Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Report a deer poacher yes or no

• 19-11-2013 3:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

Looking for everyones opinion,

A former shooting friend of mine has taken up deer shooting. I say shooting not stalking because he is shooting all of his deer at night with a lamp in the hollywood area of wicklow. There are three or four of them involved. They shoot the deer and come back later to collect them and send somebody else on with the guns and the lamps.
    Now i am not talking about someone shooting a deer for the pot in this manner but what these guys are up to is on a whole different level.
    All the deer these guys shoot end up in clane.
    I was wondering whether or not the people on this forum would say yes or no to report this guy and if anyone has done it how did they go about it and what was the proceedure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭DMW22

Simple answer really, report him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Sounds very organised, they would be hard to catch, but you should still make a call on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Pretty straight forward answer.
    YES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

A former shooting friend of mine has taken up deer shooting. I say shooting not stalking because he is shooting all of his deer at night with a lamp in the hollywood area of wicklow. There are three or four of them involved. They shoot the deer and come back later to collect them and send somebody else on with the guns and the lamps.
    Now i am not talking about someone shooting a deer for the pot in this manner but what these guys are up to is on a whole different level.
    All the deer these guys shoot end up in clane.
    I was wondering whether or not the people on this forum would say yes or no to report this guy and if anyone has done it how did they go about it and what was the proceedure.

What are youwaiting for:eek:hang them out to dry

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 onemoredead

DEFO ,

REPORT, TO RANGERS,NPWS,COP'S AND LOCAL PRIEST/NUNS! :),

TELL, EVERY ONE ABOUT THERE SET UP AND KEEP EYE OUT AND " REPORT"

"and give every bit of detail about everyone and there set up,regs, as much as you know!!

s****bags.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

I have same situation myself but have decided not to I'm no angel and have met no man with wings on his back yet its not my place as someones friend to do that to him as a man you would have to let him know your intent as he has trusted you enough to tell you leave someone else hang em is my opinion if it was a complete stranger or aquaintance I might feel different as I would be more detatched from the personal side of the situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭slingshot88

Report him now,it's people like that who ruin it for everyone else.im not deer stalking myself,but it is something I would like to get into in the future,but with cowboys like that picking of as many deer as they please at night there might not be any deer left for the rest of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

snipe02 wrote: »
    I have same situation myself but have decided not to I'm no angel and have met no man with wings on his back yet its not my place as someones friend to do that to him as a man you would have to let him know your intent as he has trusted you enough to tell you leave someone else hang em is my opinion if it was a complete stranger or aquaintance I might feel different as I would be more detatched from the personal side of the situation

However if a friend of yours committed another crime, you wouldnt report it

right so everyone we know who is breaking a law people signing on and who do a days work couples living together people not keeping motor tax up to date people buying things off the black market DVDs etc people downloading music lads doin an old nixer not paying your property tax your parking fines television lisence getting so and so down the road to service your car for cash hang em all out to dry regardless of who they are anyone here who sayin they never bent the rules is a lying fecker if ya can't rely on your friends ... There is plenty people out there to hang ya without your own friends doin it to ya in not saying its right I think that kind of **** is wrong and greedy but I think a friend deserves some loyalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭TheSetMiner

nah dont be a rat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Yes.
    There is nothing to think about here, report them NOW.

To put it simply, poachers are criminals and should be dealt with as criminals.

Its the "look the other way and say nothing" attitude that has this country in the mess it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Poachers rob legitimate sportsmen of game and fish, rob businesses and taxpayers of revenues generated by hunting and fishing, and rob us and future generations of a valuable resource - our wildlife.

Poaching is surrounded by myths that just aren't true. Poachers are not poor people who are merely trying to feed their families. Putting food on the table is one of the least common motives. Poachers kill just for the thrill of killing and for profit. Poachers kill wildlife anywhere, anytime, and they can, using the most unsporting methods. Poachers often use expensive vehicles, guns and equipment purchased through their profitable trafficking in illegal wildlife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

Evening herald article on deer poaching

^ thats name of the old thread, 12/10/13. Trying to copy and paste the proper link but phone for some reason won't let me copy it!

