Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arthur Daleys days numbered!!

• 20-11-2013 8:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭

Just been having the daily goo at DoneDeal, seen a car ad from a chap who does a bit of wheeling and dealing in motors. But down the bottom of all the DD ads there's a ''see all ads from seller'', clicked on it and 15 cars come up with the one phone number all the ads only a few days old, now I know this chap isnt the type who would be willing to pay tax on any of his dealings, with the likes of this craic on DD its a piece of piss to see who's doing a bit of ''Arthur Daleying'' let alone the lads in revenue who would be a few steps ahead of the average punter. As we know they are out to get any red cent thats owed to them by hell or high water. Just seems a matter of time before they catch the likes of the small time dealer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Are revenue bothered though really?

Also look at the number of guys selling UK reg cars and the 1.3 on the log book 530D's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Are revenue bothered though really?

Also look at the number of guys selling UK reg cars and the 1.3 on the log book 530D's

Exactly. If Revenue actually cared then they could spend a week trawling through DoneDeal and it would be like shooting fish in a barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

I would highly doubt the revenue care at all. Some chap buying and selling a couple of cars on DD isn't really what they'd be after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

i wouldn't rule out revenue's interest completely in this instance - its a quick win for them - have a gander on DD for the right type of dealer and make a call to him - easy.

Sure they are scanning bags at the airports now looking for the extra pack of cigs or bottle of hooch over ur allowance where as a few years back you would never see them at the gate - as OP said, they want every penny they can get, so why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Mister Man wrote: »
    I would highly doubt the revenue care at all. Some chap buying and selling a couple of cars on DD isn't really what they'd be after.

You'd be surprised

Could he get away with it though? Even if they know he's making profit out of it, can they prove he's buying these cars for cheaper then he's selling them? I would imagine there is a loo-hole that would let him get away with it under a technicality...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Could he get away with it though? Even if they know he's making profit out of it, can they prove he's buying these cars for cheaper then he's selling them? I would imagine there is a loo-hole that would let him get away with it under a technicality...

There is no technicality. There is no loo(p) hole. They visit, assess the situation, then slap a big assessment tax demand on him. He then has to prove everything or come to an agreed setlement. Most settle. Normally 'interest and penalties' soak up all profits made since Adam was a little chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

They do an audit, the level of audit depends on what they think yr making V what you say your making. If your lifestyle doesn't fit your stated income they keep digging and send you a bill ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

I see. I would have assumed there was a way out of it, considering I see people do it all the time on DD and Adverts. Would make you wonder why they haven't come down on it already...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Get a life.

Good man, just to be clear i'm not one for shopping people in for undeclared income. Personally if someone is being a bit of an entrepreneur in these hard times good luck to them and they're turning a quid more power to them.

Also hate giving the bastards tax outa me hard earned, but in the situation Ireland finds itself in they're out to get every single penny buy hell or high water, and if the average ejjit with a lappy can see a bit of undeclared tax in wheeling and dealing surely the boys in the Revenue will be streets ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭nompere

The general rules of income tax are that if Revenue don't get details of income from a person, or they don't get all the details that they should get, then they are allowed to assess income tax using their best judgement. It is then up to the person assessed to prove that the assessment is wrong.

Unfair as it might seem, the presumptions of guilt and innocence are often reversed when dealing with the Revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

nompere wrote: »
    Unfair as it might seem, the presumptions of guilt and innocence are often reversed when dealing with the Revenue.
    And lets not forget that every year they pick a specific group of workers to audit, teachers, publicans, nurses etc..

This often leads to some interesting findings and tax bills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭bidiots

I Was VB wrote: »
    surely the boys in the Revenue will be streets ahead.

Ah, to assume makes an ass of u and me;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

bidiots wrote: »
    Ah, to assume makes an ass of u and me;)
    I Was VB wrote: »

Change the parameters from Facebook to DoneDeal and they're doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

If they are going after people who are doing a few maths or french grinds as nixers that post up on tesco and dunnes noticeboards then you can be sure they will target these lil old wheeler dealers.

Heres another little thought, should CAB ever find itself with nothing to do (unlikely with the state of the legal and justice industry), what is there to stop it from targeting legitimate business practices that are behind in their taxes.
    Would it be possible for them to hook up with revenue and clap down on tax evasion even further.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Cue influx of sheepskin-clad gents to Tesco to purchase handfuls of SIM cards, followed by lots of call diversion network traffic.

I love the people objecting to paying taxes. Here's an idea folks: move to Somalia or Eritrea. No taxes for ye to worry about there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

i was speaking to a bloke yesterday, his story, he moved jobs, got the p45 or whatever it is nowdays, revenue tells him that the form is a frogery, telling him it is up to him to provide the correct one, so until he does he has no credits, as he changed jobs last may he now ownes his employer, a fortune, how come revenue do not chase the guy who issued the cert?.