. I haven't even looked at that thread about the new toy out this Christmas called The Self Pitying Garda. I'm not saying I don't want to buy one, I bet I will, maybe even two, but it's just that I do get too excited about stuff and then can't sleep.

I'm really hoping it's Savage Eye who have brought it out and when you wind it up it's says stuff like: "Have you no home to go ta lads", "Don't headbutt me", "Have you drink taken". It's going to be a great Christmas all the same. Can't wait to walk down Henry St and hear them calling out: "Get the last of your 'Self Pitying Gardas'. But until December, I'm just gonna ignore it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

My family and I are all broke this Xmas so we put a spending limit on presents. It's quite low. But as long as there is food and company, I'm happy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Sorry to hear that. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

I can wait until it's time to start Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I'm looking forward to it. Spending the day with the family, sitting around and enjoying myself with them. Then up to the OH's a few days later. It'll be fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

I kind of want it to come, just because I'm looking forward to the new year. I have a little list of things I want to do with study and work and I'm kind of energized for a new start.

Christmas itself - Don't love it, can handle it.

Christmas.

You have money : Really look forward to it.
    Dont have money: Dont look forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I'm a creature I habit.

I likes my routine.

Christmas just throws it out of alignment.

Never knowing what day it is.

Everyday feeling like Sunday.

Sundays are ****.

Christmas is ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Hierro_4

Can't wait until it's over tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I like it. I'm usually off for about ten days or so, and make a nice relaxing time of it, with plenty grub'n'booze. Oh, and presents. Luvs presents, I do. :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

Shtick up a poll.

poll done!

I like Christmas, I always enjoy Christmas and have never needed to spend a lot of money to do this, Last Christmas night consisted of an evening of singing ballads, playing music and having a bit of craic with my extended family. That's the sort of Christmas I like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭jiminho

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    I like the few days before Christmas Eve(If you're lucky enough to have them off work). After that it's really annoying with the visiting and parties and all that.

Oh yeh those parties and visiting family can be so annoying. Yeh Grinch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I'm working Christmas Day and Stephens Day , kinda looking forward to it .However I've taking a few days holidays just afore it , so I'll be invisible from alcohol for a bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Its winter that I can't wait to end.

Cold as a bastad I tell thee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

When money was tight we used to have a celebration of christmas in january near the january sales so we could afford it,it used to be on the day of little womens christmas..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Sorry for your loss, I know your pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

Christmas starts for me when the Christmas tree goes up and the classic Christmas ads are on the telly, also when the RTE Christmas guide comes into the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭forgotten password

jingle bells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

So sorry for your loss.

• Site Banned Posts: 6 Pubic Paddy

sorry to hear that,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

Sorry for your Loss! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

:( Wouldn't blame you. That is awful...

I don't understand grinchyness for no real reason - Christmas isn't for everyone, I understand that, and aspects of it can be a bit of a pain... but resentment of it just because... I don't get it.

However, Christmas is a horrible, painful time for lots of people because of associations with it, or because of a loss when there's so much focus on family and company.
    Since becoming single I have found the few days before Christmas a little bit difficult. Because I know how wonderful it can be when you're coupled up. Christmas Eve in particular is a bit lonesome for me.
    But it's only a small little issue, and once Christmas Day is in full swing I love it, and from then to new year is the biz. Family, friends I don't see much throughout the year, aitin' and drinkin' and pressies - could be a lot worse! :)