There was a thread about poaching a few months ago with a link to a news report on it. There was garda inspector talking to the reporter about how they were trying to get on top of poaching in that area of the country.
    Why not anonymously report what you know to this inspector?
    That way it wont come back to you and you feel like you've done some good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

right so everyone we know who is breaking a law people signing on and who do a days work couples living together people not keeping motor tax up to date people buying things off the black market DVDs etc people downloading music lads doin an old nixer not paying your property tax your parking fines television lisence getting so and so down the road to service your car for cash hang em all out to dry regardless of who they are anyone here who sayin they never bent the rules is a lying fecker if ya can't rely on your friends ... There is plenty people out there to hang ya without your own friends doin it to ya in not saying its right I think that kind of **** is wrong and greedy but I think a friend deserves some loyalty

The highlighted part below is the operative word in the sentence.

A former shooting friend of mine

The crossed out part of your reply is just hyperbole to be honest, reminds me of the "da bankers did it, Berty did it" bla bla bla rabble rabble rabble......

Pretty sad actually
    nah dont be a rat

image_zpsa4fbd4b7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Sooner or later someone is going to be hurt / killed by these poachers*. Shooting at night for profit, safety quickly goes out the window. Whether you can look yourself in the mirror if this happens and knowing you could have prevented it, only you know.

*So many other adjectives I really wanted to use here :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Yeah report him
    I dont hunt deer myself but a few mates do and the extra work they have to put in to get their licence makes me think its unfair others are goin out slaughtering deer without the effort legitimate guys put in.
    Also stories about poaching are bad news for all hunters because it becomes another stick for certain organiseations to beat us all with i.e. they,re all the same just out out to slaughter animals for the sake of killing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭alsace royal

if your unsure of going to the garda, why not have a word yourself im sure there would be like minded people who would go with you, this post will probably get critisism and what not but that type of carry on is getting out of hand and greed shouldnt be allowed to distroy a way of life/sport that already takes alot of flack.
    all that said from a deers point of veiw the least we can do as hunters and feilds men is try and let/help them eat a bit at night in peace surely we here can afford them that

Angels the lot of ye ... Op let someone else hang em you have to live with the consequences of ratting out people in your community all that the other posters are worried about is less deer for them not saying its right but I stand my ground its not just black and white why no inform the authorities. Of the area its going on in and let them do the work they are getting paid for it ya see ya can do what ya want here in Ireland as long as your not doing better than me bankers don't come into it its a bit deeper than that

oh gawd

rowa wrote: »
    oh gawd
    I know :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Angels the lot of ye ... Op let someone else hang em you have to live with the consequences of ratting out people in your community all that the other posters are worried about is less deer for them not saying its right but I stand my ground its not just black and white why no inform the authorities. Of the area its going on in and let them do the work they are getting paid for it ya see ya can do what ya want here in Ireland as long as your not doing better than me bankers don't come into it its a bit deeper than that

So let me get this right! Dont "rat" on someone (even the use of the word rat sums up your attitude tbh), but I am confused, because then you are saying, just sort of "rat" on him by telling the authorities where he is doing it!

To the OP! Report the poacher, dont even think twice about it. Do the deer, and the hunting community a favour and get these kind of greedy feckers in front of a judge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

The country is the way it is because every one from the straight people to the crooks don't have the bollox to stand up for our nations itegrity.

There is a serious decide between people with money and people with out. It's the same with the poaching. If a lad is on here saying saying he is 100% by the book well then your not telling the whole truth. We all make mistakes but pure disregard for the animal is a disgrace. And shooting for profit poaching really boils my blood.

If it were me and they were seriously hoping of the place. I'd approach him myself and say it. Listen your my mate but its wrong. He might tell you to **** off but if your serious he will be carefull.

Locals are to afraid. But in my area to be fair a farmer told me he thinks the lamping has cooled of around him abit.

I hate this crap about sooner or later someone is going to be killed by all the shooting at night. what a load of bo..ox. lads have been out lamping long before this craic started with the deer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Jerrystevens

I hate this crap about sooner or later someone is going to be killed by all the shooting at night. what a load of bo..ox. lads have been out lamping long before this craic started with the deer
    indeed they have but those lads were mostly using 22s, hornets and magnums not 243s 308s and bigger

Interesting actually, local farmers around my area (not on the east coast) are telling me numbers are down. One guy was giving out yards last year about the amount of deer on his land, and now he says it's very noticeably less.

Starting to agree with him, I used to regularly see groups of 8 or 9 deer round his area, now don't see even half that on a good day, most days see nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

I hate to say it but I agree with snipe for different reasons tho ,

First of all not condoning what there doing at all .

