Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expectations of the older generation

• 21-11-2013 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭

So very disappointed! Had to go to Motor Tax office today, and had cash to pay the fees as they are work vehicles, and don't accept cheques. Security guard decides while I'm standing at the teller window to pick up the random bits of paper and rubbish and knocks over some of the cash (fair enough for initiative but timing could be better). I start counting the cash and realise I'm now missing €50. I see an old man standing there with €50 crumbled up in his hand, but didn't want to accuse him unnecessarily, so double count - yes, missing €50 and the old man is nowhere to be seen. The teller gets the security tapes checked, yes the little old man took the €50. Now here comes the stupid bit - he had just paid his own Motor Tax, so they know who he is. They called him, and his explanation is that he came over to help me pick up the money but doesn't know why he took the money...
    I got mugged by a couple of Irish teenagers two years back but I did expect better from the older generation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

That was nice of him.

Why do you think less of the younger generation is the real question.

Dishonest old folks exist as do honest young ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I've no expectations of 'em. Can't stand some of the 55-65 bracket :rolleyes: they're beyond irritating at this stage :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

I reckon the security guard was in on it. Classic 'two jethros' with a bit of a 'leon spinks' thrown in to throw you off the scent. Teller probably in on it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭on_my_oe

Unfortunately a disproportionate amount of young people are reflected in crime statistics, not only in Ireland. I remember reading somewhere that the decision making part of our brain isn't fully developed until our early 20s, so we are more prone to making stupid choices

However there is no excuse at any age for criminal behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

on_my_oe wrote: »
    So very disappointed! Had to go to Motor Tax office today, and had cash to pay the fees as they are work vehicles, and don't accept cheques. Security guard decides while I'm standing at the teller window to pick up the random bits of paper and rubbish and knocks over some of the cash (fair enough for initiative but timing could be better). I start counting the cash and realise I'm now missing €50. I see an old man standing there with €50 crumbled up in his hand, but didn't want to accuse him unnecessarily, so double count - yes, missing €50 and the old man is nowhere to be seen. The teller gets the security tapes checked, yes the little old man took the €50. Now here comes the stupid bit - he had just paid his own Motor Tax, so they know who he is. They called him, and his explanation is that he came over to help me pick up the money but doesn't know why he took the money...
    I got mugged by a couple of Irish teenagers two years back but I did expect better from the older generation

60 years ago he was probably mugging people on street corners.

The tax office put a credit of €50 against the bill, which I appreciated as I was worried it was coming out of my wallet to reimburse my employer. I doubt the teller and security guard were in on it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Scum comes in all sizes and age groups.

Just because you reach pension age doesn't mean you turn into an inoffensive cuddly old grandad.

(ah sure God love him, he was only doing his job as a camp commandant.)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

An older gentleman with his hands in the pockets of the young, brazenly caught and with a sense of entitlement?

Absolutely no analogies can be drawn to politicians, bankers or anyone who has a defined benefit pension scheme. None whatsoever.

Also, there's a Jimmy Savile joke in there if anyone wants it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Captain Farrell

Robbo wrote: »
    An older gentleman with his hands in the pockets of the young, brazenly caught and with a sense of entitlement?

Absolutely no analogies can be drawn to politicians, bankers or anyone who has a defined benefit pension scheme. None whatsoever.

Also, there's a Jimmy Savile joke in there if anyone wants it...

Now then, now then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Op, I guess you're not aware of the 'Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers Act. 1939'.

You should be thankful that it was only a 50 he took.

Count your lucky stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Should have laid a beat down his scraggly old ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Takes all sorts OP:
    Czarcasm wrote: »
    For all the posters that are tired of ould ones in front of them paying for their shopping in pennies, I think I just came across the best one ever; trivial, annoying, but seriously funny as fcuk! :D

Just home now from picking up a few things in Dunnes Stores, and there was this old lady in front of me still packing her stuff while I was fumbling for notes in my wallet, when €5 flipped out and fell on the floor.

I figured I'd pick it up in a minute rather than risk headbutting the old lady (I'm the most accident prone fcuk!). Next thing the old lady went from just crooked over to full on bent double in a flash, had the €5 up in her hand and was about to stuff it in her granny trolley when I held out my hand and said "Thank you".

I couldn't believe she actually hesitated before she uttered the line that still had me laughing half an hour later-

"Ohh sorrreeee, I thought it was mine..." :pac:

Reminded me of this -

I guess it's partly because I remember being given a swift clip around the ear if I stepped out of line... Even now in my thirties the sense of shame if I do anything slightly wrong gives the fear of disappointing Dad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I've no expectations of 'em. Can't stand some of the 55-65 bracket :rolleyes: they're beyond irritating at this stage :rolleyes:

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

old hippy wrote: »
    :(

:( Some :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 dumb_as_dirt

the lesson is , don't automatically assume all old people are decent

now if only we could make people realise their not all poverty stricken aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

The tax office put a credit of €50 against the bill, which I appreciated as I was worried it was coming out of my wallet to reimburse my employer. I doubt the teller and security guard were in on it though.