The most this guy will get is a fine and or loose a licence , and the fact that there is four of them , means if they find out that it was you , u could be in for a hard time from these guys for years , having a go at you and making a show of you in public .

No to mention the risk of getting a thump in the mouth for ur troubles .

I wouldn't hide the fact tho ! I'd say it to anyone that is a hunter , sooner or later it will get back to the people that can deal with them .

It easy for lads to say report them , but there not the ones dealing with the **** mess afterwards

Feck em. Report then anonymously so, but don't turn a blind eye. These guys are damaging our sport, and God knows it's hard enough to keep it in a positive light without that sort of crap going on.

Any legitimate hunter has a responsibility to look after his sport, and that includes the deer.

As a group of people who regularly claim to be the ones who care most about the countryside and it's wildlife, it's a bit of a contradiction on the other hand to turn a blind eye to the illegal slaughter of the same wildlife.

If we genuinely care about the sport and have a genuine concern about our wildlife, then do what's right, and don't ignire it

So let me get this right! Dont "rat" on someone (even the use of the word rat sums up your attitude tbh), but I am confused, because then you are saying, just sort of "rat" on him by telling the authorities where he is doing it!

To the OP! Report the poacher, dont even think twice about it. Do the deer, and the hunting community a favour and get these kind of greedy feckers in front of a judge![/QUOTE right ill straighten it out for ya then I don't care for these pouchers I don't agree in fact I hate the fact that lads anyone makes money from selling game im saying to the op not you that ratting on your friends in my view is a bad thing to do unless you have the balls to tell them up front your intentions ,,, there are other complications and the informers identity is nearly always found out im also saying that I feel that no man is completely crime free weve all broken some law at some stage well most of us ,,, he asked for a yes or no and if it were me in this set of circumstances then no is that clear enough and if the op was goin to rat them up he wouldn't have come on here and asked he would have just done it where I come from there are unspoken codes that you don't break and hanging other members of your community out to dry is one ya don't have to agree with it but ya don't nail them to the wall behind their backs :P:P:P:P so I suppose a simple yes or no woulda just been easier from the start

indeed they have but those lads were mostly using 22s, hornets and magnums not 243s 308s and bigger
    a bullet is a bullet, not much difference between getting hit with a hornet than a 308 apart from a bigger hole in you. .22 is one of the worst yolks for bouncing off things. I don't think they will be using high power rifles for the job anyway.

TriggerPL wrote: »
    I hate to say it but I agree with snipe for different reasons tho ,

First of all not condoning what there doing at all .

The most this guy will get is a fine and or loose a licence , and the fact that there is four of them , means if they find out that it was you , u could be in for a hard time from these guys for years , having a go at you and making a show of you in public .

No to mention the risk of getting a thump in the mouth for ur troubles .

I wouldn't hide the fact tho ! I'd say it to anyone that is a hunter , sooner or later it will get back to the people that can deal with them .

It easy for lads to say report them , but there not the ones dealing with the **** mess afterwards
    trigger thank you that is big part of what I trying to say not as clearly as you put it but the same jist

The Aussie wrote: »
    The highlighted part below is the operative word in the sentence.

The crossed out part of your reply is just hyperbole to be honest, reminds me of the "da bankers did it, Berty did it" bla bla bla rabble rabble rabble......

Pretty sad actually

image_zpsa4fbd4b7.jpg
    im flattered

"snipe02 wrote: »

right ill straighten it out for ya then I don't care for these pouchers I don't agree in fact I hate the fact that lads anyone makes money from selling game im saying to the op not you that ratting on your friends in my view is a bad thing to do unless you have the balls to tell them up front your intentions ,,, there are other complications and the informers identity is nearly always found out im also saying that I feel that no man is completely crime free weve all broken some law at some stage well most of us ,,, he asked for a yes or no and if it were me in this set of circumstances then no is that clear enough and if the op was goin to rat them up he wouldn't have come on here and asked he would have just done it where I come from there are unspoken codes that you don't break and hanging other members of your community out to dry is one ya don't have to agree with it but ya don't nail them to the wall behind their backs :P:P:P:P so I suppose a simple yes or no woulda just been easier from the start

Unspoken codes, ratting etc, sounds all very mafiaosa :-)

Fair enough though you've made your point, but I still stand by the fact that you cannot ignore it, these type of guys must be stopped, for the good of our sport, and for the health of our wildlife.

How many of us have lost or been refused permissions because of a bunch of arsenal's poaching at night time riding rough over other people's land and property. Do we not also have a duty to the community we shoot in, to the farmers on who's land we shoot on?

Are we not supposed to look after them also, do we not have a 'code' for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Where I come from there are unspoken codes that you don't break and hanging other members of your community out to dry is one ya don't have to agree with it but ya don't nail them to the wall behind their backs.

Where is this faux utopia you speak of???

It must have been a great place this "Community" of yours with everyone covering up the Clerical Abuse, everyone covering up the Corruption, everyone turning a blind eye when the local Coward goes home to beat up his Wife and Kids, Drugs must be easy to obtain in your Community with no one reporting them, also everybody must be claiming everything and working, what a great little community yours must be......

I will just quote Rowa for ease on this one, as I fully agree with his statement.
    rowa wrote: »
    Its the "look the other way and say nothing" attitude that has this country in the mess it is.

im flattered

You might be missing the point to be honest. If your flattered you set the bar way to low for yourself and other to follow.

OP. As Edmund Burke wrote "all that is required for evil to prevail is of good men to do nothing" you know yourself its wrong, the whole theory of they always find out who reported them line is so Moronic I have not even bothered adding another quote here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

springermad, you know what you ought to do or you wouldn't be asking.

As to the "don't be a rat" gombeenism, grow up. We've not been a subjugated colony for quite a long time now, time to start acting like it.

And snipe02, you gave us the most WTF moment in this entire thread with this little doozy:
    breaking a law ... couples living together
    Seriously, you think cohabiting couples are breaking the law?? Yeesh...

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Sparks wrote: »
    Seriously, you think cohabiting couples are breaking the law?? Yeesh...

He's probably referring to people claiming lone parent allowance while both parents are living with their child(ren).

OP: Simple. Report the scum. If someone's livestock gets shot in the process, the legitimate hunters will get the blame. If there's a worse accident then a TD will rush through some legislation in the name of public safety and it'll affect all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mrbrianj

I suppose you don't have to report anybody. You could just give out some more information as to the area involved, maybe to something really vague like the brand of jeep or van. Carefully with out giving anything away on anybody in particular or breaking any forum rules. Therefore not causing you or the forum any problems

Somebody else using boards may highlight this thread to the npws.
    No guarantee this would be the outcome or solve your moral problem.

I personally would report this to the npws as I pay to lease hunting rights from Coillte in land that I believe is also poached.

Until the source of the deer supplied and traceability is audited in game dealers there will always be a market for poached deer.

mrbrianj wrote: »
    I suppose you don't have to report anybody. You could just give out some more information as to the area involved, maybe to something really vague like the brand of jeep or van. Carefully with out giving anything away on anybody in particular or breaking any forum rules. Therefore not causing you or the forum any problems
    No, you couldn't. Boards is a discussion forum, not a mechanism for reporting crimes to the Gardai, and there aren't any plans or desires to change that. What you're suggesting would expose the poster to the risk of a defamation lawsuit.

Reality is that there will always be poaching. Unfortunately. As it gives the fellas that shoot and hunt legitimately a bad name.

the only way to try to stop it or dramatically reduce would be for the game dealer to have to keep record of who he got the deer from, their deer hunting licence number and where it was shot.
    now obviously that wont stop a fella that has all the requisite licences(I dont know why you'd go to the bother of getting all the licences and permissions if you're just gonna shoot illegally anyway) and is lamping anyway but it might stop the fellas that dont. I'd say that might account for a large proportion of them.

That would probably have an effect systemically, and in general, in the future.

In the here and now, the OP knows of one specific case; the course of action would seem clear and does not involve writing new laws...

In the here and now my suggestion cant help.
    it would require new legislation to ensure all game dealers keep such records. And that could take at best a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

To the OP! Report the poacher, dont even think twice about it. Do the deer, and the hunting community a favour and get these kind of greedy feckers in front of a judge![/QUOTE right ill straighten it out for ya then I don't care for these pouchers I don't agree in fact I hate the fact that lads anyone makes money from selling game im saying to the op not you that ratting on your friends in my view is a bad thing to do unless you have the balls to tell them up front your intentions ,,, there are other complications and the informers identity is nearly always found out im also saying that I feel that no man is completely crime free weve all broken some law at some stage well most of us ,,, he asked for a yes or no and if it were me in this set of circumstances then no is that clear enough and if the op was goin to rat them up he wouldn't have come on here and asked he would have just done it where I come from there are unspoken codes that you don't break and hanging other members of your community out to dry is one ya don't have to agree with it but ya don't nail them to the wall behind their backs :P:P:P:P so I suppose a simple yes or no woulda just been easier from the start