Ah open your eyes man, sure the tax office and your employer are in on it too. Classical Uncle Benjy crumple flopper scam. Been doing the rounds since '62. Be sure to check your next pay check.

My partner has just said I should be in talking to the gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Just because an asshole gets old doesn't stop them being an asshole.

I've encountered some pig ignorant elderly people in my glittering retail career.

And some young and middle aged asswipes too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Can you explain why you thought old people are above this sort of thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

ivytwine wrote: »
    Just because an asshole gets old doesn't stop them being an asshole.

I've encountered some pig ignorant elderly people in my glittering retail career.

And some young and middle aged asswipes too. :D

I couldn't agree more.

The most curmudgeonly, stubborn and miserable c**ts I've ever encountered have been those at the older end of the scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Did you get the money back?

If not sure go around to his place and demand it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

No need, you've reported it here. We'll have the necessary paperwork filled out and send someone over with the forms for you to sign.

Thank you for bringing it to our attention and apologies for the delay.

Can you explain why you thought old people are above this sort of thing?

Younger people are more likely to commit crime which is displayed in crime statistics; I've read somewhere in one of my law text books (not doing law but it's one of the supplement modules) that it's possibly because our decision making skills are not fully developed in our brains until our early twenties.. So what seems like a good idea at 14 seems bloody stupid at 64...

Also there's plenty of media comment that the older generation were brought up with stricter standards and morals because of / despite of the Church... Either way, that old mans decision making skills were clearly not functioning in a morally acceptable manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I couldn't agree more.

The most curmudgeonly, stubborn and miserable c**ts I've ever encountered have been those at the older end of the scale.

I agree. I am sick of being handbagged by auld ones who think they're entitled to be first on the bus regardless of when they actually reached the bus stop.

That being said I intend being obnoxious myself when I'm old. Though probably not an opportunistic thief.

The motor tax guy might have been short a few bob and thought this was a windfall. We've all made bad decisions. Hardly the crime of the century regardless of his age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Very convenient that today there is a movie opening in the cinema where DeNiro, who is 70 years old now, is playing a thief. Coincidence? Not a chance. They do this so that it gets into your subconscious and before you know it, thinking it's something you have done of your own free will, you'll be eating popcorn and sucking down a Diet Coke as you watch the fcuker. It's called covert gorilla adverting (Gonzo for short). There'll be more of these old bastard robberies today, just you wait and see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You got mugged by a pensioner.

Quit making grandstanding generalisations in order to hide your shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Majority of them are a shower of c*nts...the 'respect your elders' idea gives them the freedom to act like they want and why the op had second thoughts of accusing the scumbag. I think they might cop on and lose their sense of entitlement if more people taught their kids to 'treat others as they treat you' where older people are concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Op, I guess you're not aware of the 'Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers Act. 1939'.

You should be thankful that it was only a 50 he took.

Count your lucky stars.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Majority of them are a shower of c*nts....

Wow. Just... wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's theft by finding. If you make a formal written complaint then they are obliged to investigate it which wont be too hard considering the tax office people have his name and address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

Probably Dublin though. Somethings never change, no matter the generation.

Even now in my thirties the sense of shame if I do anything slightly wrong gives the fear of disappointing Dad

Much, much, worse than the fear of annoying my parents is the fear of disappointing them.

The worst thing I could hear growing up was 'I'm not angry with you. I'm just disappointed in you'.

Crushing.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

i cried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Unfortunately a disproportionate amount of young people are reflected in crime statistics, not only in Ireland. I remember reading somewhere that the decision making part of our brain isn't fully developed until our early 20s, so we are more prone to making stupid choices

And pensioners are generally slow runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Majority of them are a shower of c*nts.
    old hippy wrote: »
    Wow. Just... wow.
    I know. Idiotic thing to say.
    Candie wrote: »
    Much, much, worse than the fear of annoying my parents is the fear of disappointing them.

The worst thing I could hear growing up was 'I'm not angry with you. I'm just disappointed in you'.

Crushing.:(
    So well articulated in The Simpsons during its golden era; a Christmas episode where Bart gets caught shoplifting, and instead of his mother getting angry with him, she just says "What's the point? Just do what you want to do". Her resignation to it all is just... :eek: I'd die a little if I did that to my mother (although I did do so when a lot younger). :o