Firstly, here, please use some of these...liberally
    "......,,,,,,,,;;;;;;;"

Secondly, this neighbourhood spirit crap of not "ratting" out law breakers is very small minded.
    You dont exist in isolation in your neighbourhood, its not some little island where you can do what you want.
    If you wish to be a part of society, then be part of all of it.
    If you dont like it, then go to Russia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Garda Confidential line 1800 666 111 all you need to do is leave a voicemail. No need to give your details if you're concerned about it coming back to haunt you afterwards.

IRLConor wrote: »

OP: Simple. Report the scum. If someone's livestock gets shot in the process, the legitimate hunters will get the blame. If there's a worse accident then a TD will rush through some legislation in the name of public safety and it'll affect all of us.

I have already heard of cattle/horses being shot, a moving jeep being struck by a bullet in wicklow, a house in kerry also struck by a bullet. God alone knows what other near misses or accidents have gone unreported and i wouldn't be surprised if someone does end up getting injured or worse. The droppings will hit the fan for all of us when it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

OP,

You are in a rare position. Most of us know its going on but its difficult to gather info (reg's, vehicles etc) let alone identity of said poachers.

You have that in the bag. Nail the f*cker. Whether you do it annonymously or otherwise solely depends on your. You know this man. Is he being led astray? Does he know no better? Or is he just greedy?

Remember, if you talk to him and signal your intentions to report you may well just supress their activities until the whole thing goes off the boil and they star up again.

Does he carry out his activities in the same area you shoot? If so hes not that great of a friend I would imagine.

I can understand the rat line of thinking but its not so applicable in this case. The term 'rat' I beleive, was coined as a rat will do anything to survive.

For example, sell out his buddies to take the fall to stay out of prison.

What about if someone was on to a good number - tipping away not bothering anyone and certain 'friends' decide that they will take a large chunk of his pie. If he belongs to a certain social circle where 'two legged rats' are alive and real he will use any medium/means necessary to take out said 'friends' and restore that chunk of his pie. The means are not important as all involved are always on the wrong side of the law.

In this case, we have someone who is on the right side of the law. The 'any means necessary' is different. Where our guy previously may have used anything to shut down the guys taking a piece of his pie our only means is the law in this case. If it was the criminal underworld we could use some 'other means' to shut down our so called 'friends'.

Tis as simple as that.

One thing people are forgetting, poachers are criminals by the fact they are committing a crime. They are hardly hardened criminals (I am aware there is exception to this) - there is a large proportion of said poachers who DO hold NPWS and Firearms Licences and are not really known to the Gardai. They are chancers and opportunists and take from people on so many levels its hard to fathom.

So the idea of being an informant and being found out is a little cloak and dagger for me. A slap in the mouth might come your way - but what better way to justify a firearm certificate being revoked? Surely aggrevated assualt would do the trick? The law/rules will always be bent/manipulated but they can be bent both ways.

Collapse of venison market would slow a lot of paching down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Hierro_4

Of course he should be reported.

sikastag wrote: »
    A good dose of foot and mouth or the likes would be handy. Shut/slow down movement of animals across borders and knock the arse out of the venison market for a bit.
    The last round with that tore the arse out of the target shooting community as well. Outdoor ranges took years to recover and some competitive calendars still haven't.

Sparks wrote: »
    The last round with that tore the arse out of the target shooting community as well. Outdoor ranges took years to recover and some competitive calendars still haven't.

I'll be perfectly honest, that was something I wasnt aware of. It did indeed affect much more than just hunting. Slightly blinkered viewpoint by myself - my view tainted by immediate threat to my main sport/hobby. I guess to put it more simply - if something were to happen to knock the arse out of the venison trade for a while it would probably slow a lot of lads up. It's been said before anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Jerrystevens

sikastag wrote: »
    A good dose of foot and mouth or the likes would be handy.

Shut/slow down movement of animals across borders and knock the arse out of the venison market for a bit.

yeah that would be a great idea untold misery and hardship for all farming families again :mad:some have only just got over the massive bills and headaches that the last couple of winters left .
    if you want to stop the poaching dead in the water make the selling of wild venison illegal that would be the end of poaching for money overnight